Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 307 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

307 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

307 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

63%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
137
4 stars
41
3 stars
19
2 stars
31
1 stars
79
1-20 of 306 total reviews
63%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 306 total reviews
1-20 of 306 reviews
Can't even compare to other natural products!
1/27/2016

Customer review by bananas123

4.0 stars 1/27/2016 by bananas123
by bananas123

I have acne-prone skin, which has finally gotten under control. However, finding a facial cleanser that works for me without drying out my skin is so hard! Most cleansers have salicylic acid in them, which is a medicine that is meant to clear breakout. However, that leaves my skin with a tight feeling after washing and makes it feel very dry which later causes my skin to produce EXTRA oil to compensate for the dryness. I've tried other natural products but they are either out of my price range or don't leave my skin feeling clean, as I wear powdered foundation make up every day. THIS PRODUCT HAS WORKED WONDERS FOR ME! It takes off my make-up and leaves my skin feeling fresh and clean without feeling like it has been stripped of the natural oils! I have not had dry skin results with this cleanser and my skin's oil has been balanced. Not all formulas work the same on all people, however if your skin is stubborn when it comes to traditional cleansers and you can't afford pricey facial cleansers, I recommend you give this product a go! You may be very satisfied with the results!

bananas123
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Burned my face
1/28/2016

Customer review by Bakingsoda&honey

1.0 stars 1/28/2016 by Bakingsoda&honey
by Bakingsoda&honey

First time using it and it BURNED MY FACE! Immediately it started to burn, and by the time I could rinse it off it was very painful. When I got out of the shower my face was red, burning and felt like I had been sitting in the sun all day. Luckily the pain went away and my face was back to normal color by the time I went to work.

Comment from Neutrogena - 1/29/2016

Hello, thanks for stopping by! We're so sorry you had this experience while using our product. This is not what we would expect. We're happy to hear your face went back to normal. However because this is not typical we'd like to have the opportunity to speak with you on the phone. Please call our Consumer Care Center at: 1-800-582-4048 between 9AM to 7PM EST Monday-Friday. Thank you, we look forward to speaking with you!

Bakingsoda&honey
Denver, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Skin type:Dry
Terrible product!
1/21/2016

Customer review by jgal898

1.0 stars 1/21/2016 by jgal898
by jgal898

I have sensitive skin, so I always try to use products with the most natural ingredients. When I used this in the shower my face immediately felt on fire. I washed it off quickly, but when I got out my face was extremely red, puffy and still felt on fire! Bottom line - do not buy this product. I threw mine out already.

Comment from Neutrogena - 1/21/2016

Thanks for bringing this to our attention, jgal898. We wouldn't expect you to experience puffy, red, or burning skin while using our product, and we want to learn more about what happened. Please call our consumer care center at your earliest convenience: 1-800-582-4048. Our specialists are available from 8AM to 8PM ET, Monday through Friday. We hope to hear from you soon!

jgal898
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
blotchy skin
1/16/2016

Customer review by mdextras

1.0 stars 1/16/2016 by mdextras
by mdextras

As have several others indicated, when I used this product, I was left with a blotchy skin that looked as if I had a sunburn. It lasted a good 2 hours before fading. My husband tried it just a bit on his cheek and it did the same thing. I do not have particularly sensitive skin. I normally use Neutrogena Deep Clean cream cleanser so I will go back to that product.

Comment from - 1/17/2016

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We would like to chat more about your experience with our product. If you could, please call our consumer care center at 1-800-582-4048 Monday- Friday 8 am- 8 pm ET. Thank you!

mdextras
North Palm Beach, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
I really like this
12/29/2015

Customer review by SareBear

4.0 stars 12/29/2015 by SareBear
by SareBear

I'm allergic to most cleansers, shampoos, and lotions. However, I am able to use this product and not have to worry. I like the way it smells, and it's not a bad price in comparison to other face washes I can use. I also really like that I know what my cleanser is made out of. Makes my skin feel nice and clean, and a little bit of the product goes a long way. Always make sure to moisturize after washing your face, which is the rule for all face washes.

