Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 8329 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

8329 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

8329 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4511
4 stars
2293
3 stars
441
2 stars
258
1 stars
826
1-20 of 6817 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 6817 total reviews
1-20 of 6817 reviews
fantastic bargin
9/13/2013

Customer review by BKreader

5.0 stars 9/13/2013 by BKreader
by BKreader

new Sceptre 32" flat screen arrived earlier today... what a great bargin. unpacked, checked manual, used included (did not even have to get out my tool box) screwdriver and had the base mounted in less than 5 minutes. really easy to follow instructions, and everything (different screws etc...) was packaged separately so there was no confusion as to what part was what, or where it was to be used. excellent picture, was shocked at the quality. have not even removed the protective film from the viewing screen and it is really a great picture as you can see from the attached photos of both use as a computer monitor, and watching the TV. it is a bit larger than I was thinking it would be, but am happy with it. easy to switch from input source to input source. remote has a button for selecting the source, then just up/down arrow to highlight the desired input and hit enter... sit back and enjoy your TV, DVD BK

Was this review helpful? (100) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BKreader
SE Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best TV Ever
1/25/2013

Customer review by Tilly1735

5.0 stars 1/25/2013 by Tilly1735
by Tilly1735

I want to say congratulations on the manufacturers for making such a great TV. And to Walmart for selling this TV. Because it is pretty darn indestructible. My TV was slammed to the ground, my wife put oil and acrylic paint all over it, around it, in the vents, all over the screen, inside the screen, on the buttons, on the remote, on the stand, on the back, everything. And my friends, it still works. Like brand new! The stand is a little wobbly now, but other than that it's picture perfect. Even my wife is amazed. However, I hope that you can learn to limit your use of your TV better than I before your wife decides to let you know in her own way as well. I hope you enjoyed this story of man's triumph over evil. The pictures below are the after-math of two days scraping paint off. P.S. I got my Xbox working again too.

Was this review helpful? (50) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tilly1735
Death Valley, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Inexpensive HDTV!
8/20/2011

Customer review by LA15M3AND4

5.0 stars 8/20/2011 by LA15M3AND4
by LA15M3AND4

I use this in my master bathroom and it has exceptional sound and picture quality for this space. I have Several LCD's and they from multiple manufacturers and im very please with this purchase. It's an excellent value for this price. I would not hesitate purchasing another if needed!

Was this review helpful? (45) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LA15M3AND4
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Better than expected. GREAT price!
10/2/2012

Customer review by 352Fella

4.0 stars 10/2/2012 by 352Fella
by 352Fella

I have owned this TV for 4 months, now. I wasn't even aware what "brand" Sceptre was, but I was in desperate need of a new TV, and had a limited budget. I purchased this TV right at $190+tax ship2store. I couldn't be happier with it! To be honest, I don't use my TV a lot. Mostly college football games, the occasional video game, and I have a Roku 2 XL box that I also stream Amazon Prime movies with. I may go an entire week without even turning the TV on. So the TV, in general, is not being heavily used. The box that the TV arrives in is huge. The TV itself is pretty big, once it's out of the box and on the stand. Setup was a breeze. I don't have cable, but I do have an antenna. And with the digital tuner, my local channels come in crystal clear. It will take some time to get the settings just the way you like them. And if the TV is unplugged for any reason, the settings reset, which was a letdown. The 3 hdmi ports are more than enough for me, but others may feel they need additional outlets. The overall picture quality is above average. The contrast ratio is only 3000:1 (compared to an LG 32" which is 70,000:1), so you'll get what you pay for. The audio does seem a bit low for different channels, so you'll find yourself with the remote in hand, readjusting the volume settings regularly. All-in-all, I would recommend this TV to any that wants to add an nice flat screen TV to accent any room. I would not recommend this for gamers or anyone wanting a complete HD experience. :)

Was this review helpful? (34) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
352Fella
Gainesville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
AWESOME TV !
12/30/2012

Customer review by MonetsMommy

5.0 stars 12/30/2012 by MonetsMommy
by MonetsMommy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this 32'' TV for my daughters room for her to watch tv, play her wii and watch netflix and I was a little scared when I bought it because it was one of the cheaper TV's and I was NOT familiar with the name brand but when I plugged it up Iwas pleasantly surprised at how great this TV is !! the sound quality is SO ExCELLENT that I had to turn it all the way down to 10 !! and it was at a great level that low !! the picture is so vivid and bright ! the characters in the game looked like they were stuffed animals in the room with us !! the netflix movies were AMAZING to watch !! I am getting another one of these for my own room ! it is a wonderful tv and very very easy to hook up and it came with a stand that easily mounted on top of her dresser. when I turned it on and it did the channel search thing all tv's do when you first plug them in I sat down ready to wait the long wait like tv's in the past and I wasn't even comfortable yet and it was done !!! LOVE LOVE LOVE this TV and got it for less than $200 with tax and shipping !!!

Was this review helpful? (34) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MonetsMommy
marble falls, texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good for smaller areas.
12/29/2012

Customer review by MisterPKL

4.0 stars 12/29/2012 by MisterPKL
by MisterPKL
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I needed a low cost TV and this was in the right price range. I wasn't expecting much. But this turned out to be a very good purchace. Sound is good with an equlizer built into the set and the audio is run through HDMi, no RCA cords at all. Picture is good, I didn't adjust to the User settings, the factory settings are really good on this set. I can see the picture from the side well and as an added bonus the base swivels 30 degrees each way. I set this unit on my coffee table and can swivel it so I can watch It while I cook in the kitchen 20 feet away and the picture is still good. Easy to set up and they even put a nice little screw driver in with it. I was watching football 10 minutes out of the box! Remote works well, and they included a nice list of remote codes so it is easily programmable. I also got the extended warranty so I'm good for the next 4 years. I purchased it online and it was delivered 3 days later right to my door. I am pleased.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MisterPKL
Morristown, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Decent set for the money
6/1/2011

Customer review by Melodian

4.0 stars 6/1/2011 by Melodian
by Melodian
Top 100 contributor

I bought this to replace a failed 32" Aquos, and while the picture may not be quite as good, it's not bad at all -- nothing I could find particular fault with, especially considering it's half the price I paid for the Sharp three years ago. The Sceptre name isn't that well-known yet, but they've been making high-quality LCD computer monitors since 1993, so it's only natural that they would branch out into HDTV. This is a basic set, and you can tell that corners have been cut in a few places to meet the price point: for example, the remote control has a slightly cheap, plastic-y feel to it, and as others have commented, the audio is a bit flat; however, the latter can be successfully compensated for by adjusting the set's EQ settings. There is also plenty of control in the menu system for tweaking the video, aspect, and and other settings to your liking. Three HDMI inputs are a plus, and I like the headphone jack so I can watch it late at night without disturbing anyone. Can you get a nicer, fancier 32" panel for an extra $80 to $100? Of course, and those so inclined might check out LG or Sony. But if you're looking for bang-for-the-buck value, this Sceptre is a great choice.

Was this review helpful? (1852) (405)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Melodian
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 100 contributor
Head & shoulders above my CRT
10/18/2013

Customer review by Almitra38

5.0 stars 10/18/2013 by Almitra38
by Almitra38

I am just now ditching my old 200 lb CRT tv for these new, thinner (lightweight) models. The picture on this tv is crisp and beautiful, and the sound is only tinny out of the box. Just like the tint, you must go into the menu and adjust everything to your personal liking. Once we struck the balance we liked for all the options (in about 10 minutes)--we were watching the most amazing picture and sound we've ever owned. And we even attached one of those new flat panel amplifying antennas since we don't have cable, dish, etc. I am uber satisfied with this purchase. Yes, I've only had it a few days, but it doesn't shut off by itself (it'll only do that if somebody inadvertently sets the sleep timer OR if you are on a "no signal" station for 5 mins. I also read among the reviews that people felt compelled to hook up their computer speakers to amp up the volume...I can't imagine why because it is so clear and loud on its very own that it isn't even remotely necessary IMO. My 14 YO son said the same thing--why would anybody deem that necessary? Perhaps there are some "lemon" tvs out there just like cars, but mine sure doesn't appear to be 1 of them. I highly recommend this acquisition, folks. :)

