Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 19 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

19 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

19 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
14
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-18 of 18 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Awesome Receiver
10/3/2011

Customer review by Harleysporty1200

5.0 stars 10/3/2011 by Harleysporty1200
by Harleysporty1200

I did my homework looking for a new receiver but didn't want to spend a fortune buying one. I ran across this unit at Walmart.com It got very good reviews in this site and across the Internet. The price and sound quality of this powerful Sony receiver gets an A+ from me. And don't worry your 5.1 is not a problem. The unit will automatically switch to 5.1 when connected. It comes with a I pod docking station and universal remote. It also comes with a mic for easy speaker set up just follow your manual and you'll be set up in no time. This unit has many great features to it. I also added a Sony 180 watt Bass the sound is house shaking !!! I shipped site to store and was pleased with processing and ship time and it costs you nothing !!! I highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Harleysporty1200
Palm Bay
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Exceeds All Expectations
12/22/2011

Customer review by tncowboy

5.0 stars 12/22/2011 by tncowboy
by tncowboy

I ordered the STR-DH820 on the DEC.20th,2011 and got it on DEC.21,2011 Wal Mart delivered as promissed. I have a new STR-DH810 also from Wal Mart about 3 weeks old. I got the 820 because it has 3D and on TV screen menu. Keeping 810 as a back up in future. I thought it was awesome, but the 820 takes things to next level.The 820 is a 7.2 not a 7.1.... and you can customize any speaker set up from 2-7 channels as well as 1-2 subwoofers. I reveiwed all the reveiws at Wal Mart and Sony and disregarded the one negative one. This one said they could not get rear speakers to work, I have all 7 channels loud and clear. If you do not use auto cal. you have to set up using manual settings. Speaker,surround settings are fully customizable. If you add PL11x Movie as well you have 7.1 surround even on mono tv channels. I have it all set up using Vizio 3D HDMI cables from cable box, blue ray, to Vizio 65" TV At 1080P and the picture and sound is unbelievable,as pure as your going to get. I will never go to a theater again, they can't compete with Sony and Vizio, I will wait for BD to come out. Remember if the people doing reviews are novice and do not take time to read manual and experament to get the picture and sound to its peak performance you can't blame the manufacture's. These type of systems are not plug and play they require set up, and the ability to understand the process or it will never perform as expected. Some of the questions asked tell me that some people need to stay with theater in a box or get someone else to install this type of system. Sony delivered in both the 810 and 820, I would recommend either to family,friends, and stanger.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tncowboy
Newport, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Impressed!!
1/17/2012

Customer review by austinlad

5.0 stars 1/17/2012 by austinlad
by austinlad

And I don't say that lightly when it comes to electronics. This is my second Sony receiver and they continue to impress me with great features and sound for the money. It took a little manual tweaking to get the sound the way I wanted it, but once I did I was very impressed. It's also upconverting really well, even some of my low quality digital media looks really good. I found it cheaper online for $250 during Christmas.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
austinlad
Austin, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love It!!!
12/31/2011

Customer review by Dragonfly1959

5.0 stars 12/31/2011 by Dragonfly1959
by Dragonfly1959

Didn't realize how bad my old receiver really was....the sound differance is amazing

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dragonfly1959
Aurora, Co
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Better than Pioneer
6/15/2012

Customer review by Soundman52

5.0 stars 6/15/2012 by Soundman52
by Soundman52

I am much happier with this receiver. I purchased a Pioneer receiver from Walmart last year and it was a piece of junk. It didn't always recognize my HDMI inputs, I would turn on the receiver and my TV and nothing would appear on the screen. Also wouldn't play back in surround sound, even the BD player was in 2.0 instead of 5.1 surround!! So far have not had any problems with this one.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Soundman52
Massena, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice product for the money.
4/12/2011

Customer review by NatureGoulet

5.0 stars 4/12/2011 by NatureGoulet
by NatureGoulet

This receiver is excellent. Especially for the money. Easy set-up with microphone. HDMI connectivity is flawless, If using HDMI especially using AutoMotion on your 120/240hz TV, the receiver's Auto-Audio Delay is surprisingly close. I opted for the custom setting of about 130ms audio delay, and it's spot-on. Much better than even the "Y" upper-level competitors. And, the menu is incredibly simple and usable. May not have every bell and whistle that you get from the $600-800 price range, but excellent for the ~$400 range.

