Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 59 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

59 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

59 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
37
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
5
1-20 of 45 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 45 total reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews
nice, cheap and easy to use
5/4/2011

Customer review by smeesmay

5.0 stars 5/4/2011 by smeesmay
by smeesmay

This is an entry unit that performs like a lot higher end receiver. may be missing some of the bells and whistles (audyssy processing etc.) but the power output is great and it really livins up any set of speakers. Definatly worth upgrading and is a million times better than the pioneer 3d model for 179.

Was this review helpful? (49) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
smeesmay
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome sound
9/30/2011

Customer review by Keithd561

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by Keithd561
by Keithd561

Easy to hook up. Great sound. Interfaces automatically with my Panasonic 3D BluRay player and 55" LG 3D LED HDTV which reduces the need for a remote. Easy to tweek and customize settings for any individual taste. Love it!

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Keithd561
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sweet Stereo
1/27/2012

Customer review by crashcondo

5.0 stars 1/27/2012 by crashcondo
by crashcondo

My God. The first time I cranked out Dolby HD-DTS surround sound from this badboy, I nearly wept. I'm not sure what I was listening to before, but the difference was astounding. So rich and complete. Get a powered sub to really complete the range.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
crashcondo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Sound
4/10/2011

Customer review by Flicker21

4.0 stars 4/10/2011 by Flicker21
by Flicker21

Challange to set up. Poor operator instructions. Disappointed the remote does not operate the TV, still need two remotes. (I do not have a cable box or dish). The receiver has great sound.

Was this review helpful? (24) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Flicker21
Winston-Salem, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
3/22/2012

Customer review by bubbles000boop

5.0 stars 3/22/2012 by bubbles000boop
by bubbles000boop

Had a previous Sony surround system for over 10 yrs that went out. Instead of buying a whole new system I just bought a receiver and kept the speakers i had from the other unit. Works perfectly!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bubbles000boop
Middleburg, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1/24/2012

Customer review by FredfromGR

4.0 stars 1/24/2012 by FredfromGR
by FredfromGR

Great sound, easy to set up, the price is right.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FredfromGR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great receiver
4/18/2012

Customer review by jonpaulthe2nd

5.0 stars 4/18/2012 by jonpaulthe2nd
by jonpaulthe2nd

Receiver is great. Meets all my expectations, but price was too high for this receiver. The add walmart.com displayed was confusing, thought I was getting speakers together with it, but it seems I misunderstood the add. Surely I would recomend this receiver to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jonpaulthe2nd
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
OK Receiver for price
11/24/2011

Customer review by JimH8348

4.0 stars 11/24/2011 by JimH8348
by JimH8348

An okay receiver for the price. One item I was disappointed in about this receiver that isn't explained in the item description is that the subwoofer output is only compatible with a powered subwoofer. The system I replaced with this receiver was able to output to either a non-powered or a powered sub. The speaker system I currently have uses a non-powered subwoofer so it looks like I'll have to buy a new subwoofer if I want to keep this receiver. The only reason I replaced my old receiver is that it wasn't 3D compatible.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JimH8348
Colorado Springs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great receiver
4/9/2012

Customer review by Gless

5.0 stars 4/9/2012 by Gless
by Gless

The receiver is awesome. If you're looking for a very easy to set up and easy to use product with great features, this definitely meets those qualities. The price was great (Bought on sale for 194 pre tax) and I have had no issues. Using a collection of Pioneer floor-standing, bookshelf, and center speakers with a powered Pioneer Subwoofer. It is definitely enough to irritate the neighbors at its peak. Don't use the 7.1 or 3D yet, but I figured in the future I might. Some tips: You will need a powered subwoofer as line-out is your only option for the sub. If you have issues with "Protect" on your receiver, you most likely have a short in your wiring, and you need to make sure the different sides of your speaker wires don't touch when connecting to a speaker.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gless
CO Springs, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great value
12/1/2012

Customer review by Rexio

4.0 stars 12/1/2012 by Rexio
by Rexio

I replaced an older A/V receiver with this and I am happy. All of the HDMI inputs were Great!! Set up was easy. Instructions could be better and I wish the on screen set up would work with other brands of TV. While not an audiophile I am pretty picky and it sounds great. The unit itself is rather plain looking but gets the job done.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rexio
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Easy set-up, Great deal
6/30/2012

Customer review by couchpotatopro

5.0 stars 6/30/2012 by couchpotatopro
by couchpotatopro

The set-up was very simple,plus was a very good deal.I'm disabled and use this most of the day every day, and the sound is fantastic and the sound can be adjusted by your other remotes.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
couchpotatopro
hart, mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Good Entry level Home Theatre Reciever
4/27/2012

Customer review by lakephillip

5.0 stars 4/27/2012 by lakephillip
by lakephillip

Been eying several Sony recievers at Crutchfield. Was wondering why my local Walmart didn't carry home theatre recievers. Now mind you this reciever was sitting on a shelf in the box and although there were pictures on it I couldn't tell just by looking at that, the shortcomings of the reciever. There are only two. One the HDMI passthrough will automatically change the digital decoding on the reciever to match the television speakers. My speakers are stereo, and therefore if I use the HDMI passthrough all the setting revert to LPCM(high quality stereo). I can't imagine just using the built in speakers over the HT speakers that I just reset to having all sound go through the sony. The other dissapointment was the exclusion of Automatic Sound Calibration.....they list it in the manual for just Australia, and Singapore...... But I would only use that as a templete. The sound is wonderful and there are so many settings that it is a great value for 228$ plus tax.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lakephillip
Clearlake Oaks, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/29/2012

Customer review by ElyandJuan

5.0 stars 7/29/2012 by ElyandJuan
by ElyandJuan

Me and my husband are really happy with the sony dh520. we recommend it to anyone who loves music.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ElyandJuan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
12/5/2012

Customer review by MrBALDY

5.0 stars 12/5/2012 by MrBALDY
by MrBALDY

Very Good sound quality. A LOT of speaker options: Type of listing;concert;arena;jazz etc.;to speaker combonations. Recommend using HDMI cables to connect other components if possible. For me. taking a bit of time to understand how to use all the options this unit offers. But I'm not at all disapointed.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrBALDY
Newton, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/26/2012

Customer review by cekstoy

5.0 stars 3/26/2012 by cekstoy
by cekstoy

Works great, easy to install and operate

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cekstoy
Easley, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/5/2011

Customer review by Gabrielblows

5.0 stars 12/5/2011 by Gabrielblows
by Gabrielblows

Product meets or exceeds all expectations

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gabrielblows
Albany,GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
STR-DH520
12/11/2011

Customer review by Boulder81

3.0 stars 12/11/2011 by Boulder81
by Boulder81

It's an ok receiver however, I should have chosen a Pioneer. The remote tv/dvd functions only work with Sony products and there is no networking.

Was this review helpful? (3) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Boulder81
Longmont, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
12/11/2011

Customer review by barnicleboy

1.0 stars 12/11/2011 by barnicleboy
by barnicleboy

I never got to use the product, it was defective out of the box. The unit would send no audio or video through hdmi out. Disappointing for a name brand product.

Was this review helpful? (4) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
barnicleboy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
JUNK!
1/1/2012

Customer review by jobugg12

1.0 stars 1/1/2012 by jobugg12
by jobugg12

This is a piece of junk. None of the parts come with it to get the thing going. The speakers that I ordered as part of the bundle didn't even come with the cables to hook it to the AV receiver. If you don't have an HD TV AND a HD cable/satellite box, you can not hook it up to this receiver. Do not, DO NOT waste your money on this junk.

Was this review helpful? (5) (46)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jobugg12
Sidney, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
a fine replacement...
12/22/2012

Customer review by tbroughton

5.0 stars 12/22/2012 by tbroughton
by tbroughton

I wanted to update my next stereo receiver to newer technology (like HDMI mainly) and I found the perfect receiver with power and features to spare. And its already set up to accept my PS3 game station as a bonus. Sony, no baloney.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tbroughton
North East, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews