Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 49 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

49 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

49 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

78%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
29
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
7
1 stars
2
1-20 of 47 total reviews
78%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 47 total reviews
1-20 of 47 reviews
Big Disappointment
4/3/2012

Customer review by AGG

2.0 stars 4/3/2012 by AGG
by AGG

I have owned 3 excellent Canon point-and-shoot cameras in the past, but sadly this camera represents a big step backwards in quality and performance. The body is cheaper and the paint chips; the shutter is flimsy and cheap and allows dust in when closed; the lens frequently feels it is having an 'error' and refuses to open; some shots are blurry even in optimal conditions, leading to many lost photos; the low-light mode seems worse than past models; and the biggest problem is the terrible battery life, especially in cold weather conditions: it is not uncommon for a freshly-charged battery to decide it is suddenly out of charge after only a few hours of skiing or hiking (not using the camera that whole time, but taking it out for an occasional photo during that time). This battery issue is extremely frustrating and senseless! I warrantied one 300HS due to this, and my second one also has this problem. Come on Canon, get your quality back up to your old standard! I love Canon and want to see these issues fixed!

AGG
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Impressive! But I Goofed!
8/11/2011

Customer review by DrBob

5.0 stars 8/11/2011 by DrBob
by DrBob

Sorry, folks! I still think this camera is great, but I made a misteak in my review or 8/10/2011. I hope none of you bought the wrong item because of me. I recommended a micro-HDMI cable, but you really need a MINI-HDMI connector (Type "C") on the camera end of the cable, and a regular HDMI connector (Type "A") on the end you plug into the HDTV display. A type "C" connector is 10.42 mm (about 7/16") wide. The tiny "Micro-HDMI" connector I misteakenly recommended is a type "D" and will not fit. You can buy an adapter to convert a regular (Type "A" on both ends) HDMI cable to work, but it makes the connection bulky and awkward to use on such a small camera. I bought a 15-foot cable so I can control the images from my recliner, and a 3-foot one for travel. Of course, the official Canon cable is the safe bet, but it's not easy to find. Kudos to Canon for using an industry-standard connector!

DrBob
Voorhees, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent features
10/4/2011

Customer review by ImaAlwaysShopping2

5.0 stars 10/4/2011 by ImaAlwaysShopping2
by ImaAlwaysShopping2

This camera has so much more that my last one. I love the "many" different features and choices for what you are looking to achieve when taking pictures. Difficult to learn at first, but easier as you continue to use and play with.

Was this review helpful? (9) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ImaAlwaysShopping2
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good carry around little camera
6/16/2011

Customer review by nc

3.0 stars 6/16/2011 by nc
by nc

Very happy with this camera It takes good photos and HD videos. The 24mm is very helpful with the group or landscape shots. It is a fun little camera to carry for trips. However, the Vignette is kind of bugging me. It occurred when image is taken in dim room light, like in a restaurant. The lens barrel is casting a dark corner in the lower right with flash used. All the group shots taken in that situation have to use Photoshop to fixe the VIGNETTE. Hope Canon will look into in it and adjust it for their future production. Also, the camera needs to adjust the exposure dial to -1/3 or - 2/3 in order to avoid the images from over exposing. It will be nice if Canon can have a firmware update to adjust the over exposure problem. Otherwise, just do it yourself.

nc
us
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very God Point and Shoot with Some Features
7/8/2011

Customer review by TobyP

5.0 stars 7/8/2011 by TobyP
by TobyP

I bought the 300 HS as an easy-to-take camera vs. our great Rebel DSLR. The 300 worked admirably on a recent trip. I shot over 230 pics a day on one battery charge. These were often with flash in museums. The auto setting does an excellent job in almost all situations. There are several program settings if you prefer a litle more control like I do. I do miss the aperature and exposure priority modes. The flash is also rather weak for shooting in large spaces, but the image stabilization makes up for the weaker program settings. I would recommend this cameral for the casual photographer who likes good quality pics from a point and shoot and for intermediate level photographers who want a small, convenient camera for travel.

TobyP
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Little Camera
3/26/2012

Customer review by BikeGeezer

5.0 stars 3/26/2012 by BikeGeezer
by BikeGeezer

This is my 3rd Digital Elph and the smallest so far. It is wonderfully small and easy to carry (careful you don’t mislay it!) and reasonably priced. It focuses well, is fast, and has lots of good features. The batteries last well, it is very fast, and takes clear, sharp pictures in normal light. Low-light performance is not so good unless you use the flash. The movies are shocking good for such a small unit, and will fill your big flat-screen with a sharp, almost high definition picture, plus good sound. The only problem is the videos are in the .MOV format instead of .AVI, so they don’t play well on Windows Media Player or Picasa. I would recommend this camera to anyone who needs a very small, good quality pocket camera.

