Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 159 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

159 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

159 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
116
4 stars
28
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 stars
10
1-20 of 137 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 137 total reviews
1-20 of 137 reviews
Yard helper
5/22/2011

Customer review by goodlittleshopper

5.0 stars 5/22/2011 by goodlittleshopper
by goodlittleshopper

I found this product to be easy to use. I used to own a B & D yard trimmer in the past and I liked it a lot, so purchasing another one was easy because the old one was a great help to me in order to maintain the yard. It's easy to use and works great, not complicated at all, easy to reload the string again when it runs out and the weight is good for me, and I also like the telescopic handle

Was this review helpful? (142) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
goodlittleshopper
Churchville, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Works GREAT!
6/17/2011

Customer review by rosebud14

5.0 stars 6/17/2011 by rosebud14
by rosebud14

The electric grass trimmer I bought last year just up and died on my (grrrrr). So once again I hit the on-line reviews to decide whether to buy gas, electric or battery and then to pick one. I already have a battery-operated B&D, but it's quite old, not too powerful and the battery only lasts an hour. "Quite old" is the key - it has lasted through many seasons. So I took a shot at this electric B&D, encouraged by reviews but worried about the string feeding. WOW! Once I got going and actually read the directions about loading the string cartridge, I couldn't have been more satisfied! This trimmer is lightweight, works fantastically (I trim approximately 1/2 acre of weeds), feeds line properly, and I think it's well worth dealing with the 100' cord! Thank you Walmart and Black & Decker!

Was this review helpful? (108) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rosebud14
Reno, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Good and powerful
6/18/2011

Customer review by tallman62

5.0 stars 6/18/2011 by tallman62
by tallman62

I was thrilled with the performance of this trimmer. It ran so fast I had to be careful at first not to trimm to the bare ground!! I found it to be convenient to use and handy.

Was this review helpful? (76) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tallman62
Mountville, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
So far, so good
12/19/2011

Customer review by Eagle61

5.0 stars 12/19/2011 by Eagle61
by Eagle61

I recently purchased this item and have used it twice, the first was for a pretty intensive round of yard work - my old trimmer died after 30 years and I took the time to carefully research various products. After three weeks with no trimming or edging, the new machine got a good workout. I bought this model because of the customer ratings and my own experience with B&D products. It's light and powerful and easy to handle and works very well. It remains to be seen how it will perform over time, but most of my B&D tools have been very durable. I don't know how long a line spool will last but there's plenty of line left on the spool after the first two uses. Replacements are reasonably priced at two for $9.95 and it's also possible to replenish the spool with bulk line.

Was this review helpful? (56) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Eagle61
Orange County, SoCal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great!
6/18/2011

Customer review by sspirited1

5.0 stars 6/18/2011 by sspirited1
by sspirited1

Fast ship, lightweight, easy to use. Actually kind of fun!

Was this review helpful? (32) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sspirited1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Does all it should
3/5/2012

Customer review by Rock122

5.0 stars 3/5/2012 by Rock122
by Rock122

Great product. What truly sets this apart from other weed eaters is the power. It is the item that matters most (5.5 amps). I was able to cut down huge weeds. It actually worked so well I did the ENTIRE yard with it. I almost don't need a regular mower.

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rock122
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great the first 3 months
8/7/2012

Customer review by PAC3

3.0 stars 8/7/2012 by PAC3
by PAC3

I loved this trimmer the first 3 months that I had it. Then it just broke weeding grass. It started smoking and the reel didn't spin. It has a 2 year warranty. Couldn't return it to Walmart because they only accept returns the first 30 days for outdoor tools. Had to take it to a Black & Decker authorized repair center. The closest one to me is 40 miles away. Not worth the drive.

Was this review helpful? (26) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PAC3
WV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Nice trimmer and good value
6/16/2011

Customer review by SaveEnergy

4.0 stars 6/16/2011 by SaveEnergy
by SaveEnergy

Very silent when compared with the gas trimmers. The power cord hook to prevent dislodging is a nice touch. I would have preferred a shoulder strap as that would have made using it for over 10 minutes easier. I am in reasonable physical shape but using it for more than 10 minutes gets tiring. Its not very good at being used as an edger as you are never able to know exactly where the string will draw the line.

