Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 157 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

157 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

157 reviews | 4 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
78
4 stars
49
3 stars
5
2 stars
9
1 stars
16
1-20 of 142 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 142 total reviews
1-20 of 142 reviews
Sometimes you get more than what you pay for
10/2/2013

Customer review by TheIrishWeaver

5.0 stars 10/2/2013 by TheIrishWeaver
by TheIrishWeaver

First off: to get optimal accuracy get a laser boresight and zero in the scope at 25 yards to really get the accuracy and power of this rife to work for you. I purchased this at a local walmart for the purpose of dispatching pigeons at my mothers house (she just got a new roof after Sandy and there are more flying rats ruining the new shingles and skylight than you can count) and i wanted something inexpensive i could just leave there for when i visit. Using standard pointed hunting pellets with 4-5 pumps i have humanely taken 6 pigeons at a distance of 60 to 75 feet. *they dropped like rocks* It is a VERY accurate pellet gun....BB's are all over the place do not even bother using them.

Was this review helpful? (80) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheIrishWeaver
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Rifle, Bad Scope
7/27/2013

Customer review by Nickdj

4.0 stars 7/27/2013 by Nickdj
by Nickdj

I recieved my Daisy 880 rifle with scope today (7-26-13). I've had this rifle years ago and this one didn't disappoint me either. The only thing that was a disappointment was the scope. When I could get the crosshairs in focus the background/target were so out of focus that I could hardly make out what I was shooting at. When I got the target in focus the crosshairs were so blurry that I could hardly see them. My advice? Go ahead and get the rifle by itself then purchase a scope of better quality. I have an old Tasco 4 power that I'm going to put on it tomorrow. I've used that scope on my Marlin Model 60 .22 rifle and it worked great. I've purchased a variable, more powerful scope for the Marlin and will use the Tasco on the Daisy. It's the same size both in power and physical size as the Daisy scope so I don't see any problems with it. As for the rifle, I liked the one I had years ago and I like this new one as much. The old one didn't die either I just sold it to my sister.

Was this review helpful? (43) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nickdj
Princeton, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great for backyard target competitions! Was amazed
6/8/2013

Customer review by jfh0528

5.0 stars 6/8/2013 by jfh0528
by jfh0528

I've had this gun for a few years, and I gotta say, I am still impressed with it every time I pick it up. The accuracy is consistent, and I can hit cans nearly every time even at 100 ft. The pump feature is both amazing and a total drag. It's nice because you can choose how much pressure to put behind your shot. I do 15-20 pumps when hunting crows/rabbits/squirrels, and I've killed every one that I've hit. The negative to the pump feature is the amount of time and energy it takes to pump (especially when target shooting) and the noise of pumping (relevant to hunting). I used the scope for a short amount of time before realizing that it would not stay sighted. So I do not use the scope accessory except for a low-zoom telescope. Overall, I love this gun. I've probably put thousands of rounds (both BB's and pellets) through this thing, and it still kicks like the first day I got it. Minus the poorly crafted scope, I consider this a GREAT BUY!

Was this review helpful? (39) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jfh0528
Pataskala, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great rifle for a Great price
4/20/2013

Customer review by ratled

5.0 stars 4/20/2013 by ratled
by ratled
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this to plink in the backyard. This is a great little gun for that, it would also be nice for varmint control for say up to 30 yards, maybe more. I have only used it as a pellet gun, no BBs but it does take BBs also - more control with a pellet. It is quite enough for backyard use. 2-3 pumps is more than enough for indoors, 4-6 pumps for out door plinking, and 10 pumps for game & varmints. The scope is workable and good for the price but it would never hurt to upgrade in the long term. It's favorite pellets are the Crosman hollow points and pointed rounds. It's least favorite are the Destroyers. At 10 pumps it will put a hollow point into a 1/2" piece of plywood and will poke out the back end. I would say this is NOT a kids gun unless you would be willing to give them a 22LR. All in all I am happy with this gun. I would buy it again if I was to do it all over. It is a nice in between rifle - better than a Crosman 760 pumpmaster but less than the break barrel rifles, but cost is more like the pumpmaster

