Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 388 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

388 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

388 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
332
4 stars
39
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 stars
8
1-20 of 369 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 369 total reviews
1-20 of 369 reviews
Cannon t3i
10/5/2012

Customer review by Cat Lady

5.0 stars 10/5/2012 by Cat Lady
by Cat Lady

I was "raised" on a Reble 2000 film camera and hating change, FINALLY went digital. Started with a great "point & shoot, which taught me the basics. I do pet & nature photography so needed more. After checking MANY cameras I choose the Cannon t3i. (Body only) Has all I need!!! Best of all, I can use the Cannon supersonic lens's I used on my Reble 2000. (Saved greatly) It has so many features that at first it was a little over whelming. After sitting, reading and just "playing" with this camera I learned quickly. I only bought this camera about a month ago, so still learning. I have taken BEAUTIFUL pictures. Cats, dogs, a rainbow that is out of this world. I think you get the message, <smile>. The only fault I find is it is a little on the heavy side. Again, the more I use it, I'm getting used to it. Also, the battery life isn't as long as I would like as I need the higher megapixels. Going to buy another battery and should be fine. All in all, it's a GREAT camera and would recommend it.

Cat Lady
Orange City, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Outstanding!
4/30/2012

Customer review by stick

5.0 stars 4/30/2012 by stick
by stick

If you want a camera that you can take out of the box, set on "Automatic" and take very good photos, this camera will do it. So will a good quality point-and-shoot for a lot less money. If you want a camera that will give you the ability to take incredible photos under almost any conditions, this is it. It takes some practice and experimentation to learn what the T3i is capable of, but you won't be disappointed. I took a 12 hr non-credit digital photography class at the local community college and it was worth every penny of the cost. Photography is fun again! The T3i more then held it's own against the comparable big name cameras in the class. I bought this camera for the ability to take some excellect photos when my wife and I go to Bora Bora in Nov. I have no doubt it will be up to the task. Buy it, but by all means learn it's features and how to use them. Once you do be prepared to spend even more money on the accessories that will make the experience even better.

stick
Hudson, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent DSLR!
7/17/2013

Customer review by Outpat

5.0 stars 7/17/2013 by Outpat
by Outpat

This was (is) my first DSLR and I absolutely love it. Sure, a 7D would be nice; but for someone who doesn't want to spend 1.5k+ on a camera, this is a wonderful alternative. It's worked very well for me, and I don't think I've had one "glitch" or technical issue with it thus far. My only problem with this body is the sound the shutter makes--I really get annoyed by that squeaky sound (as opposed to a simple "click") and I often find myself self-conscious and paranoid that others will get annoyed by it as well. This is a very minor issue, however--and if that's the only problem I have with it, I'd say that's pretty awesome. I've had this camera for about a year now and haven't noticed it being any different from when I first purchased it (and I've used it almost daily). It's lasted me this long and I expect that it will last me at least a few more years--and if it does, I'll gladly stick with it until I run across an issue. I honestly love this camera.

Outpat
New Bern, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
WOW, What a camera
5/17/2011

Customer review by Seadog

5.0 stars 5/17/2011 by Seadog
by Seadog

I have had a bunch of point and shoots plus the Canon S2is whick was a good camera but could not get the pics I wanted in hockey rinks, and at the Ball field. Plus the nephews won't sit still for a minute. A friend of mine steered me to this camera even though she uses the other brand in her photography business, She told me that for the money this was the camera to by. So far I have to agree and so far I am not dissapointed. This camera replaces the Canon S2is and a Canon AE-1 35mm. I love the ease of zooming ,focusing, and the image stabilization. The ability to continuos shoot. I know there are faster cameras out there, but not at this price. I also got the 55-250mm IS lens. a welcome addition to the kit. other than a flash I don't think I will need anything else for a long time. I put as my only con that the shutter sound should be adjustable. I may not have found that adjustment in the menus, it may or may not exist, or it could just be me.

