Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 50 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

50 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

50 reviews | 4 out of 5

76%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
29
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
7
1 stars
3
1-20 of 48 total reviews
76%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 48 total reviews
1-20 of 48 reviews
Excellent features
10/4/2011

Customer review by ImaAlwaysShopping2

5.0 stars 10/4/2011 by ImaAlwaysShopping2
by ImaAlwaysShopping2

This camera has so much more that my last one. I love the "many" different features and choices for what you are looking to achieve when taking pictures. Difficult to learn at first, but easier as you continue to use and play with.

Was this review helpful? (9) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ImaAlwaysShopping2
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/28/2011

Customer review by jocasa

5.0 stars 11/28/2011 by jocasa
by jocasa

I have been very pleased with the camera I purchased. It was a gift for my daughter and she was very excited. The online buying process when well.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jocasa
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice and slim with great quality
12/18/2011

Customer review by ArmyTech

5.0 stars 12/18/2011 by ArmyTech
by ArmyTech

Great camera and takes great pics. I love how slim it is. Easy to fit. Pretty quick in between pictures. Haven't used it very much yet so not that much to say.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ArmyTech
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Good things in such small packages
12/18/2011

Customer review by Anaheim10

5.0 stars 12/18/2011 by Anaheim10
by Anaheim10

I was totally amazed at the small size, and it performs exactly like I wanted it to do. However, I have not finished playing with it, so my review has to end here. Great resolution. Taking on a trip to Europe.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Anaheim10
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great camera, great value
7/23/2012

Customer review by Richard

5.0 stars 7/23/2012 by Richard
by Richard

I use the camera in business nearly every day. I have had it about 8 months now - it takes great pictures in all sorts of lighting conditions. Handy size. I have tried other brands over the years, but I have to say that I've never been disappointed with Canon.

Richard
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Good Digital camera
8/4/2011

Customer review by eSyd

5.0 stars 8/4/2011 by eSyd
by eSyd

Great camera - easy to use - very easy software package to pull images from camera to computer - really like the ability to transition between camera & video recorder using one button.

eSyd
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Better than my DSLR!
9/20/2011

Customer review by Jake L

5.0 stars 9/20/2011 by Jake L
by Jake L

I'm not going to lie. I make and produce short films for a living and I use this instead of my Canon 60D NO JOKE. The images on this little thing are far better and I use this to shoot most of my films now! Best thing I ever found!

Jake L
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A Mini Beast of a camera
9/2/2011

Customer review by BlackAxe

5.0 stars 9/2/2011 by BlackAxe
by BlackAxe

I've bought several Canon cameras for myself as well as family, and have never been disapointed. But this little thing blew me away. I bought this just before a vacation to Ireland. And was very pleased at the results. Besides the 1080 video quality, the sound recording was surprising for the size. The main reason I bought it was for the low light quality and it was great, even in video mode. Lots of fun features. I especialy liked the "Smile" mode. The auto mode left me with some fantastic pictures, macro as well as landscapes.. For a light weight pocket camera loaded with features, this is worth looking at.

BlackAxe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Little Camera
3/26/2012

Customer review by BikeGeezer

5.0 stars 3/26/2012 by BikeGeezer
by BikeGeezer

This is my 3rd Digital Elph and the smallest so far. It is wonderfully small and easy to carry (careful you don’t mislay it!) and reasonably priced. It focuses well, is fast, and has lots of good features. The batteries last well, it is very fast, and takes clear, sharp pictures in normal light. Low-light performance is not so good unless you use the flash. The movies are shocking good for such a small unit, and will fill your big flat-screen with a sharp, almost high definition picture, plus good sound. The only problem is the videos are in the .MOV format instead of .AVI, so they don’t play well on Windows Media Player or Picasa. I would recommend this camera to anyone who needs a very small, good quality pocket camera.

