Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 237 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

237 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

237 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
172
4 stars
42
3 stars
8
2 stars
5
1 stars
10
1-20 of 183 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 183 total reviews
1-20 of 183 reviews
Helpful for excessive commuters
5/14/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 5/14/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I like this GPS and all the features....As with other Garmin products I've used (this is my 3rd), the traffic monitor is marginal to good. I know this is a separate service provider and not directly a result of anything Garmin did, but it's really annoying to get marginal traffic reports when you live in Southern California and have a 52 mile one-way commute to the office. I depend HIGHLY on the traffic monitor to route me around the constant jams we have in this area. At best, I can avoid 50% of the traffic issues, but still spend 90-120 minutes each direction on my commute. The maps on the Garmin are very detailed. The search for locations is quick and the connection to the satellite connection is very quick. Having good, detailed maps are important for me as I travel extensively for work and am very often in areas of CA, AZ and NV that I am not familiar with, so reliability on my GPS to get me where I need to go is important. The lane assist is also a great feature as I often come up to multiple freeway connectors and would otherwise have no idea which of the 6-8 lanes of the freeway I need to be in to connect to the correct freeway.

Was this review helpful? (186) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
useful and good features
3/31/2011

Customer review by catperson

5.0 stars 3/31/2011 by catperson
by catperson

I bought this GPS unit to replace an older one. What attracted me to this one is the lifetime map updates included. Buying lifetime updates from Garmin is almost $100. The 1350LMT has more features than the older one. I like the Eco feature that shows an estimate of MPG, fuel usage and cost after each trip. I highly recommend this GPS unit.

Was this review helpful? (274) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
catperson
Hattiesburg, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A great GPS with lifetime maps and traffic.
6/9/2011

Customer review by berrysongbird

5.0 stars 6/9/2011 by berrysongbird
by berrysongbird

I like it a lot. It has lots more features than my last one. (planning the most economical route, telling you the elevavation above sea level for your location, and you can request it to give you your location - especially helpful if you have an emergency and need to call 911. It can tell you if there is lots of traffic ahead and plan you a detour to get around it.) The owners manuel does not come with it. You have to go on line to see it. If you don't check out the owners manuel, you will miss a lot of the features.

Was this review helpful? (178) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
berrysongbird
Hoover, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Wonderful for Traveling
3/29/2011

Customer review by bargaingirl77

5.0 stars 3/29/2011 by bargaingirl77
by bargaingirl77

This is my second Garmin and only upgraded because of the wonderful new features, such as Lane Assist and Lifetime Map updates. They are the most wonderful company to call and get to talk with real people and very helpful. I highly recommend this product and the Garmin brand.

Was this review helpful? (134) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bargaingirl77
Knoxville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great GPS
3/29/2011

Customer review by webo2009

5.0 stars 3/29/2011 by webo2009
by webo2009

GPS works great - love that you can pan the map while driving. Free lifetime maps update is great. System is very fast for the dreaded "Recalculating" Has a very nice feature to allow you to choose non-highway routes which work well during rush hour. One of the best features is that it speaks the street names while you are driving to make it easy to know that you need to "merge onto I95W" or "veer left onto state street" map was up to date for LA and allowed us to negotiate throughout the entire city with minimal issues.

Was this review helpful? (32) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
webo2009
st louis, mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Gets confused on shortest route.
6/9/2011

Customer review by putyu

3.0 stars 6/9/2011 by putyu
by putyu

Map accuracy is trailing TomTom's. It is quite slow recognizing if I did not follow the rout. Voice command options are limited to three. The traffic feature seems to be good and it always finds satellite signal The screen is bright and always visible. In summary, one pays for the map upgrades, not for the quality of the unit. If you are thinking about buying this spend the extra $40 and get the 1490.

Was this review helpful? (36) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
putyu
Montclar, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great GPS system
6/1/2011

Customer review by MusicIsMyThing86

5.0 stars 6/1/2011 by MusicIsMyThing86
by MusicIsMyThing86

This was my first time purchasing my own GPS system, and I was surprised at how easy it was to use. I was able to quickly install the updates from my computer, and I even changed the car that "drives" on the screen. I used the GPS system to go on a trip the next day, and couldn't believe how quickly it took me to my destination. Instead of taking me out of the way and around the world, it took me straight to my destination and I was even able to add in a stop on the way back with no problems. I would definitely recommend purchasing this product! I purchased a Scosche GPS dash mounting kit to place on my dashboard, and it worked great.