Was this review helpful? (40) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ratled
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Value
6/12/2012

Customer review by Reno61

4.0 stars 6/12/2012 by Reno61
by Reno61

I needed a varmit gun and foldly remembered the Daisy Powerline 880 I had as a boy. It was a decision to go with either the Crossman 760 or the Daisy 880 and I decided on the Daisy and am pleased so far. Both airguns are well made and have good reputations, but I decided on the Daisy mainly because it has a rifled barrell and is rated with a higher fps. I was leary of the Daisy because of some of the critical comments some reviewer made, but am pleased with my purchase. The gun appears to be well made and is very accurate without the scope. I agree with the reviewers that said the scope is a piece of garbage and you're better off either buying a better scope or not using one at all. I don't have particularly fat fingers and it can still be a bit of hassle loading the .177 cal pellets, but nothing that can't be overcome. The bottom line is I would recommend this airgun for those needing a varmint gun or to introduce kids to weapon operation and safety.

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Reno61
Charleston, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
One Small Regret
8/18/2013

Customer review by MazeStoneMan

4.0 stars 8/18/2013 by MazeStoneMan
by MazeStoneMan

I've owned the 880 for about 15 years. The "bolt" has a raised area at the barrel end that broke off so now it won't release the mechanism that allows it to fire. I am contacting Daisy about getting a replacement bolt. As another reveiwer wrote, I was getting dime-sized groups at 50 feet with the small, flat-nosed Daisy pellets with open sights. Those pellets apparently are no longer available. I have noticed a drop in accuracy with pointed, hunting pellets. The gun has plenty of power when pumped 10 times and is adequate for hunting small game. I have noticed a decrease in accuracy over the years which may or may not be attributed to damage to the rifling caused by shooting BBs. I would not recommend shooting BBs with this gun because of that. If you want to shoot BBs get a BB gun ;) Overall I really like this gun and originally I had purchased a rifle made by "Brand C." The 880 proved to be much more accurate. Having said that I also own a Brand C pump-powered pistol that is extremely powerful, accurate, and reliable.

Was this review helpful? (17) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MazeStoneMan
Hemet, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Works well but has one fatal flaw (military bkgd)
5/23/2013

Customer review by Wolfance

2.0 stars 5/23/2013 by Wolfance
by Wolfance

This works amazingly well with 6-10 pumps. At 10 pumps with a target at 20 feet away, this is rated to put several BB's within an inch circle. Pellets would make it more accurate. Very easy to adjust screws(people have complained they move a little but if you put the cap back on tightly, it's doable) to sight in the scope. Very good for beginner and fun for experienced shooters. HOWEVER if you look at the picture, you will see ONE screw holding the stock to the middle part of the rifle. IF that screw goes loose(and it WILL eventually)- it affects the aim. The stock is plastic, and the screw gets stripped(I have tried bolting even) the butt rest and the hand hold will tilt 1-2mm. This is small, but when shooting 20 feet, it throws off the aim a good 6 inch. SO for experienced shooters, I just apply downward force to make it tilt one way all the time. Only lasted about 100 shots before screw got too stripped. This was only with 6-10 pumps per shot with bb balls. I would suggest you invest a little $ into a sturdier stock.

Was this review helpful? (23) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wolfance
Colorado Springs, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
Great overall value and shooter
7/28/2012

Customer review by prluv516

5.0 stars 7/28/2012 by prluv516
by prluv516

My first 880 had an issue with the cocking mechanism and the magnet had shot out the front. Pellet grouping with the daisy variety pellet pack yeilded decent groupings at 1-1/2 inch @ 20yds. Most shots not over 3 pumps due to limited space. Recommend crosman premier hollow or domed and RWS Wadcutter. BB accuracy not great however loose grouping at 3-4 inches @10 yds. The new replacement rifle cocking is straight to the rear and crisp as opposed to the first one which i noted the handle would go into the rifle at a funny angle. I noted new one to sound like a tuning fork after shot? and seem stronger pump for pump comparison. Recommend trigger mod as taking the slack up to break point is annoying. Overall great value and best in its price group. Recommend better scope,good pellets, and break in procedure listed in other review.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
prluv516
Port Orchard, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Value
8/7/2011

Customer review by ImOnABoat

5.0 stars 8/7/2011 by ImOnABoat
by ImOnABoat

Shoots great group, about a dime at 50 feet. Important thing is to break it in properly. using pellets, shoot 10 times with three pumps, and then shoot another 10 times with 5 pumps. Afterwards, you shoot with up to 10 pumps and it will be very accurate once you attach the scope and sight it in. scope is easy to sight in as well.

