Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 95 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

95 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

95 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
56
4 stars
22
3 stars
10
2 stars
1
1 stars
6
1-20 of 72 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 72 total reviews
1-20 of 72 reviews
Great Surround Sound, Minimum Equiptment
11/30/2011

Customer review by Wildjungle

5.0 stars 11/30/2011 by Wildjungle
by Wildjungle

I had purchased this for my husband. He plays PS3 games and had the T.V volume up pretty far. I was actually wondering if our T.V speakers would survive another day? I'm very happy to say, the T.V speakers are doing fine. Thanks to this system, he has the T.V volume all the way down now. This Home Theatre is great! We have a nice size living room and still, you don't have to turn the SurroundBar up that much at all! Not to mention..I HATE seeing wires hanging out all over the place. Well...that's not an issue with this system. It's wireless!! Just plug it in! I decided to also purchase an entertainment system from Walmart. So, as you can see in the pictures...the SurroundBar sets right underneath the flatscreen. Basically, blending right in. I like that a lot! The Subwoofer sets nicely in it's own cubby. So, GREAT surround sound, minimum equipment.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wildjungle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
6/6/2011

Customer review by gamingaddict

5.0 stars 6/6/2011 by gamingaddict
by gamingaddict

This product greatly improved the sound coming from my TV. I thought the problem with my tv speakers was just that they weren't very loud. Once you plug in the wireless subwoofer you realize that TV speakers are missing a lot more than just volume. I play a lot of video games on my TV and it's amazing how the speaker seems to create sound almost all around me. In a multiplayer game I can hear my teammates walking next to me, even though there's no speaker there! Wiring is as simple as two power cables and one audio cable. The hardest part was finding the place in my TVs menu to turn the internal speakers off. Programming my TV remote to control the speaker volume is only slightly more complicated that saving radio stations in my car stereo. All in all this is the easiest way to make a huge improvement in sound. Now my TV sounds as good as it looks.

Was this review helpful? (54) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gamingaddict
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Decent for $200 BUT Certainly Not Worth $349
7/26/2011

Customer review by GVT1

3.0 stars 7/26/2011 by GVT1
by GVT1

My main gripe is my TV only has optical audio out. This system has RCA jacks ONLY. Had I done a little research I would have found that out. So, I had to hook it up to the Blu-Ray and now I only use it when the Blu-Ray is on. So, for the majority of the time, when just watching TV, I still use the speakers on my LG TV. All that said it is still a decent deal for $200. I could have taken it back, but kept it because of how cheap the price was. And one of the main things I wanted it for was to listen to Pandora and other apps through the Blu-Ray. And it is good for that. I would recommend this to someone only if their TV has RCA Audio Out and you are just looking to supplement the TV speakers...and the price would be $200 or less. Many newer TVs may not have RCA Out. So, check your TV BEFORE you purchase this and make sure you know what you are doing.

Was this review helpful? (45) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GVT1
Sweet Home, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent sound, easy install
6/26/2011

Customer review by 1Cutty

5.0 stars 6/26/2011 by 1Cutty
by 1Cutty

I love the sound from my Polk Soundbar / Home theater system. I improves the viewing experience from my Samsung HDTV by giving me rich, deep sound. I particularly like the wireless sub woofer. I have it placed in an opposing corner of the room and find I can dial up as much, or little bass as I want. I was also able to program the remote on my satellite system to control the sound bar as well as the Samsung TV. And since my satellite gives me digital music as well as video, I can sit back and listen to awesome audio when I want a change of pace. All-in-all a great addition to my home entertainment experience.

Was this review helpful? (34) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1Cutty
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not much bang for not much buck!
7/31/2011

Customer review by JoyfulCamper

3.0 stars 7/31/2011 by JoyfulCamper
by JoyfulCamper

This was my first experience with a sound bar. The quality of sound was far better than came directly from the TV (flat screen Samsung). It might have projected sounds around to seem to be coming from other directions if I had explored it long enough, but in a couple of days I could not sense it. My major problem is that it only has two analog inputs and no output. To use it at all, I had to use component connections from my BluRay player, sending the sound to the bar, not the TV. That meant my 1080i capable TV could only be used at 720. My second problem is that I had to get down on the floor and put my ear to the base-box to tell that it was working; that with it turned up to max. I thought about returning the TV to replace it with one with sound-out, but the problem was actually with the lack of connections on the sound-bar. If I could have fed the HDMI to the sound-bar, passing it through to the TV via HDMI, that part would have been fine. I would still have been disappointed in the base.

