Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 224 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

224 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

224 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

78%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
107
4 stars
60
3 stars
11
2 stars
16
1 stars
30
1-20 of 199 total reviews
78%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 199 total reviews
1-20 of 199 reviews
Small package BIG sound!
4/5/2011

Customer review by hw93

5.0 stars 4/5/2011 by hw93
by hw93

I can't say enough good things about this product. We recently purchased a Philips TV and bought this sound bar to replace a 10 plus year old Sony stereo receiver and a 25 year old set of (HUGE) speakers. This sound bar does everything and more that the traditional stereo speakers and receiver could do. The sound quality is amazing, far beyond what I expected for such a compact item. It's got both volume and clarity as well as the added bass from a subwoofer. It has a USB port so you can play music using a memory stick and a port to plug in a MP3 player. It has a couple HDMI inputs and an HDMI output as well as 2 R/W/Y av hookups, digital optical input, and lastly a digital coax input. I would definitely recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (108) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hw93
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I researched - I knew what I was in for
6/2/2011

Customer review by Animators

3.0 stars 6/2/2011 by Animators
by Animators

My wife and I bought this to go with our new HD TV and Playstaiton 3. First, this speaker system is very functional and easy to use. Assembly was straight forward and plugging in all my devices was no problem. The problem comes with the "HDMI Hub". Let's say you own a DVD player that uses HDMI as well as a Playstation 3, or Xbox 360, or even many laptops now a days which use an HDMI. That's great. No sweat. If you own a Cox Communications DVR box with HDMI, watch out! The signal going to the hub will only work for non-digital, non-HD channels. I can see Cartoon Network (channel 17) but not Cartoon Network HD (1017). I am guessing this is some sort of copywrite thing. The signal simply goes black. The solution is to use the Coax digital audio into the speaker with the HDMI signal going to the OTHER HDMI input on the TV. Of course now I can't use this device as a "HUB" and in order to use my devices, I have to switch the input of the tv AND the input of the HUB. Price was great. Space saving was great. Sound quality is even great. But it isn't a HUB if you plan on using HDMI from a cable box.

Was this review helpful? (89) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Animators
Virginia Beach, Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Phillips does it right!!
6/6/2011

Customer review by Belltechs

5.0 stars 6/6/2011 by Belltechs
by Belltechs

Wasn't expecting much for the $160.00 we paid for it, but now that i have set it up and used it i'm ASTONISHED that it was only $160.00. The setup was idiot proof, there is only one wire that needs to be plugged in for the whole system to work. It is the cleanest and non-cluttered speaker system i've ever used. I have previously used six-speaker surround sound systems that left wires all over the place like spaghetti behind the unit. The rich sound that comes from the small unit is incredible!! The base unit is of superior quality. I am so impressed with the quality, simplicity, and ease of setup with this unit. I will be buying another one for my mother's christmas gift this year. The unit has two HDMI inputs and one HDMI output, and two RCA inputs and one RCA output. The only bad thing I can say about the system is that I wish it had one less RCA input in exchange for one more HDMI input, and the remote control should have more contrast between the black buttons and the white lettering on them, (very hard to read). Overall, i'm extremely happy with the purchase, it definitely exceeded my expectations!!!

Was this review helpful? (60) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Belltechs
Suffolk, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Philips for my Philips
5/12/2011

Customer review by Luksus

4.0 stars 5/12/2011 by Luksus
by Luksus

I have a Philips Ambilight Plasma TV. And, I'm sick of not having movie watching sound from my tv. So, I found this soundbar...its the same brand as my ambilight, so I figured,"what the heck". I haven't mounted on top of the tv yet. The tv is on a stand and the bar is below the tv on the tv's pedestal. I have ordered the soundbar mounting brackets, but I must say...I could live with out them. And, here's why. Tonight, I've been flipping channels watching Chronicles of Narnia, then switching over to UFC unleashed, then I found a war movie on. And, so far, I have to say I'm pleased. I tell ya, at level 13 or 14, it is significantly better with a rumble of bass and the sounds are much clearer. At level 20, it starts to sound like a theater with noticable surround sound. And, at level 25 the kids started to complain. I want to watch a dvd on it so bad. I'm thinking the Chronicles of Riddick will be a great tester. But, so far, if you want a decent sound for the money...this is it. It's not, however, the quality you'd expect from a $2000 system, so don't think that's what you'll get. But, you will get a supercharger for your plasma. I'm happy. Oh, and its super easy to set up. I used the coaxial to connect it to the tv. It came in a little box, and I thought, "oh no, what have I bought?" But, like I said, I'm happy. Is that enough info for you?

