Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 52 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

52 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

52 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
15
4 stars
22
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 stars
4
1-20 of 43 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 43 total reviews
1-20 of 43 reviews
Okay for maybe one.
4/13/2011

Customer review by cpeg85

3.0 stars 4/13/2011 by cpeg85
by cpeg85

This is a cute little sandbox, but there is definitely not much room for multiple kids to play in it. (as you'll see in the photo I'm going to attach.) That part was probably my fault, looking at the picture, instead of the actual measurements. I agree with what someone else said about the lid coming off easily also. Also, I thought the plastic seemed a little flimsy for a Step2 product. Maybe this would be good for one little one to play in it, MAYBE two. I'm not sure it was worth the money though, as now I'll have to go out and buy another sandbox to go with this one.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cpeg85
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Cute, but smaller than expected
4/20/2011

Customer review by TiffanyW1212

4.0 stars 4/20/2011 by TiffanyW1212
by TiffanyW1212

We got this sandbox for my son's 1st birthday. Very cute, but much smaller than it looks in the picture. We were going to buy one of the turtle ones, but they looked too small. Opted for this one because it looked bigger, but not really the case. He'll get use out of it, but I have a feeling he'll grow out of it pretty quickly. Definitely not room for more than 2 toddlers, and that would be pushing it...

Was this review helpful? (30) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TiffanyW1212
Wilkes-Barre, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
small but fun
4/27/2011

Customer review by missah

4.0 stars 4/27/2011 by missah
by missah

when i ordered this product for my 3 yr old i was expecting it to be a lot bigger then it is. I actually thought about returning it for a week before i opened it and used it. after looking into other sandboxes this was a good deal and most of the other ones are pretty small too. I am glad i set it up. My son has a great time in it and doesnt think it is too small. i did get 200lbs of sand in it. the lid needs a weight on the top to keep it down.

Was this review helpful? (27) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
missah
rhode island
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Sand box
3/28/2011

Customer review by granpshopper

4.0 stars 3/28/2011 by granpshopper
by granpshopper

The product is what I anticipated. Would be greatly improved with the addition of some sort of latching device to keep the top from blowing off. Top takes off in just a moderate wind without the addition of a weight to the cover.

Was this review helpful? (50) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
granpshopper
Waycross, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice, But too small
3/27/2011

Customer review by NeedAToyMomma

4.0 stars 3/27/2011 by NeedAToyMomma
by NeedAToyMomma

This sandbox was nice with a great lid to cover, but way too small for my 3yr old son. He received it for his 3rd birthday from grandparents. When he went to sit in it, there was not enough room for him to sit and actally dig in the dirt. We liked the look of it, but it was just way to small.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NeedAToyMomma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Kids love it
1/19/2012

Customer review by paparepete

5.0 stars 1/19/2012 by paparepete
by paparepete

This was a surprise for my grandkids. They came with me and my wife when we picked it up at the store. They were so excited when they saw it in the box. I must say that the associates also joined in their excitement. Both the associate at the pickup counter and the two associates at the garden center, where we also bought bags of sand, were great. The kids use the sandbox every day and enjoy every minute. The cover is a great thing too, since we have three cats. The cover is also good for keeping out the Florida rains, other wise it would be a swimming pool.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
paparepete
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/21/2012

Customer review by Amdb

5.0 stars 5/21/2012 by Amdb
by Amdb

Purchased this for my grandson's first birthday. Just a good size for a little one. Might need a bigger one latter as he grows, but for right now the size and the price were just right. Just opened the box and added some sand and we were done.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Amdb
horsham, pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Nice Sandbox
3/15/2011

Customer review by highlikeastar

4.0 stars 3/15/2011 by highlikeastar
by highlikeastar

It's spacious enough for a kid to play in there. It is a good product.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
highlikeastar
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
loved it
5/3/2011

Customer review by rjltc

4.0 stars 5/3/2011 by rjltc
by rjltc

Bought it for my two year old grand-daughter. She loves it. Nice size. two corner have seats for her to sit. I would have given all 5 start if there was a way to latch top on for storage.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rjltc
Imperial,MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good sand box
6/7/2011

