Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 22 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

22 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

22 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

59%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 stars
6
1-20 of 22 total reviews
59%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 22 total reviews
1-20 of 22 reviews
The best BD value on the planet
4/7/2011

Customer review by Duff52302

5.0 stars 4/7/2011 by Duff52302
by Duff52302

I've searched high and low and there is no better value in blu-ray players anywhere. I bought this unit for just $94 at my local walmart store. I liked it so much I bought another. And guess what? I still like it so much I'm about to go out and buy my THIRD. Picture quality is outstanding when watching blu-ray discs. Streaming content from Netflix and Amazon.com is also excellent. As someone pointed out, it is a little slow to boot and menus sometimes do respond slowly. Those are both common issues with blu-ray players, however, and I can live with it. It's basically a small computer, not a "dumb" disc player so yes, you can expect it will respond to commands a little slower. I have it connected to the internet via ethernet. Fortunately I have an unfinished basement which allows me to run cables anywhere. If you want to go wifi you would need an adapter, however, I would suggest buying an internet bridge, which allows you to plug directly into the ethernet port for true plug and play wireless, rather than buying a usb adapter. If you get this unit for $94 like I did, you will NOT be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Duff52302
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
More than just a Blu-Ray player
8/9/2011

Customer review by Shamez

5.0 stars 8/9/2011 by Shamez
by Shamez

I was skeptical about this unit after reading some of the reviews. After getting it home and setting it up I was pleasantly surprised, some of the reviews say it takes a while to update, well I guess that depends on your internet connection. I plugged it in, brought it up and started the update. Went out to the car to get my recently rented blu-ray disk (thanks little red box) I came back in after maybe a couple minutes and it was updated and ready to go. Took maybe 5 minutes on my 8 mbps cable internet connection. After updating I setup my Netflix account which was pretty seamless, I didn't like the fact that it made me setup a Sony account but that's OK. Once completed it gave me a code to enter and once entered I was on my Netflix, this showed my instant queue but I was also able to search (not sure about the search text input) I was able to search. Next I decided to look at some of the other options and was pleased at the amount of free content available my favorite is Crackle. The best feature I found was plugging in my 2.5" external HDD which is formatted NTFS, at first it said it was unrecognized, I unplugged it and plugged it back in and BAM! All my movies, music, pictures were there. I was able to play all the AVI movies I tested. I couldn't get music to play during picture slide show but I am sure I can get something going. Overall I am very impressed and pleased with this Blu-Ray player, it produced a flawless picture and sound, the only thing I need is for Blu-Ray disks to come down in price then I will be all set.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shamez
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very sluggish
3/27/2011

Customer review by theprez3

2.0 stars 3/27/2011 by theprez3
by theprez3

I purchased this unit and returned it to the store within 24 hours. I thought the picture quality of the blue ray discs was very good. I did notice that the unit seems to be very slow and sluggish when navigating menus. The netflix app was very poor in comparison to our PS3 and the video quality of it was poor. I found the pandora app to be very good and even synced with my pandora app on the iphone. We had issues with speech being delayed from the picture. I believe sony provides an option in the menu to adjust this but I dont feel it is something that I should have to do especially considering I have never had this problem with any other player or even the PS3. The unit also had trouble maintaining a network connection and I had to go through the network setup several times. to reconnect it. The remote didnt seem to work well as I had to squeeze the buttons several times to get a response and they even required a lot of force for the unit to take a command. Overall I would avoid this player. I have always been a sony fan and very happy with their products so I was very disappointed with this unit. I feel the hardware is not capable to run the software on this machine. I have ordered a more updated sony blue ray player and will rate it when I recieve it. God Bless.

Was this review helpful? (11) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
theprez3
Princeton,IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Sony's Worst Blu-Ray Player
4/9/2011

Customer review by markandy7

2.0 stars 4/9/2011 by markandy7
by markandy7

I purchased this BR player, to see if it would how it would compare against other players, this one is ok if you dont use Netflix, This player does not have search function in the Netflix app, so it only shows the movies that are in your Instant Que...thats it!!! It does have some other app (internet channels) that are OK, picture didn't seem so great on YouTube. And this player doesn't have DLNA...not after the firmware update. This does though have the nicest interface as any of the Bluray players Ive tried, Ive tried them all, pretty much. Avoid this player, mines going back tomorrow.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
markandy7
Andover, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
really nice device
8/1/2011

