Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 551 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

551 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

551 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
454
4 stars
72
3 stars
8
2 stars
9
1 stars
8
1-20 of 532 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 532 total reviews
1-20 of 532 reviews
Amazing Camera!!!!!
7/7/2014

Customer review by MrsHart720

5.0 stars 7/7/2014 by MrsHart720
by MrsHart720

I purchased this camera today, and have loved playing with it. I am a beginner photographer and this is my first DSLR camera. I have always loved photography, and in the past questioned if I had what it takes to be a great photographer... Well, I was pleasantly surprised what a difference a good camera makes. I have been using it on Auto mode, which is very easy. I am still learning about manual modes. I will come back to write an updated review once I am more familiar with the product!

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrsHart720
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
3/21/2013

Customer review by JHartman

4.0 stars 3/21/2013 by JHartman
by JHartman

I have had this camera for about 6mos. and I have no complaints. It take great photos

Was this review helpful? (18) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JHartman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A Camera to Grow With
10/27/2014

Customer review by ajtb

5.0 stars 10/27/2014 by ajtb
by ajtb
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Having never had a DSLR camera before, I was still able to open the box, put in the battery and memory card, take off the lens cap and start shooting! The camera has many presets to choose from, such as landscape, portrait, macro, and also can be totally manual, for when you get brave and/or want things to turn out a specific way. The lens that came with it is great for macros, wide angle and everything in between! And the camera can grow with me and my needs, as I can buy other lenses.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ajtb
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/12/2011

Customer review by BrysMommi

5.0 stars 8/12/2011 by BrysMommi
by BrysMommi

After returning the Nikon D3000 the morning after I purchased it, I bought this camera. I used to own a Canon Rebel xti, I should have just stuck with what works in the first place! This camera is AMAZING! The pictures are so beautiful, crisp, and clear! I would reccomend to anyone! Easy to use, but it also has a lot of options for the more advanced photographer, unlike myself!

Was this review helpful? (155) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BrysMommi
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5/24/2012

Customer review by jayhe

4.0 stars 5/24/2012 by jayhe
by jayhe

Pros: This camera has all of the features I was looking for; comfortable grip; manual mode so that I could practice with the shutter speed, etc.; and the battery life is phenomenal! Cons: So far I haven't figured out to take pictures in sepia; on a few occasions, the camera would only take a ten second video ( but I will refer to the manual to try and figure out these two problems).

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jayhe
Clarkston, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Photos!
11/22/2013

Customer review by sunnyrawrz

5.0 stars 11/22/2013 by sunnyrawrz
by sunnyrawrz
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It works like a dream so far!! It was easy to figure out even without reading the manual (haven't had time). The pictures are great and the battery lasts a long time!! I can't wait to take photos this holiday season!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sunnyrawrz
Chula Vista, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Have owned canon camers and lens since 1973
12/22/2011

Customer review by flashdude

5.0 stars 12/22/2011 by flashdude
by flashdude

A great value for the price easy to use

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
flashdude
Kenai, Ak
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
12/24/2011

Customer review by lehsha

5.0 stars 12/24/2011 by lehsha
by lehsha

After extensive research I chose this camera for its color saturation, warmth and contrast as compared to two other brands in it's price range (examined raw images of all 3 cameras). I get satisfied results with every feature onboard the T3. I recorded a short video with this camera and was pleasantly surprised. HD quality was prevelant. Be sure and purchase SD card with 16g or higher with a class 6 rating or higher for shooting videos. It will cost more for the SD card but worth it. Been a photographer for 30+ years using SLR film and medium format cameras. Got away from photography for several years and became excited with all the nuance in photo technology. Take my advice and look the T3 over before deciding on your purchase of a DSLR. I have Canon annd Nikon SLR film cameras in my arsenal and have retired both. P.S. spend a little extra and go with a DSLR instead of point and shoot. You'll be glad you did.

Was this review helpful? (83) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lehsha
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Really Nice Camera!
8/11/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/11/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I was on the fence about upgrading to this camera from my Canon Rebel XS. I'm really glad I did. The images appear much sharper, and much more vibrant from the XS. The nine point autofocus and the two extra MPs does really well! I haven't tried the video (I bought it for the photos) so if your wondering on the quality of the video this review isn't probably for you. Its lightweight, easy to use, and the menus are pretty straightforward. The only con I could find was they moved the card slot from the side to the bottom (with the battery) which is at times.... a little hard to open. Overall it is a really nice camera! I've used several cameras (quite a few in the powershot line, the canon rebel xti, and canon rebel xs) along with the nikon D3000 and D3100, and this out performs all of them by a long shot.

