Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 95 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

95 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

95 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
56
4 stars
22
3 stars
10
2 stars
1
1 stars
6
1-20 of 72 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 72 total reviews
1-20 of 72 reviews
I highly recommend Polk Audio's Surroundbar & Sub!
4/7/2011

Customer review by AidansDaddy

5.0 stars 4/7/2011 by AidansDaddy
by AidansDaddy

Since I’m the first to review it on Wal-Mart, I’ll try to be detailed and informative so others can decide if this is the right soundbar (surroundbar) for them. SOUND QUALITY/PERFORMANCE & FEATURES = 5 of 5. I have absolutely NO complaints about the audio quality of the mids and highs on the surroundbar. This reminds me of a 2.1 speaker set up, meaning the surroundbar acts like two floor-standing speakers with a subwoofer. Many will be disappointed that there’s no Optical Audio Out feature, but this is described as SDA (Stereo Dimensional Array). I interpret that as meaning it won’t replicate a true 5.1 surround system experience, but a 2.1 sound experience is still very good and much improved over the stock speakers that come with LED/LCD and Plasma HDTVs these days. I could not find an Audio Out on my tv, so I plugged the Analog Audio Cable directly into the blu-ray player which is probably better anyway since it’s directly connected to the source. Allow a few hours for the break-in period, although it sounds great right out of the box. Subwoofer is down-firing which works well if it’s a downstairs set up with hardwood floors. But for those who want to use it in their master bedroom (like I did), you’ll have to turn up the bass volume at least 75% due to carpet flooring even though I put right next to my bed. As for the sub’s power, it’s more than enough to fill a bedroom or living space of an apartment or condo. I tested it downstairs and it’s still sufficient to fill an average-sized family room in a house, but the sub feels a little underpowered for a large room. I recommend increasing the sub up to 90% max volume. The sub feels balanced, not over-powering and very convenient that it’s wireless, so it easily can be placed anywhere with a power outlet nearby. If you prefer more *thump* for a subwoofer, this IHT (Instant Home Theater) may not be for you (you may be better off buying a soundbar and sub separately). As for the surroundbar, it has no digital display (not a good idea Polk Audio), so it’s tough to tell what level volume you’re at, just gotta play it by ear until it’s loud enough for your taste. Still, this isn’t a major setback, just more of an inconvenience. MISC. NOTES: Size is compact for a soundbar (31.75” x 4.5” x 4”). I like the matte finish (vs. glossy finish), less reflective surface is preferred since I placed it in front of the tv. Surroundbar does have some weight to it, so make sure it’s properly mounted on the wall. Otherwise, it has rubber feet and sits very close to the surface. If you prefer some height to it, use the two stands included, that’s what I’m using. It has rubber lining on the stands, so it’s secure and won’t slide off easily. Be aware that it may block the remote sensor if placed in front of the HDTV. Another minor inconvenience if not mounting the surroundbar onto the wall. Some soundbars are very short in height and don’t pose a problem in blocking the remote sensor, but the sacrifice is smaller speakers and possibly less sound range quality. I found that Polk Audio’s surroundbar to be a good combo of size, not too tall that it blocks the tv screen and not too long that it exceeds the length of the tv or would interfere with other equipment placed nearby (i.e. cablebox, blu-ray player, etc.). The equipment is securely packed in the box, no damage or missing parts when I opened it. Also, syncing the remote to the surroundbar is a chore. Sure it looks easy on the video that’s on Wal-Mart’s Polk Audio ad, but I’ve repeated it several times on my Sony blu-ray remote and have run into syncing problems (i.e. I’ll press Volume Up to sync and afterwards volume goes up fine, but it won’t turn volume down). At least there’s a compact remote control that comes with it for convenience which I’ll probably end up using. Overall, I would rate this product “5 of 5” stars. Remember, this was meant to be an easy IHT sound system with less cords and quick set up out of the box. If it lacks the connections and sound range (this is stereo with analog audio plugs) you’re looking for or if you prefer heavy bass during music or watching movies, I’d recommend looking elsewhere. BUT…if you prefer high quality and sound balance in a compact set up with very little cords to deal with and on a budget (vs. buying speakers, receiver and subwoofer separately), then I would HIGHLY recommend Polk Audio’s Surroundbar SDA IHT. Plus, if you shop around, Wal-mart is about $50 - $100 less vs. other online stores, that’s why I bought it on their website. Plus, having a physical store nearby to return/exchange is very convenient, too. Thanks for taking the time to read this review.

Was this review helpful? (226) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AidansDaddy
Vallejo, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
6/6/2011

Customer review by gamingaddict

5.0 stars 6/6/2011 by gamingaddict
by gamingaddict

This product greatly improved the sound coming from my TV. I thought the problem with my tv speakers was just that they weren't very loud. Once you plug in the wireless subwoofer you realize that TV speakers are missing a lot more than just volume. I play a lot of video games on my TV and it's amazing how the speaker seems to create sound almost all around me. In a multiplayer game I can hear my teammates walking next to me, even though there's no speaker there! Wiring is as simple as two power cables and one audio cable. The hardest part was finding the place in my TVs menu to turn the internal speakers off. Programming my TV remote to control the speaker volume is only slightly more complicated that saving radio stations in my car stereo. All in all this is the easiest way to make a huge improvement in sound. Now my TV sounds as good as it looks.

Was this review helpful? (54) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gamingaddict
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent sound, easy install
6/26/2011

Customer review by 1Cutty

5.0 stars 6/26/2011 by 1Cutty
by 1Cutty

I love the sound from my Polk Soundbar / Home theater system. I improves the viewing experience from my Samsung HDTV by giving me rich, deep sound. I particularly like the wireless sub woofer. I have it placed in an opposing corner of the room and find I can dial up as much, or little bass as I want. I was also able to program the remote on my satellite system to control the sound bar as well as the Samsung TV. And since my satellite gives me digital music as well as video, I can sit back and listen to awesome audio when I want a change of pace. All-in-all a great addition to my home entertainment experience.

Was this review helpful? (34) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1Cutty
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Decent for $200 BUT Certainly Not Worth $349
7/26/2011

Customer review by GVT1

3.0 stars 7/26/2011 by GVT1
by GVT1

My main gripe is my TV only has optical audio out. This system has RCA jacks ONLY. Had I done a little research I would have found that out. So, I had to hook it up to the Blu-Ray and now I only use it when the Blu-Ray is on. So, for the majority of the time, when just watching TV, I still use the speakers on my LG TV. All that said it is still a decent deal for $200. I could have taken it back, but kept it because of how cheap the price was. And one of the main things I wanted it for was to listen to Pandora and other apps through the Blu-Ray. And it is good for that. I would recommend this to someone only if their TV has RCA Audio Out and you are just looking to supplement the TV speakers...and the price would be $200 or less. Many newer TVs may not have RCA Out. So, check your TV BEFORE you purchase this and make sure you know what you are doing.

Was this review helpful? (45) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GVT1
Sweet Home, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Top 1000 contributor
For The Price You Can't Beat This!
7/5/2011

Customer review by Jhon70

5.0 stars 7/5/2011 by Jhon70
by Jhon70

After getting burned with a Vizio VHT510 soundbar with wireless woofer(volume LEDs went out after 3 days) Walmart was very excellent service(full refund). So I thought I would try this Polk SDA Instant Home Theater.This is Polk's analog hookup(RCA plugs,white and red only) SurroundBar with Wireless Subwoofer that we have used a little over two weeks. I can report that I am very impressed with the sound that is coming out of this setup.There have been reports of low volumes coming out of this soundbar,but if you think the volume is low,Polk has designed this soundbar to have 3 gain settings on the soundbar to select from to correct this. This soundbar with wireless subwoofer definitely improves the volume and quality of the sound of the program you are viewing,we think we are at the movie theater. This unit also came with a remote that we did not need because we were able to program the soundbar for our Vizio M550SV 55 inch LED HDTV(which we also bought from WalMart,excellent price) remote to control the sounbar,it's a great feature. So I would recommend this product to anyone who is not pleased with their HDTV's lack of sound and volume control.

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jhon70
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
worth EVERY cent!
7/31/2011

Customer review by SLBeauty

5.0 stars 7/31/2011 by SLBeauty
by SLBeauty

In the past month and a half we've been searching for the right home theater system to accompany our 42' TV. FINALLY, perfection has been achieved! :D Beautiful, clear sound! Makes you feel like you're watching movies in the theater all over again! Bass is adjustable, something not featured in other systems we looked at. I recommend watching 300, Lord of the Rings.. anything epic when you first connect it. Prepare to fall in love! If you're thinking about buying, stop thinking and just buy it! You WILL NOT regret it!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SLBeauty
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
8/28/2011

Customer review by usmdelt

4.0 stars 8/28/2011 by usmdelt
by usmdelt

Beware that this sound bar will not hook up directly with many newer model hdtv's as they use optical output for sound.This setup does not have the option for optical input. This means that you will have to run sound directly from the source i.e. dvd,xbox,cable box. Other than that very large inconvinence the product is a decent sounding system for the money.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
usmdelt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just short of my expectations.
11/20/2011

Customer review by gsmo51slc

3.0 stars 11/20/2011 by gsmo51slc
by gsmo51slc

This system sounded very good. I had no problem with the wireless subwoofer interfering with my home wifi. The sound bar itself was a little bulky for me. But, the most important aspect was the sound output level. I always think of the future when I purchase anything and the Polk soundbar did have a maximum volume level it would play movies at before the digital amps would start to clip. So, I would say it would be great for any size bedroom (large or small), but if you ever wanted to use it in good size living room, it just won't play load enough without clipping. After I tested the Polk soundbar, I decided to order the Sony HT-CT150, 3.1 Soundbar. The subwoofer is not wireless, but it has three HDMI inputs, one coax and three optical. The max sound output was higher than Polk and Sony made it where it wouldn't clip, even at max volume. The subwoofer driver was actually 1" smaller in diameter than the Polk, but the enclosure was larger and had great base. After trying both, I kept the Sony and returned the Polk to my local Walmart store. It is ashame that no stores around me carried either one of these soundbars. Also, just for clarification, I am not one of those die hard Sony fans. I have had problems in the past with Sony customer service and the only TV in my home (five total) with a dead pixel is a Sony Bravia. I was able to mount this soundbar with only two small pieces of velcro on top of a 32" Philips LCD in one of our guest rooms. This TV is on a swivel mount angled towards the bed. It would have been impossible to do this with the Polk due to its size. I didn't even think of doing this until I saw how much lighter and thinner the Sony soundbar was. The warranty is longer on the Polk.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gsmo51slc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Simple
6/22/2011

Customer review by Choice0163

5.0 stars 6/22/2011 by Choice0163
by Choice0163

Very pleased with the sound that comes from this. The wireless bass is as great feature. Put it anywhere (I put it behind the viewing area) and it adds so much to the sound. Easy to install, easy to program the Direct TV remote and now they included a Polk remote just in case.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Choice0163
Painesville, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Polk hits home run!
6/24/2011

Customer review by unclemoon

5.0 stars 6/24/2011 by unclemoon
by unclemoon

Awesome sound! Worth every penny. Easy set-up.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
unclemoon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
sound is great
11/5/2011

Customer review by lawdogtx

5.0 stars 11/5/2011 by lawdogtx
by lawdogtx

I have had this sound system for 1 month and have had no problems. the sound is pretty good with the bass making it well worth the money. As far as i can tell the wireless sub wolfer does not interfear with my wireless network. I am Happy with this product.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lawdogtx
Bay City, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/30/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/30/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