NatureGoulet
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Really Impressed!
6/1/2011

Customer review by helimech101

5.0 stars 6/1/2011 by helimech101
by helimech101

So far I am impressed with this receiver. I tried several other units (Pioneer VSX821, Denon AVR-591) using Best Buy's 30 day satisfaction policy and planned on exchanging this unit as well toward a Pioneer Elite. I just haven't found anything better for the money. It works well and has a lot of simple functions. The sound is great and the HDMI Pass Thru Standby works just as advertised. It upconverts my old composite VCR, and Component DVD player to 1080p with no effort.

helimech101
Longmont, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing receiver for the price!
9/13/2011

Customer review by deepen03

5.0 stars 9/13/2011 by deepen03
by deepen03

Amazing receiver.. Sony has a gem here. I used it to upgrade an old Sony receiver for my 6.1 speaker system. It brought my old speakers back to life! I'm hearing sounds I never heard with the old receiver. My first test was the Dark Knight Blu-ray and I was impressed! Keep up the great work with the receivers Sony! I am very satisfied with the purchase. And I only paid $234 on TheNerds.net. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to upgrade an old system or just looking at receivers.

deepen03
Sayreville, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy Set-up
12/21/2011

Customer review by pug319

5.0 stars 12/21/2011 by pug319
by pug319

This receiver replaced a similar one (DG810) because I needed a 3D compatible unit. It works great with my home theater system,. I don't use the iPod/iPhone accessory because I have Apple TV. All in all, extremely pleased with the performance of the 820 and highly recommend it.

pug319
NE PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Totaly Awsome
1/14/2012

Customer review by TNgeek

5.0 stars 1/14/2012 by TNgeek
by TNgeek

I bought the STR-DH820 for 3D pass through and on screen menu. Ihave the STR-DH810 also a awsome reciever but not 3D, it is 3months old and back in box for a back up. The 820 not only delivered on reason for purchase but exceeded my expectations as well as performance compared to 810. I have a 65" 3D internet apps HDTV, And Sony 3D BD player. I am running HDMI from Charter digital box to 820 as well as BD then to HDTV all connections via 3D HDMI cables. I am running the 7.1 set up with pllx movie on and the sound is awsome as well on analog channels, it gives 7.1 even on them. Sound is better than you will hear at movie theaters as well as picture. I have not encountered any of the problems in other reviews. This is not a plug and play unit it requirers set up with easy to understand menu to customize to your preferances or use mic to set up,or have a pro do it for you. I would have expected to pay twice the price Sony or local store charges for this unit with all the features and customization capabilities.

TNgeek
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
STR-D820
1/21/2012

Customer review by Richej57

5.0 stars 1/21/2012 by Richej57
by Richej57

Love it Got it The best SONY STR-D820

Richej57
Seaside
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Outstanding Sound!!
6/10/2012

Customer review by floydicus

5.0 stars 6/10/2012 by floydicus
by floydicus

This is the best receiver I've ever had. The sound is recreated so naturally, it's like having the musicians in your living room. I have a 5.1 speaker setup, and this system will have me adding two more! I'm very happy with my purchase.

floydicus
Wappingers Falls, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent sound value
8/2/2013

Customer review by JoelP

5.0 stars 8/2/2013 by JoelP
by JoelP

This replaced an older Sony STRDA1000ES. I was little concerned about step down from ES to regular system, but wanted HDMI, which the older ES didn't have. I was not disappointed with the DH820. It punches some great bass from my Sony SAW3800 sub, and still has plenty of mid and highs from 2 Klipsch KG2s and 2 KG4s for a wide range of sound from different types of music and movies. I'm extremely happy with the versatility and quality of the sound from this system.

JoelP
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
6/27/2012

Customer review by 564J

4.0 stars 6/27/2012 by 564J
by 564J

This Receiver/Amplifierworks well. Many options and input & output slots. One failing, has no audio RF output slot. Had to plug in my old external wireless speakers to another source. If I were making this all in one product, I would try to make a remote compatible with many more sound and vidio products. But since none of the remotes are that compatible I don't hold that failing against this receiver/amplifier.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
564J
Edmond, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/15/2012

Customer review by G911

4.0 stars 6/15/2012 by G911
by G911

Great sound, does everything it claims to do. My only complaint is that if I'm listening to music in the back yard my wife cannot watch tv in the living room. The pass through works great in standby mode, but when the unit is on the mode selcted is what is shown on the screen ie, if you have the radio on the station shows on your tv screen, if you have the sat/cable tv on that is whats on the screen.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
G911
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Does the Job
12/16/2011

Customer review by leeoh

4.0 stars 12/16/2011 by leeoh
by leeoh

I found this receiver for about 300 dollars and think that's a pretty good price at this point. I have this paired with klipsch speakers, Sony's 55HX929 and their S-780 BDP and I am very pleased with it all. I am no audiophile and don't get into a lot of the technical jargon. I Have however listened to several high end sound systems so I'm no stranger to quality sound. I found this receiver to fit my "lowly" needs.

leeoh
MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very good, I think?
1/26/2012

Customer review by BirBob

3.0 stars 1/26/2012 by BirBob
by BirBob

It was easy to set up and it sounds great when it works. But sometimes turns off while watching TV. You have to turn it back on and raise the volume. I may have to return it if the problem continues.

BirBob
Visalia, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
5/9/2012

Customer review by ROB45152

1.0 stars 5/9/2012 by ROB45152
by ROB45152

I have ordered 2 of these and both have shown up broken. I love Walmart.com but I think I'll look elsewhere for high end electronics.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ROB45152
CINCINNATI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never