Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 24 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

24 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

24 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
12
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 stars
4
1-20 of 23 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 23 total reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews
Great value
1/11/2012

Customer review by TechGuy1111

5.0 stars 1/11/2012 by TechGuy1111
by TechGuy1111

For the price this is a great system. The subwoofer won't rattle your room but it is clean sound that is perfect for a bedroom or smaller family room.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TechGuy1111
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Loved it
10/13/2012

Customer review by cesarami

5.0 stars 10/13/2012 by cesarami
by cesarami

Loved it, easy to put together and awesome sound!!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cesarami
Miami
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Systen
5/8/2011

Customer review by TITI

5.0 stars 5/8/2011 by TITI
by TITI

Shopping for awhile for a Home Theatre System,that was a reasonable price. for our new 3D HD TV .We compared Bose with this System..It was same performance and half the price..We are very happy,Sounds like a Movie Theatre ...Looks elegant and modern.. You will be happy if good quality sound is what you are looking for...

TITI
New York,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
SOUNDS GREAT
6/6/2011

Customer review by COUCHPOTATO

5.0 stars 6/6/2011 by COUCHPOTATO
by COUCHPOTATO

It works! No problems with the sound bar. Two wires to the speakers. Two transceivers to the subwoofer. One HDMI cable in from CATV, One HDMI cable in from SONY blu ray disc , One HDMI cable out to SONY Bravia TV, turn on the sync and it will find everything. Sony Technical Support helped with a cable issue. If you switch the speakers from TV to the sound bar you will never switch back. I now have 4 remote controls. May the force be with you.

COUCHPOTATO
HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
8/29/2011

Customer review by Kab450

5.0 stars 8/29/2011 by Kab450
by Kab450

Hooks up seamlessly. Took me no more than 1-hour to install and set-up. The set-up sounds good and looks good too. This is not a replacement to a full 5.1 or 7.1 set-up, but if you are not able to run wires it is an awesome alternative. I love the receiver, hooked up HD cable, BD, Apple TV & my Sirius to the unit. Switching between is easy and if you have a Sony TV & BD player, the surround system remote replaces all. No need for the coffee table clutter. I love it!!! Thanks Sony!

Kab450
Laval, Qc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The Best Sony Sound Bar yet!
9/4/2011

Customer review by MariB

5.0 stars 9/4/2011 by MariB
by MariB

I heard the Sony HT-CT550W in the store the other day and I was amazed. To me, the HTCT550W Sony Sound Bar is a technological marvel. It's a slim 2.1 sound bar that behaves like a 5.1 system. It processes all the latest multichannel sound fields and has a wireless sub woofer that I can move around my room as I please. Not only does it produce very strong volume and deep bass--the sub woofer really woofs. Also, I was really impressed at how this sound bar produces surround sound from my favorite bluray movies. I can't believe how much better this system is than my old CT350 Sound Bar ( I thought the CT350 was very good) Well I ended up giving my CT350 to my kids and I kept the HT-CT550W for myself.

MariB
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great!!!!!!!
1/25/2012

Customer review by bbt24

5.0 stars 1/25/2012 by bbt24
by bbt24

I have only had this system for a just over a month now but its great. I didn't want a system with a lot of wires that i would have to hide. I purchased this system and couldn't be happier. It has great sound and a contemporary look, i have the sound bar placed under the TV and sub placed behind the seating area. It fills the entire room with sound highly recommended. Install/setup couldn't be any easier.

bbt24
Kitchener, ON
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sound Bar fixed two Issues
3/12/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 3/12/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Have an older HD TV with only one HDMI input. Need to connect three devices. Also, needed to replace older surround sound system that had failed. This sound bar was able to fit the bill for both. Gave me the flexibility to connect all my devices via the turner and gave back the sound that I was missing with out my our system. Found it very easy to set up and connect. Just navigating the tuner menu takes some time to get use to.

An anonymous customer
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Does what its suppose to
11/30/2012

Customer review by Flyrod

5.0 stars 11/30/2012 by Flyrod
by Flyrod

With the Bravia system it was very very easy to install and connect all components.

Flyrod
Napa Valley, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great addition
1/16/2013

Customer review by TheChosenOne

5.0 stars 1/16/2013 by TheChosenOne
by TheChosenOne

I have had mine well over a year now and have had no problems at all. I first had it hooked up to my Sony 40" and now have it running sound for my hx750. With my ps3 acting as my do everything 3D/blue ray player and Bravia sync., it's the perfect set up.

TheChosenOne
Md.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Powerful Sound Bar - Put Subwoofer in Corner!
5/6/2013

Customer review by cmttu08

5.0 stars 5/6/2013 by cmttu08
by cmttu08

I replaced my Sony 5.1 Sound System (HTSS360) with this sound bar and love it! I never quite got the rear satellite speakers setup on the old system (I'm no audiophile) so I decided a simpler setup would be better. Didn't want to run the wires. This sound bar doesn't disappoint. I had to experiment with the location of the subwoofer to get the most "thump." Thank you Sony for making this wireless! Made placement a snap. I found the corner of the room gave me the most bass. I like the Bravia Sync feature with the TV and Blu-Ray, but I found the navigating the sound bar's menu annoying...you'd think they could send something up to the TV or have an app to configure instead of clicking around on the little 1 line LED screen, but after I got everything setup the way I thought sounded best I don't think I'll have to go in there again. I'm using both 1.4 and 1.3 HDMI cables and don't notice a difference in the sound from the connected devices. I also like how it has an FM Radio built in, some other sound bars I looked at didn't have that feature. The build quality is great and it feels solid...they ship it well protected too!

cmttu08
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just what we wanted
5/22/2013

Customer review by GGort

5.0 stars 5/22/2013 by GGort
by GGort

This sound bar was ideal for our needs. It replaced an older sony sound bar that just didn't cut it in our great room.