SareBear
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Be careful! May cause burn.
12/15/2015

Customer review by Caitlin

1.0 stars 12/15/2015 by Caitlin
by Caitlin

I wanted to like it, but I had the same reaction as several others. After using this product, I looked and felt like I had a very severe sunburn. I laid with a cold compress on my face to soothe my skin. My boyfriend used it and was fine, but we decided it was best to throw it out. I can't recommend this, not worth the risk. Neutrogena- Do you know what is causing people to have this reaction? Are you going to fix the product? If so, how? If you address the burning, I would consider buying it. I support natural products!

Comment from Neutrogena - 12/16/2015

Thank you for letting us know about your experience with our product, Caitlin. We understand your frustration we'd like to learn more about what happened so we can help with this. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048. Our specialists are available Monday-Friday 8AM-8PM ET. We're looking forward to speaking with you.

Caitlin
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Skin type:Dry
Great Cleanser!
11/25/2015

Customer review by PickyUser

5.0 stars 11/25/2015 by PickyUser
by PickyUser

I like this product a lot! Cleans thoroughly, but gentle on the skin. Does not irritate my skin at all. Leaves my skin feeling fresh. I will be buying this again! I found my facial cleanser!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PickyUser
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not super-duper, but I still like it!
8/12/2011

Customer review by HereNthere

4.0 stars 8/12/2011 by HereNthere
by HereNthere

My skin: Combination oily - blackheads on nose and a lot of grease in T-zone, but grease and acne on cheeks as well I originally bought this cleanser because it was not tested on animals and the bottle stated where the ingredients came from; and although the directions were not printed, I have been using facial cleansing products to know how to use it. The previous cleanser I used came with a scrublet, so I used that with this cleanser. I felt no burning and I don't remember my skin drying up the first time I used it. But I do know that, while it doesn't immediately clear acne and blackheads or makes them completely go away over time, it has reduced the amount of breakouts I get. I am now going through my second bottle and am also using the pore refining scrub (which, in my opinion, isn't as scrubby as I had hoped it to be). This is a great product for those not looking for some miracle product that could potentially dry out/worsen present skin condition, and are just wanting to keep acne to a minimum.

HereNthere
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I FINALLY HAVE CLEAR SKIN!!!!!
8/2/2014

Customer review by tacohead13

5.0 stars 8/2/2014 by tacohead13
by tacohead13

I've been trying to get clear skin for YEARS! I've tried numerous products, gone to different doctors and nothing has worked! Except for this!!! I have really sensitive skin & this product is so gentle! I didn't even realize that my skin was clear until I looked at a photograph I had recently taken of myself! I know this isn't an acne product, but this cleanser cleared up all of my acne! Do you hear me, ALL OF IT! When I first got this product I saw someone's review that said that they finally had clear skin and I said, "Oh good for you; I don't think that will happen for me." But it did! Oh my goodness it did! My acne cleared up in a week! I use it twice a day with a plastic clairsonic brush my friend gave me to make sure the cleanser is really going into my pores. It smells great & if works even better! I CANT BELIEVE I HAVE CLEAR SKIN AFTER FIVE YEARS OF UNSUCCESSFUL PRODUCTS! I want to scream it from the mountain top! I'm so happy! Thank you Neutrogena!!

tacohead13
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Left my skin burning
12/5/2015

Customer review by Lk212

1.0 stars 12/5/2015 by Lk212
by Lk212

Had high hopes for this. I've been trying to use natural products a lot more lately however when I used this in the shower my face almost immediately felt super hot and on fire. I quickly washed it off and once I got out and looked in the mirror my skin was super red and puffy. It looked like a horrible sunburn. try it out on a small patch of skin first. Definitely won't use again

Comment from - 12/6/2015

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. This is not something we would expect of our product, so we would like to speak with you further about this. If you could, please call our consumer care center at 1-800-582-4048 Monday- Friday 8 am- 8 pm ET. Thank you!

