Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 42 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

42 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

42 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

76%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
17
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
7
1-20 of 31 total reviews
76%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 31 total reviews
1-20 of 31 reviews
Seeing is believing...Go with SAMSUNG instead!!
5/18/2011

Customer review by missITgeek

2.0 stars 5/18/2011 by missITgeek
by missITgeek

I Purchased this TV for $329.00 on Walmart.com to replace my old tube TV in my master bedroom. I wanted an LED TV of good quality with all of the features I was looking for (2-3 HDMI ports, USB, etc.) I was a little unsure on how I would like the nickel brush color verses the familiar black but decided to give it a try anyway. I was excited to set it up once it was delivered. The set up instructions are pretty straight forward. However, the swivel stand was a chore! It was extremely hard to match the screw holes from the stand to the TV. You have to align the holes just right or it won't even be attached enough to screw in. It was very frustrating and took about 10 minutes just to align it enough to place the screws. After the stand was FINALLY attached I hooked it up to my Dish Network HD receiver with a top of the line HDMI cable for the best quality display and sound. Immediately the nickel brush did not appeal to me. The nickel brush edging looks cheap and make the TV look cheap as well. The glass swivel stand is the nicest part on the TV. Menu features and remote control are very basic and not user friendly. Picture quality was garbage for a supposed LED TV. Display color was very "washed out" looking no matter how you tried to tweak it. It also had very noticeable "motion blur". Along with the "tin can" look of the TV the sound quality is poor and sounds "tinny". We have a 48" Dynex LCD TV in the living room which is 2 years old. The Dynex sound and picture quality is very noticeably better then the Sceptre "LED". This was discouraging as I thought for sure the Sceptre picture would be vibrant and crisp...not even close! Gave it a try for a week then I decided to pack it up and exchange it at my local Wal-Mart store for a 32" Vizio edge-lit razor LED-LCD TV. Once I got to the store and looked at the TV display wall, I located the Vizio I was intending to purchase but to my surprise the picture quality was good but did not stand out from the surrounding "LCD" TV's much. This made me discouraged and had me contemplating just bagging the purchase of a new updated TV and sticking to my old "tube" television. That’s when I noticed right below the Vizio there was a TV that had awesome picture quality and visually stood out from all of the surrounding mounted TV's to include the LED Vizio, an LG LCD, Sony LCD etc. To my surprise it was a 32" Samsung LCD TV and it had better graphics then all of them even the LED's! Proof is in the pudding...what you see is what you get and I saw a quality picture, classy and very updated unique overall look of the TV and once I saw the price...I was amazed! For $20.00 more than the "Pinto" Sceptre LED-LCD you get the "Cadillac" Samsung LCD TV instead. Sound quality is amazing on the Samsung as well. I love my new Samsung LCD TV and couldn't be more satisfied with the purchase!

Was this review helpful? (156) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
missITgeek
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Extremely disappointing
5/3/2011

Customer review by CitrusMonkey

3.0 stars 5/3/2011 by CitrusMonkey
by CitrusMonkey

I was somewhat hesitant to buy a TV with no user or critical reviews anywhere, and I was right to feel that way. This TV has been a huge letdown. First, the good: aesthetically, the TV is gorgeous. Its LED panel is extremely thin, and the nickel brush finish looks great. Unfortunately, that's where the positives end. The picture quality is decent, but with a great deal of noticable motion blur. In a dark room I can clearly see light bleeding from the edges and corners - I assume that's because this is probably edge-lit LED, although I haven't been able to find out for sure ANYWHERE. I find the light from the corners to be incredibly distracting, but YMMV. I found PS3 games to be practically nausea inducing from all the blur, as well. Blu-rays did look pretty good though. The sound is also pretty terrible - bassless, tinny, and fuzzy. Finally, the swiveling stand made it very hard to attach the base to the neck - yet once it was securely attached, it no longer swivels. I have used Sceptre TVs for years, but this has really left me angry. I guess I need to return this TV for a Vizio...

Was this review helpful? (58) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CitrusMonkey
NY, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Spectre 32 inch LED LCD TV
5/12/2011

Customer review by kkf121098

5.0 stars 5/12/2011 by kkf121098
by kkf121098

Quality picture even without the high def from satelite package. Can see anywhere in the room. Easy to figure out the options. Not pleased with the sound coming from the back of the TV and has a tin can sound to it. But with my surround sound on I can't tell the TV sound is poor. Maybe I do not have the sound hooked up right but cannot figure out how to get the option of analog sound to work. TV wont let me. The price cannot be beat on comparable TV. I love it.

Was this review helpful? (25) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kkf121098
Scroggins, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good TV but poor sound.
5/20/2011

Customer review by RickyDJr

4.0 stars 5/20/2011 by RickyDJr
by RickyDJr

This is very good TV if you want 1080p and I especially like the nickle finish. It has an excellent picture and would get 5 stars if the sound quality was better.

Was this review helpful? (28) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RickyDJr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
WOW !! Exceeded my expectations !! Awesome !!!
8/31/2011

Customer review by Bluesman97504

5.0 stars 8/31/2011 by Bluesman97504
by Bluesman97504

Let me start off by saying this is my 2nd Sceptre TV. The 1st one I purchased 3 years ago and was a 24" I put in my bedroom. I got this 32" to replace it and put the 24" in the guest bedroom. Even the 24" had many many features that other brands did not offer in a 24" set. I also got a great deal on it. I think the quality of this brand is VERY good and the value is great!! After reading some of the other reviews here, people are saying the stand was hard to attach,, I put mine on in 3 minutes. TIP... Make sure you put the stand on so the TV in in the middle of the stand the 1st time. Also stand the TV on it's top so the bottom is up and you can set the stand on the bottom of the TV> If you dont move the swivel portion of the stand it will sit on the tv with the holes aligned. Put the center screw on first and tighten down, then start putting the other screws in 1 by 1 till all are in. TIP.. Do NOT overtighten the screws because the TV will not swivel. Other reviews say the sound is poor, it is because they did not adjust the settings in the sound menu. The sound menu has a 7 band graphic equalizer which you can adjust the sound to your liking. You also can use the sound button on the remote to adjust the Treble and Bass as well. This is more control over your sound than other brands give you on some $800.00 sets. Just take the time to make the settings to what you like. NOTE.. If you expect to get a Theature Surround Sound with booming bass out of this TV, it's NOT going to happen on this set or ANY set of TV speakers. Get a HOME system with a sub woofer !!! The Picture ROCKS!!! even on Netflix. What an AWESOME TV and AWESOME Value !!!!! Oh Yeah,, the color, brushed nickle, looks great as well. I would give 10 stars if I could !!!!!

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bluesman97504
Reno,NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Outstanding 32" LED TV
12/17/2011

Customer review by CinemaPete

5.0 stars 12/17/2011 by CinemaPete
by CinemaPete

I recently purchased the 40" Septre HD TV (X405BV-FHD) from Wallmart and did a review on it and I was amazed at the quality of the 40" compared to my Sony Bravia 40". (The 40" Sceptre is not an LED TV). This is a LED HD TV: the LED means "Light Emitting Diode". LED TVs are a relatively recent addition to TV technology. LED TVs can produce a very accurate and vibrant color range and like a Plasma TV, they produce better black levels than LCD TVs. They last long and produce little heat. Well, after receiving this 32" Septre LED HD TV all I can say is that its picture quality is even more remarkable than the 40" Sceptre - and for the price it is simply astounding. I do pro video work and know what a "black level" means. I didn't expect a remarkable picture, I expected a good picture - but this TV gives me a remarkable image from my cable service that provides HD. Picture quality: Like the 40" Sceptre (non-LED) this TV provides a number of "profiles" that have pre-sets (they can be changed). In addition, there are options for "Color Temperature" - a very important adjustment that allows you to set the color pallet to adjust for serious errors in the material being watched that normal color adjustment controls cannot cope with. Back levels on this TV are outstanding. Overall, the image quality is simply not to be believed - at least with the actual TV I received. I don't know why some of the other reviews of this TV were so negative - this is a remarkable TV and for the price is not to be believed. Are there "better" 32" LED HD TVs... yes, but you'll pay through the nose for the name brand recognition. The only quirk about this model, which is in line with some of the reviews, is the sound. The sound is not bad, but it's not all that great either. It can be "tinny" at times - it depends on the source material. This is no doubt due to the small speakers being used, but you can attach external speakers to this TV, too, and that will make a world of difference. However, the TV has a graphics audio equalizer - something familiar to hi-fi aficionados - that allows you to adjust various parts of the audio spectrum and with this feature you can get better overall sound. I had to use the equalizer to reduce some of the tinny quality of the sound. If you adjust the 1000hz AND 4000hz down to a little below zero it will sound less tiny. In addition, there are separate bass and treble adjustments. I also noticed that on some programming material sound was better with the Surround Sound OFF. Some stations do not send out a proper surround sound signal causing the voice channel to be lower than the surround channels - turning the surround sound feature off will improve intelligibility - but it all depends on the actual station you're viewing. Playing an HD movie from a Blu-Ray player via one of the TVs HDMI ports is indeed a treat. I attached my Panasonic Blu-ray player and picture was simply jaw-dropping. However, I didn't buy this TV for it's sound capability and neither should you. I bought it hoping I would see a "good" picture and in this respect I can tell you that, unless you have a defective model or really bad signal source, you will be amazed - unless of course you're color blind. Warning: Don't purchase this TV unless you have a quality signal source such as HD cable, HD satellite, Blu-ray player, etc, because a TV like this shows up all the defects such as color inaccuracies and noise in a signal very easily. You MUST have a quality signal to get the most from this TV. Even though this TVs sound could be much better I still rate it 5 stars for its picture quality. I actually purchased this 32" TV as a gift but I'm now reluctant to part with it. Guess I'll have to buy another one!

