Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 224 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

224 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

224 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

78%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
107
4 stars
60
3 stars
11
2 stars
16
1 stars
30
1-20 of 199 total reviews
78%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 199 total reviews
1-20 of 199 reviews
Great sound but poorly manufactured
5/5/2012

Customer review by Dutch79

1.0 stars 5/5/2012 by Dutch79
by Dutch79

I loved this product and it killed me to send it back, twice nonetheless, but it has internal component problems that cannot be fixed. With my first unit, the screen was faulty and would not power on. Sent back to Philips who gave me a brand new replacement. My second unit had a problem with the fan. It would make this annoying disruptive sound like it was about to die. Both of these problems started only a few weeks after I received the unit. Philips was very helpful both times. They bought the second one back from me and I used that money to get a whole other soundbar from a different company. It's a shame because when it worked it sounded amazing. It's also a very nice looking design, better than most soundbars, but it is plagued with problems. Sorry Philips, but produce a reliable product, not just great sounding and you will have a winner.

Dutch79
Chicagoland, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Horrible Fan Noise, sounds close to failure
5/8/2013

Customer review by cking

2.0 stars 5/8/2013 by cking
by cking

I bought this product in Sept. of 2011 and I loved the performance relative to it's cost and size. This product seemed like an awesome deal. The only complaint I had was that it had sound distortion at higher frequencies. Around March of 2012, the fan in the head unit started making horrible screeching noises at start-up. Around August of 2012, the subwoofer fan started making the same noise but even louder. As of May of 2013, the fans still are making the noise at start-up; the noise is reduced as the unit warms up. Now, the heat unit display will flicker and blackout/turn off, even though the unit is still on and it the sound is not interrupted. This bargain home theater system is not seeming like such a bargain now...

cking
Krebs
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
simple desgin, great sound, great value
12/21/2011

Customer review by flstn

5.0 stars 12/21/2011 by flstn
by flstn

This system is great, it sounds as good and better than a lot of high end sound bars for a fraction of the price. It seems as though a number of people were having problems adjusting the sound. The sub is adjustable and you can control the overall sound of the system by using the movie mode, music mode, and game sound. I also play music from my phone and computer through it, and it sounds great. Can't go wrong with this system.

flstn
Kansas City, MO, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
not had much luck with this unit so far
1/5/2012

Customer review by oopster

1.0 stars 1/5/2012 by oopster
by oopster

First the Woofer had a fan sound. Philips exchanged the unit but the replacement had the same fan sound from the sound bar so I had to use my old soundbar with the new woofer. A few days ago the HDMI interface failed on me and I only get a green screen with noise. Support is great but I can't seem to get a working one of these. Shame I actually like it a lot when it works.

oopster
Sacramento
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
This product worked good to begin with, then started having a buzzing sound in the audio.
6/17/2012

Customer review by THOMY

1.0 stars 6/17/2012 by THOMY
by THOMY

This product worked good to begin with, then started having a buzzing sound in the audio. When TV was turned off the buzzing sound was so loud, that the unit had to be unplugged. It is still unplugged and not in use. At this time would not recombined this product to anyone. Very dissatisfied Phillips SoundBar Home theater HSB23I3A 300W RMS.

THOMY
UNION HALL, VA., USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Great Sound Great Price
9/20/2012

Customer review by Dakotalucky

5.0 stars 9/20/2012 by Dakotalucky
by Dakotalucky

This Soundbar is simple yet has a surprising amount of power and sound! You can control the amount of sub woofer volume, main volume and accepts other inputs. It wont rattle the dishes but it will give you great sound highs mid level and lows! no problem hearing actors voices. A lot of sound for a great price! I highly recommend!

Dakotalucky
South Dakota, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
a great little sound bar
10/9/2011

Customer review by danba

5.0 stars 10/9/2011 by danba
by danba

This is a great product,easy to hook up and really makes watching tv great. It has a low profile so I set it in front of the tv so I can still use the tv remote. I would recommend this product to anyone who enjoys watching tv with great sounds. Movies are great,sounds I never heard before

danba
De Pere, WI, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Would not buy. Unit failed within six weeks.
2/10/2012

Customer review by Shezheretoday

1.0 stars 2/10/2012 by Shezheretoday
by Shezheretoday

This unit would be ok, at best, if it worked. My sub-woofer started making a loud noise with-in six weeks of purchase. Warranty is worthless. I was sent a replacement unit that was so filthy and scratched up, i would not have it in my home, and was told I had no choice in the matter.