Was this review helpful? (55) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Luksus
Sandy Springs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Just what I wanted
6/17/2011

Customer review by mcarin

5.0 stars 6/17/2011 by mcarin
by mcarin

I purchased this soundbar just to have an upgrade to my TV speaker for movies, etc. without having to wire the room for anything. I am very happy with what I got. I easily connected my HD cable box to the soundbar with one HDMI cable and ran one HDMI cable from my bluray player to the souindbar and finally one HDMI from the soundbar to my HDTV. The connection couldn't have been easier. I can now run the sounbar volume with any of my remotes which is really nice. I can also leave the sounbar off and just watch TV normal with the normal speakers because the bass is a little loud and buzzy for normal TV even on the lowest setting. For $100 less than the next cheapest soundbar, this is a great buy. The sound is great and the bass is wonderful for movies and things. The only drawback is the inability to turn the bass down even lower for normal TV and the fact that the subwoofer is not wireless. These are minimal and I really am glad I bought this product.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mcarin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
I loved it...for 4 months
7/11/2011

Customer review by jeffincincy

1.0 stars 7/11/2011 by jeffincincy
by jeffincincy

I was very happy with this soundbar, but after 4 months it is about to bite the dust. When I turn it on, it makes a strange whining sound and I have to turn it off and on at least 5 or 6 times to make it sop. I checked the warranty and unfortunately I neglected to mail the warranty card which had to be mailed within 5 days of purchase. The sad thing is that we watch very little television, maybe 5 or 6 hours a week so it hasn't been overused. I have always had good luck with Philips, very disappointing.

Was this review helpful? (13) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jeffincincy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A little too much bass
5/1/2011

Customer review by deerln

4.0 stars 5/1/2011 by deerln
by deerln

The control for the bass goes from 1 to 6. But even at 1 for the TV, it's a little too much bass. The TV volume adds to the sound so it equals it out. Music sounds good at 4 bass setting. The sound bar and sub is nice looking. The remote works good. Not bad overall.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
deerln
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Problems with subwoofer...
5/20/2011

Customer review by blueraine2010

1.0 stars 5/20/2011 by blueraine2010
by blueraine2010

I knew this wasn't going to be exceptional, but based on reviews I expected more. The speakers were fine -- sound quality was average for stereo sound, but the subwoofer was horrible. Except for volume, you can't make any adjustments to the subwoofer sound, nor can you turn it off. Unless you are watching techno thrillers, or big action movies with lots of explosions, the subwoofer is useless. When watching TV all you get is a horrible low humming/grumbling noise from it and since the power runs through the subwoofer, you can't turn it off. I'm returning this one and upgrading to a higher quality unit in hopes I won't have the same problem.

Was this review helpful? (16) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blueraine2010
Would recommend to a friend? No
11/16/2011

Customer review by DLighted

5.0 stars 11/16/2011 by DLighted
by DLighted

This Philips HSB2313A/F7 SoundBar has exceeded my expetations. I did not expect it to work and sound as good as it does and I am completely satisfied and have recommended it to a few of my friends. I know there are other units that may blast you out of the room with sound, but I did not purchase it for that reason. It has plenty of deep sound and power and meets my every need. Thanks Philips for a great product.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DLighted
LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Small space, Big results
5/1/2011

Customer review by silver13

5.0 stars 5/1/2011 by silver13
by silver13

Have a very narrow living room and space is a premium. Have this hooked up to our new Phillips 40" LED and makes all the difference. Volume output at 20 is nice for sports and 25 makes NASCAR come alive. Grear value. Purchased through walmart.com

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
silver13
San Jose, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good but not good enough to keep
5/26/2011

Customer review by ferrari4me

2.0 stars 5/26/2011 by ferrari4me
by ferrari4me

I enjoyed the fact that the sound bar had multiple inputs such as optical/av/usb/etc. However, any high notes that were played when listening to music, the speaker could not do it without an annoying scratchy noise. I have taken it back and purchased a HTIB (home theatre in a box). I decided if you're going to do it, you might as well as do it right. Surround sound is the way to go.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ferrari4me
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
9/27/2011

Customer review by jckc98

1.0 stars 9/27/2011 by jckc98
by jckc98

Thought this was a great purchase at the time. It was great did everything that a sound bar should do, but after 6 months loud popping sound then it felt like it was getting too hot then the sound would just turn off or have a high pitched schrill sound. Do not buy!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jckc98
Allen, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
DISAPPOINTED.
12/2/2011