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CinemaPete
New York City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Great Buy!
7/8/2011

Customer review by z2z3z

5.0 stars 7/8/2011 by z2z3z
by z2z3z

I have this tv in a 11x11 room and it looks big! This is my 2nd Sceptre tv and I am very happy with both of them! You really can't get a 32" tv of this quality at a better price.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
z2z3z
Las Vegas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice price & Nice TV
5/14/2011

Customer review by IalNevet

4.0 stars 5/14/2011 by IalNevet
by IalNevet

Bought a similar Sceptre TV but in Pink. It's a nice LED TV with nice acceptable color ... fine tune the colors if it is not to your liking. Sound can be better. My daughter use it for her Kinetic and she loves the TV. With a bevel Glass Stand, the TV looks classy and swivel too. It comes with 3 HDMI ports and that's great. Hope to get some great mileage out of it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IalNevet
Orange County, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Deal on an LED TV!
10/14/2011

Customer review by kalynn63

5.0 stars 10/14/2011 by kalynn63
by kalynn63

I bought this TV for my son and it was an excellent deal for the money. The TV has captured many more channels than our basic cable package actually offers due to the digital tuner and the picture quality is superb. The sound quality could be a little better but for the price - definitely well worth it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kalynn63
Fleming Island, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very happy with our purchase.
11/22/2011

Customer review by RealDeal1970

5.0 stars 11/22/2011 by RealDeal1970
by RealDeal1970

I was able to order the tv through my iPhone then track it's status. It was a good experience plus the quality of the tv is great for the price.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RealDeal1970
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent tv for the price !!
8/30/2011

Customer review by babygirlROSIE21

5.0 stars 8/30/2011 by babygirlROSIE21
by babygirlROSIE21

well when i was deciding on buy a tv for my game room i was doing my research at all the store's .and i couldn't find a better deal then the one walmart was giving on this excellent tv that offer's LED,LCD 1080p a decent size tv for my gaming not to small or not to big just perfect and the price you can not find a better deal then this trust me i tried . and i didn't want a larger tv i mean i do have a larger one for my family room a 54' inch plasma and a projector for those special night with the family to watch movies . but for gaming the Sceptre 32" Class LED-LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, 1" Ultra-Slim, Nickel Brush, E320GV-FHD is just perfect for it i actually brought up my ratio up on my game's haha the color on this tv is excellent and the Nickel Brush look give's it that special look .so all in all i'm very satisfied with my tv and i'm sure if you bought this tv for you're self you won't regret it either ..

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
babygirlROSIE21
Joliet IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Way to go Sceptre LED HDTV
3/11/2012

Customer review by Leonaza

5.0 stars 3/11/2012 by Leonaza
by Leonaza

Words cannot express how happy I am with this TV... I bought it about a month ago and I have to admit that after reading some of the reviews I started having some doubts about this purchase. First of all, this was my first LED TV purchase; therefore I wanted to find the one that has a better picture quality and affordable. I decided to take the risk and let me tell you that I am so glad I did. This TV is absolutely gorgeous and classy... I got lots of complement from friends and family already... I strongly recommend it...

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Leonaza
Newark, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Basic L.E.D
3/18/2012

Customer review by Phantom25

5.0 stars 3/18/2012 by Phantom25
by Phantom25

I won't pound this t.v like it's garbage because it really not. The picture quality is beautiful when in 1080p and stilled. the movement is not refreshed as quickly so you see the shades. If you play with the picture you can get something really beautiful but for a gamer like me you need to find a good medium for both movies and games.... this company is really getting there though and for some reason the 720p version is better with motion than this one.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Phantom25
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good transaction!
12/22/2011

Customer review by 042652

4.0 stars 12/22/2011 by 042652
by 042652

Product ordered online and arrived at specified time. Easy to set up and get going. Perfectly acceptable for bedroom television.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
042652
Grand Bay, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
$100 less than Sears is selling the same TV for.
10/17/2011

Customer review by Dbridinger

4.0 stars 10/17/2011 by Dbridinger
by Dbridinger

Sent the pink LED LCD TV to my sister and the brushed one to my parents. The price was GREAT! Has may features of higher priced TVs. As far as the quality of this brand I have had a 27" version out in my pool house for YEARS with NO problems. Granted it is in a cabinet but is still somewhat exposed to the elements (as they are here in SoCal). I expect them both to get long and useful viewing experience with these TV's. The USB port is handy for attaching a large media storage device with movies or photos. All around a positive experience and outstanding price!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dbridinger
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don't do it.
10/23/2011

Customer review by Helix187

1.0 stars 10/23/2011 by Helix187
by Helix187

I would NOT suggest anyone buy this tv. I bought my first set and within 1 1/2 months it had 3 stuck, and irreparable, pixels right in the center of the screen. I then took it back and returned it in-store and decided since it was such a good deal and there was no possible way it could happen with such severity again: I would order the tv again. I'm currently looking at 2 dead pixels I found the day I opened the box whilst waiting for my new vizio to ship to me. If you want a good tv with a respectable reputation: go with vizio. One year "zero bright pixel" warranty and a name that is common and can be trusted. Dead/stuck pixels are a way of life with LCD and LED tvs, but this particular instance is unacceptable.

Was this review helpful? (3) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Helix187
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
12/26/2011

Customer review by Whirls5

4.0 stars 12/26/2011 by Whirls5
by Whirls5

Great overall for the price, good picture quality and sound

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Whirls5
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Cheap price. Cheap quality.
12/23/2011

Customer review by WallyWallyCheapCheap

3.0 stars 12/23/2011 by WallyWallyCheapCheap
by WallyWallyCheapCheap

Pros: Picture quality is good. Works great for standard def, HDTV, and PC input. Cons: Worst sound possible. Very few adjustments for picture quality. Light leaks from edges hurt black scenes. This TV is good for a bedroom TV. However, the sound is so bad that you will need some kind of sound system for it. A sound bar is a good option. I used a pair of cheap PC speakers hooked up to the headphone out. You will not believe how bad the sound from the built in speakers is. It is no exaggeration that is really not listenable. Do not buy it without hearing it first, or plan to use supplemental sound. I am keeping the TV because it was a good price and the picture quality is pretty good. Not Samsung, Sony, or Vizio good, but great for bedroom TV and as a large monitor for my home theater PC. I solved the bad sound with PC speakers. It is worth $270, but not a penny more.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WallyWallyCheapCheap
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great TV for a great price
12/26/2011

Customer review by Dyandyalani

5.0 stars 12/26/2011 by Dyandyalani
by Dyandyalani

I have this TV for three weeks now and Absolutely enjoying it. I thought its only 720 p but it converts to channels with 1080i capability even in my ps3 converts to 1080p that shows to the right upper corner of the screen in a matter of seconds. I was shocked, if you don't believe it try it for yourself and give me a reply.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dyandyalani
Dallas, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Horrible
7/27/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 7/27/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Picture quality was ok but the sound was terrible, literally sounded like I was listening to non stop chipmunks. When there was just a tiny bit of bass there would be a noise as if the speaker was about to burst and this was at a low level i didnt even want to put it up more. Think it throught before buying this tv you will end up wasting more than what its worth.

Was this review helpful? (1) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 31 total reviews
1-20 of 31 reviews