Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 50 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

50 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

50 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
30
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
4
1-20 of 45 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 45 total reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews
Great system, Huge sound
8/26/2011

Customer review by Livenitgood

5.0 stars 8/26/2011 by Livenitgood
by Livenitgood

I use this system everyday and it hasn't given me a problem yet. My dad and I are big into audio and he talked me into buying a "theatre in a box" setup, rather then going with the much more expensive, but more tasteful, "piece by piece" option. Out of the 40 units of sound measurement it can go up to, i dont go past 15 on any occasion, and thats with everyone out of the house. generally its on 6-12/40. GREAT BUY There are 3 things i would change if i had the chance... WiFi inside the system, not on a stick, Able to update the system witlessly, and last but not least, to get rid of the 1/2 second pause that happens at the begginning of anything you start.. be it a new show on netflix/hulu, or starting your xbox.

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Livenitgood
Jacksonville, Ar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great startup home theater kit
6/13/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/13/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this home theater to go along with my brand new 50'' plasma, it fit right in with the TV. I quickly set it up and it took very little time at all except for the task of finding the sub woofer cord which I found was tied to the back of the sub woofer. I have not tried it out on anything except for the player and the sound was great upon me tweaking the speakers (i.e. going to speaker level on remote and moving the levels up on the forward and rear side speakers and lowering the levels on the center speaker). I however am frustrated with the cords being everywhere and the fact that my setup is angled funny. There is also no HDMI cable with the system which seems like something that should come with a blueray player. I think that if you already have an idea on how you will set up the speakers and mask the cords in the background then you will be pleased with your selection of speakers. I also suggest in investing in a digital audio cable so you can configure the sounds from your tv (games, cable, etc.) to go thru the speakers. PROS: Great loud clean sound and easy set up if you understand basic audio equipment. CONS: Cords everywhere and annoying cluster of audio cords now sit behind tv. Also remote response time on system is slow and seems a little unresponsive at times, no HDMI cable with system. I may take this set back and invest in a smaller wireless set up but not because of sound quality just personal preference to less cluster.

Was this review helpful? (50) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Will return product
11/25/2011

Customer review by OldDude777

1.0 stars 11/25/2011 by OldDude777
by OldDude777

I purchased this LG Home Theater System and an LG 55" TV at the same time, in hopes that I would not encounter any connection or syncing problems. I have tried everything the support center has advised, but I cannot get the two systems to recognize each other. When I choose the DVD option on the TV, half the time it works, and the other half of the time I get a "no signal" message. When I try to start the DVD from the Home Theater system, the unit will search for a TV source, and then just turn off. I was also very disappointed in the sound for a unit costing this much. I chose Walmart's option for delivery plus one additional component setup. The tech. guy could not get the two units to work together either, in spite of the fact that I had purchased all the HDMI, Optical, and Component cables as advised by the Walmart associate. I am trying to find the time to pack all this stuff up and take it back to Walmart. It is very frustrating.

Was this review helpful? (5) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OldDude777
No. CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Terrible
1/11/2012

Customer review by 1sheepdog

1.0 stars 1/11/2012 by 1sheepdog
by 1sheepdog

I received this as a replacement for another brand surround-sound system. The first one was not a high priced unit so it bothered me little to return it. This one however, I thought would last me for years. The set up was good and straightforward. The WiFi was accessed through a plug in USP adaptor similar to a USB memory device. Though everything seemed to start off good and the fact my son loves the addition of You Tube thats the extent to the positives. The trouble I had was I watched three DVD's none which were Blue-ray over a span of two weeks. Then the fourth DVD I tried to watch tried to load but quickly began to sound like the gears were not engaging the DVD and there were all sorts of awful noise coming from the unit then it spit the disk out. I tried several different DVD's to all be treated the same. So, it's back to Walmart I go with yet another broken player. And no I'm not hard on my things. I take pride in installing and using my things like they are the last things on earth. So I guess I'm just not a lucky man. GOOD LUCK TO THOSE THAT HAVE OR BUY THIS UNIT!!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1sheepdog
SoCal
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great bang for the buck
12/22/2011