BikeGeezer
San Francisco area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Point and Shoot
6/7/2011

Customer review by BDPWSC

5.0 stars 6/7/2011 by BDPWSC
by BDPWSC

Pro's: Small, Light Weight, Good Low Light, Easy to use, everything you would want a point and shoot for. I've used this camera in every possible condition, indoor, outdoor, beach, strong sun and it has performed well in all of those conditions. I am very pleased with its performance and love the size. Con's: I have only 2 currently: 1. The automatic lens cover is flimsy. Something, possibly in my pocket has caused this lens cover not to close completely which is a real pain as the lens will now get dirty quickly and must be cleaned frequently. Additionally you must then manually close the cover which I am sure is not good for it. 2. In only 2 months of use, the case on the camera has several chips and the camera HAS NOT been dropped in fact, I have been very careful about its care. I'm thinking something in my pocket caused the problem. I have the black unit. Perhaps the colored units like the red will fair better in this department. Conclusion: I really enjoy the camera. The quality of the pictures for a P&S are super and fills my need when I don't have my DSLR. It is easy to carry because of the size and weight. Just be careful of the lens cover. It is a little too flimsy. You could end up with the same problem I have if you place it directly in your pocket or purse. I would recommend using a case if possible.

BDPWSC
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Poor Lens Cover
4/7/2012

Customer review by Emily

2.0 stars 4/7/2012 by Emily
by Emily

I bought this camera for a trip to Guatemala. I have had it for about five months and took extremely good care of it. I always wore the wrist strap, I always placed the camera in a case so it wouldn't break, and I never lost the camera. I put it in my bag to take it on a day trip and when I took it out to take a picture I had realized the lens had a dent in it and now the shutter doesn't open. I am very disappointed that it could not stand one day in a bag without getting a dent and it was in the camera case. It turns out the warranty does not cover this and now I have to take it to a shop to get it repaired. Otherwise I was satisfied with the camera.

Emily
Seattle
Would recommend to a friend? No
Missing High Shutter Speed Feature
9/10/2012

Customer review by TG

3.0 stars 9/10/2012 by TG
by TG

The ELPH 300 HS has one serious flaw that could be fixed by Canon with software. That flaw is that you cannot set a high shutter speed for things like sports photography. Yes, you can pick a high ISO that will increase the shutter speed, but this results in grainy photos. Yes, you can use High Speed Burst for sports, but this results in shutter speeds that are too slow to stop the action and it results in small file sizes that cause grainy photos when cropped. THE SOLUTION is for Canon to create a "P" menu item similar to the ISO menu item that will allow the user to specify a desired shutter speed. Canon, please read this and fix this problem.

TG
Phoenix
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Disappointed
8/12/2011

Customer review by Disappointed

2.0 stars 8/12/2011 by Disappointed
by Disappointed

Bought this camera as an upgrade to our sd400 right before a vacation trip. Came back and downloaded our pictures and was very disappointed. No joke, our sd400 from quite a few years ago takes better pictures. They are sharper, more define, and have better color saturation. I still can't believe it. To further confirm this I took identical photos with each camera. Don't get me wrong the pictures are useable but if you have an older sd line camera, save your money. The worst part is I can't even take it back because while on vacation my 14 day return window closed. Bummer. I knew I should have purchased the s95.

Disappointed
Ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
A Mini Beast of a camera
9/2/2011

Customer review by BlackAxe

5.0 stars 9/2/2011 by BlackAxe
by BlackAxe

I've bought several Canon cameras for myself as well as family, and have never been disapointed. But this little thing blew me away. I bought this just before a vacation to Ireland. And was very pleased at the results. Besides the 1080 video quality, the sound recording was surprising for the size. The main reason I bought it was for the low light quality and it was great, even in video mode. Lots of fun features. I especialy liked the "Smile" mode. The auto mode left me with some fantastic pictures, macro as well as landscapes.. For a light weight pocket camera loaded with features, this is worth looking at.

BlackAxe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ideal Small Camera
6/25/2011

Customer review by papa-razzi

5.0 stars 6/25/2011 by papa-razzi
by papa-razzi

This camera is small enough to fit in a pocket and not be bulky, which is why I purchased it. I have an SLR, so I have bulky covered quite nicely. While not the same quality pictures as an SLR, the pictures are very sharp, good color. The camera does well indoors in low light, which is where most point and shoots fail badly. I have tried other brands, and owned a few ELPHS over the years and this is the best one I've owned. It is a bit pricy because I paid full retail price, but I've purchased cheaper models and been disappointed with the image quality. I'm very happy with this camera.

papa-razzi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My Second ELPH 300 HS
3/6/2012

Customer review by nokk

5.0 stars 3/6/2012 by nokk
by nokk

I've been a Canon camera fan for many years now (including 35mm SLR's) but have only recently started shooting with the new compact digital cameras. Last year I purchased my first ELPH 300HS and was fairly amazed that it could do darn near as much as my larger, bulkier, more expensive Canon digital camera. While the ELPH is mainly a point and shoot camera, there are a large number of options for shooting that allow me to do more "serious" photography when the opportunity arises. What I love most about the camera is the size, or should I say the lack of size. Think the size of a deck of cards, except the camera is only half as thick. It's so small and lightweight that it is easy to forget that it's in my pocket. Along with that, the memory cards are so small, yet hold so many pictures, that I find it virtually impossible to fill up even the smallest of them. Another great feature is the ability to take rapid successive shots, as well as movies. Making movies is tough....simply push one button and you're recording. But that is typical of the camera, all controls being easy to use, although there are so many options for shooting that it takes a while to find them all. All in all a great little camera. We're getting ready to take a most excellent vacation and because the camera does such a wonderful job for a very reasonable price, we got a second ELPH 300 HS so we can get twice as many photos.