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MusicIsMyThing86
Panama City, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
great features, easy to use
5/9/2011

Customer review by avamama123

5.0 stars 5/9/2011 by avamama123
by avamama123

Haven't had it long, but LOVE it so far! Didn't have to do a thing to set it up except to turn it on. Love the windshield mount it came with (it's a pressurized suction cup, so no need to wet it and leave marks on the windshield). Very easy to navigate the device settings with the easy-to-use touch screen! I haven't yet had to fiddle around looking for a menu option - all the settings are easy to locate. We bought a case for it as well (doesn't come with one), which is nice for storage when we don't want to leave it in the car, and to protect it from damage when not in use. We spent a little more than I would've liked so we would have the lifetime updates. I'll definitely recommend this to friends!

Was this review helpful? (27) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
avamama123
wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It's addictive and you'll NEVER GET LOST AGAIN!!!
7/31/2011

Customer review by Ainabarad2

5.0 stars 7/31/2011 by Ainabarad2
by Ainabarad2

I love everything about it, especially the local interest features for vacationing. My husband bought this (mostly for me) while we were vacationing in the Smokey Mountains and it's been a star player in our vehicles ever since. We were warned that they can't be trusted in the mountains due to mountains throwing off the satellites, but that was only true PART of the time. The majority of the time it worked perfectly despite the mountains (and seeing the elevation was super neat). Around the Northern KY/Cincinnati, OH area it always works excellent. A sales clerk told me that truckers always tell him that TomToms are best for the far north US and Garmins are best for the rest (just mentioning that in case it's true!). We absolutely love our Garmin and we chose this model over the 1450LMT model because the only difference was the screen size and a smaller screen means it's even more portable and causes less of a blind spot depending on where you position it. I HIGHLY recommend this to everyone!!!

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ainabarad2
Northern Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great GPS
3/27/2011

Customer review by TheLoads

5.0 stars 3/27/2011 by TheLoads
by TheLoads

This is our first GPS, and we are extremely happy with it. Very easy to setup, free lifetime maps (unlike other models), and easy to use. Couldn't imagine not having it!

Was this review helpful? (19) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheLoads
Abilene, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great GPS
6/22/2011

Customer review by candkath

5.0 stars 6/22/2011 by candkath
by candkath

I looked at all the GPS units out there and read all the reviews and decided on the 1350LMT. The free map updates are a big plus. It was easy to register and get the first map update as suggested in the directions. The map updates do take a long time. 3 and 1/2 hours with a DSL connection. It aquires the sattelite quickly and is easy to use, just follow the prompts basically. While the unit will get you to your destination it sometimes does not choose the easiest route. An example is I live in a gated community and it wants to take me the long way around to the back gate which is always locked instead of taking me the direct route off the main road to the front gate. The speaker is plenty loud. Only have is set on 40% in the car and 50% in the semi I drive at work. Overall very pleased with the unit and would recommend it to anyone. I have read a lot of reviews with a lot of negative comments and haven't found any of them to be true, at least with my unit.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
candkath
Tucson AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
It's OK
5/7/2011

Customer review by DaddioZ

4.0 stars 5/7/2011 by DaddioZ
by DaddioZ

Pros: nice screen, relatively easy download (it took 3 hours, but didn't require my sitting by the computer), good overall features Cons: even though I just downloaded new maps, it shows some places that have been out of business for over two years; my old nuvi 360 acquires satellites much faster than this one, especially in-doors

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DaddioZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great GPS for a good price.
6/28/2011

Customer review by givemeanicknamenow

5.0 stars 6/28/2011 by givemeanicknamenow
by givemeanicknamenow

My favorite part of this GPS is that it has a trip simulator. You put in where you want to go and it will show you an entire trip starting from where you are. I believe you can put in a starting location if you don't want to use where you currently are, but I haven't tested this. Another fun part to this GPS is that you can pick your type of vehicle on the map. By default, you can pick from a car, a van, or a truck. There is more vehicles you can download for the GPS on Garmin's website. Updating the maps with the free lifetime map updates was simple and only took about an hour downloading at about 1.5MBps. You can change how detailed the map is such as showing side streets or just the main path you are taking. You can also pick what it shows you while you are viewing the map. You can pick from mileage to destination, time of estimated arrival, time till arrival, etc... If you have it on default you can only pick one, but if you have it set to show more it will show 4 things but the map will be smaller. I have not explored the traffic updates yet, but I assume that is different depending on where are you as to whether it is accurate or not. That about sums it all up. I love this GPS as well as free lifetime map updates.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
givemeanicknamenow
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Walmart associate
You can't go wrong with this GPS unit!!!!!!!!!!
8/8/2011

Customer review by outdoorsforlife

5.0 stars 8/8/2011 by outdoorsforlife
by outdoorsforlife

This is by far one of the best GPS systems out there. Just having the lifetime map updates pays for itself. This is such a sleek and classy unit that you won't be disappointed. With the wide screen it's easy to enter in your destination and choose your route of which way to go. I also that is was pretty cool that on the GPS it shows what the speed limit should be and what your actual speed is. The GPS really does have some unique characteristics that seem beneficial. All I can say is I am 110% happy with this purchase!!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
outdoorsforlife
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
OK, but...
8/9/2011

Customer review by NikonTimesThree

3.0 stars 8/9/2011 by NikonTimesThree
by NikonTimesThree

I bought the Garmin Nuvi 1350LMT for my daughter after her previous GPS was stolen. I've been happy with my old Garmin Nuvi 200W even tho it's a very basic model with no traffic capability, and wanted to upgrade hers to include traffic. There are a couple things that are much better than my unit and some changes that I don't like. Some good things: It's thinner, tho not much, but still it's easier to store It finds satellites much faster - sometimes seemingly instantly It includes traffic notices Traffic antenna is built-in to the power cord Some disappointing things: Traffic prediction/notices are not very useful Synthesized voice quality is poor Voice does not say which side of the street destination is on Apparently, Garmin has a system of low-power radio transmitters that broadcast traffic conditions at set points along highways and typical congestion points. This results in very little notice prior to driving into heavy traffic. I haven't had a lot of opportunity to travel with the unit but I am not pleased with the driving results from the traffic system - it does not really give a driver much time to re-plan their route around the jam. I listen to an AM radio station when driving that has traffic reports every ten minutes, so it is a somewhat useful addition to that feedback. So if you're looking at buying a Garmin with traffic, keep in mind that it isn't at all like having real-time traffic indication on a Google Map. My old Nuvi 200W synthesized voice is much better quality than the new voice. Sometimes I have trouble understanding the new voice. Also, I noticed that my old unit tells me which side of the street my destination is on, a useful feature when navigating heavy traffic on multi-lane streets, but the new unit does not - annoying. The new unit finds satellites very quickly. My old unit is a real slow-poke, especially when cold. Keep in mind that I have not an had opportunity to really explore the options of the new 1350LMT, so maybe it gives users options that would fix all these complaints, but a first impression leaves me more disappointed than jazzed. If a friend asked me for purchase advice, I'd recommend finding one to borrow to see if they like the feature mix before buying, or else be willing to spend more for a unit that ought to be better-developed (I have never used a top-end Garmin - I'm cheap), or settle for the rock-solid entry-level features of the cheap Garmins (refurbs are very affordable). This mid-price unit just doesn't get the job done well, and didn't meet my expectations.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NikonTimesThree
Ridgecrest, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
An excellent product for the money.
10/10/2011

Customer review by BlazerTC

4.0 stars 10/10/2011 by BlazerTC
by BlazerTC

I bought 3 1350 LMT one for me,wife and daughter. I am on the road most of the time. It is amazing how it knows where I am all the time in fact it's almost scary how accuate it is. Do yourself a favor and download the online manual so you won't miss any of its features.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BlazerTC
Sussex County, New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/3/2011

Customer review by rhinobreath

5.0 stars 8/3/2011 by rhinobreath
by rhinobreath

This gps was a really great deal for the price,works great,easy to program,plus lifetime map upgrades,had checked bass pro and cabelas this gps was around sixty dollars less for the same model. I would highly recommend this one.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rhinobreath
lees summit mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great until it quits
6/28/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 6/28/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Bought this for a cross-country drive to replace an old Garmin that I have loved. I thought that instead of paying for a map update for the old one, I'd just buy the new one with lifetime maps and traffic. Easily transferred all of my old favorites on to this one. It worked perfectly until it started shutting itself down mid-trip. Over and over. It would show our route. Then disappear and completely shut off. Mind you, it was plugged in - the battery was not low or anything. At one point, I couldn't even get the blasted thing to turn on. I ended up having to stop, connect to a wifi on my ipad, write my directions on a piece of paper, and use it to get home. This sucker is getting returned tomorrow.

Was this review helpful? (14) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
wonderful GPS
6/27/2011

Customer review by Camper239

5.0 stars 6/27/2011 by Camper239
by Camper239

I was happy to use my new GPS this past week end. I especially liked the fact that it shows me the speed limit as well as how fast I am going.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Camper239
Johnstown , NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
8/7/2011

Customer review by lptucker

5.0 stars 8/7/2011 by lptucker
by lptucker

I actually returned this one and purchased the 1390 for the sole reason this device did not cover Canada, and it was my error.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lptucker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 183 total reviews
1-20 of 183 reviews