Was this review helpful? (196) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cannon t3i
10/5/2012

Customer review by Cat Lady

5.0 stars 10/5/2012 by Cat Lady
by Cat Lady

I was "raised" on a Reble 2000 film camera and hating change, FINALLY went digital. Started with a great "point & shoot, which taught me the basics. I do pet & nature photography so needed more. After checking MANY cameras I choose the Cannon t3i. (Body only) Has all I need!!! Best of all, I can use the Cannon supersonic lens's I used on my Reble 2000. (Saved greatly) It has so many features that at first it was a little over whelming. After sitting, reading and just "playing" with this camera I learned quickly. I only bought this camera about a month ago, so still learning. I have taken BEAUTIFUL pictures. Cats, dogs, a rainbow that is out of this world. I think you get the message, <smile>. The only fault I find is it is a little on the heavy side. Again, the more I use it, I'm getting used to it. Also, the battery life isn't as long as I would like as I need the higher megapixels. Going to buy another battery and should be fine. All in all, it's a GREAT camera and would recommend it.

Cat Lady
Orange City, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love It!!
11/28/2011

Customer review by FireShutter

5.0 stars 11/28/2011 by FireShutter
by FireShutter

After buying a new $100 camera each year for the last 4 years and having each of them working horribly, we decided to finally pay for a good camera. I have always been intimidated by these "fancy" cameras because I wasn't sure if I could handle all that it had to offer. I am pleasantly surprised with this camera. Everything works great and it's easy to learn how to use all of the features. Definitely a great camera for a beginner like me!!

Was this review helpful? (30) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FireShutter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Some facts!
12/1/2013

Customer review by jimmywasmydog

4.0 stars 12/1/2013 by jimmywasmydog
by jimmywasmydog

Decision-making made simple: This camera being just about the cheapest DSLR in the market, if you are still contemplating about buying it, it must be because you are undecided if to buy this camera or a more expensive one (like Canon T3i, about $150. more). You may find the following helpful in decision making: 1-This camera shoots videos in 720i and not 1080. If videos matter to you, you may wanna consider T3i. I personally believe cameras are for still photography so this is not an issue for me. 2- The display screen on the back of the camera is not a fancy LCD as is the case on T3i. This does not bother me because I always take photos while looking into the view finder anyway (less distractions, and I look more professional!). 3- Although the camera allows you to select higher ISOs, it is not as high as other more expensive cameras allow you to (selecting a higher ISO number on a camera dial is simply telling the camera to become more sensitive to light, ideal for night photography or indoors without a flash). Since, to a large extent, this camera already allows you to do so, that should suit most of the dim-light photography. 4- Photography at night or in dim light invites picture "noise" and more expensive cameras can reduce it. For me, only a few photos a year would be taken under these conditions. Besides, most people looking at your photos taken at night, cannot tell #or, simply do not think of# some noise in your photos. Only a side-by-side comparision brings it to the attention. A professional photographer making a living on the camera #i.e. a wedding photographer# should be concern about noise. 5- The more expensive a camera, the fancier the auto focus system is. This does not mean that this camera does a poor job on auto focus, it simply means that other cameras might focus under trickier situations #low contrast area, subjects moving toward you, etc#. How many times a year you would encounter that! 6- this camera is 12 mega pixel, while T3i is 18. Higher mega pixel is good for printing posters or cropping/resizing your photos #so after the cut, the photo still maintains it's integrity#. If you are into many of posters or cropping or resizing, then T3i is a better choice, otherwise this camera still gives you a nice poster and a modest crop/resize would still be undetected by average person. 7- "picture quality" is the same like all other DSLRs. Unless you pay well over $2000 for a "full-frame" camera, the size of the sensor on all DSLRs are the same #sadly, only 75% of frame size of the good old film#. 8- This camera is not just for "beginners." It has all the features #i.e. shutter/aperture priority, ISO selection, menu selections, etc# that pros and "beginners" alike need to know #or, to learn#. More expensive cameras do have more features #more noise reduction, higher ISO, etc# but those features are mainly automatic anyway, and does not require much more knowledge on the side of the user than this camera does. Thus, a more appropriate description of this camera's user should be "this camera is for people who would not want to spend more for certain extra features." So, don't let your lack of knowledge of camera be a determining factor on your purchase. If you can understand this camera, you already understand fancier cameras, too.

Was this review helpful? (41) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jimmywasmydog
Palo Alto
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Very easy to use immediately.
10/13/2011

Customer review by MomofMMM

5.0 stars 10/13/2011 by MomofMMM
by MomofMMM

This camera is very easy to use for a beginner with options for experienced photographers. It takes good, quality photos.

