Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 964 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

964 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

964 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
594
4 stars
300
3 stars
43
2 stars
9
1 stars
18
1-20 of 790 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 790 total reviews
1-20 of 790 reviews
WOW! Great specs for the money!
12/25/2010

Customer review by ScottGreene

5.0 stars 12/25/2010 by ScottGreene
by ScottGreene

I had been searching all over for the perfect laptop for my use (somewhat heavy multitasking, gaming, etc.) and just couldn't find the right one. Then I saw the Inspiron 15R and I knew it would be perfect. The processor is insanely fast (which means quick boot times), the hard drive is plentiful, and the Intel HD Graphics actually beat my desktop's ATI Radeon HD 4200 in the WEI (4.5 vs. 4.2). I think the function keys are great because I rarely have to use F1, F2, F3, etc. but always want to change the volume or turn off WiFi (when I'm on the road). The computer has very nice build quality but the one complaint I have is that the palm rests/lid catch fingerprints really easily. Besides that, this laptop is probably the best deal for the specs it comes with. I would highly suggest this to normal-to-heavy users!

ScottGreene
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The Price is Right
3/28/2011

Customer review by ralfyb

4.0 stars 3/28/2011 by ralfyb
by ralfyb

I bought this for $498 and worth it it replaced my 6year old 17in inspiron which I felt was a little to big I do admit the start up is a bit slow but compaired to my old LT it is better I solved this problem by installing W7 enterprise and what a difference it loads in a blink I use this for email The WIFI works great letters paying bills and watching movies and down loading music and I have not had a problem yet The problems I read about seem a bit picky I do not think you should expect the super performance that you need for these games from a $500 LT my grandson brought some games over and told me they work OK but not great He will bring his Dell i7 XPS when he visits from now on You Get What You Pay For fingerprints, speakers, games If you spend $100s on all these super games I think you would not buy a low end LT that you play them on 2 or 3 games cost almost as much as this LT this is a slightly up graded basic LT for most home and maybe small office

Was this review helpful? (64) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ralfyb
Staten Island NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A very good and solid laptop
4/13/2011

Customer review by David987123654

4.0 stars 4/13/2011 by David987123654
by David987123654

We bought this laptop because we needed another home laptop. It is mostly used for emails, internet and MS Office work. We didn't need a more expensive laptop with larger screen, more memory, bigger hard disk etc. as it will not get used for heavy-duty work like games, graphic design, video editing or other things of that nature. I think it is one of the best value for the price (below $600) if all you need is a decent home machine for normal every day use. The machine works very well but not perfectly well so this explains why it is not getting a perfect rating. The hard disk makes a slight annoying for a fraction of a second every 30 minutes or so. Given that I use the laptop no more than one hour per day, it is not enough to drive me crazy. However, I noticed that a few people online had the same complaint and I have no idea why Dell has not bothered to fix it. This is a bit of a stain on their reputation since it has been going on for a while for a lot of their machines.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
David987123654
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice Laptop, but there flaws
3/25/2011

Customer review by wikhiho

4.0 stars 3/25/2011 by wikhiho
by wikhiho

Inspiron 15r was one of the finest laptop I have ever experienced. I really bought it in Walmart Store, so there was not complaint. This is a great laptop with a really high performance and hardware shape. The high performance is the hardware into OS. 4G ram, quadcore i5 with intel hd graphic card are one of the highest features for most gaming performance. The laptop shape is well made and well designed for its edge-shape and lite weight. However, there are some flaws such as the keywords and the speakers. The keywords are not sealed inside between keys. Another flaw is the speaker. Instead of Dell Studio, Inspiron 15r has the speakers on bottom backside. These lower the sound.

Was this review helpful? (80) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wikhiho
Canyon, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Dell Inspiron
4/22/2011

Customer review by badger112

5.0 stars 4/22/2011 by badger112
by badger112

I am so pleased to have upgraded to a Dell. I am very impressed with the screen resolution, the speed with which it opens files, installs programs and so on. This is the first laptop I've ever owned that has its own cooling fan which will prolong the computers lifespan, I'm sure. The finish does show fingerprints, but a skin can deal with that and for the price - I'll wipe fingerprints!!!! Longevity of the product remains to be seen as I have not personally owned a dell, but the ones at work have done very well, so I am optimistic.

