Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 104 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

104 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

104 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
49
4 stars
27
3 stars
10
2 stars
7
1 stars
11
1-20 of 90 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 90 total reviews
1-20 of 90 reviews
Great Father's Day Gift
6/27/2011

Customer review by aeroman57

5.0 stars 6/27/2011 by aeroman57
by aeroman57

My wife bought me the Sony Sound bar for our 32'' Sony Bravia in the bedroom. This bar has a better sound than the RCA theater system I had. Fast and easy out of the box hookup.

Was this review helpful? (134) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aeroman57
West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sony makes the difference
8/15/2011

Customer review by happymike

5.0 stars 8/15/2011 by happymike
by happymike

This is an amazing improvement to the sound quality both in fullness of sound and a widened range of frequency response. It adds a new dimension to my TV viewing experience. I expect quality from Sony, and they always deliver. Wonderfully easy to install.

Was this review helpful? (77) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
happymike
East Ridge, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
NO OPTICAL INPUT!
8/4/2011

Customer review by dWookie

3.0 stars 8/4/2011 by dWookie
by dWookie

This unit is advertised as having an optical audio input. I was disappointed to find that it does not. It has a stereo 1/8" mini analog input...boo!

Was this review helpful? (121) (40)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dWookie
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Beware of Description
8/7/2011

Customer review by gwkmouse

1.0 stars 8/7/2011 by gwkmouse
by gwkmouse

The description claims that the unit has an OPTICAL audio input, along with a supplied cable for same. This is in fact NOT CORRECT, the input is simply ANALOG STEREO. The supplied cable is also analog stereo mini-jack to mini-jack, with an additional mini-jack to RCA phono plug adapter. There is NO optical anything on this unit. Returned it immediately, have no idea how it sounded.

Was this review helpful? (134) (56)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gwkmouse
Phila, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Correct for correct TV
10/4/2011

Customer review by sunkid4ks

5.0 stars 10/4/2011 by sunkid4ks
by sunkid4ks

We bought this soundbar, because our 32" Sony Bravia (although very happy with the picture quality & features) was lacking in sound for our Den (14' x 12'). We purchased this to augment the sound, and it worked wonderfully. Although not true surround sound, it has what it takes to fill the room with sound, so that we no longer have to guess what characters are saying on our shows. It was a quick, easy hookup and turns off nicely when the TV is idle.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sunkid4ks
Edmond, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great sound.
8/13/2011

Customer review by ViperRKO

5.0 stars 8/13/2011 by ViperRKO
by ViperRKO

i hooked this up within 1 minute out of the box, very fast and easy hook up. i wasn't looking for a lot of bass, cause i didn't want to bother the neighbors, but it has good bass, not too loud but enough to make movies and games sound great. i have not had a problem with it at all. looks better than having a big stereo on top of my TV stand. i would definitely recommend this to a friend for gaming and movies. i also hooked my iPod touch to it and it works awesome. nice and loud and its not turned all the way up. Sony make great sound for home.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ViperRKO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Walmart associate
Impressed
9/6/2011

Customer review by itzcb

5.0 stars 9/6/2011 by itzcb
by itzcb

A sound bar is a sound bar you can never compare it with 5.1 system. Having said that this soundbar is excellent for the price and on top of it its Sony. I wasnt sure about the bass since it claimed to have subwoofers, but indeed the sub-w works very well. It is a significant improvement over the TV speakers (I own 42LG450). you really cant ask for more at 98bucks! BEWARE although the Walmart description says it has optical input, it actually does not.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
itzcb
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
What I thought it would be.
9/30/2011

Customer review by hidook

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by hidook
by hidook

I wanted a simple speaker that provided adequate sound for an apartment living room and it does exactly that. Good sound quality and slim profile. I also have a Bravia TV so the speaker remote controls tv power, volume and input functions as well.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hidook
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy as pie, great for medium sized spaces.
1/23/2012

Customer review by Esea

4.0 stars 1/23/2012 by Esea
by Esea

This was ridiculously easy to set up. This literally has 2 cables to connect: one for power, the other to connect out to the TV, either using standard white and red stereo audio cables or a 3.5mm style "head phone" cable. I prefer the red and white analog cables although my TV has both. If you can't figure that out, just go back to a tv with knobs and rabbit ears on it. It was out of the box and ready to use in no more than 5 minutes. Reading some of the other (see: poor) reviews was a bit misleading for me. It's a great product, and I'm baffled as to why some people had a hard time with it. The audio quality is great for a small unit. It's not exactly a bass-heavy powerhouse, but the lows are low, highs are not tinny. I didn't hear any distortion on either end of the spectrum. My sound bar is connected to a 32" Bravia I purchased about 2 (maybe 3?) years ago. I use it in my den with a DVD player, an Xbox 360, and a Wii console. I also listen to a wide variety of music (everything spanning metal, hip hop, classical, etc) and as a musician I'm pretty critical of sound equipment. I hooked it up, cranked some music, and played a few video games to hear a decent range and variety of sounds to make sure I was pleased. It's loud enough, strong enough for average day to day use in a small to average sized home/apartment/condo. It's a nice slim unit; I used it to replace a 5.1 surround system just to save space and get rid of superfluous wiring, and this sounds better. I prefer lots of bass, so I may reconnect a subwoofer later, but this a great buy that provides much fuller sound than an ordinary average sized TV speaker. I wouldn't recommend it if you're looking for a sound set up for a large living room or with a tv much larger than 32-40", but most people should be pleased. Hope you find this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Esea
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
only okay
11/2/2011

Customer review by zippykay

3.0 stars 11/2/2011 by zippykay
by zippykay

The sound is okay but the tv controls such as volume and mute for my Samsung tv don't work on the remote. I called Sony and tech support said the tv buttons on the remote only work for a Sony tv. The sound level on the remote does work to operate the volume on the soundbar but you cannot mute the sound.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
zippykay
Would recommend to a friend? No
Wow! What a GREAT sounding Soundbar!
2/9/2012

Customer review by BillPA

5.0 stars 2/9/2012 by BillPA
by BillPA

All I can say is WOW! I'm blown away by this Sony soundbar. I bought this for a 26" LCD tv in my bedroom, which sounded so horrible it actually drove meets nuts. I didn't want to spend a fortune on a soundbar for a $229.00 tv. I found this Sony, an thought I'd try it out. I'm blown away! So glad I chose the Sony instead of one of the many other brands. I hooked it up in minutes, adjusted the audio output level from my tv. Then adjusted the soundbar volume and settings to my liking. And I'm amazed! It sounds so rich, full and lively, I almost can't believe it. It has 3 soundfield settings #Standard, Movie and Gaming#. It has nice clean, clear bass. You can turn it up pretty loud with any distortion. Besides the sound quality, I'm very impressed with the build quality. It's very solid and sturdy. Definately "not" cheaply made! The plugs and remote are also very durable. I highly recommend this Sony soundbar. You won't be disappointed. Just remember, if your using a tv with a headphone audio out jack or similar output. You will have to adjust the volume output on your tv. That's what sends the sound to the soundbar. Also if you have bass, treble or equalizer settings on your tv. You'll have to adjust them also, to get the sound signal going into the sound bar just right. I believe that's something the few negative reviewers didn't do. Sony's still the best in my world!

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BillPA
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent soundbar with good sound clarity
10/9/2011

Customer review by pallab1981

5.0 stars 10/9/2011 by pallab1981
by pallab1981

Very clear sound effect. ideal for bed room. the soundbar doesn't have optiocal port but the sound clarity/effect is very good in AUX input as well. I am happy with my purchase. i bought it for my 40" sony LED.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pallab1981
houston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for my needs
10/15/2011

Customer review by Matti2009

5.0 stars 10/15/2011 by Matti2009
by Matti2009

The sound bar fits my life style, entertainment center/tv... sounds great on Movie option. Doesn't program well with universal remote. But other than that it's great for those with limited space.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Matti2009
Denver, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does not mute
9/27/2011

Customer review by djyoung1946

3.0 stars 9/27/2011 by djyoung1946
by djyoung1946

Sony soundbar does not mute when Sony tv is muted, nor does it have its own mute button, nor does it reduce in volume when tv is turned down - very inconvenient. Sound quality is good, but wife occasionally wants to say something (and be heard).

Was this review helpful? (8) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
djyoung1946
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent speaker for purpose and money
2/20/2012

Customer review by Airborne02

5.0 stars 2/20/2012 by Airborne02
by Airborne02

The speaker works very well with the 32" Sony Bravia since the TV has rear facing speakers. Worth the price (buy it on-line and save $10 from store) versus buying complete surround sound system/speakers. No complaints so far.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Airborne02
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great sound
2/28/2012

Customer review by GregoryE

5.0 stars 2/28/2012 by GregoryE
by GregoryE

i was surprised by the amount of bass this soundbar puts out. it is not subwoofer-level bass but darn close. the sound quality is excellent with no distortion. a great buy at under a hundred bucks.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GregoryE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
For the money....It can't be beat...And it's Sony
2/12/2012

Customer review by Billnsb

5.0 stars 2/12/2012 by Billnsb
by Billnsb

When I was looking for a way to get better movie sound for my Bravia 32" I have in a bedroom, I didn't want the hassel of running a bunch of wire and hanging speakers all over the place...I've looked at other sound bars...And the cost of this one really amazed me...The others were hundreds of dollars...This was just $78.00 on-line and I picked it up at the store about twenty minutes after I placed my order...Yeah...I was not sure what kind of sound I would get from such a low priced item but boy was I surprised....And that's why there are so many Sony Quality products in my home. This is not for use in a large area, but in a small area it just can't be beat...Super easy to setup...Take only minutes.....Yep....It a good product and a good price.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Billnsb
NSB Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not ready for prime time
12/26/2011

Customer review by ernessch

1.0 stars 12/26/2011 by ernessch
by ernessch

I have a Vizio sound bar and it blows the Sony away in sound quality and loudness. The Sony sounds no better than the speakers on my TV. It does add depth when I use it with my TV speakers on also. I recieved this as a gift from a friend who comes over weekly so I can't return it. If you are looking at sound bars on a budget I would highly recommend the Vizio for a few dollars more. Very disappointed in Sony with this product.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ernessch
Would recommend to a friend? No
2/27/2012

Customer review by Loutwo

5.0 stars 2/27/2012 by Loutwo
by Loutwo

I can finally enjoy listening to the TV. Before I couldn't hear well at all. This product has made it possible for me to hear what is being said.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Loutwo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Soundbar runs rings around TV sound.
12/13/2011

Customer review by Leewa

5.0 stars 12/13/2011 by Leewa
by Leewa

I am very pleased with performance relative to price. A small price for a great sound.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Leewa
Harpers Ferry, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 90 total reviews
1-20 of 90 reviews