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Almitra38
Tyler, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1 year to the date
12/26/2012

Customer review by jshannon

1.0 stars 12/26/2012 by jshannon
by jshannon

1 year to the date, either the backlight or the power supply has gone bad. This is what I've figured out by reading online forums with other people having the same issue. The center of the screen went very dim but the edges seem okay. Yeah, it's a great deal for a TV that size but if it's dead exactly one year later it's not a good bargain. Also, the manufacturer's web site is useless for finding answers or getting help. They really don't even have a functioning web site. That should tell you all you need to know about the Spectre brand.

Was this review helpful? (24) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jshannon
Marietta GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Picture Okay but Sound is Horrible
12/26/2011

Customer review by Allstar394

2.0 stars 12/26/2011 by Allstar394
by Allstar394

I ordered this TV thinking I would use it in our bedroom. After two days I knew it would end up as a guest room television. Picture is fine, although a tad dim when compared to our other flat panel TVs. Our biggest issue, & one that makes me consider returning it to Wal-mart, is the poor sound quality. In fact we had to turn it to the maximum setting on one show to even hear above the central heat running. The speaker is quite tinny sounding. While it doesn't always require you to turn it up that high to hear, it does require it frequently. It's going to the spare bedroom and we're going with a name brand for the bedroom. I would spend the extra $50 and get an RCA or Vizio.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Allstar394
Gatlinburg, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome TV for an Awesome Price
3/16/2011

Customer review by ktbz

5.0 stars 3/16/2011 by ktbz
by ktbz

Easy to set up, light weight, sleek looking and overall a great buy. Perfect size for watching TV in the bedroom and video game play.

Was this review helpful? (368) (97)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ktbz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dead after 3 days
1/27/2012

Customer review by DevaluedCustomer

1.0 stars 1/27/2012 by DevaluedCustomer
by DevaluedCustomer

Picture bit the dust on the third day. However, Walmart.com was quick tell me they would ship a new one out - even before I sent the dead one back - and they are paying shipping on the dead one. Hopefully the new replacement will arrive today AND will actually last longer that 3 days.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DevaluedCustomer
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Value HDTV
12/24/2011

Customer review by Heel4Life

4.0 stars 12/24/2011 by Heel4Life
by Heel4Life

Bought this TV for my parents for Christmas. Was a replacement for an 11 year old 25" tube tv, so the 32" flat screen and HD were a giant leap forward for them! Extremely pleased with how quickly we received it (ordered on Monday - delivered to home by that Thursday) and loved the free home shipping. Very easy to setup and could not believe how lightweight (after having the old behemoth tv) this unit was. Pulled it out of the box - screwed the stand onto the bottom and had it up and running in no time flat. Set it up while the parents were gone so it was running strong when they got home. We have it hooked up to satellite HD and that works great. Only real knock on it is the sound quality at times. Most channels work just fine but on some sporting events the background noise of crowd drowns out the announcers. I'm not a big tech/sound guru so I might just not have found the proper setting and we most definitely don't have it hooked up to surround sound so those things may help. Have had it about a month now but so far EXTREMELY pleased with this TV and would highly recommend it for anyone looking for an inexpensive (but not cheap made) upgrade to the flat screen HD TV world!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Heel4Life
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for 2nd TV with no game and little computer
3/30/2012

Customer review by Papachapstick

4.0 stars 3/30/2012 by Papachapstick
by Papachapstick

We got this form my daughter (19) to watch TV and possibly connect to laptop for web surfing. Therefore, there is no gaming so I was not worried about the 720p, note it is not interlaced. Currently the TV is functioning perfectly for her use. I am looking to replace our bedroom TV with the same type of technology. Know how you want to utilize a TV first helps direct what you need. Shipping to the store was one day earlier than anticipated. No one was art the desk in the store but showed up in 5 minutes. There was damage on the bock and I filled out an incident form. However, the TV seems to have no scratches or wear as the damaged box. We are keeping it as it is and coming back for another TV. Hope this help you avoid the pitfalls. I rated based on the price I was paying and the features that I was looking for in the unit. I will say that I did not expect the unit to perform well with the sound. If you can live with altering the sound inside some movies and when you switch to regular TV then it is not an issue. Otherwise you will need to get a sound system for the size of the room/ rooms that you are looking to use as a home theater.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Papachapstick
Redford, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Beautiful TV
11/18/2011

Customer review by SalonTrix

5.0 stars 11/18/2011 by SalonTrix
by SalonTrix

Very happy with this tv. Beautiful and at a great price! Love it for my bedroom. I'm also an instant roku fan. Boxing up my cable tv things and cancelling cable tv today!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SalonTrix
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Spare Bedroom Quality
12/28/2011

Customer review by Buffalojohn

3.0 stars 12/28/2011 by Buffalojohn
by Buffalojohn

Not a great TV but a good spare bedroom purchase. Bought at a great price. Sound is very tinny. Picture is clear but only fair-good quality on vivid display. Sports did not pixelate. Easy to place on stand and hook-up with HDMI cable. It will serve fine for its purpose. If you need a TV for anything more than minimal to moderate use go with a major brand. You will pay more but it will be worth it. I might still buy it again at the price knowing what I know.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Buffalojohn
Buffalo, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
good tv for fair price
4/12/2013

Customer review by bigb22

4.0 stars 4/12/2013 by bigb22
by bigb22

This is a very good tv. I just got it today. Sound n picture r great! I love that its much bigger. I ddt find a 3d button though. I do love the tv. I only paid $231! Which is the cheapest ive found:). I am impressd n still shockd how big it is.I do love it as a first time sceptre tv user. O n i got it super fast 2 less dan 5 days!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bigb22
basile la
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/19/2012

Customer review by WTWC

4.0 stars 12/19/2012 by WTWC
by WTWC
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The plastic sticker that protects the front TV frame left an impossible fragment behind when I pulled it off. Now it just leaves a cosmetic eyesore 1 1/2 inches long on the frame. Other than that, the TV is excellent for my bedroom.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WTWC
Parma, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My First Time
5/8/2012

Customer review by PinkChampagne

4.0 stars 5/8/2012 by PinkChampagne
by PinkChampagne

I'd been chomping at the bit to upgrade from my old 19" tube TV to a flat panel HDTV for a long, looooong time. My first thought was that I didn't want anything smaller than 37", and nothing with less than 1080p. When I found this deal online, however, I decided I could probably live with a 32", 720p television. Was I right or what? I hadn't taken into account how small my living room is, and I do believe anything larger than this would have been overwhelming in it; and the 720p is far superior to what I'd been watching, even without an HD source. This is the perfect TV for me - just the right size and with enough clarity to make me just sit with my chin in my hand and sigh. It was light enough for me to carry from my car into my apartment with no difficulty whatsoever, and set up from entering my apartment to unpackaging the TV to having it sitting on my TV stand watching television was less than 20 minutes. I definitely recommend this for those who want a lot for a little money!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PinkChampagne
Montgomery, Alabama USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Bad picture, bad sound
11/28/2011

Customer review by LabRat4U

2.0 stars 11/28/2011 by LabRat4U
by LabRat4U

Just bought the TV online on black Friday. Excellent price. Received it on Saturday = FAST! Problem is, picture is not at all sharp, and even after trying to adjust it, it was overall too dark. I noticed after purchasing the contrast ration is 3000:1, compared to my Sony which I believe is 40,000:1. HUGE difference. I do not yet have HD installed, they are installing next week, however, I purchased a Sony last black Friday and even without HD, that has a sharp picture. I even hooked up a dvd player to it, the picture is just not good. Not to mention the fact that the speakers sound like tin cans. The TV also has a swivel base (never heard of a larger tv having a swivel base) but it feels unstable - it seems very wobbly where the base connects to the TV (that part comes pre-connected, it's not that I didn't screw it in tightly enough). It is a very nice looking TV, great price, but not worth it to me as I like a very sharp picture. Spend a little if that is important to you.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LabRat4U
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
1-20 of 6817 total reviews
1-20 of 6817 reviews