Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 128 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

128 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

128 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
74
4 stars
33
3 stars
14
2 stars
4
1 stars
3
1-20 of 120 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 120 total reviews
1-20 of 120 reviews
LOVE IT!!
4/8/2011

Customer review by 1OVAKIND

5.0 stars 4/8/2011 by 1OVAKIND
by 1OVAKIND

I was so happy when I received my laptop and its the perfect size for me. I love it and i have no complaints and its the perfect starter computer for teens. Im sure anybody would love it as much as i did because its just great.

Was this review helpful? (66) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1OVAKIND
Akron, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Computer
3/30/2011

Customer review by emmysmoo

5.0 stars 3/30/2011 by emmysmoo
by emmysmoo

I love this compute! It is perfectly compact for taking wherever but not too small. I have a hard time typing on smaller keyboards but this is bigger than other netbooks I have tried. It has worked great for what I need!

Was this review helpful? (113) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
emmysmoo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
so so
4/11/2011

Customer review by HDTom

3.0 stars 4/11/2011 by HDTom
by HDTom

While this compact laptop has a fair amount of memeory & a fair sized hard drive, the processor is extremely slow. I wanted a 10" laptop that had Windows 7 (64) which this does & it fits all other requirements I wanted. Just wish it had a better processor. It does, however, work better than the Intel Atom processor that most this size has. I bought this simply to travel with in order to retrieve email, internet & a map program which it does well.

Was this review helpful? (51) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HDTom
Thousand Oaks, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Pocket Rocket
3/26/2011

Customer review by joeito

5.0 stars 3/26/2011 by joeito
by joeito

This is great little laptop, not even in the netbook catgory. It will not be a chain in ball when you travel. Bought it for my 11 year grandson. I'm a Dell customer for over 12 years, very pleased. The Mini me looks like my Dell Studio laptop.

Was this review helpful? (45) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
joeito
Fowler, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Check system settings before you slam the trackpad
11/24/2009

Customer review by Vasken

5.0 stars 11/24/2009 by Vasken
by Vasken

Just a note to all the nay-sayers on this site bashing the touchpad. It comes with excellent, highly customizable drivers. If you spend 5 minutes working to tailor the touchpad driver to your preferences, it gets pretty easy to use and is as good as you can get given the small overall size of the pad (note: this is because the whole laptop is small...if you don't want a small laptop, buy an Inspiron 17, and stop complaining). I've got things like two-finger scroll working, and I find that I try to use touchpads on my friends' and co-workers' larger laptops and they are primitive and annoying now. One more time, if you don't want a small laptop, don't buy this. If you want a truly portable system with full-size laptop power (I'm running Windows 7 and it looks great, no compatibility issues), buy the Inspiron 11z. If you want a laptop with a desktop size screen that weighs too much to carry around and will end up sitting on your desk, don't buy this laptop.

Vasken
New Hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It's a netbook with most notebook features
4/7/2010

Customer review by NineToez

4.0 stars 4/7/2010 by NineToez
by NineToez

I needed to replace my old Inspiron 700m, however needed more of a netbook without a cramped screen and/or keyboard. This fits the bill very well. Mine is maxed out with 4GB, Win7 Premium, 250GB HDD, BT, and WiFi n however I intended to use this mostly for basic internet. I also intend to dual-boot with Fedora 13 Linux halving the drive to both OSs. PROS: very light weight, good sized keyboard, very well equipped, runs cool & efficient CONS: Very plastic, so prone to scratching easily, Dell's famous excessive shareware everywhere, battery bulks out (however doubles as a stand). I reformatted the drive keeping the recovery partition, but reinstalled Win7 Premium from DVD via an external USB DVD drive to eliminate all the "Dellware". Everything else runs flawlessly and is great as either a main PC or even a low cost spare PC solution. I know many complain about the touchpad, however it's not all that bad; just get a Bluetooth mouse and problem solved.

NineToez
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
EXCELLENT!!!!
9/14/2009

Customer review by TonyTon

5.0 stars 9/14/2009 by TonyTon
by TonyTon

I'm so sick of everyone talking about the keypad, if you dont like it just disable it and quit complaining, seriously. The touchpad gestures makes things so much easier I love it. This laptop (netbook is what category it should be in since there is no internal optical drive) is amazing. The processor speed for something of this size is great and for those complaining about this, shut your mouth and upgrade your processor and ram or buy something else with more computing power(DUH PROBLEM SOLVED). If you are complaining about the 11z then you got to be an idiot unless there is seriously something wrong (like you didn't recieve a hard drive with it or something doesn't work at all). Overall, the 11z is a great little computer (HD Screen, 250GB hardrive, good processing power for its size and the touch pad gestures if you learn them and quit complaining about it). I look forward to having windows 7 on this which I'm told will make it operate even better.