Was this review helpful? (45) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
badger112
Mount Vernon, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Dell Rocks !!!
9/8/2010

Customer review by Mohnish

5.0 stars 9/8/2010 by Mohnish
by Mohnish

I purchased N5010 with the following configuration: i5-450, 4GB RAM, 320 GB HD, 1 GB Dedicated Graphics Card. The windows rating it showed was 5.8(Thats low just because of my HD capacity i.e.320 GB and partly because of the rpm which is 5400. Anyways DELL doesnt allow to choose 7200 rpm for its Inspiron Model) Pros: 1. I got my system 2 days prior to the estimated delivery date. I got my system within 8 week days of placing the order 2. The design is just superb...I have fallen in love with system Cons: 1. Dell doesnt ship the OS DVD with the Model. Though the system allows to create recovery disk but what if i want to change the Hard disk partition by reinstalling Windows(i.e. formatting the hard disk). I dont want to keep just one partition. So Since the customers are purchasing the OS, i personally think DELL should start Shipping the OS DVD with the system or atleast keep the ISO image on the HD. Even that would do. Anyways as promised by DELL got a nice, powerful machine. Thanks DELL.

Mohnish
Mumbai
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
WALMART D' BEST!
5/12/2011

Customer review by MARCOABY

5.0 stars 5/12/2011 by MARCOABY
by MARCOABY

The best laptop i've ever had. Very fast, large storage and crystal clear HD screen. Rich graphics & impressive battery life. What can you ask for.

Was this review helpful? (126) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MARCOABY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This is our second Inspiron 15R
7/13/2011

Customer review by jcdist

5.0 stars 7/13/2011 by jcdist
by jcdist

Pros - I already had an Inspiron 15R and was thrilled to see they were still available when my partner needed a new laptop. Her old Dell was dying, and she was concerned she would go into withdrawal if we didn't get a replacement soon. I ordered this system and it arrived two days later, so she was saved! Cons - I have had occasional "hangs" where the system will freeze up for a couple of minutes, but then everything returns to normal. This system is heavier than the 10" Dell Netbooks we used to travel with, but worth the extra power and screen size. I have purchased nothing but Dell computers for the last 10 years, both for home and business use. I wouldn't use anything else! We use them for hours each day and both love them. We use them for internet browsing, video streaming, Facebook, email, video and photo editing, publishing, webpage maintenance, Skype, word processing, spreadsheets and many other uses. We are currently visiting the Czech Republic and wouldn't have thought of leaving them behind.

jcdist
Tennessee - USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
can't beat the deal
5/2/2011

Customer review by dealzhunter

5.0 stars 5/2/2011 by dealzhunter
by dealzhunter

Best bang for the buck you will find in a laptop. Intel i3 processor, 4gb ram, and did i mention this laptop has WiMax? Too good of a deal to pass up. It isn't made cheap like alot of the acer's and lenovo's you will find on the market.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dealzhunter
Reading, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Value
4/19/2011

Customer review by JHRolla

5.0 stars 4/19/2011 by JHRolla
by JHRolla

I got this computer after my HP crashed. For the Price this is a great computer. I use it for school and surfing the web. My HP had all kinds of problems, even when it was new. This computer works great and I haven't noticed any problems or quirks.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JHRolla
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Valued product
4/26/2011

Customer review by Kemp40

5.0 stars 4/26/2011 by Kemp40
by Kemp40

Best computer for the price! Fast and large harddrive with camera. Looked at other brands but happy with my choice. Upgraded from older Dell and was a big difference in performance.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kemp40
Pines, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Value & Performance
4/29/2011

Customer review by gks80

5.0 stars 4/29/2011 by gks80
by gks80

This laptop provides great value for money without compromising on quality. Has the latest i3 processor, HDMi out port, 4 gb ram, etc.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gks80
Stafford TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome value for money
12/10/2010

Customer review by AG

4.0 stars 12/10/2010 by AG
by AG

I bought my Dell Inspiron 15R( i3 350m, 512 Mb Ati Mobility Radeon HD 5470, 4 Gb Ram, 320 Gb HDD, Windows 7 Home Premium) this August and Id say Its a pretty good machine. Ive recommended this to a few friends of mine and they all seemed to have agreed with me. This particular configuration can handle most games with reasonable ease. Call of Duty: Modern Warfare worked without a hitch with everything topped off, and Black Ops with everything topped off except anti-aliasing which was turned off. Mafia II worked in full and DiRT 2 in Medium settings. The laptop easily crunches Photoshop CS4 and almost everything thrown at it without struggling too much. However while gaming, it does heat up a fair amount, with the graphics card running at about 70 - 80 Degrees. The placement of all the ports are just perfect and the battery life as pretty good at about 3 hours as well. Overall a VERY GOOD BUY and highly recommended to anyone who wants fairly good performance at a budget. Kudos to Dell for coming up with something so great. :)

AG
India
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Computer
5/15/2011

Customer review by ComputerNerds

5.0 stars 5/15/2011 by ComputerNerds
by ComputerNerds

This has been one of the best computer we got. It was very easy to set up and very fast. The price is great also as every other place I looked for this computer with ALL THE SAME STUFF, most places were about $100.00 to $150.00 more then Wal-Mart. If you are looking to get a new laptop, you can not go wrong with this one.