BikeGeezer
San Francisco area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Point and Shoot
6/7/2011

Customer review by BDPWSC

5.0 stars 6/7/2011 by BDPWSC
by BDPWSC

Pro's: Small, Light Weight, Good Low Light, Easy to use, everything you would want a point and shoot for. I've used this camera in every possible condition, indoor, outdoor, beach, strong sun and it has performed well in all of those conditions. I am very pleased with its performance and love the size. Con's: I have only 2 currently: 1. The automatic lens cover is flimsy. Something, possibly in my pocket has caused this lens cover not to close completely which is a real pain as the lens will now get dirty quickly and must be cleaned frequently. Additionally you must then manually close the cover which I am sure is not good for it. 2. In only 2 months of use, the case on the camera has several chips and the camera HAS NOT been dropped in fact, I have been very careful about its care. I'm thinking something in my pocket caused the problem. I have the black unit. Perhaps the colored units like the red will fair better in this department. Conclusion: I really enjoy the camera. The quality of the pictures for a P&S are super and fills my need when I don't have my DSLR. It is easy to carry because of the size and weight. Just be careful of the lens cover. It is a little too flimsy. You could end up with the same problem I have if you place it directly in your pocket or purse. I would recommend using a case if possible.

BDPWSC
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent for the money
8/4/2011

Customer review by Kal

5.0 stars 8/4/2011 by Kal
by Kal

Since I am a professional photographer i bought this camera for my wife. She loves it. Very easy to carry and and get quick shots. Very good for the money. A great second camera without the weight of pro cameras and lenses.

Kal
Greer, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Impressive! But I Goofed!
8/11/2011

Customer review by DrBob

5.0 stars 8/11/2011 by DrBob
by DrBob

Sorry, folks! I still think this camera is great, but I made a misteak in my review or 8/10/2011. I hope none of you bought the wrong item because of me. I recommended a micro-HDMI cable, but you really need a MINI-HDMI connector (Type "C") on the camera end of the cable, and a regular HDMI connector (Type "A") on the end you plug into the HDTV display. A type "C" connector is 10.42 mm (about 7/16") wide. The tiny "Micro-HDMI" connector I misteakenly recommended is a type "D" and will not fit. You can buy an adapter to convert a regular (Type "A" on both ends) HDMI cable to work, but it makes the connection bulky and awkward to use on such a small camera. I bought a 15-foot cable so I can control the images from my recliner, and a 3-foot one for travel. Of course, the official Canon cable is the safe bet, but it's not easy to find. Kudos to Canon for using an industry-standard connector!

DrBob
Voorhees, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I love this camera!
3/27/2012

Customer review by shootingstar

5.0 stars 3/27/2012 by shootingstar
by shootingstar

I love this camera and have been using it for about a month now. I love all the features on it, and that it is small and light-weight. It's easy to carry around and comparing it to my friend's camera, this works so much better. My only problem with it is when I want it to focus on closer objects, even with the macro setting, it doesn't work very well, and it makes me frustrated.

shootingstar
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very God Point and Shoot with Some Features
7/8/2011

Customer review by TobyP

5.0 stars 7/8/2011 by TobyP
by TobyP

I bought the 300 HS as an easy-to-take camera vs. our great Rebel DSLR. The 300 worked admirably on a recent trip. I shot over 230 pics a day on one battery charge. These were often with flash in museums. The auto setting does an excellent job in almost all situations. There are several program settings if you prefer a litle more control like I do. I do miss the aperature and exposure priority modes. The flash is also rather weak for shooting in large spaces, but the image stabilization makes up for the weaker program settings. I would recommend this cameral for the casual photographer who likes good quality pics from a point and shoot and for intermediate level photographers who want a small, convenient camera for travel.

TobyP
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My Second ELPH 300 HS
3/6/2012

Customer review by nokk

5.0 stars 3/6/2012 by nokk
by nokk

I've been a Canon camera fan for many years now (including 35mm SLR's) but have only recently started shooting with the new compact digital cameras. Last year I purchased my first ELPH 300HS and was fairly amazed that it could do darn near as much as my larger, bulkier, more expensive Canon digital camera. While the ELPH is mainly a point and shoot camera, there are a large number of options for shooting that allow me to do more "serious" photography when the opportunity arises. What I love most about the camera is the size, or should I say the lack of size. Think the size of a deck of cards, except the camera is only half as thick. It's so small and lightweight that it is easy to forget that it's in my pocket. Along with that, the memory cards are so small, yet hold so many pictures, that I find it virtually impossible to fill up even the smallest of them. Another great feature is the ability to take rapid successive shots, as well as movies. Making movies is tough....simply push one button and you're recording. But that is typical of the camera, all controls being easy to use, although there are so many options for shooting that it takes a while to find them all. All in all a great little camera. We're getting ready to take a most excellent vacation and because the camera does such a wonderful job for a very reasonable price, we got a second ELPH 300 HS so we can get twice as many photos.

nokk
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best purchase No regrets!
8/10/2011

Customer review by cj

5.0 stars 8/10/2011 by cj
by cj

Okay you are looking for a camera that is going to do everything for u at a professional level , for the price and quality this camera is it. its fun,fancy, takes amazing pics with least ammount of errors, out of 600 pics i took i only had to reduo 4 im so happy. You can't go wrong with this cam.

cj
gainesville,fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
9/15/2011

Customer review by sissy

5.0 stars 9/15/2011 by sissy
by sissy

Gotta be my favorite camera ever! Picture quality is fantastic.

sissy
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Compact and fits in a pocket
5/6/2011

Customer review by Spirit Dreaming

5.0 stars 5/6/2011 by Spirit Dreaming
by Spirit Dreaming

I got this camera and was wowed. Very tight design and strong construction. I started using it immediately. The instruction manual from the box got me started and the downloadable instructions were straight forward (more in-depth for the special commands). I use this camera to document my artwork and also as a traveling camera for family and friends. My mom is now buying one because she likes it so much. I would suggest getting another battery and the ac-adapter.

Spirit Dreaming
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ideal Small Camera
6/25/2011

Customer review by papa-razzi

5.0 stars 6/25/2011 by papa-razzi
by papa-razzi

This camera is small enough to fit in a pocket and not be bulky, which is why I purchased it. I have an SLR, so I have bulky covered quite nicely. While not the same quality pictures as an SLR, the pictures are very sharp, good color. The camera does well indoors in low light, which is where most point and shoots fail badly. I have tried other brands, and owned a few ELPHS over the years and this is the best one I've owned. It is a bit pricy because I paid full retail price, but I've purchased cheaper models and been disappointed with the image quality. I'm very happy with this camera.

papa-razzi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Improved Elph camera
5/7/2011

Customer review by EyeMagination

5.0 stars 5/7/2011 by EyeMagination
by EyeMagination

The Elph 300 HS is my 6th Canon ultracompact camera and is simply the best yet. I make slide shows that incorporate photos and video clips. Previous cameras' video clips were poor resolution compared to the photos, but the Canon Elph 300 HS's 1080 video looks wonderful! The wide angle lens is great for indoor and group photos. On AUTO, this camera is VERY smart, taking nice photos where older models would be fooled by moving subjects, multiple points of focus, and uneven lighting. Even macro settings are automatic. Canon has mastered optical stabilization. This is my first camera with a CMOS sensor - definitely allows more natural photos in dim light without the glare of the flash. If you think about how many times we take lousy photos inside, this is a major improvement. You can play back photos without extending the lens by simply pressing the PLAY button. Quick, practical, smart! The menu is simpler than previous models, although still too crowded with features that a pocket camera enthusiast won't use. You'll never master all this camera's features. The slim body has rounded edges, making it truly pocketable but also makes it fall over easily when placed upright on a surface. As a travel minimalist, I enjoy carrying it on my belt in a cellphone case. Overall, it's my new favorite camera for travel: light, compact, good value, adequate 5X zoom(including video)smart enough to take good photos in a variety of lighting situations, and takes excellent video. I used Canon's underwater housing and got great video of rays, turtles, and fish on the Maya Reef! Thanks, Canon!

EyeMagination
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 48 total reviews
1-20 of 48 reviews