Shezheretoday
Hurricane, WV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
This product has great sound for the price.
6/17/2012

Customer review by Welshwalker

4.0 stars 6/17/2012 by Welshwalker
by Welshwalker

If you want a sound bar, at a reasonable price, that is compatible with your Phillips TV, this is a good choice. The only drawback is the fact that the sub woofer is not a wireless configuration. A wireless design would make this good product a great product.

Welshwalker
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Generally good sound
10/9/2011

Customer review by Gibson64

3.0 stars 10/9/2011 by Gibson64
by Gibson64

Generally good sound. But there are only preset controls and no ability to control treble, mid range and bass or the subwoofer individually. This creates a problem if you live in an apartment in want to turn the volume on the bass.

Gibson64
League City Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Excelent product.
12/8/2011

Customer review by CARLY

5.0 stars 12/8/2011 by CARLY
by CARLY

Excelent sound, clarity, amezing and hi performance, with only 300w is a world the perfomance.. I recommended this products 100% good desing, small but witn a big sound, excelent audio to movies, games and regular music..

CARLY
Puerto Rico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Fool me once
2/20/2013

Customer review by jeep999

1.0 stars 2/20/2013 by jeep999
by jeep999

Started humming and whirling sound soon after I bought it. Maybe fan ? So loud I turned it off and it has remained that way for a year now. Going out to buy another sound bar, but never will buy another PHILLIPS product.

jeep999
Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Perfect Compact Sound System
10/10/2011

Customer review by Kay29

5.0 stars 10/10/2011 by Kay29
by Kay29

This is not for everyone. It will not replace a 1200 watt surround sound. But for a small living room it is perfect. Small form factor. Clean good looks. Excellent sound. And way less expensive than other sound bars.

Kay29
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
SOUND
10/16/2012

Customer review by Sunshine772

4.0 stars 10/16/2012 by Sunshine772
by Sunshine772

The voulme dosen't go as high as I would like, and I get a ecco when I have the TV and it on at the same time when I try to get more voulme. it may be because I bought it referbished. other than that it works OK.

Sunshine772
Yucaipa, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
This product was perfect for my tv and sounds great.
10/10/2011

Customer review by geno626

5.0 stars 10/10/2011 by geno626
by geno626

I had a real hard time finding a sound bar that would work with my TV because of the coaxial connection but this product was exactly what I needed.

geno626
Worth,Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
philips sound bar hsb 2313a
10/9/2011

Customer review by jep1

5.0 stars 10/9/2011 by jep1
by jep1

i bought this system six months ago and still playing good i feel so happy for small room its awesome sound its great

jep1
Bronx ,New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
returned product to seller
10/15/2011

Customer review by fisherman

2.0 stars 10/15/2011 by fisherman
by fisherman

sub-woffer volume not adjustable- line volume was too loud for me. overall quality of sound not as good as expected

fisherman
Winston-Salem, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
wow great for the money !
11/30/2013

Customer review by rocknroll22

4.0 stars 11/30/2013 by rocknroll22
by rocknroll22

I have owned several surround systems that cost 3-6 times this amount ! and this thing sounds really good!

rocknroll22
piedmont sc,,usa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
HAS POOR BASE
10/9/2011

Customer review by zzhet

2.0 stars 10/9/2011 by zzhet
by zzhet

The BASE had no rhyme nor reason, it was just a continuous thump... Returned product after 3 days !!!!

zzhet
Franklin, IN.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
junk
12/23/2012

Customer review by kimba

1.0 stars 12/23/2012 by kimba
by kimba

one year of use and it has a sound like a mototr whirring, very loud, started soon after I got it.

kimba
Detroit, MI, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
1-20 of 199 total reviews
1-20 of 199 reviews