TonyTon
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Little Dynamo
5/23/2011

Customer review by TerrieK

5.0 stars 5/23/2011 by TerrieK
by TerrieK

It's small but it's powerfully fast. It's light and very attractive also. It took a little getting used to the mouse pad which doesn't have buttons like my Gateway had and the area where the 'buttons' for right and left clicking would be is very small. A few times I missed not having the DVD/CD drive, especially when loading software I have. I would definitely recommend this to someone as a second computer/laptop. If it's going to be the only computer than you need to get the optional DVD/CD drive.

Was this review helpful? (14) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TerrieK
Northern NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very nice netbook alternative
9/5/2009

Customer review by KPJPD

5.0 stars 9/5/2009 by KPJPD
by KPJPD

This laptop is quite nice. The display and keyboard are much more usable than the smaller ones I've used on some netbooks. Performance is good - especially after wiping out Vista and installing Windows 7. For folks with complaints about the trackpad - try disabling most/all of the gestures for the 'Elantech' trackpad. I only have the '2 finger scroll' enabled now, and find the trackpad very usable. Primary cons: - silly 'extended' 6 cell battery option ruins the entire 'thin and light' profile. Why can't Dell make a 6 cell battery that doesn't ruin the size of the machine? As is, you're stuck with a fat machine that gets good battery life, or a thin machine that doesn't. - glossy lid is a finger print magnet - default options on touchpad are annoying If you're looking for a small machine that's more usable than the typical netbook, for about the same price, look into this. I'd recommend installing Win7 to really get the machine to perform - so it may be worth waiting until late October if you don't want to deal with doing that yourself.

KPJPD
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
works for me!
6/24/2010

Customer review by zka1

4.0 stars 6/24/2010 by zka1
by zka1

I was looking for a netbook when I started building the Dell Mini 10. However, I wasn't able to upgrade to the Windows 7 OS, and also wasn't getting the option to upgrade to a different processor. I then turned to the Inspiron 11z. I really liked that this change allowed access to a greater range of upgrade options, with no sacrifice in mobility and size. I take is almost everywhere with me. I mainly use it for email, and online videos, in addition to bringing my work home with me. So far, I am very happy with the 11z's performance. The battery sticks out a little, but I find that this is actually more ergonomic, i.e. less strain on my wrists. The touch pad is a good size, and has built-in zoom and scroll functions; it does, however, act up once in a while, but I also have a wireless mouse, so, again, this is a very slight inconvenience for me. The best thing about building my 11z on dell.com is that it has everything I want in it!

zka1
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
4/6/2011

Customer review by Clark4

4.0 stars 4/6/2011 by Clark4
by Clark4

It is a great deal for the price, we just don't care for the mouse on it.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Clark4
Carthage, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Overall a good compromise
9/10/2009

Customer review by JimmyG50

3.0 stars 9/10/2009 by JimmyG50
by JimmyG50

I needed a smaller laptop for travel & internet connection. This 11Z does the trick well with only a few reservations. since I fined all else acceptable, I will address only those things that I find particularly annoying. First of all & most importantly, the touchpad is by far the worst one I have used in the 5 laptops I have owned, or others I have used. The hidden click-buttons NEED to have aheavy touch so as not to be activated accidentally. I find that it makes them more difficult to use when intentionally activated. The two-finger scrolling is intermittant at best, as is overall sensitivity, regardless of how it is set. Next, the location of the right-side right-click key. I keep hitting it instead of the left arrow. I'll get trained, eventually. I'd prefer to see the "End" key next to the "Home" key. The spacing doesn't seem logical to me. Again, Time should heal this, but closer would be better. Lastly, the power switch might be better placed closer to the center. I've pressed it a few times by accident & shut the thing down unintentionally.

JimmyG50
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wireless Card Not Good
4/18/2011

Customer review by Searchforwireless

2.0 stars 4/18/2011 by Searchforwireless
by Searchforwireless

I bought this little thing to use it on the run, but the wireless card was so week I had to be within 2 feet of my own router. There is reportedly an 11z (1110) that I had, and an 11z (1121). The 11z (1121) has an updated wireless N card. When I dealt with Dell, and tried to exchange it, they said it was registered to someone else, and it got to be too much to sort, so I returned it to WalMart.

Was this review helpful? (15) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Searchforwireless
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice laptop
4/6/2011

Customer review by jlh1213

5.0 stars 4/6/2011 by jlh1213
by jlh1213

Great size, lightweight, and works great so far!

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jlh1213
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great, except screen keyboard and touchpad
4/1/2010

Customer review by rog7

4.0 stars 4/1/2010 by rog7
by rog7

I was looking for a small, light, 4GB dual core laptop capable of running Windows7 Pro, and I found the 11z. It does everything I need it to do, and with good speed; BUT... 1/ This is the first flatscreen PC or laptop I've used with a glossy screen, and I HATE it. It's so difficult to find a suitable position and viewing angle which cuts out annoying reflections. 2/ The keyboard is just a fraction smaller than a standard keyboard - not a problem - but the keytops are virtually flat so it's difficult to find the centre of the keys by touch, and I frequently hit two at once, even though my fingers are skinny. Caps Lock and Shift are a particular problem. 3/ This touchpad is very difficult to master. I find I have to use the excellent Dell Bluetooth travel mouse 99% of the time. Other comments? Dell wouldn't allow me to delete McAffee from my order (I already "own" a better product)

rog7
London
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fantastic Little Machine ft many Little Headaches
6/10/2011

Customer review by AllisonL

3.0 stars 6/10/2011 by AllisonL
by AllisonL

I purchased my Inspiron 11z for education purposes through my wireless provider. It's the perfect size for any student on the go, fits in my purse and technically provides all the basics for effective academic purposes. However.... Within a week, my wireless card had malfunctioned. I had issues with the machine crashing a few weeks later. And finally a few weeks ago my battery has died. The Dell Docking system has also stopped working and many programs have had to be reinstalled to work properly. Perhaps if you're a light user, less than 40 hrs per week.. I would highly suggest purchasing this computer. Wonderful for the commuter whose needs fall just beyond what a tablet will offer. Heavy users, I wouldn't discourage you from purchasing. You do receive a wonderful machine for a very reasonable price - be aware of you usage and amend your settings to mitigate damages.

AllisonL
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
TOO SENSITIVE, But a good buy.. that I returned.
7/29/2011

Customer review by MurrehDeex

2.0 stars 7/29/2011 by MurrehDeex
by MurrehDeex

This laptop was alright. I had been searching up laptops and this one has so many good reviews. I was excited when it finally arrived at my door! Got it all set up and so forth on. Logging on/off TOOK FOREVER. Where as my old desktop that I had for years went past the log in process in a snap. The finger-pad was WAYYYYYYY too sensitive! I went to go click one thing, and it'd open and close things I didn't even mean to click! Not only that, but it makes you zoom in and out everything. Also, the webcam-- one of the main reasons why I purchases this laptop.. Ran slow. The effects and whatnot made it quite slow. It's a good little computer, don't get me wrong. But for someone who has been using desktop computers most of their life.. this little gizmo is VERY ANNOYING and SENSITIVE to get used to. Low and behold, I ended up returning this and getting my money back.

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MurrehDeex
Winston Salem, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Portable Computer
12/19/2009

Customer review by Tomsk

5.0 stars 12/19/2009 by Tomsk
by Tomsk

Configuration: Windows 7, 2gb memory, 3cell battery. I went for this model because it gave me the portability I wanted without any drawbacks. If you want better features (i.e. better graphics, longer battery life, external CD drive) then for 1.5inch in length & 1lb in weight you are probably better off getting the Dell 13z. Positive. Size & approx weight of an A4 pad. 2gb memory works well with windows 7 (was concerned I needed 4gb but not the case). Does everything I demand of it - office, browsing, video out over hdmi, basic games. Negatives. Large border on the screen - could have packaged a 12" screen rather than just an 11.6". but then it would have been called the 12z. Have defeatured the mouse pad down to point & click only. Works OK but I still prefer to use a travel mouse. Average to poor battery life (3cell) - but fine for a 2hr session.

Tomsk
London
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Can't Recommend
10/13/2009

Customer review by dave99887

1.0 stars 10/13/2009 by dave99887
by dave99887

Pros: Great screen. The LED is top notch. Perfect size. Runs much cooler. I am suprised the battery did so well, almost three hours. Cons: It is too slow and costs WAY too much. I found that I had to be very careful with programs that load at start because it uses all of CPU. Every so often I have to delete items from the registry so Windows runs ok. Mouse is horrible. Typing is a real chore because the mouse jumps all over. I have had the computer for just over a month and now I get a power error at boot. I jiggle the power cord and then it boots normal. Craftmenship seems poor to me. When I received the computer it was missing a rubber protector by the keybord. I also found the top of the lid separated and I had to snap it back in place. While those are not big things, it makes me question quality control. I really can't recommend this one.

dave99887
Would recommend to a friend? No
Inspiron 11z is Nice Including Windows 7
12/30/2009

Customer review by jimscraft

5.0 stars 12/30/2009 by jimscraft
by jimscraft

The Inspiron 11z is a nice small laptop with a screen size that suites me better than most netbooks. While bigger than most netbooks, it is still light and small enough to carry without feeling weighted down. At first I was unsure about Windows 7, since this is my first experience with it, but I am learning fast. My biggest problem is the track pad which has multiple functions- my fat fingers keeps hitting the sizing function, which is a little worrisome. I just need to keep my wireless mouse pluged in to keep from hitting things I don't intend to. The Inspiron 11z seems fast (compared to the netbook I was using before) and there is plenty of memory for my needs. The fit and finish seems very good, with no loose parts or anything that feels cheap or not well made. It feels like it should last for the three or four years I plan to use it.

jimscraft
B.C., MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 120 total reviews
1-20 of 120 reviews