Seadog
Portland, Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So happy with my T3i
9/13/2011

Customer review by patchwork

5.0 stars 9/13/2011 by patchwork
by patchwork

I recently purchased the T3i and am very pleased with its performance. I bought the camera at a big box retail store bundled with 18-55mm and 55-250mm lenses and was able to purchase it for much less than the advertised price. This camera is easy to use and the menu's are very intuitive. If you are at all familiar with DSLR's you'll easily have the menus figured out in about a half hour. Start shooting and playing with it and everything just flows. Out of the box I took it to my Son's marching band rehearsal and captured wonderful images in minutes. I've only had it a few weeks and already taken about one thousand images. The larger, articulated LCD screen is worth the extra $ compared to the T2i. Well worth the money in comparison to the nearest competitor which, unfortunately has inflated ego prices due to their supposed "high quality" lenses. This camera takes superior, sharp, high color images at 18 megapixels (try to match that). Outstanding quality for the price. Keep looking around, you'll come back to the T3i – guaranteed. Canon's got a real winner here.

patchwork
Loveland, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worst camera purchase ever
12/25/2014

Customer review by Cedric

1.0 stars 12/25/2014 by Cedric
by Cedric

I have had the camera for two years, had to return it twice for defects under warranty, the first time one month after purchasing it because a glitch in the software made it impossible to eject the SD card. Now, I have to send the lens in, (third service request), because a screw has gotten loose and rattles inside, messing up the autofocus function, and at times blocking the manual adjustment altogether. In addition, from the beginning, there were multiple times when the focus just goes in and out, for ever, and makes it impossible to actually release the trigger. Needless to say, many great shots were missed because of this inability to simply shoot. I have had to disable automatic focus. But then again, it is easy to forget that I am no longer on automatic focus, and have to manually focus instead. Result: pictures end up being fuzzy. In short, this camera is a huge waste of time and money.

Cedric
Washington, D.C.
Super Fantastic Camera
1/27/2012

Customer review by gpguyway

5.0 stars 1/27/2012 by gpguyway
by gpguyway

I use to have a film SLR but is was stolen and it has been a few years since I have owned an SLR camera. I took the big plunge and decided to get a new one, but which one? There are so many to look at, but after looking and feeling and holding all the prospects I got the Canon Rebel T3i with the 18-55mm and 55-250mm lens package. I am re-learning how much fun it is to take pictures and with a digital you can take as many pictures that you want until the microchip fills up which is really hard as I have two 16gb chips, each one will hold over 1800 pictures taken at the 18 megapixel setting. More if I turn it down, but why? Every day I try to go out and take pictures just to learn what this camera can do and it does about anything you want it to do. So if you are looking for a great camera and are new or a professional this is the camera for the price and what you get. Enjoy.

gpguyway
Tehachapi, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The Rebel T3i- a great confidence builder
10/23/2011

Customer review by slproctor

5.0 stars 10/23/2011 by slproctor
by slproctor

I recently purchased the EOS Rebel T3i 18-55 kit. When I first opened it up I was a bit overwhelmed, thinking I got more camera than I could handle. I found a DVD online specifically for this model. Once I saw how the camera functions worked, I was more at ease. It gave me confidence to take my first shot. On a glorious three day get-a-way to Victoria BC, I was able to experiment with many features of the Rebel T3i – the scenery was incredible. To enhance this kit I also purchased a 100-300 telephoto lens, tripod, extra battery and case. Looking at the photos I took, I see the big difference in quality and clarity from ones taken with my old camera, a Canon Power Shot A590 IS, and am looking forward to competency with all the features of my new camera. I highly recommend the EOS Rebel T3i to people who want to take their photography to the next level.

slproctor
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Outstanding upgrade from EOS XS
10/13/2012

Customer review by Fred

5.0 stars 10/13/2012 by Fred
by Fred

I am a amateur and shoot from a wheelchair.The quality is super overall especially in low light situations. I shoot a lot of disabled sporting events and for our local newspaper. I also am the photographer for my Lions club. As a amputee in a wheelchair I have problems getting the shot I want because people tend to walk in front of me or I can't get as close as I want to be. I overcome most of these problems by using a monopod which allows me to get the camera up about 8 feet. I have a remote attached to the camera and with the LED screen tilted down I can capture the scenes I want. I also use a 18-135mm lens almost exclusively to have the needed range because of being in the chair and being blocked by people. I am starting to get the hang of shooting videos and their quality is super also. Needless to say I am thrilled with this camera

Fred
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Camera I've ever used
10/9/2012

