Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 319 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

319 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

319 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

63%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
143
4 stars
41
3 stars
19
2 stars
31
1 stars
85
1-20 of 318 total reviews
63%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 318 total reviews
1-20 of 318 reviews
Red Itchy Face
7/26/2016

Customer review by emily177

1.0 stars 7/26/2016 by emily177
by emily177

I used the product for a few months and it worked alright. I used it again and it made my skin feel like it was burning. I thoughy most products do that. I washed it off and my face was bright red and itchy. I must of developed an allergy to an ingredient in the face wash.

Comment from NEUTROGENA® - 7/26/2016

Thanks for taking the time to write a review, emily177. Red and itchy skin is not typical of our product and we'd like the chance to speak with you more and help! Please give us a call at 1-800-582-4048 between 9AM and 7PM EST Monday-Friday and a specialist will gladly help you. We look forward to your call!

emily177
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Skin type:Oily
OMG Finally !!!
7/8/2016

Customer review by pebbles

5.0 stars 7/8/2016 by pebbles
by pebbles

I finally found something for my sensitive acne prone skin that I don't have to worry about my face being burned and waiting for it to heal. I Its gentle, effective and natural . Love, Love, Love, it. Thanks Neutrogena

pebbles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Clear, bright, and beautiful skin!
6/19/2016

Customer review by VanitySuxx

5.0 stars 6/19/2016 by VanitySuxx
by VanitySuxx

I have fairly clear , normal but oily in my t-zone skin. I only experience hormonal acne which is very minimal. The price was very expensive. However, it's worth it. I've been looking for a facial clenser for my sensitive skin which is also prone to redness if the product is too harsh. After the first use I noticed a huge difference in how bright my skin looked. It felt very clean and not overly drying! I haven't had any random breakouts and every-time I go out after my skin-care routine I recieve tons of compliments on how refreshed and illuminated my natural skin looks. I also pair this with e.l.f hydro moisturizer which works wonders with this cleanser.

VanitySuxx
Dillon, SC
Gender:Female
Skin type:Oily
Not super-duper, but I still like it!
8/12/2011

Customer review by HereNthere

4.0 stars 8/12/2011 by HereNthere
by HereNthere

My skin: Combination oily - blackheads on nose and a lot of grease in T-zone, but grease and acne on cheeks as well I originally bought this cleanser because it was not tested on animals and the bottle stated where the ingredients came from; and although the directions were not printed, I have been using facial cleansing products to know how to use it. The previous cleanser I used came with a scrublet, so I used that with this cleanser. I felt no burning and I don't remember my skin drying up the first time I used it. But I do know that, while it doesn't immediately clear acne and blackheads or makes them completely go away over time, it has reduced the amount of breakouts I get. I am now going through my second bottle and am also using the pore refining scrub (which, in my opinion, isn't as scrubby as I had hoped it to be). This is a great product for those not looking for some miracle product that could potentially dry out/worsen present skin condition, and are just wanting to keep acne to a minimum.

HereNthere
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I FINALLY HAVE CLEAR SKIN!!!!!
8/2/2014

Customer review by tacohead13

5.0 stars 8/2/2014 by tacohead13
by tacohead13

I've been trying to get clear skin for YEARS! I've tried numerous products, gone to different doctors and nothing has worked! Except for this!!! I have really sensitive skin & this product is so gentle! I didn't even realize that my skin was clear until I looked at a photograph I had recently taken of myself! I know this isn't an acne product, but this cleanser cleared up all of my acne! Do you hear me, ALL OF IT! When I first got this product I saw someone's review that said that they finally had clear skin and I said, "Oh good for you; I don't think that will happen for me." But it did! Oh my goodness it did! My acne cleared up in a week! I use it twice a day with a plastic clairsonic brush my friend gave me to make sure the cleanser is really going into my pores. It smells great & if works even better! I CANT BELIEVE I HAVE CLEAR SKIN AFTER FIVE YEARS OF UNSUCCESSFUL PRODUCTS! I want to scream it from the mountain top! I'm so happy! Thank you Neutrogena!!