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ComputerNerds
Kearns, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good value
5/4/2011

Customer review by lionking1

4.0 stars 5/4/2011 by lionking1
by lionking1

I bought this laptop for my wife as my old toshiba gave up on me.We wanted a faster system with lots of space and this laptop fit the bill.I have had it almost a month now and have no complaints so far. I only wish they had provided blue tooth support with this one.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lionking1
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Out of the box problems
2/3/2011

Customer review by FragileBuild

2.0 stars 2/3/2011 by FragileBuild
by FragileBuild

I had a Dell desktop computer run perfectly for over 8 years until the HD crashed last week. I decided to purchase a dell lap top and unfortunately have had a few problems in the week that I have owned it. The back left USB port is so poorly attached that the slightest movement of the lap top causes the external HD to loose connectivity which is not helpful when you are trying to backup your data. I then ran the hardware diagnostic that came with it and found that it has a HD error although the diagnostic was not entirely clear and simply stated I was supposed to contact Dell if the problem occured after a 2nd diagnostic run. The error was persistent. If you decide to purchase this lap top, go over it thoroughly b/c it might take a few tries until you find one that is made properly. During the streesful time of looking for a job, being bothered with problems after paying good money for a working computer is not what I expected.

FragileBuild
Virginia, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Inspiron 15R-----An Awesome Laptop!!!
8/3/2010

Customer review by Ganesh NeshBoy

5.0 stars 8/3/2010 by Ganesh NeshBoy
by Ganesh NeshBoy

wow,inspiron 15R laptop really a fantastic laptop i had ever purchased...no problem with playing games totally, really smooth,and i will also use to do some college works like presentation,the MS 2010 really cool no problem with that,entertainment was the main atraction for me coz the sound system and videos really realistic,watching movies,playing latest games and etc,....mine is i5 proccesor,4GB ram,1Gb video card....but i see some reviews says this laptop is not better for gaming,but for me its excellent laptop for other works and also for GAMING, i 100% sure coz few day before i juz install the call of duty:modern warfare 2 game,really very smooth to play in this 15R inspiron laptops.... But one thing really gives me problem---the battery,only can stand for 2hr something like that... Totally this 15R inspiron laptop is an all in one machine,u can do anything with this laptop,but dont forget to bring charger together ...

Ganesh NeshBoy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
laptop for mom
5/6/2011

Customer review by MBrenda

4.0 stars 5/6/2011 by MBrenda
by MBrenda

I was hoping this would be good enough to play my mom's pc games. It does not. Everything else is great except for that.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MBrenda
Splendora, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great buy!
4/4/2011

Customer review by Nadigal

5.0 stars 4/4/2011 by Nadigal
by Nadigal

I bought the red Dell and I love it! I use it for school and have no problems having multiple documents open while trying to get work done. I watch a DVD every night with my daughter on this computer and the computer runs great and smooth. Definitly a great buy!

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nadigal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Solid laptop for the price.
12/22/2010

Customer review by Someguyouteast

4.0 stars 12/22/2010 by Someguyouteast
by Someguyouteast

Purchased the laptop for use doing assignments and research while finishing my degree. The keyboard is fine for my use and I appreciate the number pad on the side. A little flex noted on the right side of the keyboard. The esata and hdmi ports are welcome. The touch pad is responsive and works well with no fuss. I installed Ubuntu linux and decided to keep the windows as a dual boot option rather than removing it entirely. Ubuntu 10.10 worked fine. Wireless and touchpad work fine. Restricted drivers needed for the wireless. The display on this laptop is very nice, I haven't tested the battery life. Speakers are adequate for basic use. The i3 processor and 4gb ram are more than adequate for my needs on this machine. I did encode a video using handbrake and was pleasantly surprised at the speed. I have the intel graphics and nexius a FPS played fine. The laptop is quite cool when not under load.

Someguyouteast
Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 790 total reviews
1-20 of 790 reviews