Was this review helpful? (572) (61)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ImOnABoat
AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
excellent gun for beginners& expierienced shooters
11/11/2011

Customer review by bpl1998

5.0 stars 11/11/2011 by bpl1998
by bpl1998

this is an excellent variable pump rifle, if you are looking for power and accuracy, you just found your gun. this is a very extremely accurate gun that i personally have literally shot thing in half with. i highly recommend this but keep in mind it is not a toy so shoot safely

Was this review helpful? (220) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bpl1998
sugarloaf, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
VERY good for the price.
9/17/2013

Customer review by pkrhed

4.0 stars 9/17/2013 by pkrhed
by pkrhed

Picked one of these babies up for my son a few weeks ago. He's a small scrawny kid and he was wearing himself out cocking and shooting my Crosman Fury break-barrel springer. This one is easy for him to pump. Shoots way better then we have a right to expect for a $39 gun. Straight out of the box, as soon as I sighted in the scope, I was shooting dime sized groups at 20 yards (seated rest) with Crosman Premier Hollow points. The trigger was a little stiff at first, but crisp, not bad for an airgun at all. I bent the handles of three tablespoons & hung them on a wire in the back yard. My boy sits and drills them nearly every time from 50 to 60 feet. He's put over 2,000 rounds through it already, no problems. He LOVES his pellet rifle! Nobody comes close to Walmart's price on this.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pkrhed
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
awsome pest hunter
6/17/2012

Customer review by AirGunAwsomenessOfBeastly

5.0 stars 6/17/2012 by AirGunAwsomenessOfBeastly
by AirGunAwsomenessOfBeastly

The daisy 880 is well worth the money.I recomend crosman premium pellets, and dont use bbs because they are inaccurate.I recomend pumping it 10 times to kill pests.The scope it comes with is not that bad if you take your time to sight it in.This was my first pellet gun i have ever had and I loved it.YOU NEED ONE

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AirGunAwsomenessOfBeastly
New york, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
VERY ACCURATE WITH PELLETS, not so much with BBs..
1/8/2012

Customer review by the86d1

4.0 stars 1/8/2012 by the86d1
by the86d1

BB shots can vary up to 3 inches at 10 yards, however pellets are DEAD ON with this. I kept getting random 2-3 inch variance with BBs at 10 yd, so I thought I'd try pellets. Pellets hit dead on every shot, every time, because of the rifled barrel and the pellet spinning. I have had this for about a year and BBs are more accurate with the same model that is over 10 years older. I have shot hundreds more BBs through this newer one, so the barrel might just be worn a bit, but with pellets I have no drop, or variance. AWESOME with pellets!

Was this review helpful? (50) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
the86d1
Menifee, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
a nice little BB gun
5/3/2012

Customer review by Papaballoon

4.0 stars 5/3/2012 by Papaballoon
by Papaballoon

I had exchanged a Ruger pistol that I did not like and picked up this and the Crosman Pumpmaster 660 as well. THIS is a decent little gun. The lever is long and has great pumping ability. it is all cheesy plastic...but for $40, it is not going to be super construction. This has a nice feel to it and is marginally able to use both BBs and pellets. i loved this with theBBs! easy feed, it picks the BB up and puts it in the breech flawlessly every time. And it is quiet and FAST! a little pop and the BB smacks the target. very nice. it is a little more accurate with pellets, but the downside is that it is difficult for big fat fingers like mine to get those tiny .177 pellets in the feeding trough with any consistancy. so as a pellet gun it is rather marginal, but as a BB gun. it is better than most out there. I like it a lot. I think I will share it with my Grand daughter!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Papaballoon
MArion Iowa
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great power and accuracy for the price
3/8/2012

Customer review by TwinDad2012

5.0 stars 3/8/2012 by TwinDad2012
by TwinDad2012

Great gun for a beginner - plenty of power and accuracy. I bought two for my twin boys and both have lasted through the first month - that is saying something. They have shot over 2000 rounds of BBs at targets in my backyard and continue to shoot daily. Well worth the money for the enjoyment they are having with the guns.

Was this review helpful? (72) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TwinDad2012
Gardner, Ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works well!
4/17/2014

Customer review by 13speed

5.0 stars 4/17/2014 by 13speed
by 13speed

I bought two of these to teach my twin boys how to shoot and handle guns safely. For $45, I have to say it shoots very well! The scope, with it's 15mm objective lens, is not much good in dark conditions, but in decent light, I can shoot pellets nearly through the same hole at 10 meters shooting from my hind legs! Don't bother with BBs, they spray all over the place, but this rifle/scope combo is amazingly accurate with pellets and not picky about which brand or type of pellets. Hard to beat for 45 bucks. One tip: flat-nose type pellets are much easier to load under the scope than the pointed ones. They don't have as much tendency to flip backwards when you put them in the loading port.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
13speed
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great little rifle
9/27/2014

Customer review by wolv3rine88

5.0 stars 9/27/2014 by wolv3rine88
by wolv3rine88

I purchased my daisy powerline 880 from wal-mart for $44.99 plus tax in store which is still a great price it came with a cheap little 4power scope which does not take too terribly long to sight in out of the box the scope or mine at least was way way off but once you get the scope sighted in it holds its zero and this rifle is a tack driver with gamo red fire pellets its a one shot one kill rifle and also very accurate with crosman premier hollow points it will easily take out squirrels and also rabbits I just prefer the gamo red fire pellets they are slightly more consistent in their accuracy now with basic zinc coated bb's its really just a plinker then it is not consistent with bb's at all you can get close on targets but with the normal inconsistency in the casting of bb's thats just how it is with bb's its a good plinker/target shooting gun for fun with proper pellets its a pretty serious critter getter to put some good eatin on the table I definitely recommend it

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wolv3rine88
Christiansburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Inexpensive, Accurate, fun
5/25/2013

Customer review by KG4EIQ

5.0 stars 5/25/2013 by KG4EIQ
by KG4EIQ

I had one of these when I was younger. I cut a lot of yards to pay for it too. I saw one and thought $45.00 bucks. Wow!, that's cheaper than I remembered. I could not help myself and home it came with me. Well, there is not metal where I remembered metal being. And the scope. I looked at that pitiful thing and just left it in the box. This thing is accurate. I was shooting those wood boring bees trying to bore into my deck out of the air when they were still at 10 paces. man, what fun! My wife tells me I'm a big kid. I totally agree. Get you one of these. You won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KG4EIQ
Ohatchee, Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great value & great accuracy
8/20/2011

Customer review by Nupraptor

4.0 stars 8/20/2011 by Nupraptor
by Nupraptor

I been using this Air rifle for over 4 years and works great, excellent accuracy, excellent for practice, fun with the bb's and even hunting small animals such as squirrels, rats, rabbits and doves using pellets...the only but is the hard way to load the pellet.

Was this review helpful? (56) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nupraptor
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome pellet gun
12/27/2013

Customer review by Walnut777

5.0 stars 12/27/2013 by Walnut777
by Walnut777
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this to teach my 9 year old son to target shoot. I took it outisde and sighted in the scope from 25 feet. I was amazed at the accuracy of the pellet gun. It also has a rifled barrel which makes a huge difference with accuracy. My 9 year old had never shot before. He took five shots standing with no rifle rest and got 2 bullseyes and 1 below the bullseye and 2 shots about 6 inches off bullseye. He was really excited. This pellet gun got him off of his tablet and ps3 for most of the day. We later stepped it up and starting shooting fom 50 feet out and this gun was still very accurate. This review was written after 1 day of use. I cant comment on how reliable this gun will be in the long run. We put about 200 rounds through it today with no issues.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Walnut777
Anderson, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 142 total reviews
1-20 of 142 reviews