Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 9 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

9 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

9 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-8 of 8 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Awesome Receiver
10/3/2011

Customer review by Harleysporty1200

5.0 stars 10/3/2011 by Harleysporty1200
by Harleysporty1200
Walmart associate

I did my homework looking for a new receiver but didn't want to spend a fortune buying one. I ran across this unit at Walmart.com It got very good reviews in this site and across the Internet. The price and sound quality of this powerful Sony receiver gets an A+ from me. And don't worry your 5.1 is not a problem. The unit will automatically switch to 5.1 when connected. It comes with a I pod docking station and universal remote. It also comes with a mic for easy speaker set up just follow your manual and you'll be set up in no time. This unit has many great features to it. I also added a Sony 180 watt Bass the sound is house shaking !!! I shipped site to store and was pleased with processing and ship time and it costs you nothing !!! I highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Harleysporty1200
Palm Bay
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Exceeds All Expectations
12/22/2011

Customer review by tncowboy

5.0 stars 12/22/2011 by tncowboy
by tncowboy

I ordered the STR-DH820 on the DEC.20th,2011 and got it on DEC.21,2011 Wal Mart delivered as promissed. I have a new STR-DH810 also from Wal Mart about 3 weeks old. I got the 820 because it has 3D and on TV screen menu. Keeping 810 as a back up in future. I thought it was awesome, but the 820 takes things to next level.The 820 is a 7.2 not a 7.1.... and you can customize any speaker set up from 2-7 channels as well as 1-2 subwoofers. I reveiwed all the reveiws at Wal Mart and Sony and disregarded the one negative one. This one said they could not get rear speakers to work, I have all 7 channels loud and clear. If you do not use auto cal. you have to set up using manual settings. Speaker,surround settings are fully customizable. If you add PL11x Movie as well you have 7.1 surround even on mono tv channels. I have it all set up using Vizio 3D HDMI cables from cable box, blue ray, to Vizio 65" TV At 1080P and the picture and sound is unbelievable,as pure as your going to get. I will never go to a theater again, they can't compete with Sony and Vizio, I will wait for BD to come out. Remember if the people doing reviews are novice and do not take time to read manual and experament to get the picture and sound to its peak performance you can't blame the manufacture's. These type of systems are not plug and play they require set up, and the ability to understand the process or it will never perform as expected. Some of the questions asked tell me that some people need to stay with theater in a box or get someone else to install this type of system. Sony delivered in both the 810 and 820, I would recommend either to family,friends, and stanger.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tncowboy
Newport, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Impressed!!
1/17/2012

Customer review by austinlad

5.0 stars 1/17/2012 by austinlad
by austinlad

And I don't say that lightly when it comes to electronics. This is my second Sony receiver and they continue to impress me with great features and sound for the money. It took a little manual tweaking to get the sound the way I wanted it, but once I did I was very impressed. It's also upconverting really well, even some of my low quality digital media looks really good. I found it cheaper online for $250 during Christmas.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
austinlad
Austin, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/27/2012

Customer review by 564J

4.0 stars 6/27/2012 by 564J
by 564J

This Receiver/Amplifierworks well. Many options and input & output slots. One failing, has no audio RF output slot. Had to plug in my old external wireless speakers to another source. If I were making this all in one product, I would try to make a remote compatible with many more sound and vidio products. But since none of the remotes are that compatible I don't hold that failing against this receiver/amplifier.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
564J
Edmond, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/15/2012

Customer review by G911

4.0 stars 6/15/2012 by G911
by G911
Walmart associate

Great sound, does everything it claims to do. My only complaint is that if I'm listening to music in the back yard my wife cannot watch tv in the living room. The pass through works great in standby mode, but when the unit is on the mode selcted is what is shown on the screen ie, if you have the radio on the station shows on your tv screen, if you have the sat/cable tv on that is whats on the screen.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
G911
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Better than Pioneer
6/15/2012

Customer review by Soundman52

5.0 stars 6/15/2012 by Soundman52
by Soundman52

I am much happier with this receiver. I purchased a Pioneer receiver from Walmart last year and it was a piece of junk. It didn't always recognize my HDMI inputs, I would turn on the receiver and my TV and nothing would appear on the screen. Also wouldn't play back in surround sound, even the BD player was in 2.0 instead of 5.1 surround!! So far have not had any problems with this one.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Soundman52
Massena, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
5/9/2012

Customer review by ROB45152

1.0 stars 5/9/2012 by ROB45152
by ROB45152

I have ordered 2 of these and both have shown up broken. I love Walmart.com but I think I'll look elsewhere for high end electronics.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ROB45152
CINCINNATI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Love It!!!
12/31/2011

Customer review by Dragonfly1959

5.0 stars 12/31/2011 by Dragonfly1959
by Dragonfly1959

Didn't realize how bad my old receiver really was....the sound differance is amazing

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dragonfly1959
Aurora, Co
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day