Lk212
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Skin type:Dry
Best daily cleanser!
11/22/2015

Customer review by BackToBasics890

5.0 stars 11/22/2015 by BackToBasics890
by BackToBasics890

Absolutely love this cleanser! It left my skin feeling soft and clean but not stripped. Not to mention it smells amazing! My skin was dried out and damaged when I first started using it, and it would sting a little when I would wash my face. But after my skin healed, I never had a problem with it again. It is my absolute favorite. I've tried others since I first bought it (even some old favorites of mine), but they just do not compare to this one. I can't wait to try other products in the Naturals line!

Comment from Neutrogena - 11/23/2015

Thank you for your review, BackToBasics890. We'd like to learn more about your experience with our product. Please give us call at 1-800-582-4048 between 8AM and 8PM ET Monday-Friday and a specialist will gladly help you. Thanks again for reaching out to us and we hope you have a wonderful day!

BackToBasics890
Alabama, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Oily
Red, burnt and blistering
11/9/2015

Customer review by acassid5

1.0 stars 11/9/2015 by acassid5
by acassid5

I've been using Neutogena since I was a teenager. So I bought the Neutrogena® Naturals Purifying Cream Cleanser, I thought it would be the best of both worlds. I began to apply immediately it to my chin and cheeks, went to pick up the bottle to apply more of the cleanser to my hand but stopped because my face started to burn intensely, I rinsed to the cleanser off only to find my cheeks and chin were extremely red, swollen and burnt feeling. About 15-20 minutes after the incident my face started to blister. I wanted to switch to the whole Naturals line but now I'm weary.

Comment from Neutrogena® - 11/9/2015

Thank you for your review, Acassid5. We are sorry to hear about your experience. We would like to learn more from you, so when you have a moment please give us a call at 1-800-582-4048 Mon-Fri 8am-8pm ET. We look forward to hearing from you!

acassid5
North Canton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Better Than You Would Think!
12/9/2014

Customer review by jllowery7

5.0 stars 12/9/2014 by jllowery7
by jllowery7

I've been using this product for about three weeks, and I can see such a noticeable difference in the improvement of my skin. I have never been able to actually SEE results from a skin cleanser before, but this product improved my skin so much that even my husband commented on my skin! (He said that my face looks very bright and refreshed, when I DIDNT have ANY makeup on!) I have very fair and a bit freckly skin. This product has evened out my skin tone throughout my face and has almost erased any dark circles I used to have under my eyes! I used to wear foundation every day to work, but now after using this product I just dab on a tiny bit of loose powder and some blush and my skin looks so beautiful. I can sincerely say that this product has improved my skin. It does make my skin just a teeny bit dry after washing, but I just spray a bit of rose water or makeup mist on my face and that issue is gone. I highly recommend this product.

Comment from Neutrogena® - 12/9/2014

Hi jllowery7. Thank you for taking the time to review our product. We would love to speak with you to learn more about your experience. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048. Our care specialists are available Monday through Friday 8am to 8pm EST. We look forward to your call.

jllowery7
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Great Cleanser, But Could Be More Natural
3/7/2014

Customer review by AH92

4.0 stars 3/7/2014 by AH92
by AH92

I believe this particular one is the least natural of the Naturals line, for those concerned, but it is still mostly natural at 90%. Even a number of Burt's Bees products aren't completely natural. However, the fragrance is really not necessary and should've been left out, don't get what they were thinking. It also should be listed as an acne cleanser, given the willow bark ingredient. I use this one as my night cleanser with the Acne cream cleanser in this line for my morning one (the cooling sensation in it really wakes you up). I was originally using the purifying pore scrub, but wanted a non-exfoliating version of it (you should only exfoliate once or twice a week and not everyday) and this is the closest to that. This does feel a slight bit more drying and a tad bit harsh in comparison, so it might not be ideal for sensitive or dry skin. For dry and sensitive skin types the face and body bar might do much better for you. I always use a toner (the only Burts Bees product I still use since I don't know of any other mostly natural toners) so I don't really notice a problem with dryness myself. The combo of Neautragena Naturals products I use (this, the acne cream cleanser, and the spot treatment) has really improved the mild acne I have and works better than any of the Burts Bees, Dove, and other Neutragena products I've tried over the years. The price isn't the best out there, but it's still a few dollars cheaper than the Burt's Bees I was using so that's a plus.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AH92
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Extremely Average...
4/15/2012

Customer review by woonik

3.0 stars 4/15/2012 by woonik
by woonik

Before I continue, I wanted to say that I am a fourteen year old girl with combination-oily skin and mild acne. I've been breaking out all over recently, especially when I'm on my cycle. I just wanted to give an idea of what kind of condition I'm doing this review under. I came to this product after continuously using one cleanser for the past ten-eleven months. My old cleanser was just amazing, but my skin was becoming immune to its effectiveness due to my frequent usage. I expected this cleanser to be as good or even better than what I'd used in the past, but I was completely wrong. This cleanser smells great (I couldn't tell if the scent was irritating my skin, but I still loved the way if smelled), but doesn't do much- if not nothing- for my skin. Also, the pump popped off while I struggled to open it, and now, dispensing the product has become much more difficult, but not impossible. Overall, this cleanser just wasn't for me.

woonik
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
LOVE IT
11/11/2015

Customer review by 70 ish

5.0 stars 11/11/2015 by 70 ish
by 70 ish

Like others, I feel a tingle on my skin after using it, but not experiencing any negative results. I love the way it cleans and feels. I have a lot of trouble with dry patches, but they are no longer showing up. I hope you keep offering this product.

70 ish
Jefferson, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Dry
Burnt my skin
11/5/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 11/5/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

when I first put it on my face, I got a tingly feeling. I've had that happen before so I thought it was normal. After rinsing it and looking in the mirror my face was bright red and blotchy. It felt like I had sun burn on.

Comment from Neutrogena - 11/5/2015

Thanks for taking the time to write us a post. We'd like to learn more about your experience with our product. Please call us at 1-800-582-4048 M-F between the hours of 8AM-8PM ET. We look forward to chatting with you soon!

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Face feels oily, itchy, red bumps
10/14/2015

Customer review by GradStudent01

1.0 stars 10/14/2015 by GradStudent01
by GradStudent01

I have been trying to find a product with less harsh, toxic chemicals and thought this would be perfect! But after using consistently for about a week, my face feels much more oily than usual. Also my face and neck feel itchy and I have lots of small red bumps along my jawline and cheeks. Also breaking out on my forehead. This is really disappointing as I have been trying for so long to find an affordable product suitable for sensitive skin that will actually effectively treat acne.

Comment from Neutrogena - 10/14/2015

We're very sorry to hear about your experience with our product, GradStudent01. This is not something we would expect from our products and we would like to learn more about what happened. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048. Our specialists are available Monday-Friday 8AM-8PM EDT. We hope to hear from you!

GradStudent01
Central Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Love This!
8/7/2015

Customer review by Mihawk112

5.0 stars 8/7/2015 by Mihawk112
by Mihawk112

I hope that Neutrogena never stops making this line of products! I have been using this cleanser in conjunction with the multi-vitamin nourishing moisturizer for about 3 months now and it is amazing how much my skin feels like...skin! Most products leave a residue or if they don't leave a residue they just feel like they aren't having any effect at all. This product literally makes my skin glow! I am very fair skinned and a bit freckly and I always felt blotchy and uneven prior to the use of this product. Now my skin is so healthy looking and it feels so good too! My only complaint is that this line does not offer an eye cream!!! I use a different brand for that now but would love to have one from this line!

Mihawk112
Concord, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
My face is on FIRE and ITCHY
10/5/2015

Customer review by katie1680

1.0 stars 10/5/2015 by katie1680
by katie1680

I used your product for just 2 days and my face is beyond dried out, super red, and very itchy. My eyes are swollen too. I feel like my face is on fire. I will never use this product ever again.

Comment from Neutrogena - 10/5/2015

We're sorry to hear about this, katie1680. We wouldn't expect this kind of reaction while using our product, and we'd like to learn more about your experience. Please give us a call at 1-800-582-4048 Monday-Friday between 8AM-8PM ET. We look forward to hearing from you.

katie1680
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Skin type:Oily
1-20 of 306 total reviews
1-20 of 306 reviews