tacohead13
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Can't even compare to other natural products!
1/27/2016

Customer review by bananas123

4.0 stars 1/27/2016 by bananas123
by bananas123

I have acne-prone skin, which has finally gotten under control. However, finding a facial cleanser that works for me without drying out my skin is so hard! Most cleansers have salicylic acid in them, which is a medicine that is meant to clear breakout. However, that leaves my skin with a tight feeling after washing and makes it feel very dry which later causes my skin to produce EXTRA oil to compensate for the dryness. I've tried other natural products but they are either out of my price range or don't leave my skin feeling clean, as I wear powdered foundation make up every day. THIS PRODUCT HAS WORKED WONDERS FOR ME! It takes off my make-up and leaves my skin feeling fresh and clean without feeling like it has been stripped of the natural oils! I have not had dry skin results with this cleanser and my skin's oil has been balanced. Not all formulas work the same on all people, however if your skin is stubborn when it comes to traditional cleansers and you can't afford pricey facial cleansers, I recommend you give this product a go! You may be very satisfied with the results!

bananas123
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Great Cleanser, But Could Be More Natural
3/7/2014

Customer review by AH92

4.0 stars 3/7/2014 by AH92
by AH92

I believe this particular one is the least natural of the Naturals line, for those concerned, but it is still mostly natural at 90%. Even a number of Burt's Bees products aren't completely natural. However, the fragrance is really not necessary and should've been left out, don't get what they were thinking. It also should be listed as an acne cleanser, given the willow bark ingredient. I use this one as my night cleanser with the Acne cream cleanser in this line for my morning one (the cooling sensation in it really wakes you up). I was originally using the purifying pore scrub, but wanted a non-exfoliating version of it (you should only exfoliate once or twice a week and not everyday) and this is the closest to that. This does feel a slight bit more drying and a tad bit harsh in comparison, so it might not be ideal for sensitive or dry skin. For dry and sensitive skin types the face and body bar might do much better for you. I always use a toner (the only Burts Bees product I still use since I don't know of any other mostly natural toners) so I don't really notice a problem with dryness myself. The combo of Neautragena Naturals products I use (this, the acne cream cleanser, and the spot treatment) has really improved the mild acne I have and works better than any of the Burts Bees, Dove, and other Neutragena products I've tried over the years. The price isn't the best out there, but it's still a few dollars cheaper than the Burt's Bees I was using so that's a plus.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AH92
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Gave me a rash on my entire face.
5/18/2016

Customer review by chelsea

1.0 stars 5/18/2016 by chelsea
by chelsea

Almost out of my normal facial cleanser, I noticed the Neutrogena Naturals line and thought I'd give it a try. After only one use I was left with a red rash covering my entire face that took hours to subside. I'll be going back to my old facial cleanser and won't be using this again.

Comment from Neutrogena - 5/18/2016

We're glad you brought this to our attention, Chelsea. It's definitely not typical to see redness or rashes while using our product, and we'd like to learn more about your experience. Can you give us a call? We're available from 9AM to 7PM ET, Monday through Friday, and our phone number is 1-800-582-4048. We're looking forward to hearing from you soon!

chelsea
Worcester, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Better Than You Would Think!
12/9/2014

Customer review by jllowery7

5.0 stars 12/9/2014 by jllowery7
by jllowery7

I've been using this product for about three weeks, and I can see such a noticeable difference in the improvement of my skin. I have never been able to actually SEE results from a skin cleanser before, but this product improved my skin so much that even my husband commented on my skin! (He said that my face looks very bright and refreshed, when I DIDNT have ANY makeup on!) I have very fair and a bit freckly skin. This product has evened out my skin tone throughout my face and has almost erased any dark circles I used to have under my eyes! I used to wear foundation every day to work, but now after using this product I just dab on a tiny bit of loose powder and some blush and my skin looks so beautiful. I can sincerely say that this product has improved my skin. It does make my skin just a teeny bit dry after washing, but I just spray a bit of rose water or makeup mist on my face and that issue is gone. I highly recommend this product.

Comment from Neutrogena® - 12/9/2014

Hi jllowery7. Thank you for taking the time to review our product. We would love to speak with you to learn more about your experience. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048. Our care specialists are available Monday through Friday 8am to 8pm EST. We look forward to your call.

jllowery7
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
This is the best facial cleanser
5/4/2016

Customer review by grandma

5.0 stars 5/4/2016 by grandma
by grandma

I love this facial cleanser. It does such a wonderful, gentle job. It leaves your face so soft and smooth. I hope you continue to make this product or I will be so sad. Good job Neutrogena. Keep up the Naturals products I love them all. No chemicals needed in your cleaners to get the job done. A healthy way to cleanse your skin.

grandma
pittsburgh, pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Extremely Average...
4/15/2012

Customer review by woonik

3.0 stars 4/15/2012 by woonik
by woonik

Before I continue, I wanted to say that I am a fourteen year old girl with combination-oily skin and mild acne. I've been breaking out all over recently, especially when I'm on my cycle. I just wanted to give an idea of what kind of condition I'm doing this review under. I came to this product after continuously using one cleanser for the past ten-eleven months. My old cleanser was just amazing, but my skin was becoming immune to its effectiveness due to my frequent usage. I expected this cleanser to be as good or even better than what I'd used in the past, but I was completely wrong. This cleanser smells great (I couldn't tell if the scent was irritating my skin, but I still loved the way if smelled), but doesn't do much- if not nothing- for my skin. Also, the pump popped off while I struggled to open it, and now, dispensing the product has become much more difficult, but not impossible. Overall, this cleanser just wasn't for me.

woonik
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
magnificent
5/6/2016

Customer review by rickrollz1

5.0 stars 5/6/2016 by rickrollz1
by rickrollz1

best facial cleanser i have ever used! JK it sucked! ha gotcha i actually liked it.

rickrollz1
Boston, Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Skin type:Oily
rash!!!
4/23/2016

Customer review by Brenda

1.0 stars 4/23/2016 by Brenda
by Brenda

I normally use Neutrogena oil-free moisture for sensitive skin. I tried the new Neutrogena naturals and had a rash all over my face in just a few minutes! I rinsed with cold water, but my rash is still with me today. Hopefully I can go back to my original moisturizer without any problems. I feel Neutrogena should refund the cost of the product as it was not cheap!!

Comment from Neutrogena - 4/23/2016

Thanks for taking the time to write a review, Brenda. This is not typical of our product and we'd like the chance to speak with you more and help! Please give us a call at 1-800-582-4048 between 9AM and 7PM EST Monday-Friday and a specialist will gladly help you. We look forward to your call!

Brenda
Lakeland, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
New Favorite Cleanser!
4/18/2016

Customer review by YoungVictorian

5.0 stars 4/18/2016 by YoungVictorian
by YoungVictorian

Based on the other comments, this product is not for everybody, but I love the tingly fresh feeling I get from the wintergreen! I could see how some people perceive it as 'burning' if they have sensitive skin, but I find it to be more of a cooling sensation. I have found that this product doesn't dry out my skin like other cleaners and my face feels clean, fresh, and healthy after I use it!

Comment from Neutrogena - 4/19/2016

We're glad you enjoy the product so much, YoungVictorian! We'd like to learn more about your experience with it. Please give us a call at 1-800-582-4048, Monday through Friday, 9AM to 7PM ET. We look forward to talking with you!

YoungVictorian
Cleveland, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Left my skin feeling soft, clean, and moisturized!
3/11/2016

Customer review by Neutro4life

5.0 stars 3/11/2016 by Neutro4life
by Neutro4life

This is my 1st time using a Neutrogena product and I must say that you guys have earned a new loyal customer! This facial cleanser made my face feel so refreshed and moisturized! Other products dried my skin out but this product did not! I now LOVE this facial cleanser and I want the rest of my body to feel the same. Will be looking into purchasing a Neutrogena Naturals bodywash or bar soap if available. New lifetime customer. Good job guys!

Neutro4life
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
allergic reaction
3/24/2016

Customer review by allergic

1.0 stars 3/24/2016 by allergic
by allergic

I've never had an allergic reaction to anything, but this made my face red and splotchy and caused little red bumps all over my chest and back after just the first use.

Comment from NEUTROGENA - 3/25/2016

We are terribly sorry to hear about your experience with our facial cleanser. What you described is not typical and we'd like to learn more about what happened. Please call us at 1-800-582-4048 between 9AM to 7PM EST Monday-Friday so we can follow up with you. We look forward to your call.

allergic
piedmont ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
A visible difference in 2 weeks
2/12/2012

Customer review by Diva Doll

5.0 stars 2/12/2012 by Diva Doll
by Diva Doll

I purchase the entire line of Neutrogena Naturals about 2 weeks ago. For the first time in my life, I began to wash my makeup off daily using this product. I have always used this brand and had success, but the Naturals line has made a visible difference in my skin. At 45 people are telling me just how beautiful my skin is. I use the scrub and night cream at night and the purifying cleanser and lotion in the morning. I look gorgeous! I've found a great product that works extremely well for African American women. I now have my 17 year old using the products and in one week her skin looked extremely smooth, clear and clean. If you're looking for these types of results, please give this line of products a try. They're inexpensive and more importantly they work. Thank you to the makers of Neutrogena for an amazing line that doesn't burn or irritate my sensitive skin.

Diva Doll
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best face wash ever!
1/9/2013

Customer review by anonymous

5.0 stars 1/9/2013 by anonymous
by anonymous

I have never written a review before but I had to for this product because I was so impressed by it. For my purposes, this is by far the best face wash I have ever used. I have fair, thin, and supple skin. It is mildly sensitive, particularly when makeup is not cleaned off properly. I have tried plenty of other face washes, both drug store and department store brands. Gentle formulas usually do not clean well enough, strong formulas (particularly ones for acne) always tighten and dry out my skin, and others that claim to remove makeup but never quite do the trick. This face wash is able to remove about 98% of my makeup without drying my skin. It leaves a small trace of mascara but that's because I use a waterproof mascara. Otherwise, my face comes out squeaky clean without any tightness. I'm not entirely sure about how natural this product is or where the scent comes from but I enjoy scent and its nice to see Neutrogena making some sort of effort even if it is just a bit of greenwashing (one step at a time, right?). Overall, product works wonderfully! Not harsh and does a great job of removing makeup and impurities!

anonymous
Toronto, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
The Story of Peeling with a Happy Ending
2/28/2012

Customer review by Nascosto

4.0 stars 2/28/2012 by Nascosto
by Nascosto

I go through periods where I feel that it admirably cleanses my face, and then equally comes periods where I wonder why I even bother to continue buying this particular product. My skin is slightly oily (on-and-off) and usually very dry... the Purifying Facial Cleanser amplifies that dryness into both, entire cheeks wildly peeling and flaking. It is disgusting. The only lasting remedy to that scenario is to use the Neutrogena Purifying Pore Scrub immediately after. While, I admit, the scrub itself does not do to me the apparent "pore blasting" action that seems to be subtly hinted, it does work to replenish some moisture and assist in banishing the peeling. I have never use another cleanser, so I unfortunately have nothing to compare. Overall, I suppose that I would suggest this (as long as you figure out the best execution for you.)

Nascosto
The United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Made my skin burn and appear red and blotchy
2/10/2016

Customer review by Caro

1.0 stars 2/10/2016 by Caro
by Caro

The product stung my skin and made it burn, blotch and dry. Tried it three times and gave me the same reaction immediately after use on all occasions.

Comment from NEUTROGENA - 2/11/2016

Thank you for reaching out to us, Caro. We're very sorry to hear about the experience you had with our cleanser. We can assure you that this reaction is not typical. Since this is not something we would expect to hear, we would like you to call us so we can learn more. You can reach one of our care specialists at 1-800-582-4048 between 9AM and 7PM EST Monday-Friday. We look forward to speaking with you.

Caro
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
1-20 of 318 total reviews
1-20 of 318 reviews