Customer review by kyleNmom

3.0 stars 6/7/2011 by kyleNmom
by kyleNmom

My son love this sand box although its not as big as it shows in the picture. I bought 150 lbs sand and it barely fits.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kyleNmom
KS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good product
4/7/2011

Customer review by GrandkidsR1

4.0 stars 4/7/2011 by GrandkidsR1
by GrandkidsR1

I appreciate the lid because there are cats in the neighborhood. Good sandbox when kids are small.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GrandkidsR1
Oakland, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Not that great
7/4/2011

Customer review by pebs101

2.0 stars 7/4/2011 by pebs101
by pebs101

The sandbox is very small. It barely fits my two year old. I returned it to the store.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pebs101
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good sandbox for toddlers
5/6/2014

Customer review by reviewerAB

4.0 stars 5/6/2014 by reviewerAB
by reviewerAB
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Free shipping and it came two weeks earlier than expected, which was great. My only complaint is that it is small, but so are all those Step2 or Little Tykes plastic sandboxes. So unless you are willing to shell out several hundred dollars for a nicer wooden sandbox, just expect that it will be small and that your kiddo probably won't be able to use it past 4-5 years old. My almost 3-year-old son was really excited when it arrived and played with it all afternoon and the next day. So although being small, I think it will still get a lot of use.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
reviewerAB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good for the money, but small
7/17/2011

Customer review by CJMama

4.0 stars 7/17/2011 by CJMama
by CJMama

My kids really enjoy the sandbox even though it is small. I think it may be half the size of the turtle or crab sandbox and I was not expecting it to be THAT small. We have it sitting next to the fence so the wind has not been an issue yet (with the lid flying away) even though we tend to live in a windy area. I'm sure we will have to put a heavy brick or stepping stone on top during the winter to keep it in place.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CJMama
Roseville, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
6/6/2011

Customer review by LMK11

3.0 stars 6/6/2011 by LMK11
by LMK11

It's an ok sandbox but it is pretty small. When I measured the space I was going to put it in I didn't take into account that the sides of it have seats and thicker plastic sides. So the space that you actually put sand in isn't very big at all. My son is 20 moths and he likes to sit right in the sand and it would be hard to fit another child in it too when one is already sitting in it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LMK11
West Des Moines, Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
On the small side
6/13/2014

Customer review by NewMama16

4.0 stars 6/13/2014 by NewMama16
by NewMama16
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This sandbox is pretty small, but I was expecting that after reading other reviews. It passes my kids' standards, so that's all that matters. The lid works very well; we had pouring rain for a few hours straight, and when I opened the lid the next day, the sand was still completely dry.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NewMama16
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fantastic sand box
2/6/2015

Customer review by retiredgrandmother

5.0 stars 2/6/2015 by retiredgrandmother
by retiredgrandmother

It isn't too high for our 16 month old to get in an out and the top covers well for the rain. One bag of sand fills it half way. Would highly recommend this.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
retiredgrandmother
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Get what you pay for
5/31/2012

Customer review by ATeamMom3

3.0 stars 5/31/2012 by ATeamMom3
by ATeamMom3

It is a good sandbox for what you pay for it but my main priority in buying one was it having a lid which this one does but it just sets on top with no hinges or anything so you have to put a brick on top just to keep it actually on the sandbox. My 3 year old loves it though!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ATeamMom3
MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
DO NOT BUY THIS
5/3/2012

Customer review by afz2007

2.0 stars 5/3/2012 by afz2007
by afz2007

I agree with the other reviews this was smaller than I thought it would be. Of course, I could have read the description a little better. The main issue I have with this is the lid does not prevent the sandbox from filling with water when it rains.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
afz2007
Warren,PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very durable with the price the same as the turtle
11/28/2012

Customer review by Motherof2for3yrs

4.0 stars 11/28/2012 by Motherof2for3yrs
by Motherof2for3yrs
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My 3yr old son enjoys this and our 5yr old neighbor's son even plays in it. It is a little smaller than I expected but a little bigger than the turtle. Allover a very good purchase for my son!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Motherof2for3yrs
Tyler, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 43 total reviews
1-20 of 43 reviews