Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 59 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

59 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

59 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
37
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
5
1-20 of 45 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 45 total reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews
Very Good Entry level Home Theatre Reciever
4/27/2012

Customer review by lakephillip

5.0 stars 4/27/2012 by lakephillip
by lakephillip

Been eying several Sony recievers at Crutchfield. Was wondering why my local Walmart didn't carry home theatre recievers. Now mind you this reciever was sitting on a shelf in the box and although there were pictures on it I couldn't tell just by looking at that, the shortcomings of the reciever. There are only two. One the HDMI passthrough will automatically change the digital decoding on the reciever to match the television speakers. My speakers are stereo, and therefore if I use the HDMI passthrough all the setting revert to LPCM(high quality stereo). I can't imagine just using the built in speakers over the HT speakers that I just reset to having all sound go through the sony. The other dissapointment was the exclusion of Automatic Sound Calibration.....they list it in the manual for just Australia, and Singapore...... But I would only use that as a templete. The sound is wonderful and there are so many settings that it is a great value for 228$ plus tax.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lakephillip
Clearlake Oaks, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Beautifully Solid
4/25/2011

Customer review by whitelite5460

5.0 stars 4/25/2011 by whitelite5460
by whitelite5460

I bought this receiver as my first stand alone receiver. (I have previously owned Home Theater in a Box units) I wanted to build my own home theater from the ground up. I found this item for 30% off at a store closing and I couldn't be happier. Because of my inexperience at setting up home theater, I find this device a little hard to understand. I have a Sony Bravia tv so I wanted to use the Bravia Sync. It took me about a half hour to figure out how to set it up and now it works flawlessly. (It is not the most important feature, but it's an added bonus.) I have matched this receiver with Sony SS-F5000 tower speakers and the SA-W3000 subwoofer. My center channel is a Polk Audio PS-10 I believe. I am not an audiophile, but I did want excellent sound from these components. I have gotten everything I expected and more from them. Sony REALLY does deliver a whole line of excellent products. From Bravia tv's to Playstion 3 to this receiver...Sony has me coming back for more. This stuff is for real.

whitelite5460
Coon Rapids, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome sound
9/30/2011

Customer review by Keithd561

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by Keithd561
by Keithd561

Easy to hook up. Great sound. Interfaces automatically with my Panasonic 3D BluRay player and 55" LG 3D LED HDTV which reduces the need for a remote. Easy to tweek and customize settings for any individual taste. Love it!

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Keithd561
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
solid performer
3/4/2012

Customer review by Cedric

5.0 stars 3/4/2012 by Cedric
by Cedric

I bought this to replace my Yamaha a/v so that I could utilize HMDI ins and outs. I first bought a Pioneer a/v but had troubles making all the interface work. Returned it and got this one instead and I am not disappointed. Hook up was simple and straight forward. Passthrough function works perfectly. That is what sold me. Sound is great and power is more than enough going to all my speakers (5.1), I run PSB's from front, center and sub and Mirage for the rear. All sound better than ever. Picture quality is fantastic. There are more feartures on this unit than I will probably ever use. I highly recommend this unit for the price and features and if you have other sony products than this purchase is a no brainer. All can be controlled with one remote. My first thought was to go with this unit first but I didn't and i still ended up with this unit in the end. Should have trusted my instincts and saved a return on a A/V system that didn't function as well. I love this unit.

Cedric
Prescott Valley AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sweet Stereo
1/27/2012

Customer review by crashcondo

5.0 stars 1/27/2012 by crashcondo
by crashcondo

My God. The first time I cranked out Dolby HD-DTS surround sound from this badboy, I nearly wept. I'm not sure what I was listening to before, but the difference was astounding. So rich and complete. Get a powered sub to really complete the range.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
crashcondo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Exactly what I wanted!
1/28/2012

Customer review by jdsykes

5.0 stars 1/28/2012 by jdsykes
by jdsykes

I have had this receiver about 3 weeks and it is great. I upgraded to this receiver from a Harman Kardon that was nice, but my technologically challenged wife had a hard time with. I also wanted the ability to plug my PS3, Wii, Iphone, Directv and anything else into the receiever through HDMI connections and then have 1 HDMI going out to the tv. This receiver has nailed it on all points. My wife only has to ever hit 2 buttons on the remote. 1 to watch tv and 1 to play blu-ray. So, there is alot less yelling yelling in my living room. There is also no signal loss when plugging everything into the receiver and then having the 1 output to the tv. The on screen controls that are output to the tv are also very helpful and user friendly. The microphone that it comes with to set up your speaker configuration is amazingly accurate. I'm using the same Hardan Kardon speakers that I had before. However, they have never sounded as good or as well balanced. Bottome line--Fantastic receiver and especailly at the price!

jdsykes
Lexington, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
nice, cheap and easy to use
5/4/2011

Customer review by smeesmay

5.0 stars 5/4/2011 by smeesmay
by smeesmay

This is an entry unit that performs like a lot higher end receiver. may be missing some of the bells and whistles (audyssy processing etc.) but the power output is great and it really livins up any set of speakers. Definatly worth upgrading and is a million times better than the pioneer 3d model for 179.

Was this review helpful? (49) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
smeesmay
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best bang for the buck
10/29/2011

Customer review by nwagtmustang

5.0 stars 10/29/2011 by nwagtmustang
by nwagtmustang

I purchased this product as an upgrade for my old Sony AV reciever. My old Sony had HDMI passthru for video only. Still had to use audio cables. As soon as I connected my PS3 and Direct TV dvr I took it around the lap a few times. I never knew my speakers were good. I hear sounds I never heard before weather playing games or watching dvds on the PS3 or watching HDTV. Just an FYI if you attach a PS3 to this reciever, atleast if you have an older PS3 which mine is you will only have linear pcm light up on the receiver. Its exactly the same as true hd. You will not get the true hd or DTS hd light up on your reciever. What happens is the PS3 is decoding the sound and then sending it over to the receiver. The only downside to this reviever is it does not have auto calibration for the US version. I have not idea why. My old Sony had this. I know MSRP lists it at $249 but I bought this at Best Buy for $203. Awesome price, awesome product, and awesome sound.

nwagtmustang
Portland OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great receiver
4/9/2012

Customer review by Gless

5.0 stars 4/9/2012 by Gless
by Gless

The receiver is awesome. If you're looking for a very easy to set up and easy to use product with great features, this definitely meets those qualities. The price was great (Bought on sale for 194 pre tax) and I have had no issues. Using a collection of Pioneer floor-standing, bookshelf, and center speakers with a powered Pioneer Subwoofer. It is definitely enough to irritate the neighbors at its peak. Don't use the 7.1 or 3D yet, but I figured in the future I might. Some tips: You will need a powered subwoofer as line-out is your only option for the sub. If you have issues with "Protect" on your receiver, you most likely have a short in your wiring, and you need to make sure the different sides of your speaker wires don't touch when connecting to a speaker.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gless
CO Springs, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
3/22/2012

Customer review by bubbles000boop

5.0 stars 3/22/2012 by bubbles000boop
by bubbles000boop

Had a previous Sony surround system for over 10 yrs that went out. Instead of buying a whole new system I just bought a receiver and kept the speakers i had from the other unit. Works perfectly!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bubbles000boop
Middleburg, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1/24/2012

Customer review by FredfromGR

4.0 stars 1/24/2012 by FredfromGR
by FredfromGR

Great sound, easy to set up, the price is right.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FredfromGR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great receiver
4/18/2012

Customer review by jonpaulthe2nd

5.0 stars 4/18/2012 by jonpaulthe2nd
by jonpaulthe2nd

Receiver is great. Meets all my expectations, but price was too high for this receiver. The add walmart.com displayed was confusing, thought I was getting speakers together with it, but it seems I misunderstood the add. Surely I would recomend this receiver to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jonpaulthe2nd
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Sound
4/10/2011

Customer review by Flicker21

4.0 stars 4/10/2011 by Flicker21
by Flicker21

Challange to set up. Poor operator instructions. Disappointed the remote does not operate the TV, still need two remotes. (I do not have a cable box or dish). The receiver has great sound.