Was this review helpful? (2) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JoyfulCamper
Fort Bragg, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
For The Price You Can't Beat This!
7/5/2011

Customer review by Jhon70

5.0 stars 7/5/2011 by Jhon70
by Jhon70

After getting burned with a Vizio VHT510 soundbar with wireless woofer(volume LEDs went out after 3 days) Walmart was very excellent service(full refund). So I thought I would try this Polk SDA Instant Home Theater.This is Polk's analog hookup(RCA plugs,white and red only) SurroundBar with Wireless Subwoofer that we have used a little over two weeks. I can report that I am very impressed with the sound that is coming out of this setup.There have been reports of low volumes coming out of this soundbar,but if you think the volume is low,Polk has designed this soundbar to have 3 gain settings on the soundbar to select from to correct this. This soundbar with wireless subwoofer definitely improves the volume and quality of the sound of the program you are viewing,we think we are at the movie theater. This unit also came with a remote that we did not need because we were able to program the soundbar for our Vizio M550SV 55 inch LED HDTV(which we also bought from WalMart,excellent price) remote to control the sounbar,it's a great feature. So I would recommend this product to anyone who is not pleased with their HDTV's lack of sound and volume control.

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jhon70
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I highly recommend Polk Audio's Surroundbar & Sub!
4/7/2011

Customer review by AidansDaddy

5.0 stars 4/7/2011 by AidansDaddy
by AidansDaddy

Since I’m the first to review it on Wal-Mart, I’ll try to be detailed and informative so others can decide if this is the right soundbar (surroundbar) for them. SOUND QUALITY/PERFORMANCE & FEATURES = 5 of 5. I have absolutely NO complaints about the audio quality of the mids and highs on the surroundbar. This reminds me of a 2.1 speaker set up, meaning the surroundbar acts like two floor-standing speakers with a subwoofer. Many will be disappointed that there’s no Optical Audio Out feature, but this is described as SDA (Stereo Dimensional Array). I interpret that as meaning it won’t replicate a true 5.1 surround system experience, but a 2.1 sound experience is still very good and much improved over the stock speakers that come with LED/LCD and Plasma HDTVs these days. I could not find an Audio Out on my tv, so I plugged the Analog Audio Cable directly into the blu-ray player which is probably better anyway since it’s directly connected to the source. Allow a few hours for the break-in period, although it sounds great right out of the box. Subwoofer is down-firing which works well if it’s a downstairs set up with hardwood floors. But for those who want to use it in their master bedroom (like I did), you’ll have to turn up the bass volume at least 75% due to carpet flooring even though I put right next to my bed. As for the sub’s power, it’s more than enough to fill a bedroom or living space of an apartment or condo. I tested it downstairs and it’s still sufficient to fill an average-sized family room in a house, but the sub feels a little underpowered for a large room. I recommend increasing the sub up to 90% max volume. The sub feels balanced, not over-powering and very convenient that it’s wireless, so it easily can be placed anywhere with a power outlet nearby. If you prefer more *thump* for a subwoofer, this IHT (Instant Home Theater) may not be for you (you may be better off buying a soundbar and sub separately). As for the surroundbar, it has no digital display (not a good idea Polk Audio), so it’s tough to tell what level volume you’re at, just gotta play it by ear until it’s loud enough for your taste. Still, this isn’t a major setback, just more of an inconvenience. MISC. NOTES: Size is compact for a soundbar (31.75” x 4.5” x 4”). I like the matte finish (vs. glossy finish), less reflective surface is preferred since I placed it in front of the tv. Surroundbar does have some weight to it, so make sure it’s properly mounted on the wall. Otherwise, it has rubber feet and sits very close to the surface. If you prefer some height to it, use the two stands included, that’s what I’m using. It has rubber lining on the stands, so it’s secure and won’t slide off easily. Be aware that it may block the remote sensor if placed in front of the HDTV. Another minor inconvenience if not mounting the surroundbar onto the wall. Some soundbars are very short in height and don’t pose a problem in blocking the remote sensor, but the sacrifice is smaller speakers and possibly less sound range quality. I found that Polk Audio’s surroundbar to be a good combo of size, not too tall that it blocks the tv screen and not too long that it exceeds the length of the tv or would interfere with other equipment placed nearby (i.e. cablebox, blu-ray player, etc.). The equipment is securely packed in the box, no damage or missing parts when I opened it. Also, syncing the remote to the surroundbar is a chore. Sure it looks easy on the video that’s on Wal-Mart’s Polk Audio ad, but I’ve repeated it several times on my Sony blu-ray remote and have run into syncing problems (i.e. I’ll press Volume Up to sync and afterwards volume goes up fine, but it won’t turn volume down). At least there’s a compact remote control that comes with it for convenience which I’ll probably end up using. Overall, I would rate this product “5 of 5” stars. Remember, this was meant to be an easy IHT sound system with less cords and quick set up out of the box. If it lacks the connections and sound range (this is stereo with analog audio plugs) you’re looking for or if you prefer heavy bass during music or watching movies, I’d recommend looking elsewhere. BUT…if you prefer high quality and sound balance in a compact set up with very little cords to deal with and on a budget (vs. buying speakers, receiver and subwoofer separately), then I would HIGHLY recommend Polk Audio’s Surroundbar SDA IHT. Plus, if you shop around, Wal-mart is about $50 - $100 less vs. other online stores, that’s why I bought it on their website. Plus, having a physical store nearby to return/exchange is very convenient, too. Thanks for taking the time to read this review.

Was this review helpful? (226) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AidansDaddy
Vallejo, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
worth EVERY cent!
7/31/2011

Customer review by SLBeauty

5.0 stars 7/31/2011 by SLBeauty
by SLBeauty

In the past month and a half we've been searching for the right home theater system to accompany our 42' TV. FINALLY, perfection has been achieved! :D Beautiful, clear sound! Makes you feel like you're watching movies in the theater all over again! Bass is adjustable, something not featured in other systems we looked at. I recommend watching 300, Lord of the Rings.. anything epic when you first connect it. Prepare to fall in love! If you're thinking about buying, stop thinking and just buy it! You WILL NOT regret it!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SLBeauty
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
8/28/2011

Customer review by usmdelt

4.0 stars 8/28/2011 by usmdelt
by usmdelt

Beware that this sound bar will not hook up directly with many newer model hdtv's as they use optical output for sound.This setup does not have the option for optical input. This means that you will have to run sound directly from the source i.e. dvd,xbox,cable box. Other than that very large inconvinence the product is a decent sounding system for the money.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
usmdelt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just short of my expectations.
11/20/2011

Customer review by gsmo51slc

3.0 stars 11/20/2011 by gsmo51slc
by gsmo51slc

This system sounded very good. I had no problem with the wireless subwoofer interfering with my home wifi. The sound bar itself was a little bulky for me. But, the most important aspect was the sound output level. I always think of the future when I purchase anything and the Polk soundbar did have a maximum volume level it would play movies at before the digital amps would start to clip. So, I would say it would be great for any size bedroom (large or small), but if you ever wanted to use it in good size living room, it just won't play load enough without clipping. After I tested the Polk soundbar, I decided to order the Sony HT-CT150, 3.1 Soundbar. The subwoofer is not wireless, but it has three HDMI inputs, one coax and three optical. The max sound output was higher than Polk and Sony made it where it wouldn't clip, even at max volume. The subwoofer driver was actually 1" smaller in diameter than the Polk, but the enclosure was larger and had great base. After trying both, I kept the Sony and returned the Polk to my local Walmart store. It is ashame that no stores around me carried either one of these soundbars. Also, just for clarification, I am not one of those die hard Sony fans. I have had problems in the past with Sony customer service and the only TV in my home (five total) with a dead pixel is a Sony Bravia. I was able to mount this soundbar with only two small pieces of velcro on top of a 32" Philips LCD in one of our guest rooms. This TV is on a swivel mount angled towards the bed. It would have been impossible to do this with the Polk due to its size. I didn't even think of doing this until I saw how much lighter and thinner the Sony soundbar was. The warranty is longer on the Polk.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gsmo51slc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent sound and usability.
12/23/2011