GGort
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Quality Sound Bar
12/15/2011

Customer review by ssantoshr

4.0 stars 12/15/2011 by ssantoshr
by ssantoshr

The sound bar looks perfect with my Bravia TV and bravia sync works perfectly fine via HDMI cable. Please note that the default setting does not output the quality sound....almost feels like the sound bar is not connected. Be sure to adjust the Level and Tone setting in the AMP menu to get the best out of the sound bar.

ssantoshr
Pearland, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very good sound with a few compromises.
7/31/2012

Customer review by KevinS

4.0 stars 7/31/2012 by KevinS
by KevinS

I like the CT550W. It's a neat installaton that doesn't require running wires. It provides a theater style sound, and I can follow movie dialog much easier with the forward facing speakers. But don't expect it to provide a surround sound effect. I had to put my Sony 40in LED TV up on blocks because the stand is too low. The sound bar blocks the remote control receiver, the motion sensor and it blocks the bottom directed speakers from the TV making it harder to hear. It's a very good choice for apartments and people that don't want their decor invaded by lots of audio gear, If you can mount it to the front of your TV stand, or on a shelf, that would be best.

KevinS
Columbus Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice sound improvement over my TV alone.
8/4/2012

Customer review by CoffeeGuy

4.0 stars 8/4/2012 by CoffeeGuy
by CoffeeGuy

I purchased and installed my CT550W last summer. It is paired with a 46" Bravia, BDP S580, and HD cable TV. We love the sound improvement and also use it for music via Pandora on our TV. It makes a huge difference over the regular TV audio. All I really wanted was a better speaker system for my TV, but this is more of a mini-home theater system. All components connect to this AV system and the AV system then connects to the TV. The system has intelligence built in, so it responds to and manages Sony devices as it thinks it should based upon conditions. Like when I put it in standby mode, it tells the TV to switch to internal TV speakers (which I really don't want). I suspect I can fix that with some settings, but I haven't spent that much time going though the menus on all of the devices. Generally it isn't too bad, but it does seem slow to respond as a result. The AV system is communicating with the others devices and waiting for responses (I assume). Overall, the wireless has been reliable, but I did have a problem this week where the wireless connection to the sub-woofer stopped working. I was able to get it back by powering them both off and restarting them in sequence. And I do mean power off, not "standby". The controller will also control other Sony devices, so I can use one controller for the AV system, BD player and TV, but I haven't yet checked to see if I can train it to run my DVR from Comcast (Explorer 8300HD). Overall I'm very happy I purchased this system and we enjoy it every day. It is smaller than a full home theater system, offers great sound and cabling simplification.

CoffeeGuy
New Hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy Set Up, Good Sound
9/21/2012

Customer review by Reena

4.0 stars 9/21/2012 by Reena
by Reena

This sound bar is pretty inexpensive, fits nicely in my living room, and the sound is very good.

Reena
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
NOT A REPLACEMENT
10/19/2013

Customer review by Mikelove

4.0 stars 10/19/2013 by Mikelove
by Mikelove

This a purchase is for someone who wants better sound then there TV can provide. I did not want 5.1 or 7.1 in my front room because of the rooms setup, this is the next best thing. The system works well with all of my current sony products.

Mikelove
Columbus GA.
HT-CT550W
5/24/2011

Customer review by Hankster

3.0 stars 5/24/2011 by Hankster
by Hankster

I went to the Sony Style store at the Stanford Shopping Center on Saturday May 21, 2011 to audition the Sound bar. The system layout is very simple and intuitive. The sound bar had a clear, crisp audible sound. Unfortunately I could not say the same about the woofer. The woofer sounded muffled and had a lot of distortion. Sony should rework the woofer and give its customers the opportunity to make a no cost trade for a better engineered woofer.

Hankster
Menlo Park, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Sounds ok but
2/10/2013

Customer review by NJSonyPhan

2.0 stars 2/10/2013 by NJSonyPhan
by NJSonyPhan

I purchased this unit hoping it would replace a home theater receiver, but found the limitations too great. I was pairing this with a Sony Bravia TV, using the HDMI interfaces. I found the HDMI audio to be 1 second delayed with only 1 adjustment option on the amplifier for 'Sync Video'. Setting this option to 1 caused the audio to be 2 seconds out of sync, instead of 1. When using the HDMI and ARC #Audio Return Channel# feature of the HDMI, this was more prevalent. If I was using the TOS interface, I did not notice the delay problem, but lost the auto switching ability, and have extra cables. In addition, when using the ARC, almost all the audio options are disabled in the TV, relying on the audio controls of the AV system, which are sub-par in the the CT550W. They're ok, but not great. According to the manual, the system would choose the correct sound field automatically, but all I saw was 'standard', and rarely liked the sound field. #IE: Playing Pandora should be 2Ch Stereo, while Netflix should Probably be movie, but if using ARC, this is not changeable by the user# Using TOS, the TV provides the options, but disables the auto speaker disable, resulting in a very poor audio echo if the TV speakers were not muted.

NJSonyPhan
South NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Fair System in my environment
5/3/2014

Customer review by Joe8

2.0 stars 5/3/2014 by Joe8
by Joe8

I purchased this one to replace a smaller one with less power. It is in a room that has difficult and challenging acoustics - lots of large windows, hard walls, and is L shaped. It is very capable of tremendous bass and also great treble. I have been unable to adjust these to my satisfaction. I am a strong and longtime supporter of Sony products. I am using it for low volume newscasts. My solution for this room has been wireless headphones were we get all sound ranges and are very pleased with them!

Joe8
Bellingham WA
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews