Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 142 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

142 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

142 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
48
4 stars
56
3 stars
16
2 stars
9
1 stars
13
1-20 of 129 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 129 total reviews
1-20 of 129 reviews
Overall Good Swingset
6/2/2011

Customer review by MomWith3Boyzzz

4.0 stars 6/2/2011 by MomWith3Boyzzz
by MomWith3Boyzzz

It was in 2 boxes and we sorted out all the pieces 1st like others have recommended. Everything was marked and the instructions were easy to follow. It looks great and kids love it! My youngest is 2 and he able to easily climb the ladder and go down the slide. The clubhouse is small enough that I don't have to worry about him getting out of my reach and falling. My oldest is 5 and he loves the monkey bars. The only bad thing is it's a little wobbly when the kids are swinging. I think we may be able to put a little more support in the clubhouse to sturdy it up. (Helps that I am married to an architect) Really hope it holds up for years to come, we sprayed a sealer on it and raised it a little on concrete blocks. We also plan on adding a sandbox under the monkey bars. Overall we are happy with the purchase. When we were researching swingsets I couldn't get a good concept of the height on this one so I took a picture of my 6ft husband standing under the swings so others could get an idea.

Was this review helpful? (95) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MomWith3Boyzzz
Hutchinson, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
parents=tired kid=happy
3/28/2011

Customer review by Happy2YearOld

4.0 stars 3/28/2011 by Happy2YearOld
by Happy2YearOld

Took about 17 hours from when we opened the boxes to the time the final bolt was put on to finish putting the swingset together. Make sure you sort all the wood and hardware before starting to assemble to make it easier to locate and to make sure you are not missing anything. We came across a few problems while putting it together such as the wood not labeled clearly, wood is not as sturdy as I would like and the instructions were not very specific on how to position the wood for further assembly to take place. ** TIP... when installing the base of the fort make sure the holes are in position for the table and the bench.** Overall it was a pain to put together but the look on my two year old daughter face when it was completed makes it all worth it!!! She loves it..... so it all worked out in the end.

Was this review helpful? (115) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Happy2YearOld
eglin afb fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Kids love it, parents still sore two days later
4/19/2011

Customer review by 1SuperDad

5.0 stars 4/19/2011 by 1SuperDad
by 1SuperDad

It took my wife and I about 9 hours to put it together, with her arranging the parts for the next step while I was assembling. Some tips: definitely sort the parts before beginning, it makes a huge difference. Also, I didn't realize initially that the torx bits are included in the big bag o' bolts, so make sure to find and use those right away. Pay very close attention to the way the holes are oriented on the boards that make up the fort, particularly the uprights and the bottom boards. I had to take apart a couple of different steps because I had put the boards the wrong way. Finally, if you follow the instructions as written, there's no way you'll get the holes in the roof assembly aligned with the mounting holes on the fort. I just got the roof on there level, then drilled new holes to mount it. Definitely a test of the man-skills!

Was this review helpful? (78) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1SuperDad
Corpus Christi, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Extremely Satisfied
5/29/2011

Customer review by Evan2003

5.0 stars 5/29/2011 by Evan2003
by Evan2003

Extremely satisfied with the value this product has to offer vs. price. Took us about 12 hours to set up. All wood was marked and the instructions were pretty straight forward. Just time consuming. No boards split during installation. The boards are a little on the thin side, but you get what you pay for. The swings are very sturdy. I'm 150 pounds and easily holds me. If you're considering purchasing a swing set, you will not be disappointed with this one. Don't expect it to be like the ones in the park, those cost in the multiple thousands.

Was this review helpful? (46) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Evan2003
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Swing Set for the Money
11/22/2011

Customer review by mswguitar

5.0 stars 11/22/2011 by mswguitar
by mswguitar

We bought this swing set based on the price and the positive reviews, and after putting it together, I have to say I'm pretty satisfied with the purchase. I built this in one weekend, spending about 4 hours on Saturday (with the help of my 14 year old son) and about 8 hours on Sunday, mostly working alone. The first day was spent laying out the wood/hardware and assembling the ladder, monkey bars, and swing assembly according to the instructions. The second day was spent mostly on the fort (as this had the most pieces), and then attaching all of the big pieces together. My 4 year old was so excited when I finished and she loves the swing set. Here are some tips: 1. As many reviewers have stated, it helps if you lay out your wood beforehand and try to group it together. All of the wood is marked but some pieces are hard to read. The hardware is also marked in bags. 2. It's very helpful if you have two drills as you'll often be drilling pilot holes and then driving in screws. Fortunately, I have a set of Makita drills (one drill and one impact driver), and these were invaluable. They include two T40 torx bits with the swing set that you can use in the chuck of your drill. My drills only have a quick release shank, but fortunately for me, I had my own torx bits I was able to use. Make sure you can use the torx bits because it will probably take you at least twice as long if you have to fasten the bolts by hand. 3. Pay close attention when building the top section of the fort. I put two of the four corner posts in wrong. I could have taken them down and flipped them around, but since one on each side was correct, I only needed to drill new pilot holes to attach the upper face plates. 4. In the section where you attach ladder support pieces to the floor, there are no measurements that tell you where to attach them (there are no pre-drilled holes either). I used the ladder that I built in the first step and temporarily attached the support braces to it. I then held it in place where it was going to attach to the fort (measuring to find the center), and marked where to drill the holes for the support braces. 5. The roof is a PAIN to attach to the fort. One reviewer just drilled his own holes, which is certainly possible. I was able to get it by attaching one side (don't tighten it down yet), then attach the other side. You'll really need to work at it to get it all lined up. Once you have the bolts connected, cinch it down with your drill. If all else fails, drill your own holes or use longer bolts (2" instead of 1/5").

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mswguitar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Put up faster than expected, smaller than expected
11/3/2011

Customer review by caitln

4.0 stars 11/3/2011 by caitln
by caitln

After reading the reviews of how long this thing took to put together we were anticipating it taking days. My 24 year old husband and my 63 year old father assembled this by themselves. My dad started while my husband was at work, and for maybe 2 hours or so did it by himself, lying out all the pieces and assembling easy pieces. My husband came home from work at 1pm and they were finished everything but hanging the swings by dinner time. So I'd say it went together really quickly and was easy to assemble. My husband didn't have a plug in drill it was a cordless so the battery kept draining, but didn't seem to slow them down much. As far as size, it's way smaller than I anticipated. My husband is 6'2" and his head can touch the top of the monkey bars and swing beam. The monkey bars are only 3 bars across, so it's small. Also, the play house up top is way small! My 5 year old can't stand up in it without hitting his head. The slide seems pretty flimsy, so I don't know how well that will hold up over time, it's only been up for a day. My son does love the picnic bench desk thing underneath and sat out there for a couple hours coloring on it while my dad and husband were finishing assembling this. All in all, I am happy with it. It was definitely the best price we found, and the kids are excited. Not as big as expected, but that would make it good for people with smaller yards. The wood seems to be high quality so I'm hoping we get years of use out of it. I'd definitely recommend this.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
caitln
Ft Bragg, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Happy Grandchildren!
5/15/2011

Customer review by charlie1chase2

4.0 stars 5/15/2011 by charlie1chase2
by charlie1chase2

Have 4 grandchildren under the age of 5... they love it! Good quality product for the money. Takes a while to put together especially if you are not a carpenter... Directions are excellent. Most of the wood was marked, but if it wasn't, you could tell which piece it was by its picture in the direction book!

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
charlie1chase2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
3/22/2011

Customer review by pmktmh

5.0 stars 3/22/2011 by pmktmh
by pmktmh

Its not as impressive when you get it out as the picture shows. There are 3 monkey bars. The rock wall is tiny. We got it half done in one night and the rest the next day. Overall good just don't expect it to be like the ones at public parks.

Was this review helpful? (25) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pmktmh
oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Horrible!!!
4/7/2012

Customer review by lampy10

1.0 stars 4/7/2012 by lampy10
by lampy10

We opened it up and started putting it together. After starting, we were missing 3 pieces of wood that were very important, then as we continued on we ended not having about 20 pieces total. We couldn't even have the swingset finished for our son's 3rd birthday! Nothing to do with Walmart, just the company itself. It was very upsetting since you pay all that money and can't even have all the pieces you need to complete it.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lampy10
Upstate NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Best Deal For The $ On The Market!
7/4/2011

Customer review by Ohiopaul

5.0 stars 7/4/2011 by Ohiopaul
by Ohiopaul

The instruction manual is the best written on the market. Make sure all boards are facing the proper way and the holes in proper position. The manual shows clearly right left front and back. Pre drill all holes or you will split boards. This is without question the best buy on the market and will give you 8 years of fun if your baby is two when you build this. I put it together myself working about two hours per day for ten days. Boards are clearly marked, and all holes line up if you carefully follow directions. The roof is difficult because there are no guide marks on the rafters. Its easy to get out of alignment and it will not fit when finished. You must measure each roof part and sometimes go back to loosen the previous boards to allow the next roof board to line up. You cannot attach one roof board and assume the rest will follow straight. Good luck. This was a fun project.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ohiopaul
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Allow extra time for shipping
12/27/2011

Customer review by Ashley2122

3.0 stars 12/27/2011 by Ashley2122
by Ashley2122

I ordered this playset for my daughter for Christmas. It arrived in store on time (2 weeks before Christmas). After bringing it home and opening the boxes I did a complete inventory of the contents and compared it to the inventory sheet that was included. We started assembly a week before Christmas and durning assembly realized that numerous pieces were missing (as they were listed in the instruction manual but not on the inventory sheet). After the tally, it is a total of 25 pieces that we are missing which left us at a stand still putting it together. We called the company on Monday and they told us the pieces would be shipped and would arrive in 5-7 days. Today is day 7 and we still have no pieces and were unable to get ahold of anyone at the company today. As for the product.. I think that it will be a pretty good product once we have all of the pieces to put it together. Assembly that we were able to accomplish has not been too difficult. I am just very unhappy with spending money and not receiving the product. And I am not happy to see the disappointment on my daughter's face as she waits and waits for us to be able to finish it for her. (It was a Christmas present that was not even close to finished on Christmas). Main recommendation is to check every part to the list in the manual the minute you get this product so that if you are missing parts you can order them right away.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ashley2122
Greenville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Also missing pieces... A+ Customer though
4/16/2012

Customer review by Daddo222

3.0 stars 4/16/2012 by Daddo222
by Daddo222

Family purchased this as a Christmas present for 2011 Christmas. We planned a crew of family members this past weekend and started inventorying Friday night. Upon double and triple checking, we came to the conclusion that we were also missing about 11 boards. I immediately (7:30pm Eastern time) called up customer service and to my surprise, a human answered the phone within 2 rings. They apologized and thoroughly reviewed what I was missing. Took my information and gave me a reference# to call back with if I had any issues. Monday morning now, and I just received a phone call from them saying my pieces would go out today via Fedex 2Day Residential service. honestly, can't really argue with that. Although it was frustrating not being able to assemble the whole thing at once, dealing with the customer service was a very pleasant surprise. Plus it bought me a few days of being able to position the "fort" and work the ground preparing for wood chips or gravel without having to work around the kids. SUMMARY - 4 adults which was great for (2) 2 person teams - Inventory took approx. 1.5 hours with 2 people - 85% construction took approx. 5.5 hours - Guessing I have another 2 hours ahead of me to finish construction by myself Tips: - inventory is a 2 person job - have a large staging area for your inventory of boards and bolts - organize the hardware in groups: bolts together, screws together, nuts together, etc... - definitely make sure that the boards are orientated the proper way before mounting - make sure the swing hooks are uniformly in a straight position... sideways and they will not swing efficiently and the hooks will dig into the wood beam incorrectly. Having to fix this ultimately weakens the wood beam - tighten the bolts more than you think is necessary - you will need to weather seal this upon completion - they recommend 4' of clearance from outside perimeter... that's a lot of space! My final spot is approx. 27x19 with cleared ground; pressure treated 4x4 perimeter at ground level; with gravel or wood chips for filler. I have a drainage issue under the swings that I'm trying to figure out as we speak...

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Daddo222
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Terrible!!
4/4/2012

Customer review by ksdak

1.0 stars 4/4/2012 by ksdak
by ksdak

I regret buying this swing set! Before we started building we organized all the boards so they would be easier to find. When it came time for the (E77) main support brace it was not there! Looked on the parts list, it was not listed! (There should have been 2) Called the support number, sat on hold for 1/2 hour. Ended up driving 1/2 hour away from my house to get somewhat matching boards so we could move on. (Support said they would ship them out but it would be 10 business days!) Got that part built, moved on a few steps to find out we were missing 4 more boards! We went over every single board and quantities and we were missing 11 boards total! We called the closest Walmart and they luckily had another swing set and told us we could come get the parts we need to finish. So we finally got the boards to finish my kiddos swing set! (Still needed to go to the local hardware store so we could mount the swings because the brackets were also missing!) They can finally play. I do not recommend this to anybody. I will never buy this product again! Save your time and money! DO NOT BUY!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ksdak
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11 1/2 hours later . . . . . . .
7/20/2011

Customer review by happyinholland

5.0 stars 7/20/2011 by happyinholland
by happyinholland

We purchased this for our grandchildren - two are 3 years old and 1 is 6 years old. We were very pleased with the swing set. Since we put it together in hot weather, we started the assembly in the garage and moved it into the very sunny backyard when we had completed the bottom part of the fort. Laying out all the pieces before beginning is a HUGE help. As noted above it took us 11 1/2 hours from opening the boxes to attaching the swings and glider. We will be putting a coat of sealant on it this weekend to ensure many years of use!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
happyinholland
Holland, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5/24/2012

Customer review by Gallop49

4.0 stars 5/24/2012 by Gallop49
by Gallop49

We purchased this for our grandson. We separated all the parts ,put together everything in the garage until we got to the base of the fort then placed it where it was going and went from there.we are adding a sand box also. We would have liked to put it under the fort and not used the picnic table as he already has a table but I don't think it would be big or deep enough so maybe by the monkey bars. For 500 dollars it's worth it but do make sure you stain it if you want it to look good in a year. You won't be sorry.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gallop49
Watertown NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
WARNING! Missing parts
5/18/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 5/18/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I realize that this may not happen to everyone, but I want you all to know my experience with this product. I have ordered a swing set from Walmart.com before and liked it, so after we moved to a new home we ordered another one. We went to put it together and 17 pieces were missing!! Yes, I said 17. I called the manufacturer and they said it may take up to 10 days for my missing pieces to leave their warehouse and then anoter 2-3 days to get to my home. I have a very disappointed 5 year old on my hands. This may be a fine product, but I cannot tell you than since it is still not put together. It is a great price but I think this many missing pieces is totally unacceptable. Make sure you count all the pieces before you attempt assembly.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
ct
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
missing half the pieces
12/23/2011

Customer review by tnd81

1.0 stars 12/23/2011 by tnd81
by tnd81

I am VERY upset over this product. I ordered this to be the BIG surprise for Christmas for my boys. We received the set a couple of weeks ago but waited to put it together so that it could be a surprise. As we started to assemble it we discovered that we are missing several key pieces to it. We are missing braces and support beams, you know the things that actually make the set functional. We can't even put it together now. I was told the parts wouldn't even ship out until two days after Christmas. Thank you Backyard Discovery for ruining Christmas. I expect that when I order something I will get what I pay for, as in ALL THE PARTS I PAID FOR!! Very unhappy customer here, it's not Walmart's issue though it is the distributor Backyard Discovery.

Was this review helpful? (7) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tnd81
Dover, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
4/25/2011

Customer review by aaronl220

5.0 stars 4/25/2011 by aaronl220
by aaronl220

Great Swing Set. Kids love it. Dont be afraid when you see all the piece's. It took three people and around ten hours to put together. And dont be alarmed, they give you alot of "extra" hardware that you wont need. Very strong and sturdy swing set. Very impressed.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aaronl220
Springfield IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Jungle Gym for the price
9/5/2011

Customer review by AJLM

5.0 stars 9/5/2011 by AJLM
by AJLM

What a value! We priced shopped all of the big box stores extensively for Jungle Gyms and comparable models run closer to $700-800. We took advantage of the site to store option to save on shipping costs. My husband & his father assembled in 11 hours with no issues. They laid all the pieces out first and followed the directions exactly. No pieces were missing & everything went together as planned. Our daughter is 2 years old and it is the perfect size for her to grow into. It is very sturdy. Holds myself, my husband and our daughter with no issues. Does come with stakes but we did not feel we needed them.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AJLM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Backyard Discovery Cedar Swing Set
5/23/2011

Customer review by JaG89

5.0 stars 5/23/2011 by JaG89
by JaG89

Step-by-Step instructions were very easy to follow and the company provided plenty of fasteners to do the job. The only negative comment I have is that the kit was missing one small support board, which I fabricated on my own. Install time wasn't too bad, it took me 1 1/2 days to install by myself. Overall very satisifed with product.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JaG89
New Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 129 total reviews
1-20 of 129 reviews