Customer review by dld56

5.0 stars 8/1/2011 by dld56
by dld56

I have a vizio tv my original pick was a vizio blu-ray flat screens by vizio are great not so with any of tier blu-ray players trust me went through all the junk frustration you can imagine , found this little gem in store its not wireless true but I was able to hook this wonderful device up all by myself am up and ready to watch what I want awesome picture I did hook it up with the hd cable it does make a big difference set up was a breeze I am so pleased with this sony device my plan was to go with vizio surround but I am now looking at sony sound bar or suround sound system tank you sony for making this a great experince from cost of product to set up and quality product AWESOME

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dld56
appleton wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart.com issue
8/3/2011

Customer review by joswike

5.0 stars 8/3/2011 by joswike
by joswike

I ordered this to replace the faulty one Panasonic in the living room. When it got here it was amazing. The color picture with my Bravia TV is brilliant. The only issue I have is with Walmart. It took 3 WEEKS to be delivered. Site to store is not worth it to me.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
joswike
Oshkosh, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Great Blu-Ray player
5/8/2011

Customer review by edveder9

5.0 stars 5/8/2011 by edveder9
by edveder9

First off all these people complaining about this not being wireless.. read the description.. if you want it to run on wifi the buy a wifi player.. yes the adapter is $80.. that why most Blu-ray players that have wifi built in are close to $200.. This player works great so far... Works about as good as any computer.. nice apps.. it does lose connection every once in a while but no big deal... over all it has been a great player!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
edveder9
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome Player
7/20/2011

Customer review by johnewltrs

4.0 stars 7/20/2011 by johnewltrs
by johnewltrs

I purchased this player after going through 3 different Vizio players, none of which would play a disc. I got the Sony home and hooked it up. It took about 20-30 minutes to download all of the updates for it and to set all of the different account information up, ie, Netflix, Vudu, Amazon and all of the other apps. That is why I am only giving it 4 stars. Other than that it is a great player. I haven't had any problems with it. Of course I paid $138 for it and now you can get it for $108, but that's not Sony's fault.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
johnewltrs
Burlington, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
excellent for blue ray and netflix
4/20/2011

Customer review by cynic783

5.0 stars 4/20/2011 by cynic783
by cynic783

Not sure what's going on with the other reviewers. First thing I did was plug it into my wired home network and download updated firmware. Menu navigation is silky smooth and fast, and Netflix playback is trouble free, even shows the bit rate of your downloads while you're watching, which went right up to 10mbps which is was I get from the local telco. Tried a blue ray (planet earth bbc) and looks fine. Bonus the remote drives my sony lcd (also from WM). Highly recommend. You get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cynic783
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Netflix box
9/4/2011

Customer review by RApples

5.0 stars 9/4/2011 by RApples
by RApples

This is the second Sony BDP-S280 Blu-ray player I purchased from Walmart. The first one is in my living room and was purchased primarily to watch Netflix although it is a good Blu-ray player too. We liked it so well that my wife wanted one in her sewing room. You can't beat the price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RApples
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
MKV and NTFS Hard Drives!!
6/23/2011

Customer review by ManyMexicali

4.0 stars 6/23/2011 by ManyMexicali
by ManyMexicali

The good: - Plays MKV, DivX and MP4. - up-converts really works. MKV over 1.5 GB looks really crisp. - is able to access USB drives in FAT32 and NTFS. I test it with a PNY 8GB pen-drive, the with my Galaxy S cell phone storage and then with a WD 750 GB passport drive formated in NTFS. ALL WORKED GREAT!!! The bad: - a bit slow to load menus. - USB port on the back - no HDMI cable included, no Ethernet cable included. - web search with remote has no T9. - for some reason I could not see jpeg pics. Recommendation: 1. when plugged in for first time allow 1 to 2 hours for updating over the web. 2. make you Youtube channel in a PC to add all your favorite videos. then just add your account on the BDP to enjoy your video selection.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ManyMexicali
Mexicali, Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Bluray Player
5/12/2011

Customer review by nomen

4.0 stars 5/12/2011 by nomen
by nomen

I bought this unit mainly because it will play both BDs and DVDs, since I have a LARGE collection of DVDs and only a few BDs. I have no intention of using it for internet services. (I have turned off any internet connections.) Based on other comments, that is just as well. As far as I am concerned, Sony should offer models with and without the internet functions to customers are not spending money on stuff they will not use. That is why I gave this a 3 for Value. This S280 replaces an older DVD-only Sony player. That unit has many more functions available on the remote that the S280 does not. One-button half-speed is the big one I miss. The S280 does half-speed, but it is a two-button action and the sound gets cut off. Aside from things like that, the player works just fine. It plays BDs and DVDs equally well. To my eye, I cannot notice a difference in the video or audio quality between the two players. That might be because I have been using HDMI cables for some time now, even with my old player. I am surprised at the lack of an optical sound jack. My old Sony had one but this S280 does not.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nomen
Ossian, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not a good buy.
7/30/2011

Customer review by blahblah15

2.0 stars 7/30/2011 by blahblah15
by blahblah15

Owned this player for 16 days. Worked fine up until then and then refused to work. The display would show that it was on and running but TV would not read it. Tried different tv and different cable, still nothing.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blahblah15
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good player
4/18/2011

Customer review by fred43

3.0 stars 4/18/2011 by fred43
by fred43

It plays Blue Ray very well. It upscales DVD to very good quality pictures. Even older DVDs. But, in order to receive wireless movies from the web, you have to buy a Sony wireless adapter that costs about $80. Only Sony's will work, I did not get it. Otherwise it is a good player. It also needs a software update from Sony via the internet when you get it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fred43
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Couldn't be musch more disappointed
5/27/2011

Customer review by Mom3785

1.0 stars 5/27/2011 by Mom3785
by Mom3785

Being a Sony product I was expecting to get what I was paying for, but I am sadly disappointed instead. My Vizio for the same price way outperforms this Sony. I bought the Sony because I THOUGHT it had a good reputation. Almost every time I turn this machine on to watch any of the internet streamed content I get a "Network Error" message even though the network diagnostics test inticates everything is fine. After several attempts to watch somthing like Netflix I give up and go to the other room where the Vizio runs seamlessly (the Sony is connected to the router with a cable, whereas the Vizio has built in Wi-fi). The only good thing about this unit is that it does at least play discs just fine.

Was this review helpful? (1) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mom3785
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
No Closed Captioning with streaming!!!
7/7/2011

Customer review by LPNOLA

1.0 stars 7/7/2011 by LPNOLA
by LPNOLA

I bought this instead of a device limited to online streaming only because it was on sale $20 off. Netflix offers "English subtitles" on most of their streaming movies, which is basically the same thing as closed captioning. I could not get the "English subtitles" to work, so I contacted Sony tech support. There should be a big warning on the box - you can get close captioning on DVDs/BluRays, but they do not provide the closed captioning for Internet streaming. If I want Netflix streaming with closed captioning, I have to watch on my laptop. Sony basically told it was not their problem that they don't offer closed captioning for streaming, just return it to WalMart. I was going to start with this player and then save up to add a new TV and a home theater system. It won't be from Sony! This player is going back and I will never buy another Sony product again.

Was this review helpful? (1) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LPNOLA
New Orleans, LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Worthy of Review
3/27/2011

Customer review by BicStudiosEntertainment

5.0 stars 3/27/2011 by BicStudiosEntertainment
by BicStudiosEntertainment

I recently purchased this on 3/27/11. I have only played with this for a couple hours now and so far I like it. It is very similar to the Sony PS3. The price is right and everything loads fast, including the Vudu, which I tried. Watched How to Train Your Dragon. Excellent picture. Currently listening to Pandora, awesome. As of right now, I certainly would recommend this.

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BicStudiosEntertainment
Presque Isle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Buyer beware
9/17/2011

Customer review by nivlag

1.0 stars 9/17/2011 by nivlag
by nivlag

if you want to connect to your Internet wirelessly, you will need a Sony USB Adapter for $79!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nivlag
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Costs almost a hundred extra dollars to use.
4/17/2011

Customer review by BennyJreview

1.0 stars 4/17/2011 by BennyJreview
by BennyJreview

HDMI cables are a separate purchase but thats been the case since the first Blu Ray players came out but now it seems people have to purchase a wireless LAN adapter for another $80 a pop to use the wireless option like the PS3 offers. Went back in the box and back to Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (4) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BennyJreview
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Horrible Product
4/15/2011

Customer review by AliCat30

1.0 stars 4/15/2011 by AliCat30
by AliCat30

I bought this product because it was ‘supposed’ to work with NetFlix, AmazonOnDemand, and Hulu. I really didn’t care much about the blu-ray part, but that is the only thing this machine is good for. I have had this thing for a couple of months now and I have yet to be able to watch any streaming video without it stopping and buffering. I usually have to back all the way out to the home menu and start again. It has taken me an hour or more to play a twenty minute TV show. My internet connection is fast and stable, but that doesn’t seem to matter. I just bought another type of player for the bedroom and it is running flawlessly on the same internet connection. This thing is going back to the store.

Was this review helpful? (2) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AliCat30
Campbellsville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 22 total reviews
1-20 of 22 reviews