Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 48 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

48 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

5 stars
32
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
3
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 40 total reviews
9/3/2011

Customer review by djnfire2

5.0 stars by djnfire2

Small item for low, low price to get the job done. Item worked as stated, we were able to retrieve files off of a hard drive of a crashed laptop. Would recommend this to anyone needing same done. If your hard drive does turn out to be damaged, then you're not out of alot of money.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
djnfire2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
Excellent product
9/21/2011

Customer review by online1234

5.0 stars by online1234

I was able to get the data from the broken laptop. The box has everything we need to get the data from laptop hard drive. Happy that I got this product instead of going to some retail computer shop to retrieve the hard-drive data which cost more dollars.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
online1234
Boonton,NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Meets and exceeds expectations.
12/12/2011

Customer review by BrooklynDad01

5.0 stars by BrooklynDad01

For the price I was expecting something flimsy, but I was shocked by the quality of this case!! Just as good as anything more expensive, the case is metal to help reduce heat from the hard drive...fits 2.5" HDDs just as advertised

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
BrooklynDad01
Brooklyn,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Cheap, easy to use, well worth the price.
11/29/2013

Customer review by Geckofan

5.0 stars by Geckofan

If you are looking to use old laptop drives for extra storage or to transfer date this is the enclosure for you. Not very useful as a boot drive for laptops, but with a small amount of fiddling it worked just as well as a 69.99 I bought a few months ago. It even comes with its own screwdriver for tiny screws!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Geckofan
San Antonio Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great way to make a laptop hard drive portable
8/13/2011

Customer review by Peppi4

5.0 stars by Peppi4

The old laptop died but the hard drive lives on thanks to this nifty hard drive enclosure by Vantec. Simple and easy to remove hard drive from laptop, plug into NexStar's faceplate, then slip the assembly into it's enclosure. Now comes the hard part, fasten the assembly to the enclosure with two screws (the screw driver is included with product) A no brainer, the hard drive can now be powered and accessed via a USB port from any computer with a USB 2.0 (or better) connection. Everything you need is included to make the conversion successful.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Peppi4
Clarrisa, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Perfect case!
2/20/2014

Customer review by craigc123

5.0 stars by craigc123

Bought two of these for two laptop drives. Fit perfectly and worked flawlessly.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
craigc123
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cheap SATA enclosure
2/24/2013

Customer review by anothercomputergeek

3.0 stars by anothercomputergeek

This is (obviously) a cheap enclosure, and you get what you pay for. There's not much to secure your drive inside the enclosure, just a couple of tiny screws, and they don't fit in the holes very well. The part that connects to your hard drive's SATA connectors bends somewhat easily. This may be due to my hard drive, but I found that the plastic cover meant to protect the hard drive's circuit board would not stay on the hard drive very well. I was hoping to use this to boot linux off a hard drive from an old laptop. And again, this may be due to either my hard drive or my system (or my lack of knowledge), but using this enclosure I could not partition my hard drive from linux using gparted. Now I'm going to try to use it to store backups of my windows machine on my old drive. All in all, this is an inexpensive solution if you just need to grab some files off an old hard drive or temporarily convert an internal drive to an external one for some reason, but I would not use this as a long-term solution.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
anothercomputergeek
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Provides easy access to additional hard drive
8/15/2012

Customer review by Tiara99

5.0 stars by Tiara99

This enclosure is very easy to use and works great. Data access is speedy. Only caveat is that as described it has a y-usb cable which means it does use both of my laptop's USB 2.0 ports for power. However, it does work with a very inexpensive 4-port hub that I bought. The enclosure is very sturdy and includes a protective leatherette pouch. I would definitely recommend this to all - it allowed me to use my previous laptop's hard drive as a humongous "flash drive". Great for backups, too.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Tiara99
Hudson, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Lack of Instructions
6/14/2014

Customer review by DaveW64

4.0 stars by DaveW64

It works as advertised but it came with a cable with 2 USB plugs on it??? Why two?

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
DaveW64
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Seems well made but it did not work
12/11/2011

Customer review by OldSaltyDog

1.0 stars by OldSaltyDog

It looks like a quality product at a very reasonable price, but it simply would not function. So it was a useless purchase. I did not return it, because the postage would have cost more than the product. By the way, I am fairly handy with computers.

Was this review helpful? (1) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
OldSaltyDog
Venice, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Good external hard drive enclosure
3/4/2012

Customer review by tp6499

5.0 stars by tp6499

Have no complain about this product. I bought 2 of them and may be will buy more. Good product and the price is inexpensive.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
tp6499
Farmington, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
12/25/2011

Customer review by caribPaku

5.0 stars by caribPaku

I found that this Hard Drive Enclosure is a great purchase. The price is very good and I wish I had discovered them earlier!!! It was very simple to hook up. They even provided a little screw driver to help facilitate the adaption of the two little screws to secure the enclosure. Exceptional quality and price.. this is a 5 star product!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
caribPaku
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Price. Works Great
12/13/2012

Customer review by ChesapeakeGal83

5.0 stars by ChesapeakeGal83

Easy to use, great price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ChesapeakeGal83
chesapeake va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good enclosure for price
12/24/2012

Customer review by rickmath

5.0 stars by rickmath

had to return because of wrong drive hook-up had ied drive not sata my fault when ordering but case was a good value.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
rickmath
wapakoneta,oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works Very Well..
5/10/2012

Customer review by LChevele

5.0 stars by LChevele

Bought this to replace one that went bad. Windows immediately recognized the USB unit and installed the driver automatically. windows 7. Quiet and easy to slide in and out opening. Comes with cords and plastic screwdriver. Overall Good value.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
LChevele
Cleveland, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This worked exactly the way I needed it to work
2/19/2012

Customer review by Fuzzywuzzybear

5.0 stars by Fuzzywuzzybear

I priced these from Best Buy and other stores and most of them were $40 plus. For less than $10 it is perfect.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Fuzzywuzzybear
Framingham, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Amazing!!!
12/1/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars by An anonymous customer

This thing rocks. The scariest part was not being sure exactly what I was doing. But I did it and I got all the photos and docs that I wanted off my laptop thats motherboard had died!!! I am a happy girl!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
IF your laptop or computer dies this is the best
8/22/2012

Customer review by falconss70

5.0 stars by falconss70

This best option or only option to get all old data off a dead computer or a laptop that has died. worth the price and a must buy if you own a laptop or a computer. sooooooo simple to operate also. This is what the computer shops charge you 100 to 200 bucks get your old data off your computer. Some of the shops will say they couldn't save your computer or laptop, and turn around give you some JUNK then sale your computer or laptop to the manufacture to get refurbish. so this is the only option to get old data beside spending 60 bucks on external hard drive or sending your computer in to a specialist.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
falconss70
CONOVER, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Two days in and working fine...
2/20/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars by An anonymous customer

Not sure long-term yet of course, but so far top functionality/buck ratio, especially considering USB 3.0 spec. Using with an older 120 GB SATA drive to store Logic Pro X additional content download.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
H2Oville, Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Saved my butt
8/7/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars by An anonymous customer

Bought this product because my wife's external hard drive micro USB port broke off. This enclosure was just what the doctor ordered. Super easy installation with the provided instructions, and the screwdriver required was also included. Within minutes we had the hard drive hooked up and all of the data recovered!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
Northeast Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 40 total reviews