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SaveEnergy
VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Awesome!
5/19/2012

Customer review by pushinonthru

4.0 stars 5/19/2012 by pushinonthru
by pushinonthru

I am a single woman with a huge yard! I have tried gas trimmers and battery operated trimmers and have very bad luck with them. I can never get the gas one started and the battery one dies to early and doesn't have a lot of power. But today I broke down and bought this trimmer and it is awesome! It has plenty of power to trim my overgrown yard. The only reason I gave it a 4 is because the extension cord keeps falling out of the plug on the trimmer so that is an easy fix with some DUCK TAPE! and I will be off and running again. I am very pleased with this long overdue purchase.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pushinonthru
DeRidder, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
3/6/2012

Customer review by MaleShopper

5.0 stars 3/6/2012 by MaleShopper
by MaleShopper

Love it. Replaced loud gas trimmer with a battery operated one that didn't hold a charge long enough to finishe my job. So I got this grass hog and it works better than all my past trimmers.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MaleShopper
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Died the second time I used it.
5/19/2012

Customer review by IDontNeedThis

1.0 stars 5/19/2012 by IDontNeedThis
by IDontNeedThis

I chose this model electric trimmer based on the good reviews. This worked wonderfully last week when I used it for the first time. This week, it died part way through edging my small front yard. Walmart refunded my money with no hassles, but I would prefer to have a trimmer that is more reliable. I should have checked the reviews at other online sites and saved myself the bother of having to return th

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IDontNeedThis
Millington, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Black & Decker 5.5 Amp Electric Grass Trimmer
9/9/2011

Customer review by rcwizard

5.0 stars 9/9/2011 by rcwizard
by rcwizard

This is a great little weed eater. The automatic line feed system works great. I know some people have had some problems with it, but I haven't. The metal guard for edging is amazing and allows for perfectly straight lines. This electric weed eater has more than enough power to get most jobs done.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rcwizard
Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
4/28/2012

Customer review by pattexs

4.0 stars 4/28/2012 by pattexs
by pattexs

meets expectations easy to use powerful have to be concerned about how long string roll will last expensive to replace (approx. five dollars per spool)

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pattexs
Palestine Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Wonderful product!
5/21/2012

Customer review by TrueFreedom

5.0 stars 5/21/2012 by TrueFreedom
by TrueFreedom

We read tons of reviews on different trimmers and couldn't find anything that people liked until this one. This trimmer exceeded our expectations. Fabulous product at an amazing price.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TrueFreedom
Boise, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
4/1/2012

Customer review by Shehart

5.0 stars 4/1/2012 by Shehart
by Shehart

Love this weed trimmer. I have a big area to trim and love the fact that this has a large spool of trimmer line so I don't have to keep replacing the line so often. So far it has worked great.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shehart
Victorville, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
grass trimmer is great
4/29/2012

Customer review by babyholly

5.0 stars 4/29/2012 by babyholly
by babyholly

I bought this after my previous grass trimmer stripped out the connection bolt. Thisgrass hog is wonderful. It cuts thru light brush like butter as I used it on my quarter acre brush yard. It fed out line perfectly, not overfeeding it at all. It's powerful and easy to use. I'm in love!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
babyholly
bismarck mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
6/25/2012

Customer review by okboy

4.0 stars 6/25/2012 by okboy
by okboy

single spool must be rethreaded through the hole and does not feed out.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
okboy
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Do NOT waste your money.
8/24/2012

Customer review by thecoroner

1.0 stars 8/24/2012 by thecoroner
by thecoroner

Bought one at the first of the year and it died today after 4 months of trimming. Line feed is a pain,and it eats up line VERY fast and when it is feeding it can get behind the head and lock it up. I will NOT be buying another one of these. :-(

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thecoroner
Comer,Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Bad Thing
4/12/2013

Customer review by FormerShoulderSufferer

1.0 stars 4/12/2013 by FormerShoulderSufferer
by FormerShoulderSufferer

I bought this for my annual spring cleaning in my large yard. It worked great for the first year, though it was a bit slow to cut through the larger weeds with thick trunks. When I brought it out the next year to clean out the winter growth of weeds and dense grass, it would not switch on. I persisted and it finally switched on, but when I was in the middle of doing the yard, the switch died. Despite my insistent encouragement, it simply would not come to life again for me. I had unfortunately lost my receipt, so I was not able to get economic satisfaction. I am a low-income person, so I am now stuck with having to groom my yard using a hand-held set of clippers; a task which is about to kill this elderly woman. If you can afford to gamble, go ahead and try this puppy. If not, seek another solution to your garden problems.

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FormerShoulderSufferer
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
So nice
5/2/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 5/2/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I recently had a bout of the "cheapsies" and bought a cheapo Weed Eater brand trimmer for $29 at the local Wal-Mart. Twenty minutes of use later, I took it back and ponied up the extra $20 for this trimmer. All I can say is that is has been night and day and I can finally use a trimmer whose automatic line feed actually works. Can't say enough good things about this trimmer. Super easy to assemble, the trigger is fairly sensitive so you don't feel like you have to have a deathgrip on it to keep it running, and it is a pretty effective edger. I even have hard to reach places to trim, and this just gets in there and gets it done. Really is worth the money in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 137 total reviews
1-20 of 137 reviews