Customer review by BucsGator

4.0 stars 12/22/2011 by BucsGator
by BucsGator

After doing some comparing it is the best bang for the buck. You get a blu-ray player and internet capability. Not to mention it comes with the wi-fi dongle, which most in this price range and even $50 more do not. It was a breeze to set up and the sound is pretty good. I noticed that it is actually $50 more if you buy it in walmart. So I would definitely recommend buying it on walmart.com then picking it up at your local store. I asked an associate about this and he told me that it is quite common for electronics to be cheaper on thier website. $50 is a considerable difference too! I have owned a few of the samsung 1000w systems and this one has much better features. I have also owned a panasonic one that had better sound but considerably less features and no blu-ray player. This will definitely do the trick until I can save up for that dream bose system!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BucsGator
Bradenton, FL.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/20/2011

Customer review by lonwolf77

4.0 stars 7/20/2011 by lonwolf77
by lonwolf77

the wifi option is real neat , the only draw back that i have is the echo sound maybe its to much system for to little space , it was easy to hook up just a lot of wires i ran them through my floor into the basement and back up problem solved

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lonwolf77
il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Buy this!
9/15/2011

Customer review by sandd2008

5.0 stars 9/15/2011 by sandd2008
by sandd2008

We recently purchased a 73 inch TV (also from Walmart) and decided to buy a home theater system to go with it. We went to our local store and found this system on sale and decided it was what we wanted. The only issue we had was that our new TV had a coaxial audio output and the bluray (receiver) has a optical audio input, but we just hooked the optical cord up to the cable box and to the receiver instead of tv to receiver. The speakers sound great, it was super easy to run the internet through with a wireless connection, and it's really kind of fun to sit there and watch you tube videos on a giant tv. Buy this product, you won't regret it!

Was this review helpful? (18) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sandd2008
Falcon Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Avoid this home theater system
6/2/2011

Customer review by blooker

1.0 stars 6/2/2011 by blooker
by blooker

I bought this to go with a new big screen. I especially wanted the wi-fi feature. The system was extremely easy to set up. It's sleek looking as well as powerful. However, the wi-fi feature merely lets you tune into three pay services and You Tube. Well, it's supposed to do wi-fi, but the wi-fi adapter dongle failed upon installation. LG's tech support is totally useless. I tried three different calls, got 3 different tech support reps, each was more clueless than the other as they had near zero technical competence. Rather than exchanging the dongle, I must now repack the entire system, burn another $30 in gas to return the system and get another and then install that one, too.

Was this review helpful? (19) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
blooker
Asheville NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good looking system with lots of functionality
7/26/2011

Customer review by bigthor113

5.0 stars 7/26/2011 by bigthor113
by bigthor113

Have only used a few times so far, but impressed with the quality of this system. Good looking system, easy to set-up and delivers great sound. Good system for the money. Easy wireless set-up and so far so good.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bigthor113
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
good system so far great price
12/11/2011

Customer review by bridog

4.0 stars 12/11/2011 by bridog
by bridog

Purchased for 230 dollars decemember 2011. Upgrade fom a 2006 samsung surround. Have used it twice sound is good, picture good, have not used a blue ray yet. Only complaint is the slide on dvd player sounds scratchy when it pulls the dvd in. Netflix worked great havent tried any other options. For 230 dollars its awsome-Hope it lasts

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bridog
wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
11/30/2011

Customer review by AJ87

5.0 stars 11/30/2011 by AJ87
by AJ87

I've had this product since October and i love it. It seems like all of my electronics go through a "break-in phase", well this went through one and now it really sounds good. Its very powerful, loud and clear. Once I placed my speaker in the optimal position, the sound was amazing.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AJ87
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great home theater system
12/19/2011

Customer review by unclegarry

5.0 stars 12/19/2011 by unclegarry
by unclegarry

very good sound. lots of bass... easy to set up and use

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
unclegarry
tacoma,wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product
12/15/2011

Customer review by ladderman57

5.0 stars 12/15/2011 by ladderman57
by ladderman57

Good sound, easy hook-up, great purchace.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ladderman57
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Bad speaker port on back of player!
1/28/2012

Customer review by doggieboy

1.0 stars 1/28/2012 by doggieboy
by doggieboy

The right front speaker does not work, it's not a bad speaker, it is a bad connector in the back of the player. I have hooked the wires upto the left front speaker port in back of the player and it works then. I have set-up all the wires over and pver again, but have the same results- the right speaker will not work! It's not easy to pull my T.V. and intertainment center out to get to all of my wiring behind, so I am going to just live with the fact that I will never have a right front speaker. I should heve bought a cheaper brand, like RCA. Very disgusted!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
doggieboy
Oklahoma City
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great sound; center speaker doesn't hang
1/14/2012

Customer review by Kmanly

4.0 stars 1/14/2012 by Kmanly
by Kmanly

I like the sound and the price was right at Walmart. It is easy to connect especially if you are already wired. I really like the feature for hearing voice clearly amid other noise although it has quirks when the voice is in the background. I wish it took more inputs, but I don't need them right now. Be nice if it played other web videos such as web casts besides the big names. My biggest issue was that the center speaker does not have the ability to mount. It must sit on a cabinet, shelf, or etc. I left my old center speaker hanging because it was about the same watts. The names for the surround options are odd. There is not one called, "Movie." All in all; a very good value at Walmart. The woofer likes to be on the left; mine is on the right turned diagonal.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kmanly
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Quality product/Smooth purchase and pick up.
8/2/2011

Customer review by Tommy2times

4.0 stars 8/2/2011 by Tommy2times
by Tommy2times

I love this LG Blue Ray/Home Theater system. Easy set up. I have a 47" LG tv that links up with the home theatre. Sounds great. There is an issue with intermtent signa which slows down the transition from say DVD to optical or Tv. But it's easy to get aroud. Very good experience with p/u at store.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tommy2times
Mission-Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
good product
12/21/2011

Customer review by Cremas05

4.0 stars 12/21/2011 by Cremas05
by Cremas05

it plays very well and is easy to set up. The problem I have is that there isn't an iPod dock and it isn't touch screen which isn't a major factor. Love the radio on there and how loud it sounds which is a factor for me since I don't like low watts.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cremas05
Bronx, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Out-Of-The-Box-Great
12/28/2011

Customer review by VermontBear

5.0 stars 12/28/2011 by VermontBear
by VermontBear

Great system for the price. Set up was simple. Hooked it up to my 32" LG very easily. Wifi and wired internet services are modest (4 selections --YouTube for free); though, I paid $220 --not a bad deal for a home theatre. In addition to TV, Blueray, Wifi, and USB options I have dual CD decks hooked up via RCA inputs. You will require an optical cable to pump TV and USB tunes into this unit; it's not included. Walmart was out of stock --I found one at Staples for $3 less. Overall, a superior setup for a pretty good price. Very satisifed and highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VermontBear
Vermont
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
LIFES GOOD
10/30/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/30/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I AM HAPPY WITH MY PRODUCT. IT WAS A VERY EASY SET UP AND CUSTOMER SERVICE WAS WONDERFUL. MY SYSTEM SOUNDS EXCELLENT AT A LOW VOLUME. I DO NOT NEED TO TURN IT UP PAST 13. I WILL RECOMMAND THIS SYSTEM TO EVERYBODY. I REALLY APPRECIATE THE TIME YOU TAKE TO MAKE A WONDERFUL SYSTEM. LG IS THE BEST!

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/13/2012

Customer review by LP69

5.0 stars 1/13/2012 by LP69
by LP69

This was purchased to go with my LED TV which has horrible sound and this system sounds great. My main concern was the bass output as I wanted something comparable to the Bose systems. It proved me wrong as this has great range and output. The volume goes up to 40 and for normal tv its on 10 at the most and DVD's and Blu-rays 15. It has preset settings and I use the bass setting and it shakes the room as I like. Very happy with this purchase and it saved me over $800.00 from the Bose.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LP69
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews