Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.5out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 | 113 reviews
5 stars
88
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 stars
7
Sort by: 
1-20 of 94 reviews
1-20 of 94 reviews
Great game but has game breaking flaws
12/6/2011
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love playing this game. Truly great game. 10x better than Oblivion. But it has major problems. Do your research before buying this for the PS3. Broken quest lines, including ability to break the main quest line. Textures not showing up on screen. Floors disappearing as well as walls. Incredible lag. Huge frame rate drops. Glitched dragons. Seriously broken game. Read the heat on bethesda softwares own forums. http://forums.bethsoft.com/index.php?/forum/182-playstation-3/ It's a terrible shame. I truly loved my experience until problems started.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (30)
Report
Was this review helpful?
FANTASTIC!!!!\
11/21/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am so happy that I decided to pre order this game. I had played Elder Scrolls 4: Oblivion and loved it. But with all the hype around this one, I was worried. As it turned out, all of the talk was true. The graphics are amazing. The audio is outstanding. And the overall scale of the game is breathtaking. I found the controlls to me very similar to past Elder Scrolls games so the learning curve is very minimal. I had pre ordered this game and the game case came with an awesome fold out map of Skyrim. If that edition is still available, I would recommend you get that one. I don't know about a lot of people, but I have a brand new gaming laptop that was delivered the very same day as the game, it loaded fine and has played perfectly since I placed it into the optical drive. Maybe they just don't know how to work a computer. I would and have recommended this game to so many of my friends and fellow gamers. This game is a must buy.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (27)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
My new absolute favorite game.
11/23/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This game is by far the best game I have ever played. I bought it for the 360 the night it came out. I've put over 35 hours into it (it would be WAAAY more if I didn't have to work..) and so far I have encountered only one glitch.. which was minor and I'm sure will be fixed in a patch soon. And I know some people are picky about glitches but this game is HUGE. And I think the sheer awesomeness of this game outweighs one easily fixable glitch. The game itself has so much to it. You can create your own character (like with most Elder Scrolls games). And the characters look far better than they did in Oblivion. The map is huge and there are so many things to discover. You can do main story quests, side quests, and random objectives. And even the NPC's are more interactive and "lifelike." You'll randomly encounter assassins, soldiers, DRAGONS. I'm blabbing on and on, but really.. It's a great game for any gender and any age (as long as you're MATURE, because you know.. that's the crowd the game is rated for.) Anyways, having said all of that.. I would absolutely recommend it. BUY IT!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (82)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Absolutely Amazing!
11/16/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Walmart associate
This is a truly fantastic game. I have not played any other games in the series but am a big fan of the Fallout family of games also from Bethesda. To me, this game is so much more enthralling than any of the Fallout games or any game I've ever played for that matter. When you go on missions you actually feel like you are doing something important, not just playing fetch like so many other RPG's. The graphics and environments are phenomenal. Some of the most awe inspiring moments I've had in the game were when I was just creeping around in the wounds with my bow and stumbled upon beautiful architecture and or landscapes. I'm not even a big RPG fan, the Fallout games and Fable 2 are the only others I've played. Someone in a review on Fallout 3 said "Just buy it, you will not be disappointed." I'm very thankful for that advice as it eventually led me to be playing Skyrim. I'm only 20 or so hours into this game which game sites have predicted will be a 300-400 hour game and I can tell you with absolute conviction that this is the most gorgeous, well written, exciting and entertaining game that I have ever played. This game makes it very hard to want to do anything else. Please take my recycled advice and "Just buy it, you will not be disappointed."
Was this review helpful?
Yes (167)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
richly rendered word with endless quests
11/13/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It is not often that something actually lives up to the hype, but Skyrim truly does. It has all of the wonderful aspects of Oblivion everyone loved ( sandbox world, interesting quests, beautiful scenery, etc) AND they have improved upon it in so many ways. I am only about 15 hours into it and I have barely scratched the surface....there is so much to do and see it will be months before I get sick of exploring this goregous world. The crafting process for armor, potions, etc is much more straightforward and user friendly, making it more likely you will want to play around with that aspect...combat is pretty similar, lots of dungeons and mines to explore, and yes....the NPCs are much less ugly looking. The whole package is excellent and does not disappoint in any way.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (60)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Absolutely AMAZING Game!!
12/20/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim for the PS3 is probably one of the best games I have ever played (and I've been playing since the age of 5). The amount of customization possible in this game is not only a wonderful feature, but also pretty much ensures that you will never have to play the same way twice. The graphics are breath-taking and gameplay looks and feels spectacular. The storyline itself is also incredibly epic. Granted, there are bugs (which is to be expected with such a expansive game), and it is possible to break a questline. This, however, is not limited to the PS3. Friends of mine with Xbox 360 and PC versions have the same problems. For example, if one of the questgiving NPCs happens to die for whatever reason, yes, the questline will be broken (that is why with a game like this, multiple saves can go a long way). Though a lot of the problems will hopefully be alleviated in the future through various patches. Bottomline: this game is DEFINITELY worth buying (even buying at full price at that), despite any glitches there are. I've racked up over a hundred hours of gameplay so far and still have tons of quests to complete (there are are unlimited side/mini quests). So if you buy, be prepared to hole up in your home for some amazing gaming. My thanks to Bethesda for making such a fantastic game!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (31)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
wow...
11/12/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is the BEST game i have ever played on the xbox 360. the graphics are great (especially compared to oblivion.) and the gameplay is awesome. when i say the best game i mean it. im comparing to assassins creed, cod, battlefield and even halo. I would recommend this game to any player that loves to play open world games such as assassins creed (sort of). this game is well worth the price. you can choose from multiple races, skills, weapons, perks and do whatever you want. have a great time playing... im already addicted...
Was this review helpful?
Yes (80)No (15)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best...Game...EVAR!
12/12/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Where do I start trying to explain this game..? Just by telling you what you get to do.. There is so much story rapped up in the start of the game its unreal. EVERYTHING you do affects you. When you start the game , you choose a character, and a name. Your character , the first thing you pick, also affects what you can do, what your skills are, and how people react to you. After that, you can either choose to be a mage , warrior, or a thief( these are called stones, and they affect how fast you learn certain skills, there are some that give you special powers, increase health stamina, and other things as well ), ( you can change this mid game ). Then the world is yours, you can go clean out ( kill and take all the stuff ) some dungeons, thief holds, dwarven ruins, or just explore the MASSIVE world! There is so much to do its unreal! I've spent at least 140 hours in this game, and I am still in the start of the game, lvl 45. and my skills aren't even close to max, except pickpocketing and smithing. One of the coolest things to do is to join a guild, AND YOU AREN'T LIMITED TO ONE! There is the Dark Brotherhood, ( my favorite ) thieves guild, companions, and many others. You can also join either the Stormcloaks, or the imperials. ( have to choose sides ) Companions are awesome, They die, and you can get another, and they also carry things for you too! Houses, great add. YOU decide where you live, you can have your wife move in ( yes WIFE, or HUSBAND ) and you can upgrade it too with money that you have earned.! There is SO much more I could say about this game, but I had to atleast say that. BUY THIS GAME. YOU """""WILL NOT""""" REGRET!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (46)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Greatest game available for 2011, out beats others
11/28/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Skyrim is amazing and met every bit of my expectations. This game by far beats Modern Warfare 3 and Battlefield 3 by a million. Adventure never seems to stop, choices are unending. It seems like whilst the game has about 500+ hours of storyline and side quests even more hours will be spent with the large land to free roam in.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (50)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Skyrim
1/11/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased Skyrim for my 15 yo son for Christmas. He wasn't expecting it so it was a great surprise. It was easy to order and arrived the very next day! The game is lots of fun and we wouldn recommend it!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great game gotta play it to believe it.
12/8/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Coming from someone who has played all the Elder Scrolls games, this game truly lives up to the expectations I've come to expect from Bethesda. With A vividly rendered world and flawlessly Rendered graphics that make you feel like your in the game or better yet, your own movie. The UI is a huge step up from Oblvion and Morrowind, but anyways getting off track All in all Probably the greatest game for 2011 and bethesda wont disapoint with the next installment TJ
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awesome game and graphics!!!
11/21/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Everything I expected from the reviews are here. The game play is fast and the action holds your interest. Already have played this for 100 hours!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (23)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Epic Win
12/28/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This game is totally epic. It brings gaming to a whole new level! The game never ends, and you can create a totally different character with a totally different story each time!! I am addicted to this game. It has most definitely become one of my most favorite games ever. Highly recommended...You can even play without playing the other Elder Scrolls games...Like myself. :D Awesome game. Well worth the price. Graphics are beautiful.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Absolutely Legendary!
11/29/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
A must have game for every gamer! If you don't have this, you might want to get up-to-speed!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (28)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great game for 20$
5/9/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
runs great on my pc I play it at low graphics and it still looks great. would recommend this game to anyone.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
ONE OF THE BEST GAMES EVER
2/8/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
You can do so many things. u can pick from many different races, and you could play for a year and not be completely done. Now there are some issues, with memory lag, but bethesda is releasing a patch in a few more days.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A true Continuation of Elder Scrolls
11/29/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Graphics are excellent, voice acting superior. Quests are challenging and continue the history. A fine successor to the series.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awesome!
11/26/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is the best RPG game i have ever played. The graphics are amazing and the story line is better than oblivion. This is a must buy
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great game, got it the same day in store
5/9/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Had to purchase another Skyrim Xbox disk, the one Walmart had was cheaper online so I ordered it and had it sent to in store pick up and it was ready within the hour!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
would be amazing, IF it worked properly
12/28/2011
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
fist of all the game is amazing, one of the best games of the year... at least at first. After spending about 15-20 hours on the game, it started... the freezing, as i dumped even more hours into the game it only got worse, and now it is to the point where im lucky to play for more than an hour at a time without having to restart the system due to freezing, if you were planing on getting this for the PS3 WAIT, the current state of this game is a miserably chore to play through, but there is hope! apparently the PC and Xbox versions of the game do not suffer from this problem so get it on those systems because this game is an easy 5/5 when fixed. however that is not the case for PS3 players. I myself have finished the game but i can tell you than in my time playing i must have had to restart my system over 100 times, disgraceful.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (13)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641777, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-