Was this review helpful? (24) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Flicker21
Winston-Salem, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
OK Receiver for price
11/24/2011

Customer review by JimH8348

4.0 stars 11/24/2011 by JimH8348
by JimH8348

An okay receiver for the price. One item I was disappointed in about this receiver that isn't explained in the item description is that the subwoofer output is only compatible with a powered subwoofer. The system I replaced with this receiver was able to output to either a non-powered or a powered sub. The speaker system I currently have uses a non-powered subwoofer so it looks like I'll have to buy a new subwoofer if I want to keep this receiver. The only reason I replaced my old receiver is that it wasn't 3D compatible.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JimH8348
Colorado Springs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great value
12/1/2012

Customer review by Rexio

4.0 stars 12/1/2012 by Rexio
by Rexio

I replaced an older A/V receiver with this and I am happy. All of the HDMI inputs were Great!! Set up was easy. Instructions could be better and I wish the on screen set up would work with other brands of TV. While not an audiophile I am pretty picky and it sounds great. The unit itself is rather plain looking but gets the job done.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rexio
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/5/2012

Customer review by MrBALDY

5.0 stars 12/5/2012 by MrBALDY
by MrBALDY
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very Good sound quality. A LOT of speaker options: Type of listing;concert;arena;jazz etc.;to speaker combonations. Recommend using HDMI cables to connect other components if possible. For me. taking a bit of time to understand how to use all the options this unit offers. But I'm not at all disapointed.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrBALDY
Newton, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy set-up, Great deal
6/30/2012

Customer review by couchpotatopro

5.0 stars 6/30/2012 by couchpotatopro
by couchpotatopro

The set-up was very simple,plus was a very good deal.I'm disabled and use this most of the day every day, and the sound is fantastic and the sound can be adjusted by your other remotes.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
couchpotatopro
hart, mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great budget choice
6/17/2013

Customer review by Bankushi

5.0 stars 6/17/2013 by Bankushi
by Bankushi

About a year and a half ago, I decided I wanted to build a stereo in my room for music purposes. Me and this stereo have come a long way. I have listened to this thing every day since the day I got it, and It still works just as good as that day, If not better now that the speakers I bought along with it have broken in. The multiple channels have allowed me to combine speakers to equalize tonal ballance. My first set of speakers are a bit bass heavy, and my second set sounds very bright. I combined them, and BAM! A set of balanced speakers. This review was for music use on this reciever. Even if you are not looking for a video reciever, this is a great buy. I am very pleased with my purchase

Bankushi
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
7/29/2012

Customer review by ElyandJuan

5.0 stars 7/29/2012 by ElyandJuan
by ElyandJuan

Me and my husband are really happy with the sony dh520. we recommend it to anyone who loves music.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ElyandJuan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
SONY NO OTHER
12/29/2011

Customer review by McEDAinMichigan

5.0 stars 12/29/2011 by McEDAinMichigan
by McEDAinMichigan

Every Sony product I have purchased has always lived up to its name, I purchased a Sony DVD player in 2000 and to date it is still performing to its max with never no problems. I recently purchased this new STRDH520 and it is everything and more than I expected it to be. Sound adjusts with whatever Sony system I turn on, be it my Sony 40" Bravia or Sony Blu-Ray player. What really makes this great is the "Bravia Sync" - One Remote to use for all systems. The set up of this stereo is simple, the 7.1 surround is outstanding & I know that this will be used for a very long time. I buy SONY for there is no other!

McEDAinMichigan
Metro Detroit, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews