Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 141 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

141 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

141 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

76%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
74
4 stars
30
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 stars
25
1-20 of 131 total reviews
76%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 131 total reviews
1-20 of 131 reviews
Nice piece of plastic junk
9/14/2011

Customer review by PrincessJedi

2.0 stars 9/14/2011 by PrincessJedi
by PrincessJedi

I'm taking mine back today. I bought it yesterday, based upon the reviews read on Walmart.com. I was sorely disappointed!! It would seal, not vacuum and seal, but simply seal three bags then overheat. The booklet says to wait 20 secs after overheating but the shortest amount of time we waited was 5 minutes!! That's just ridiculous! It took us over 2 hours to seal 10lbs of meat. We ended up getting out our old foodsaver and used that instead. My husband was pretty upset that for $142.93 (plus tax), the machine could not do what it was designed to do. Also, the drip tray is incredibly small. When I was putting it away this morning, I noticed how small the fan on the back of the machine was. Perhaps Tilia needs to put a bigger fan design in to prevent overheating. I most likely will just stick with the one I bought several years ago instead of purchasing a newer model. It's never given me any problems.

Was this review helpful? (100) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PrincessJedi
North Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
The problem is....
11/6/2013

Customer review by awhill

3.0 stars 11/6/2013 by awhill
by awhill

When you buy this or any of the "automatic" machines you receive a roll that is made of a heavier material and both outside surfaces are smooth. This allows for a good seal for the air to be evacuated out. When you use the bags that you buy at Walmart, they are made of a thinner material and are smooth on one outside surface and rough on the other causing the seal and therefore the air evacuation to be hit or miss. I had zero problems with the roll and bags that came with the machine and nothing but problems with the rolls and bags I bought after those were used up.

Was this review helpful? (63) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
awhill
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
FoodSaver Vacuum Sealing System, V850
3/17/2016

Customer review by artchic

1.0 stars 3/17/2016 by artchic
by artchic

I had my vacuum sealer for a little over 1 year and the bag sealer stopped sealing. However I kept it because I also used it for the canisters. Now the gray plug on top of the canisters keep coming off and I've lost a few. I contacted FoodSaver to see if I can replace these. I was told I needed to buy the entire canister. They can give me a 15% discount - no thank you. I can get a better discount on my own and I won't be buying FoodSaver anymore.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 8/17/2016

I understand what you’re saying, and want to assure you that we always strive to provide the highest quality products and services to our consumers. FoodSaver brand products have a long history of reliability and this FSFSSL3425-P15 is no different; the vacuum sealer offers a air-tight heat seal, and features fully automatic operation. Call us at 1-877-777-8042; we want to restore your faith in the FoodSaver brand. For your convenience we’re available Monday-Friday 8am-8pm, and Saturday 9am-6pm EST. Thanks!

artchic
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Product - Learning Curve
9/14/2013

Customer review by PlayWithYourFood

5.0 stars 9/14/2013 by PlayWithYourFood
by PlayWithYourFood
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I Put A Great Deal Of Effort Into Researching This Product Before Deciding To Buy. My Overall Experience Is Quite Good. For The Novice That Just Expects To Unbox And Use.. You May Be Dissapointed. To Those Persons I Highly Recomend Using The Bags, Not The Rolls. PreFreezing Liquid Items That You Bag Is Important. Most Important Is Keep The Seals/Sealing Areas Clean. Check The Internet For Blogs n Videos To Help You. Beyond The Bags.. Once you Get The Hang Of It The Mason Jars Are The Affordable Way To Go. You Can Vac Seal Liquid/Solid Items In Mason Jars. (Just Keep 1" Between The Jar Top And Food) Powdered Items Require Some Prepackaging Mason Jars Can Be Frozen Or Refrigerated. The Jars And Lids Can Be Reused Countless Times. Have Fun And Play With Your Food!

Was this review helpful? (28) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PlayWithYourFood
SoCal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
erratic performance
5/29/2012

Customer review by DonaldMechanicalEngr

1.0 stars 5/29/2012 by DonaldMechanicalEngr
by DonaldMechanicalEngr

This is first sealer for my wife & I. Out of three bags-- first was as advertised then the other two were not done automatically at all. Air pumped out but no sealing. Had to push the seal button and after a few tries it would seal. We're patient but I think we have a sorry piece of merchandise. We were not rushing the item and the cooling time was a few minutes rather than the "20 seconds" advertised. We want a good one and don't mind paying for it but this one seems to be a loser.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DonaldMechanicalEngr
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Exteremely frustrating product
12/14/2012

Customer review by Foster313

1.0 stars 12/14/2012 by Foster313
by Foster313

Let me start by saying we loved our previous sealer. The only reason we replaced it was to save counter space and to match our newly renovated Kitchen. While this sealer LOOKS great, it PERFORMS poorly. It often seals only the first bag, if we are trying to seal a series (which we almost always are). With every subsequent bag it either fails to extract air properly or extracts very little and then seals with a bubble of air inside. We've tried the instruction to put a piece of paper towel at the end of the bag and this occasionally works, but most often slips out of place before it can seal. After a frustrating year of struggling with it, it is going into the trash. This is a waste of money and an unfortunate load into the landfill. I don't know if I can trust this company to purchase another of these sealers, but if I do, it will be the flat model, rather than this upright style. Perhaps the older style will once again work as it a vacuum sealer is designed to.

Foster313
Sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Very pleased
7/28/2011

Customer review by mrsjodyody

4.0 stars 7/28/2011 by mrsjodyody
by mrsjodyody

I had one several years ago and was not a big fan of them. A friend told me about this one and I decided to try it and it is really easy to use and I can't wait to try the marinating feature!!

Was this review helpful? (42) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mrsjodyody
Jackson. GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
4/25/2011

Customer review by babybrent

5.0 stars 4/25/2011 by babybrent
by babybrent

This is my third FOOD SAVER and it is the daddy of them all. I love this product, and will be using it more often because it is so much easier to vacuum pack and to marinate.

Was this review helpful? (178) (36)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
babybrent
Savannag GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
FOODSAVER
11/6/2013

Customer review by LBreuer

1.0 stars 11/6/2013 by LBreuer
by LBreuer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Going the extra money for a good food saver, I was disappointed that not only was it hard to guide in the bags, it didn't not seal. never got to the vacuum stage of the sealer. Frustrated, I purchased another Foodsaver, same thing. It too did not seal. Desperate and curious, I have order 2 more. we will see the results later as to whether they are also duds. It has now became the principle of the matter as to how many of the Foodsavers I can purchase without having sealed not one bag. I first thought it was operator error, so I had my neighbor who recommended this product to come and test the machines, she had the same results. No seal.

Was this review helpful? (24) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LBreuer
Fort Myers, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
LOVE IT!!
11/5/2011

Customer review by mandy0418

5.0 stars 11/5/2011 by mandy0418
by mandy0418

My husband and I decided we wanted to stock up for the winter and this made this task much eaiser. The only thing is if you have something with alot of liqiud you have to make sure it seals, but it is very easy to use! The bags that go with this are also a very good value! You dont go through the rolls as fast as you think you would! I recommend this to everyone that comes to my house!

Was this review helpful? (38) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mandy0418
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
good product
4/10/2014

Customer review by liquidtrinity

4.0 stars 4/10/2014 by liquidtrinity
by liquidtrinity
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

was looking for a sealer for myself, I split 'the can'; 7 different sections, = 28 tbsp = 1/4 cup [is 4 tbsp] @ x7 1/4 cups per meal item. it allows me a variety of food, and not over doing it per meal item. I was looking for a food sealer that could do it (bag size and seal @ 1/4 cup bags) in a boil, microwave type bag. I got the boil, microwave, but I didn't find the 1/4 cup size. I was looking to shop, split, seal, and then cook each individual boil, or microwave an entire meal. I ended up with 8 times the size bag [at a pint size = 2 cups and a quart = 4 cups]. I was using a zip lock bags and half the can and 1/4 the half can frozen for cooking meals. I thought this was going to do the job. a big bag for a little bit 1/4 cup item, hmm, would be good to see smaller size bags instead of a 2 cup bag being the smallest. now with that said, it works good for the larger items like 5th ham, and turkey, pork chops, home made 1/4 lb meat loaf in bag sizes, the pint size and quart size are good as well as the bigger.

Was this review helpful? (2) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
liquidtrinity
muskegon, mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not worth the money
7/20/2012

Customer review by Hutch25

1.0 stars 7/20/2012 by Hutch25
by Hutch25

This is the second one I have to return within a month. The first one couldn't suck all the air out. This one will not create a seal, it partially seals and the "tray full" light will come on and won't go out. I will go with the cheaper model next. I had a cheaper model that lasted me 10 years, thought I was getting the same quality product. Very frustrated that I have to drive back into town and return yet another product!!

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hutch25
Andrews, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
short life
9/10/2013

Customer review by Bodieman11

3.0 stars 9/10/2013 by Bodieman11
by Bodieman11

I bought one last Year. I was happy with the product overall. It would over heat after 5 seals. So I would have to wait 20 minutes or so before I could do more. Then it quit sealing. The motor ran but not seal. I bought a new one and it acted just like the first one and it was new. I took it back. I am looking for a different brand.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bodieman11
USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Haven't used long enough to give a better rating.
5/24/2014

Customer review by Dorrisaj

3.0 stars 5/24/2014 by Dorrisaj
by Dorrisaj
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It's a nice machine. I was disappointed when I realized that it didn't have the integrated bag open as stated in the description. I called Food Saver directly, and spoke to a customer service specialist, I was told the V3425 model doesn't have that bag opener feature as stated in the description. Said it shouldn't have been included in the description. The person I talked to said, doesn't know why Walmart would put that in there. So, if you are looking for a bag opener feature, don't buy, because its not on the V3425 FoodSaver Vacuumn Sealing System. This might help, after going back and looking under features, bag opener were not included. But as stated above it was included in the description of the product.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dorrisaj
Garland, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Product
5/14/2012

Customer review by ShowMeTheBargain

5.0 stars 5/14/2012 by ShowMeTheBargain
by ShowMeTheBargain

This is my 3rd Food Saver. Not because anything goes wrong with the unit, I just prefer to switch whenever the company up grades the model. My old model usually gets donated to Goodwill, or a garage sale. This lastest model is by far their best. No button to hold down during the sealing process. Just turn it on, insert the bag, and "walk away". When the sealing process is completed the Food Saver turns off automatically. The Food Saver is very easy to use. I RESEAL just about every bag that's out there; chips, candy, cookies, etc. No need to use those twister ties anymore. I can't imagine how they can improve this great product, but if they do, you can be sure I'll be first in line.

Was this review helpful? (26) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShowMeTheBargain
LAS VEGAS, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great little money-saver!
12/3/2011

Customer review by tbelle22

5.0 stars 12/3/2011 by tbelle22
by tbelle22

A little pricey, but I tried the cheaper model and it didn't work, plus after checking it out online, it didn't have the features I wanted. Took it back and got this model. It works well, vacuums and seals everything as advertised. I had an "original" many years ago that lasted for a good 8-10 years before it bit the dust. I hope this one wears as well. No more freezer burned pork chops when I buy in bulk, and hopefully no leftovers turning into "science projects" in the back of the fridge!

Was this review helpful? (19) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tbelle22
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
MAKES ME MAD
11/5/2013

Customer review by packratshubby

1.0 stars 11/5/2013 by packratshubby
by packratshubby

If you want to get mad, buy this product. It only works once in a while. Most of the time it doesn't suck the air out before sealing . Yes, I read the instructions more than once.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
packratshubby
Vacaville, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Waste of money
4/30/2016

Customer review by ksweetater

1.0 stars 4/30/2016 by ksweetater
by ksweetater

Worked a few times but then stopped It shouldn't be rocket science to make a bag but it won't do anything Disappointed

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ksweetater
Would recommend to a friend? No
Purchased With a Goal
10/15/2012

Customer review by ArkansasBuckingBulls

4.0 stars 10/15/2012 by ArkansasBuckingBulls
by ArkansasBuckingBulls

I purchased the more expensive vacuum sealer in this series after reading some of the reviews and comments of "manual labor" vs. "automatic" and I am anticipating heavy usage because my goal this year is to fill the freezer with venison burger due to the expected high prices of beef next spring (we own and sell cattle might even butcher our own beef if this process goes well). I purchased this item in the store but placed an on-line order for the grinder which will not arrive for a few more days. I was a little late getting that order in however as both my husband and son-in-law harvested does yesterday! Fortunately, I had read several reviews on here and had read one that suggested freezing the meat for a few hours before cutting and grinding to make processing easier. The guys cleaned and quartered the deer and we stuck them in the freezer for about 6 hours. Knowing the grinder would arrive mid week (we all have full time jobs), we decided to go ahead and cut the meat off the bone and into chunks to feed into the grinder when it was a more convenient time. I was so grateful this product came with a roll and pre-cut bags! I all that was provided! It only took a few minutes to read the instructions and become familiar with the product. The roll and bags provided 6 bags (about gallon size) of approximately 6lbs each of meat chunks with just about a quarter size bag left. We used the pre-cut bags provided for the tenderloin. It worked wonderfully! Now all of the meat from this weekend is sealed up, frozen and will be ready for me when I the grinder gets here and I have enough time. I also sealed a ham bone and with lots of meat on it left from dinner to be used in beans later. It looked like it was professionally packaged and I'm confident when I pull it out of the freezer, it will not be coated with ice crystals like they normally are. I would highly recommend this product as it worked well for this novice, the instructions are easy and on the product in labels and the cleanup was simple.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ArkansasBuckingBulls
Dover, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Vacum sealer
12/4/2012

Customer review by shelby0003

5.0 stars 12/4/2012 by shelby0003
by shelby0003

This sealer works great we just finished sealing 190lbs of sausage and snack sticks, every thing worked very well.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shelby0003
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 131 total reviews
1-20 of 131 reviews