Was this review helpful? (54) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MomofMMM
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best Camera Under $500
10/28/2011

Customer review by knocktwice

5.0 stars 10/28/2011 by knocktwice
by knocktwice

I have no complaints whatsoever! Auto-focus works great, simple to use, and a rugged body to hold onto. Much better than a mini camera at the same price that you can't push a button on without hitting one close to it.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
knocktwice
Lake Ann, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Outstanding!
4/30/2012

Customer review by stick

5.0 stars 4/30/2012 by stick
by stick

If you want a camera that you can take out of the box, set on "Automatic" and take very good photos, this camera will do it. So will a good quality point-and-shoot for a lot less money. If you want a camera that will give you the ability to take incredible photos under almost any conditions, this is it. It takes some practice and experimentation to learn what the T3i is capable of, but you won't be disappointed. I took a 12 hr non-credit digital photography class at the local community college and it was worth every penny of the cost. Photography is fun again! The T3i more then held it's own against the comparable big name cameras in the class. I bought this camera for the ability to take some excellect photos when my wife and I go to Bora Bora in Nov. I have no doubt it will be up to the task. Buy it, but by all means learn it's features and how to use them. Once you do be prepared to spend even more money on the accessories that will make the experience even better.

stick
Hudson, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great camera!
1/29/2013

Customer review by lunley

5.0 stars 1/29/2013 by lunley
by lunley

I needed a new camera because I couldn't get a shot of my 2 1/2 year old without his eyes being closed! I would take 50 shots, and maybe 2 would have him with his eyes open. When I got this camera, I was 10 for 10 with open eyes within the first five minutes. And all of this is with the automatic settings!! And my little guy doesn't really like to sit still for very long, and this camera takes good action shots too. This is my first DSLR, so I'm a novice and I have TONS to learn, but so far I couldn't be happier with this camera! The pictures are incredibly sharp, and the shutter speed is fast! Highly recommended!!

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lunley
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good camera
8/19/2011

Customer review by PixiesMama

4.0 stars 8/19/2011 by PixiesMama
by PixiesMama

This canon rebel is an awesome camera. The camera is loud though when taking photos. So if your trying to take pictures in a quiet place, be aware.

Was this review helpful? (62) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PixiesMama
San Clemente, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
DSLR at a great price
7/28/2014

Customer review by neurodoc71

4.0 stars 7/28/2014 by neurodoc71
by neurodoc71
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My choice of this camera was based on the following consideration: I wanted the least expensive highly-rated DSLR camera I could find since I wanted higher quality pictures but wasn't sure I would like using a camera that big and relatively heavy. This was the perfect choice. Although there are more recent versions of this camera, it was highly-rated in its time and still is an excellent camera. I have had no trouble using it and the camera functions are relatively straight forward to use. I am happy with the quality of pictures, at least at the RAW setting (highest quality). Everything works well on the camera and lens. The jury is still out on how cumbersome it will be to use such a camera on trips since I have just been using it around home, but that is not a problem with the camera itself which is quite compact and light for its type.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
neurodoc71
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
EXTREMELY SATISFIED WITH THIS PURCHASE
12/7/2011

Customer review by Claudel

5.0 stars 12/7/2011 by Claudel
by Claudel

Just before I went to China, I purchased this camera because I thought it would be the best way to capture all the moments. I was VERY satisfied. Out of the box, this camera was phenomenal. It took the greatest photos. They were crisp, clear, and even if I took a picture from behind a window, you couldn't tell. I captured moments at the Great Wall and many other unforgettable moments thanks to this camera. This is a great buy. Once you use this camera, you will not want to go back to a point and shoot unless size is an issue. It's light, extremely portable, and worth every penny. Try it out!

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Claudel
Stamford, Ct
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Perfect beginners DSLR
2/7/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/7/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I picked the T3 up, bundled with an 18-55 IS and a 75-300 several years ago to replace my aging EOS 350D. It's the camera that assisted me in becoming a professional photographer! It has all the manual settings you could ask for as a beginner, and takes crisp shots, especially for the price range. Nowadays I work with several 1Ds, 7Ds, and massive EF lenses while I shoot motorsports events, but the plucky little T3 still hangs with the big boys, especially if the user is good at post-processing. I always have it as a back up camera in case the weather gets nasty or the other, bigger cameras act up. Any entry level Rebel will be perfect for the beginner/intermediate photographer, and can be commercially successful if you put the work in. I highly recommend them if you're enthusiastic about photography and DSLRs but don't know where to start. Everything about the Rebels are easy to learn.

An anonymous customer
Santa Clarita, CA, United States
1-20 of 532 total reviews
1-20 of 532 reviews