Customer review by TomasUP

5.0 stars 12/23/2011 by TomasUP
by TomasUP

I recently purchased a higher-end Samsung LCD LED flatscreen TV and needed better sound than can be provided by the built-in speakers. I first went with a Samsung HW450 soundbar/wireless subwoofer thinking that it would work perfectly with the Samsung TV. That was not the case. The speaker volume required a separate remote control and could not be controlled by the TV remote or Comcast universal remotes. I returned it to where I bought it and ordered the Polk from Walmart based on reviews. It sounds even better than the Samsung AND the Polk soundbar actually learns the remote control codes from one's current remote control! Thankfully I'm back to a single control that can control everything very simply.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TomasUP
University Place, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Simple
6/22/2011

Customer review by Choice0163

5.0 stars 6/22/2011 by Choice0163
by Choice0163

Very pleased with the sound that comes from this. The wireless bass is as great feature. Put it anywhere (I put it behind the viewing area) and it adds so much to the sound. Easy to install, easy to program the Direct TV remote and now they included a Polk remote just in case.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Choice0163
Painesville, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Can"t be beat for the $.
8/25/2011

Customer review by KingAXA

5.0 stars 8/25/2011 by KingAXA
by KingAXA

This product is wonderful. It out performs the speakers on my 46" Samsung 8500, LED TV hands down. Only con is that there is not a volume level display on the tv screen. it took a few trys to sync to Verizon remote but all is well. This system is set up in a very small TV room 9 1/2 ft x 10 ft and the sound quality is excellant. It could blow you out of the room. For the $, this system is right up there with the "Bose System" $$$ in my finished basement. Granted I am not an Audio expert but I would reccomend this to anyone that can not afford nor want to spend for a much more expensive set up. The wireless sub woofer sounded great on GI Joe, Star Trek, The Expendables, Saw VI and From Paris with Love.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KingAXA
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
sound is great
11/5/2011

Customer review by lawdogtx

5.0 stars 11/5/2011 by lawdogtx
by lawdogtx

I have had this sound system for 1 month and have had no problems. the sound is pretty good with the bass making it well worth the money. As far as i can tell the wireless sub wolfer does not interfear with my wireless network. I am Happy with this product.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lawdogtx
Bay City, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent value for the money.
8/26/2011

Customer review by bkimlaw

4.0 stars 8/26/2011 by bkimlaw
by bkimlaw

If you are a real audiophile, this is not enough for you. For my needs, this was a fine alternative.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bkimlaw
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Polk hits home run!
6/24/2011

Customer review by unclemoon

5.0 stars 6/24/2011 by unclemoon
by unclemoon

Awesome sound! Worth every penny. Easy set-up.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
unclemoon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
8/30/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/30/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

EAsy hookup, sounds great. Great value.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent sound and base
11/5/2011

Customer review by AntOff

5.0 stars 11/5/2011 by AntOff
by AntOff

Had the Sony soundbar and could not control our Toshiba volume. Not very good sound. This soundbar with the wireless subwoofer is great. The base is outstanding and you do not get that muffled midrange through it. Just clean hitting base. Very satisfied,,,, definately the finest sound and base for the money. Sounds like a high end unit. Programming the remote is a little funny, but works well once you understand the directions. And is really almost too simple, you find yourself trying to out guess it. Not an issue though. And once programmed all your other remotes also turn the soundbar off and on.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AntOff
Plant City Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great system with really easy set up.
12/17/2011

Customer review by Serenity86

4.0 stars 12/17/2011 by Serenity86
by Serenity86

I was looking for a sound bar for my bedroom and this one caught my eye. The sound range is better than most of the others for sale on walmart.com and the price was right. This is a bare basic system but all I wanted it for was to plug in my phone or ipod and listen to music. The bass is great and adjustable for your personal preference. The sound even at very low volume is very clear and doesn't muffle. Polk audio is know for great affordable speakers and they are living up to that reputation. The set up took me about 20 mins, including mounting it on the wall and was very easy.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Serenity86
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Polk Instant Home Theater
8/31/2011

Customer review by Dirtracer56

3.0 stars 8/31/2011 by Dirtracer56
by Dirtracer56

This item was very easy to hook up to my Sony flatscreen tv using the instructions. However it did take some time to find out the best adjustment for the subwoofer and turn down the tv speakers. I really don't know if I ever got the tv speakers off but at least I was able to reduce the tv sound and raise the sound of the theater system. I think it does improve the sound of the normal tv program some, and on certain types of movies it is outstanding. My Sony remote was easy to adjust to all settings with this system.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dirtracer56
South
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 72 total reviews
1-20 of 72 reviews