nokk
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice camera but problem with lens cover
8/7/2011

Customer review by Ew

4.0 stars 8/7/2011 by Ew
by Ew

This is my third Canon ELPH. I've always found them to be good cameras. However I was surprised by the lower quality of this model. On the first day of use after taking about 20 pictures, the automatic lens cover malfunctioned and then would not open. That is a dissappointment over what is otherwise a nice camera that is simple to use and takes good pictures. I've had ELPHs prior to this and never had any type of problem. This unit is being sent back and exchanged for another, however I see by the reviews that other people have had this same problem with the lens cover.

Ew
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Poor Performance
10/28/2011

Customer review by Britt

1.0 stars 10/28/2011 by Britt
by Britt

This camera might be the worst purchase I have ever made. Though Canon seems to be the top for cameras, this model is a dud. Multiple reviews describe overexposure and I have experienced the same problem from day one. This is supposed to be a point-and-shoot however, I spend most of my time manually adjusting the settings to avoid this problem. The video quality when transferred to a computer is poor as well. This camera isn't worth a dime but I sure shelled out the big bucks for it. I hope Canon comes out with a firmware fix in the near future.

Britt
Would recommend to a friend? No
Too delicate
10/19/2011

Customer review by joon

3.0 stars 10/19/2011 by joon
by joon

Larger start button susceptible to unintended activation which can damage the lens mechanism. A mere bump while in your pocket can make the camera try to extend the lens. Also the extra thin metal bezels around the lens segments are easily bent - typically inward which interferes with the delicate lens cover, i. e. , you have to pry it back to relieve the kinks. The 5X zoom starts at such a wide angle that the full zoom is modest at best. If you are stuck owning this camera, at least you will get some beautiful clear photographs.

joon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great photos, great customer service, flimsy lens
11/11/2011

Customer review by Linz

4.0 stars 11/11/2011 by Linz
by Linz

For the most part, I really love this camera! It takes wonderful photos and I really enjoy having the option of manual mode. My only complaint is the lens cover. The lens doesn't shut all the way when turned off and doesn't open all the way on its own...Customer service was wonderful-- they sent me a refurbished camera an with all new battery and charger etc. VERY QUICKLY, but the new one had the same problem only a few weeks later. I will continue to buy cannon produces because of the quality photographs and customer service.

Linz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not good for self portray
6/6/2011

Customer review by prevaly

2.0 stars 6/6/2011 by prevaly
by prevaly

I love Canon products, and I will continue to buy their products, but this one fail me completely. I had to return it and get the older model, which was the Canon 100 Hs. I take a lot of self-portrait shot for my blogs, and most of the shot had a shadow appearing on the lower left hand side. It a nice camera if you don't plan on doing any self-portrait shots. I honestly was surprise about this camera preforming so poorly. I original got the red version of this camera, and I got a len error on the first day. I return it, and got a second one which I notice from time to time would produce a shadow on the left hand side of the pictures. I thought the second camera was a defective one, so I return it for another, and received the black version of the camera, since they didn't have the red any more. First of all, the black version of this camera has a rough texture, which SHOULD have been stated by the manufacture. I don't know why it was done with that rougher material, but that was enough to make me want to return the camera. I proceeded to take multiply self-portraits shots with the same result. Also when you leave it on auto, and the "portrait" icon comes on, the picture appears so saturated and blurry, that the pictures comes out looking faked and Photoshop, when it hasn't been. I'm so disappointed by this model, and I really wanted to upgrade my five year old Canon for this. I end up getting the older model which I like and produces wonderful result.

prevaly
Tamarac, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
All its claimed to be.
5/19/2011

Customer review by Zed

4.0 stars 5/19/2011 by Zed
by Zed

I recently purchased one of these. Being on a limited budget I shopped around for a few weeks looking for something that would fit my needs at a decent price. I must say I am happy about the purchase. The lens quality is better than I expected. I love the low light shooting abilities of this camera. Appearance is good. Textured surface is also a nice idea on a smaller camera. I take most pictures while out on my motorcycle so a pocket sized camera is a must. I am recommending this camera to my friends that ride.

Zed
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A Great Camera!
3/24/2012

Customer review by Dijon

5.0 stars 3/24/2012 by Dijon
by Dijon

After studying, comparing, and reading reviews I finally decided on the Canon ELPH 300. I am admittedly an amateur who needs the camera to give me great photos with limited help from me! So far it has done that. I'm still learning all the many features it has to offer..so..I expect the best is yet to come. I love the slim compact size, it fits perfectly in my hand...as well as being attractive. All in all I'm well pleased , and the price was very reasonable for such a quality camera.

Dijon
Mid-West
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 47 total reviews
1-20 of 47 reviews