Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 132 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

132 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

132 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
100
4 stars
20
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 stars
3
1-20 of 103 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 103 total reviews
1-20 of 103 reviews
Great Value for price
11/21/2011

Customer review by tncowboy

4.0 stars 11/21/2011 by tncowboy
by tncowboy

I replaced my Sony Blue R,ay To get 3D ability. Took less than 10 Minutes to set up and begin to view Blue Rays, and DVD.Picture on both is excelent 1080p. Sound thru my Sony SDH 850 also from Wal Mart blew me away. I read several reviews for this player and found only one to be a minnor issue. This being when loading you hear the disk rattle a few seconds but stops when movie starts. Connection to my wire less router was instant after typing in password. It notified me of a update and took less than 2 minutes. I keep a open mind on reviews as some can be the fault of the person and lack of knowledge on set up as well as problems with their router,and cable hook ups. I have this player,NetGear router and a Vizio 65' 3D theater HDTV,And A Sony 7.1 SDH 850 sound/video processor all hooked up thru HDMI 3D cable and works flawlessly.All came from Wal Mart friends and family say I have a in home movie theater that is better than going to theater. The price and value are of each is fantastic. The choise is yours.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tncowboy
Newport, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best buy for our needs
8/6/2011

Customer review by SnowHillLady

4.0 stars 8/6/2011 by SnowHillLady
by SnowHillLady

When I went to get a blue ray player I didn't know much. I want to connect to the internet through my player and I wanted it to be an easy setup. I knew I wanted it to be wifi ready not internet ready. I did not want another adapter in the clutter. This machine does it. Within 10 minutes I was hooked up and was comfortable watching a Netflix video from the internet. Sound and picture are excellent. The remote is easy to use. The few extra dollars is worth it and it is an easy set up. Be sure to check the box for "INTERNET READY" and save yourself some hassle as well as you want an HDMI cable. Took me 2 trips to get it right!

Was this review helpful? (86) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SnowHillLady
Snow Hill, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great value
6/10/2011

Customer review by MrBassman

5.0 stars 6/10/2011 by MrBassman
by MrBassman

Very nice blu ray. Easy set up and install with a HDMI cable. Netflix and Pandora were a snap to activate. Picture quality is great. Built in Wi Fi works very well. Buy it...you will love it!

Was this review helpful? (40) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrBassman
Bakersfield
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good Blu-ray with lots of features
7/1/2011

Customer review by Blingazinga

4.0 stars 7/1/2011 by Blingazinga
by Blingazinga

Works well. Wireless network setup with no problem. Iphone remote app connected with no problem. Occasionally hangs and locks up and has to be power-cycled. Nice built in apps and easy to navigate menu.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Blingazinga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
8/5/2011

Customer review by verb8tmgrl

5.0 stars 8/5/2011 by verb8tmgrl
by verb8tmgrl

I really like this player. It was simple to set up and the remote is simple and easy to use. I love the extra apps as well.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
verb8tmgrl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Blu-Ray Player with all the bells & whistles
11/2/2011

Customer review by ATLPurchaser

5.0 stars 11/2/2011 by ATLPurchaser
by ATLPurchaser

This product was better than advertised. The sales person rung it up, and the check out listed it at $199.00, which was definitely not what the website, nor the sales price tag stated on the shelf. The CSR had to call a CSM to overide the price differiantial, but that for the most part was the extent of the hassle with this product. Every thing else in regards to Sony was above and beyond expectations. I was really impressed. The setup was a snap. No issues. I connected it to My Samsung Plasma Screen. It synced right away. After doing that, it prompted me for a new update that was available. So while it updated I checked out another channel and watched the programming. After it was done I clicked back over and agreed to the update and that was it. The Wireless Network setup was a breeze also. I took literally seconds, not minutes to setup the security WPA2 and sync. The Blu-Ray Scan, then it synced, then it secured the password, 123. Done. For me that was the best part, it may sound meaningless, but it was a big thing for me. It automatically synced the on and off timer from my Samsung with the Blu-Ray. So when it shut off, so did the Blu-Ray. For me that's way cool. That's making life easier, the way technology is suppose to be. Thank's Sony, you have my vote on this one. It's a winner.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ATLPurchaser
Metro Atlanta, Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Rich in capabilities for a disk player
10/12/2011

Customer review by tkwasny

4.0 stars 10/12/2011 by tkwasny
by tkwasny

Has a web browser allowing you to input URLs using the clunky remote only (why not a USB keyboard/mouse I'll not figure out) Does not run "flash" mandatory websites like very many are. Still can't get DLNA to work with Media Player on a Vista machine (or any other machine) and all firewalls off, all ports opened, sharing enabled, etc. etc. No Blockbuster. Most internet apps as installed are monthly pay services. Pricey but highly functional and configurable.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tkwasny
Moosup, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Sony BDP-S580 Blu-Ray
11/27/2011

Customer review by argus9

5.0 stars 11/27/2011 by argus9
by argus9

I got this mainly for it's built-in WiFi. I had it on my network in less than 5 minutes without a whole lot of effort. So far it's worked without a hitch. Streaming movies and music is seamless. The only complaint is a minor one, and that's the internet browser. It's a little clunky. If you have an iPod, get the remote control app. The picture quality is outstanding. I have a Sony Bravia TV, but I imagine it will be the same with any HD TV. Regular DVD's show an improvement in picture quality compared to my DVD player. Overall I'm very pleased with the Sony BDP-S580.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
argus9
North Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
My husband loves it!
12/8/2011

Customer review by Snicklesjr

5.0 stars 12/8/2011 by Snicklesjr
by Snicklesjr

Shopped around for a Blu_ray player for weeks and read all kinds of reviews. Finally decided on this one. Purchased it for $108 the weekend before Thanksgiving. I basically bought this because it had Pandora. Easy to setup. Apps are easy to activate. Wouldn't trade this player for any other player.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Snicklesjr
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/3/2011

Customer review by SHARKY45

3.0 stars 10/3/2011 by SHARKY45
by SHARKY45

BLURAY 3D DID WHAT IT WAS SUPPOSE TO DO.THE ONLY COMPLAINT IS THAT THE PLAYER WOULD NOT LET PLAY IN 3D .I USE TV ITSELF TO CHANGE IT TO 3D .I HOPE I DO NOT HAVE TO DO THIS EVERY TIME I PLAY A3D MOVIE .THAT IS THE ONLY COMPLAINT RIGHT NOW.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SHARKY45
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Be careful, do more online review before purchase.
10/3/2011

Customer review by Elmosmiley

4.0 stars 10/3/2011 by Elmosmiley
by Elmosmiley

Not a happy camper. Bought this 3D Blue Ray to go with my 3D Projector. Turns out the only way to get this to connect (from sony rep) and work with 3D is through the HDMI port. I do not have an HDMI input on the projector. My projector finds the 3D Blue Ray and sets itself for the 3D signal, but the Sony Blue Ray player refuses to produce the 3D signal. I like the name brand, but I really wish I had waited for something more compatible with my projector. This is a great buy if your TV or Projector is a Sony with 3D HDMI input, but beware, because the sony rep only guaranteed this player to work woth other Sony 3D products. Nothing else.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Elmosmiley
Maryville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
MUCH better than the Visio boat anchor it replaced
1/4/2012

Customer review by Fast1075

4.0 stars 1/4/2012 by Fast1075
by Fast1075

I bought this to replace a Visio unit. One I got it set up, it works wonderfully, wish I had bought it first. The only problem I had was the directions are ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE!!! I did muddle my way through them, but it was so bad at one point I wanted to take it back for a refund. Please manufacturers, pay to have manuals written that can be understood! I love this product, it is easy to navigate, and unlike my old Visio, I don't have to waste time waiting for it to respond to inputs, and dealing with freezes and hang ups.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fast1075
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does not work well online
1/10/2012

Customer review by someoneusedmynickname

1.0 stars 1/10/2012 by someoneusedmynickname
by someoneusedmynickname

The reason I bought this was to watch online content on the TV. The way you enter a url is the same as texting on an old cell phone. no keyboard. it is extremly slow in responding like a very old computer. most of the web sites I tried to access wont display properly. Like abc.com. the blu-ray part works ok. its slow at first when you want to skip previews it takes time for it to read the info on the disk. Very Disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
someoneusedmynickname
ct
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great Product, Excellent Price!
10/30/2011

Customer review by SweetRollMom

5.0 stars 10/30/2011 by SweetRollMom
by SweetRollMom

I purchased this last X-Mas for our family as we had not upgraded our dvd for a long time. Set up was easy to figure out, we love the quality and upgrade to Blue Ray but can still watch our old dvd's. Connecting to our broadband internet to have Pandora and stream Netflix, etc. is so great! It works wonderful, our whole family loves it. I will be getting another one for our downstairs family room also.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SweetRollMom
Reedsburg, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works Well
8/25/2011

Customer review by ROOBEEZE

4.0 stars 8/25/2011 by ROOBEEZE
by ROOBEEZE

Has added web movies not available on other systems. Setup was fairly easy except you cannot access added content unless you register your purchase. I found this out by googling for info. Once registered I had no other problems.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ROOBEEZE
Valley Springs,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
12/22/2011

Customer review by bluemorris

5.0 stars 12/22/2011 by bluemorris
by bluemorris

Great player and value. It would be helpful if you could attach a keyboard to type in URLs and words when searching. For those of us who never read the manual, it is helpful, especially when learning the remote.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bluemorris
St. James, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
not so good.
2/19/2012

Customer review by hearmycry

3.0 stars 2/19/2012 by hearmycry
by hearmycry

Sorry to be the bearer of bad news. But this product does not meet its expectations. It runs very slow. Constantly crashes. It is slow to reset too.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hearmycry
San Diego, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/23/2011

Customer review by drakester123

4.0 stars 12/23/2011 by drakester123
by drakester123

works good, easy to set up. Would like the manual was a little more user friendly.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
drakester123
Rougemont, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great value
2/19/2012

Customer review by mountiefan

5.0 stars 2/19/2012 by mountiefan
by mountiefan

Does everything I need at a great price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mountiefan
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
good buy
2/17/2012

Customer review by tazgma

5.0 stars 2/17/2012 by tazgma
by tazgma

wonderful color good sound

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tazgma
topeka,ks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 103 total reviews
1-20 of 103 reviews