EAsy hookup, sounds great. Great value.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent value for the money.
8/26/2011

Customer review by bkimlaw

4.0 stars 8/26/2011 by bkimlaw
by bkimlaw

If you are a real audiophile, this is not enough for you. For my needs, this was a fine alternative.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bkimlaw
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent sound and usability.
12/23/2011

Customer review by TomasUP

5.0 stars 12/23/2011 by TomasUP
by TomasUP

I recently purchased a higher-end Samsung LCD LED flatscreen TV and needed better sound than can be provided by the built-in speakers. I first went with a Samsung HW450 soundbar/wireless subwoofer thinking that it would work perfectly with the Samsung TV. That was not the case. The speaker volume required a separate remote control and could not be controlled by the TV remote or Comcast universal remotes. I returned it to where I bought it and ordered the Polk from Walmart based on reviews. It sounds even better than the Samsung AND the Polk soundbar actually learns the remote control codes from one's current remote control! Thankfully I'm back to a single control that can control everything very simply.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TomasUP
University Place, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Better than expected
7/23/2011

Customer review by Tumblingdice

5.0 stars 7/23/2011 by Tumblingdice
by Tumblingdice

The sound produced by this soundbar is more than I bargained for at the price, the main reason is the deep bass from the wireless sub. I've got it placed in the corner of the living room and it really enhances music, TV and movies beyond my expectations. Very pleased.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tumblingdice
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent sound and easy to set up.
7/23/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/23/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Excellent price, great performance for a soundbar, setup so easy, dish remote worked immediately.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Jackson, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome audio system !!!
9/4/2011

Customer review by nipandtuck

5.0 stars 9/4/2011 by nipandtuck
by nipandtuck

It is the most economical sound system out there. Took about an hour to set up and program, with my preferences. Makes all other systems I have heard just soi-so.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nipandtuck
Eau Claire, Wi.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good product, great value
9/2/2011

Customer review by Sableable

5.0 stars 9/2/2011 by Sableable
by Sableable

I have been looking for a soundbar for my 46" Sony Bravia. Don't need true surround sound just better sound than from TV. This is a very good product and set up was pretty easy and quick. Had to change the channels on the sound bar and the sub woofer to get my TV remote in sync. My floor stereo floor speakers are Polk's and I am very pleased with their sound at high volume. Polk is a very good audio product. The price in this instance was perfect.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sableable
Chapel Hill, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
GREAT SOUND FOR THE PRICE
12/1/2011

Customer review by sldgw

5.0 stars 12/1/2011 by sldgw
by sldgw

I GOT RID OF 6 SPEAKERS PLUS A BIG OLD DVD PLAYER THAT WORKED MY OLD SURROUND SOUND, AND OPTED TO GET THIS POLKAUDIO SOUNDBAR WITH WIRELESS SUBWOOFER. THE SOUND IS GREAT, ITS NOT AS GREAT AS A TRUE SURROUND SYSTEM BUT I'M HAPPY WITH IT. IT HAS VERY GOOD BASS, AND GOES PLENTY LOUD ENOUGH FOR ME IF YOUR LOOKING TO MAKE MORE ROOM IN YOUR LIVING ROOM BY CLEANING OUT AN OLD SOUND SYSTEM, I HIHGLY RECOMMEND THIS THE SOUND IS GREAT, VERY EASY TO SET UP.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sldgw
Pittsfield, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Soundbar sounds great
12/27/2011

Customer review by momlovessound

5.0 stars 12/27/2011 by momlovessound
by momlovessound

We bought a LG 55" HD LCD and the picture is beautiful but the sound was not great. For $200 we got the Polk sound bar w/ wireless sub. What a difference! Sound afficianados might prefer a better wired system but for the money this works great, a huge improvement over the TV's speakers. Installation was a breeze, plug in 1 cord and done.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
momlovessound
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 72 total reviews
1-20 of 72 reviews