Customer review by AussieD

1.0 stars 12/2/2011 by AussieD
by AussieD

As a long time Philips buyer I was optimistic about this product. It arrived in 24 hours and was easy to hook up, in fact it was very simple. I used it for 3 days without any issues and was very pleased with the product. In fact we were impressed with the quality of sound on certain prgrammes. However, on the 4th day a strange buzzing sound began from the subwoofer. We tried turning it off, and the sound would cease after a short popping sound. When we turned the subwoofer back on, the buzzing began again. We tried unplugging and replugging it to see if the cut from the electrical supply would fix the issue, but it did not. We are going to return the product, although now the box is long since recycled, so we hope that Walmart will accept. Considering the good quality of sound we got for that short time it is a shame. Is it worth trying again? It all depends how important good quality sound is, but as our local store doesn't have any in stock, maybe fate is sending us a message. It seems that you need to have luck with the Philips subwoofer and, in this case, we didn't have any.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AussieD
Millville, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
11/19/2011

Customer review by Hogswin

5.0 stars 11/19/2011 by Hogswin
by Hogswin

This product is beyond excellent!!! I was actually upset when the associate gave me my purchase (ordered online.site-to -sore pick up).. This small box???? I said oh well Ill give it a try.. and Boom!!! The bass kicked in with the right blend of high and mid range sound.. I was beyond impressed! The easiest set-up ever.. All I used was the coaxial cable and that's it.. All sound thru the TV will go to the surround system..So really no need to use the HDMI hub... Perfect for my house!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hogswin
Fayetteville,Ar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/21/2011

Customer review by Bman5

1.0 stars 8/21/2011 by Bman5
by Bman5

I received this soundbar on July 18, 2011 & returned it on August 21 after it would no longer send the signal through the hdmi connection from the playstation 3 to the tv. While it did work, the sound was pretty clear and there was more than enough bass. I was happy with it until it stopped working.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bman5
Clovis, NM
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Big Letdown
12/14/2011

Customer review by HUFHih

1.0 stars 12/14/2011 by HUFHih
by HUFHih

Owning this unit has been a saga since I purchased it in July of 2011. I bought it for the same reasons most consumers would be interested in it: price, connectivity features only found on higher priced models, HD, 300 watt power, and a very attractive design. Hooking it up to my plasma was a sinch. It worked and sounded great for 3 weeks. I was really impressed with the sound quality for what I paid. Then it started working intermittently; at times it would not power on, instead the LCD screen remained dim and did nothing. I called Philips (who have been helpful) and they had me run their tests and determined it was faulty. They sent me a replacement under warranty and mine was sent back to them. The new one worked for about 3 weeks, and then a different problem. This time, the fan in the soundbar made this horrible noise like it was dying; it was very unhealthy sounding. I called Philips again, they had me run their tests, and determined it was the fan. They said they have had a problem with the fans in these models, and all I could do was either blow off the fan with an air can, which will only temporarily solve the problem, have them send me a remanufactured unit, or they would buy it back from me. At this point, I did not feel safe keeping the unit, thinking it would eventually die and my warranty would be expired, and I did not want a remanufactured unit because I paid for a new one. So I opted for the buyback. Using the refund money, I looked into the Sony CT150 soundbar, which has received great reviews. I think I will fair better with this one. Overall, I'm very disappointed this unit didn't work out for me. I wanted it to because it sounded great and the value of what you are getting for the price is obvious. But if it doesn't work, there is no way around that fact. After having two problems in two different units, being told by Philips that they are aware of the problems, and reading other similar reviews, I decided to cut my losses.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HUFHih
Chicago, Il
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/2/2011

Customer review by blasterd

5.0 stars 12/2/2011 by blasterd
by blasterd

This is a great unit. The sound exceeds by expectations by a wide margin. We were having trouble clearing hearing and understanding voices on our new flat panel TV. We would keep turning it up louder and louder to no avail. Once we hooked this system up (in about five minutes) it made everything extremely clear, even at low volume.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blasterd
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worth Every Penny
11/18/2011

Customer review by Domeezy

4.0 stars 11/18/2011 by Domeezy
by Domeezy

Great buy for your money. Sound qualithy is excellent. The only drawback is that you cannot mount the bar on top of your tv but it comes with a wall bracket,and the sub is not wireless. Dont forget to buy an extra hdmi cable and an optical audio cable if you want exceptional sound quality.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Domeezy
Tuckahoe, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
11/20/2011

Customer review by hornet62

5.0 stars 11/20/2011 by hornet62
by hornet62

Just received soundbar today. I needed one that hooked up with an optical cable (32"LG tv),and was thrilled that this one does. Sound is so much better than just the tv speakers,probably due to the subwoofer. Also sounds great with my Blu-Ray. I highly recommend this device to anyone looking for a reasonably priced soundbar.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hornet62
Rochester,NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
11/27/2011

Customer review by fishman99

1.0 stars 11/27/2011 by fishman99
by fishman99

stop working after 2 weeks.Called phillips help line they wanted credit card to ensure it got shipped back before sending new one. Thank heavens Wall mart honered 15 day return. Great sound when it worked but hasle because i had to take it back.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fishman99
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 199 total reviews
1-20 of 199 reviews