Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 7 reviews | 2.3 out of 5

2.5 stars

7 reviews | 2.3 out of 5

2.5 stars

7 reviews | 2.3 out of 5

29%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 stars
3
1-6 of 6 total reviews
29%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Annoying self-promotion and poor sound
10/28/2011

Customer review by AVandelay

2.0 stars 10/28/2011 by AVandelay
by AVandelay

I expect, when I push the power button on a TV, that it will turn on right away. Not this one. Each time you push the power button, it pauses for a second or two, then displays the "SCEPTRE" logo for a few seconds, and then eventually gets around to actually showing you what's on TV. As others have noted, the sound quality is poor -- very tinny. Adjusting the equalizer helps, but the sound remains poor. I could not program it to work fully with my cable box universal remote. Everything on the universal works except for the volume, so I have to use two remotes, which defeats the purpose. The picture is fine. A few weeks after I bought the Sceptre, a different TV in my house died and I replaced it with the Haier L24B1180. The Haier (also available from Walmart) has all the same specs as the Sceptre, but seems to be a superior product. The sound is better, there is no annoying ad each time you turn it on and it works with the universal remote. And the Haier was slightly cheaper.

Was this review helpful? (18) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AVandelay
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Good price for a LED Monitor!
11/10/2011

Customer review by IalNevet

4.0 stars 11/10/2011 by IalNevet
by IalNevet

Been using this as TV / monitor for about 1 week. The colors are good enough for me but for the sound, I use an external speaker for better sound. The built in speaker is just a small little speaker, so I don' expect great sound out of it. My son is using it for his XBox and he seems happy with it. Overall for the price I pay for, I am happy with the product.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IalNevet
Orange County, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
TV wouldn't stay on
8/25/2011

Customer review by TaragueBum

2.0 stars 8/25/2011 by TaragueBum
by TaragueBum

TV would turn off and back on repeatedly. While on, the picture needed adjustments and the sound was a poor quality. I did like the remote design, good size with easy to use buttons. Returned unit to Walmart and ordered another brand.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TaragueBum
East Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Terrible Sound
9/1/2011

Customer review by JMU12

1.0 stars 9/1/2011 by JMU12
by JMU12

I got this TV used it for 2 days and took it back. The picture was alright but the sound was awful. It sounded like it was coming out of computer. Very Unhappy

Was this review helpful? (8) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JMU12
Richmond, Va
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Very Disappointed...
11/30/2011

Customer review by respool

1.0 stars 11/30/2011 by respool
by respool

I purchased two of these based on a Sceptre 24" Monitor that I have and am quite satisfied with it... HOWEVER... out of the box only 1 TV worked. The problem TV would constantly cycle the power on and off and eventually just shut off. In order to "reset" the tv I would have to unplug it and hold the power button in to discharge the components and then plug it in again. On the TV that works the picture is very good but the sound is terrible at all levels. I've returned the non-working model and am going to give the working one a week's evaluation and will probably return it also. My recommendation would be to avoid this model based upon 1 of 2 that works, and poor audio.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
respool
Would recommend to a friend? No
12/7/2011

Customer review by LilVo

1.0 stars 12/7/2011 by LilVo
by LilVo

As soon as the tv came I set it up right away, following all the steps to a T... I even watched it for about 2hrs and it was great....I then went to work and powered everything off and when I returned home I turn the tv back on and it wasn't even on for 5mins....it cut off right in the middle of me flipping thru channels I tried everything to get it back on, but it would come back on and the red stand by light was on the entire time.. so i packed it back up and took it to the nearest walmart and got a full refund!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LilVo
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never