Customer review by Lightspeedsnail

5.0 stars 10/9/2012 by Lightspeedsnail
by Lightspeedsnail

My Rebel T3i is, by far, the greatest camera I have ever owned/used. I'm only an amateur, but wow, what a great experience we've had together. Yes, I talk about my camera as a friend. Rebel T3i and I have been to some places, seen some things and well, we've had a blast. And I have proof. Well, digital proofs anyway. I love how the LCD swivels around so that no matter where I'm at I can get a great shot. The quality of pictures we've taken together is evident in the awards and contests we've won. While my T1i is often jealous, Rebel T3i and I just work better together. Don't worry, T1i and I still have a thing...Shhhh, don't tell T3i. It might get jealous too. Oh well we're one big happy family. And they make our work so very easy. Some times I feel like my Canon Rebel T3i is the extra limb I always thought I was missing.

Lightspeedsnail
Scott City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great
9/8/2016

Customer review by Gaganjeha

5.0 stars 9/8/2016 by Gaganjeha
by Gaganjeha

Awesome and mother flower great with fun and travel

Gaganjeha
Fresno County, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This is an awesome camera!!!
10/13/2012

Customer review by Miss Fortune

5.0 stars 10/13/2012 by Miss Fortune
by Miss Fortune

This camera was really easy to use right out of the box. The pictures all are great quality. Although I mostly use it on Auto, I also use the macro and the sport mode. I am determined to learn to use it on Manual some day, but in the mean time, I do really well without it. I won't be outgrowing it soon. I also have the 55-300 lens that I am very, very happy with. I mostly use the camera for wildlife, and am very happy with the speed. The tutorial CD that came with it is a little on the fast side and being over 60 the downloading software took a while for me to learn. I don't usually do much with my finished photos besides cropping, but the one feature that has come in handy is the way you can straighten the horizon. I am so happy with this camera and have just convinced a collegue to buy one of his own.

Miss Fortune
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Purchase Ever- no joke.
3/21/2011

Customer review by ILOVEIT!

5.0 stars 3/21/2011 by ILOVEIT!
by ILOVEIT!

If you are looking for a camera that can help you get used to DSLRs and photography in general but also allows you to have awesome features then you should definitely want to do some research on this camera. I'm not a professional photographer but I have had a little bit of experience with photography and DSLRs. I have to admit I was a little iffy about picking this camera because of the price tag, but after doing a little digging and comparing it to other DSLRs I saw that this camera was what I needed. I suggest that all first time buyers do just that, compare and do some research on what type of camera will suit you. This camera is perfect for me because I can use it for family events, trips but also for experimenting with photography and just getting used to working with so many features.

ILOVEIT!
Northern Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I am glad that I bought this camera
7/15/2011

Customer review by PK

5.0 stars 7/15/2011 by PK
by PK

I had an opportunity to use major features of Rebel T3i during my wife's dance performance recently. Although I wanted to take both pictures and record video, I ended up recording video during the entire performance. Photos are excellent with brilliant colors. I even had a little photo contest with my friend and his point-and-shoot. The difference is very clear between SLR and point-and-shoot camera. Especially when you zoom into the subject. Only negative I have to say is regarding video recording. During the recording the zoom operation is not very easy. Capturing still during recording will cause 2 second puase. I am still learning to use this camera, I might get better at recording video in future. I would definitely recommend this camera to anyone who is new to SLR.

PK
Niskayuna, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
10/4/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/4/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This camera has been my life for the past year and it truly is an amazing camera. There are few thing that i would change, but one of them is the processor, the Digic 4 processor does a does a very good job as long as you stay at an ISO of 800 or less, anything above becomes overly noisy. The camera has put up to a lot of use sense I bought it, and has lasted extremely well. One thing that i would say is necessary to get is a battery grip, it is a very useful add on that will improve your experience with the camera. The flip out screen has been a very useful feature good in many situations. Another amazing feature is the External Flash function, Absolutely Incredible, It will increase your creative pictures by leaps and bounds, by being able to incorporate the unique lighting into your pictures. The image Quality is outstanding, especially when coupled with one of Canon's L-series lenses, the auto-focus is descent with a standard lens, but is impeccable with the L-series lens, as well. The camera is an incredible beginner camera, and if you want to push the limits of your ability's then it is also extremely capable with keeping up, and will carry you in to what ever type of photography you would like.

