Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 56 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

56 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

56 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
38
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
3
1-20 of 48 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 48 total reviews
1-20 of 48 reviews
No more lost files on a dead computer
7/5/2016

Customer review by Risha

5.0 stars 7/5/2016 by Risha
by Risha
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was so upset when my laptop died because I hadn't been backing up my files in over 3 months so I worried everything was lost. I was advised to look for solutions on the internet and I found this product and now have access to all my old files plus extra room on my old hard drive to store more files if I need to. (I can use it as an additional external hard drive) This product works great and is a very simple fix for lost files on a dead computer.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Risha
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cheap SATA enclosure
2/24/2013

Customer review by anothercomputergeek

3.0 stars 2/24/2013 by anothercomputergeek
by anothercomputergeek
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is (obviously) a cheap enclosure, and you get what you pay for. There's not much to secure your drive inside the enclosure, just a couple of tiny screws, and they don't fit in the holes very well. The part that connects to your hard drive's SATA connectors bends somewhat easily. This may be due to my hard drive, but I found that the plastic cover meant to protect the hard drive's circuit board would not stay on the hard drive very well. I was hoping to use this to boot linux off a hard drive from an old laptop. And again, this may be due to either my hard drive or my system (or my lack of knowledge), but using this enclosure I could not partition my hard drive from linux using gparted. Now I'm going to try to use it to store backups of my windows machine on my old drive. All in all, this is an inexpensive solution if you just need to grab some files off an old hard drive or temporarily convert an internal drive to an external one for some reason, but I would not use this as a long-term solution.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
anothercomputergeek
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/3/2011

Customer review by djnfire2

5.0 stars 9/3/2011 by djnfire2
by djnfire2

Small item for low, low price to get the job done. Item worked as stated, we were able to retrieve files off of a hard drive of a crashed laptop. Would recommend this to anyone needing same done. If your hard drive does turn out to be damaged, then you're not out of alot of money.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
djnfire2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
Excellent product
9/21/2011

Customer review by online1234

5.0 stars 9/21/2011 by online1234
by online1234

I was able to get the data from the broken laptop. The box has everything we need to get the data from laptop hard drive. Happy that I got this product instead of going to some retail computer shop to retrieve the hard-drive data which cost more dollars.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
online1234
Boonton,NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
So Simple
4/26/2016

Customer review by JVEEEEEEEE

5.0 stars 4/26/2016 by JVEEEEEEEE
by JVEEEEEEEE

Did exactly what I wanted it to do!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JVEEEEEEEE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nexstar 2.5" SATA to USB HDD Enclosure
3/7/2016

Customer review by LavRal

5.0 stars 3/7/2016 by LavRal
by LavRal

This product works very well and is made of an alloy metal that not only protects the hard drive inside, it is very lightweight. It is easy to use and has a pilot light indicator that shows the activity of the hard drive when accessed. I purchased two of them several years ago and they are working like new. They are great to have in your computer repair toolbox for those times when you need to backup or repair an existing hard drive inside a laptop. It also works great for setting up a replacement hard drive, (data transferral), for an existing laptop's OS, (operating system). I would highly recommend this enclosure to all of my IT technical friends.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LavRal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cheap, easy to use, well worth the price.
11/29/2013

Customer review by Geckofan

5.0 stars 11/29/2013 by Geckofan
by Geckofan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

If you are looking to use old laptop drives for extra storage or to transfer date this is the enclosure for you. Not very useful as a boot drive for laptops, but with a small amount of fiddling it worked just as well as a 69.99 I bought a few months ago. It even comes with its own screwdriver for tiny screws!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Geckofan
San Antonio Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Meets and exceeds expectations.
12/12/2011

Customer review by BrooklynDad01

5.0 stars 12/12/2011 by BrooklynDad01
by BrooklynDad01

For the price I was expecting something flimsy, but I was shocked by the quality of this case!! Just as good as anything more expensive, the case is metal to help reduce heat from the hard drive...fits 2.5" HDDs just as advertised

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BrooklynDad01
Brooklyn,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
I really can't say anything......
1/9/2016

Customer review by tentaro

2.0 stars 1/9/2016 by tentaro
by tentaro

about it either way except mine was DOA. I am bringing it back today. I always expected better from this company (Vantec not Walmart) but I guess no one can catch every problem before things get shipped out.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tentaro
Would recommend to a friend? No
Recovered Severely Damaged Laptops
12/16/2014

Customer review by AnotherMoTechie

5.0 stars 12/16/2014 by AnotherMoTechie
by AnotherMoTechie

I had two severely damaged laptops. I bought this enclosure based on other reviewers reporting how this enclosure had helped them in similar circumstances. Both drives fired right up. (Note: your experience may be different depending on physical damage) I then bought a second enclosure and have two drives for backing up the new computers for a total of $16.00.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AnotherMoTechie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
right for the job
3/22/2016

Customer review by waco

5.0 stars 3/22/2016 by waco
by waco

it is easy to use and transfer files and you get an additional drive for use

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
waco
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
received as advertised
3/3/2016

Customer review by Rick

4.0 stars 3/3/2016 by Rick
by Rick

worked well

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rick
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great way to make a laptop hard drive portable
8/13/2011

Customer review by Peppi4

5.0 stars 8/13/2011 by Peppi4
by Peppi4

The old laptop died but the hard drive lives on thanks to this nifty hard drive enclosure by Vantec. Simple and easy to remove hard drive from laptop, plug into NexStar's faceplate, then slip the assembly into it's enclosure. Now comes the hard part, fasten the assembly to the enclosure with two screws (the screw driver is included with product) A no brainer, the hard drive can now be powered and accessed via a USB port from any computer with a USB 2.0 (or better) connection. Everything you need is included to make the conversion successful.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Peppi4
Clarrisa, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great tool to extract files from an old hard drive
7/8/2014

Customer review by MarchSnow

4.0 stars 7/8/2014 by MarchSnow
by MarchSnow
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I'm so happy that I bought this product. My old laptop's hard drive failed. I worried that I wouldn't be able to retrieve all of my photographs, documents, and other personal files. I was reading forums, trying to figure out how to get back my old data, when I saw that someone had recommended this product. They said it was a highly affordable product (just $7 when I bought it). They said it would be easy to take my old hard drive out of my old laptop and put it into this product. This product would then plug into my new laptop via the USB port, and I would be able to use my old hard drive like an external flash drive, and just open up the contents of my old hard drive and drag and drop the files I wanted to keep onto the new laptop's desktop. It sounded simple, and it WAS that simple. This product does NOT feel like it will withstand the test of time - the screws that come with it are tough to screw in, and as I was screwing them in, metal started chipping off of them. The whole thing just feels.. a little cheaply made? But that's fine, because it gets the job done! I have all of my files back, and my brother is going to borrow this to do the same thing with his old hard drive. I'm not sure how much more use we'll get out of it after that, but this was SO much better than paying some computer tech big bucks to do this simple job him/herself. I definitely recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MarchSnow
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor quality
7/12/2014

Customer review by Dkall

1.0 stars 7/12/2014 by Dkall
by Dkall
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought to retrieve data from hard drive from old laptop. It worked at first. Later I connected for more data transfers and it was intermittent. The micro connector on the enclosure is sloppy causing intermittent connections which is disastrous in transferring files. I returned and bought another more expensive brand.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dkall
corvallis, oregon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
No working
7/24/2014

Customer review by wittyd

1.0 stars 7/24/2014 by wittyd
by wittyd
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After installing two hard drives, still will not come up and any computer, its going back!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wittyd
Fayetteville
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect case!
2/20/2014

Customer review by craigc123

5.0 stars 2/20/2014 by craigc123
by craigc123
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought two of these for two laptop drives. Fit perfectly and worked flawlessly.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
craigc123
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
worksgreat, very good price
12/5/2015

Customer review by Bill

5.0 stars 12/5/2015 by Bill
by Bill

great

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bill
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
IF your laptop or computer dies this is the best
8/22/2012

Customer review by falconss70

5.0 stars 8/22/2012 by falconss70
by falconss70

This best option or only option to get all old data off a dead computer or a laptop that has died. worth the price and a must buy if you own a laptop or a computer. sooooooo simple to operate also. This is what the computer shops charge you 100 to 200 bucks get your old data off your computer. Some of the shops will say they couldn't save your computer or laptop, and turn around give you some JUNK then sale your computer or laptop to the manufacture to get refurbish. so this is the only option to get old data beside spending 60 bucks on external hard drive or sending your computer in to a specialist.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
falconss70
CONOVER, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Seems well made but it did not work
12/11/2011

Customer review by OldSaltyDog

1.0 stars 12/11/2011 by OldSaltyDog
by OldSaltyDog

It looks like a quality product at a very reasonable price, but it simply would not function. So it was a useless purchase. I did not return it, because the postage would have cost more than the product. By the way, I am fairly handy with computers.

Was this review helpful? (2) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OldSaltyDog
Venice, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
1-20 of 48 total reviews
1-20 of 48 reviews