An anonymous customer
Amarillo, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best in its Class
1/24/2012

Customer review by RisingSun

5.0 stars 1/24/2012 by RisingSun
by RisingSun

This was my first DSLR. I had always been interested in photography and finally decided to jump in. Initially I was astounded with image quality while shooting in the automatic modes. As I progressed, I found myself shooting in the creative modes. The more I shot with the T3i, the better photographs I produced. This is definitely the best entry level DSLR, even compared to other models. The video mode of this camera is unparalleled. The Vari-angle screen is so much more convenient than I first assumed. The ergonomics of this body are quite splendid. It feels right. Images captured with some L glass are breathtaking. I am now advancing past this body and purchasing a 7D. The T3i is well worth the small price. If I was starting over again, I would make the same choice.

RisingSun
Santa Cruz, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A super camera for the money!!!
3/9/2011

Customer review by Teddy

5.0 stars 3/9/2011 by Teddy
by Teddy

Well, I am one of those hack photographers who has used a Canon original 300D 6041 for ten years. This T3i camera is such a pleasure to live with!! If you are on the fence about upgrading just do it. I know you have read all the reviews and have studied the specs so I won't bore you with my modest take. I play music for a living and my usage is taking photos for selling vintage music instruments in a "corner of the room" studio. The swivel view-finder is worth the price of admission!! If it were just not so much plastic... the review forces me to say "poor build quality". It is not poor build quality. It is a function of the price point. This camera is a wonderful value and one day I will order a 5D MKIII if they ever ship it! Thanks Canon for the great lenses too!!

Teddy
Nashville TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easily the best Rebel so far!
5/6/2011

Customer review by afd1949

5.0 stars 5/6/2011 by afd1949
by afd1949

I've owned several Canon DSLR's before purchasing the T3i and each generation gets better and better. The T3i has everything I wanted - articulated high-res screen, excellent noise control at higher ISO's, good user interface with dedicated buttons so you do less menu hopping, great IQ and video performance, plenty of features and fast AF performance. The DPP software that comes with the camera is surprisingly powerful and flexible too although I shoot mainly JEPG's. My only issue is I wish Canon would up the continuous frame rate from 3.7 to say 4.5 or higher and give you a bigger buffer. It was a tough decision between the T3i and the 60D for this reason. Overall the T3i is a powerful, comfortable, easy to use and very competent picture-taking machine for me.

afd1949
Newark, DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent all around DSLR
10/8/2012

Customer review by Bostonguy

5.0 stars 10/8/2012 by Bostonguy
by Bostonguy

Having always been interested in photography as an amateur, I've owned several point and shoot cameras, and I've owned some film cameras. I have taken some amateur photography courses, and I had great success with my Canon Rebel 35mm film camera. When it came time to buy a DSLR, I talked to several professionals and visited a few camera shops. I also read a number of reviews. It was clear to me, given the feedback and service I've had with past Canon products, that the Rebel 3ti was the way to go. It takes phenomenal pictures for the price, and it has a broad array of setting and accessories that allow even a professional photographer to achieve the most desirable results. It does take a while to learn all of the menus and settings. Another win for Canon!

Bostonguy
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very good DSLR camera
10/27/2011

Customer review by ayasofya

5.0 stars 10/27/2011 by ayasofya
by ayasofya

I had the Canon EOS Rebel T3i for about 5 months now. I am very please with its performance. This is my first DSLR. I am impressed with the quality of pictures especially with low light situations. The high ISO setting is very convenient in low light. Interior low light pictures without the flash come out really good looking and sharp. About 99% of my pictures come out tack sharp, others I believe is due to my hand movement. I know I should use a tripod. I have taken thousands of pictures with this camera and this is one serious DSLR. I am not too crazy with the video future since it does not have the auto focus as you take the video. But I have a dedicated HD 1080p camcorder for that. However, the videos I take are short clips and I fix the focus first and get really awesome HD videos. Ergonomics wise it is a perfect size for me. Feature wise I love the scene intelligent auto feature. It is a very sophisticated camera and I am learning it as I use it. I also like the software interface to load/edit and print pictures. The kit lens is a good lens for what I do, and I am planning on getting the 15-85mm lens next year.I highly recommend this camera for any one wanting to take excellent pictures (especially low light) with a DSLR.

ayasofya
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 369 total reviews
1-20 of 369 reviews