Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 176 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

176 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

176 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

70%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
76
4 stars
42
3 stars
8
2 stars
13
1 stars
37
1-20 of 165 total reviews
70%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 165 total reviews
1-20 of 165 reviews
Best bang for MY buck....so far!
7/20/2011

Customer review by GreatDealsNo1

5.0 stars 7/20/2011 by GreatDealsNo1
by GreatDealsNo1

Just purchased and assembled this unit. Was so impressed with it's features, weight and suck power that I ended up doing the entire home which is 75% tile. It worked wonderfully, effective and efficiently changing from one height to another. It did not throw the overflowed kitty litter on the tile anywhere, except sucked it right up into the canister! it adjusted in a jiffy from one carpet level to another, then easially back to the lower level for the majority tile. I think that in the future i will leave the setting on number 3...midpoint, because it has tremendous suction and gets all the dirt off the tile and I can go directly over and on to the carpet. I can't begin to praise enough for the wirling hand wand/brush. The suction is so great that it turns the hand attachment brush like CRAZY and still will suck the pile out of the carpet. Can't tell you about durability because I have owned it less than a week, but it seems well constructed thus my expectations are high. WHAT A MACHINE FOR ONLY 60 BUCKS! A great value

Was this review helpful? (30) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GreatDealsNo1
cape coral, Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This One is a WINNER
12/10/2011

Customer review by dundette

5.0 stars 12/10/2011 by dundette
by dundette

Now keep in mind I just got this little red beauty one day ago and have only used it one time in my home but I am so pleased with it. It is very light weight for me and really sucks up the dog fur and "stuff" on my carpet! It took me just a few minutes to put it all together, so if I can do it anyone can do this. Then I vacuumed my whole house. Love it. My old Dirt Devil I've had for many years is still going strong, but I just decided I had better get a new one before my old one bit the dust. They both are great vacuums but the major difference is weight. I clean homes to supplement my income and my heavy vacuum was getting to be too much for me to haul about. But this new one will not present that problem! The dust cup does fill very quickly but shoot!...that is what we use a vacuum for isn't it? I don't mind stopping to empty it. Rather do that than to look in the collection cup and not see any results. If you are on the fence with this vacuum, I'll say go for it. I really love my new vacuum....well, as much as one can love a vacuum.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dundette
Winston Salem, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great! Very Light too!
6/1/2011

Customer review by dwmommy

4.0 stars 6/1/2011 by dwmommy
by dwmommy

The Dirt Devil Total Vision is a very light weight vacuum and very easy to use. My favorite feature is the HEPA Filter that does not need to be replaced. All you need to do is rinse it under water to clean! That is so nice since many times filters can get pricey to replace and hard to find at times. Over all I am very impressed with the vacuum. I love all the attachments in which I did use while cleaning my husbands car. We did a huge landscaping job and used his SUV to haul away all the root balls. It made a mess in my husbands car. Using the Dirt Devil Total Vision, I cleaned that messy car up. The only issue I had with the vacuum is that since it is a lighter vacuum it kept falling over when I used the hose attachment. Other that that issue, I love the vacuum. Very easy to use and lite enough to carry up the stairs too, which is great since my old vacuum is very heavy.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dwmommy
Jasper, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Excelelnt Value
6/13/2011

Customer review by CleaningMama605809

5.0 stars 6/13/2011 by CleaningMama605809
by CleaningMama605809

Overall, this vacuum is excellent. As a new mom and pet owner, I have become more concerned about cleanliness than ever before. I have hardwood floors throughout my house and in the past, I would primarily use the vacuum to clean along baseboards and furniture. The suction is surprisingly very powerful and picked up well on bare floors. I will no longer need to sweep with a broom first! The Turbo Tool works great on furniture! All of the pet hair came up after one pass. The Total Vision is very lightweight and easy to maneuver. The hose is long enough to reach baseboards, backs of closets, etc. My only suggestion would be a slightly longer hose. The headlight is a nice bonus as well. Lastly, it is nice not having to replace bags - this will save time and money. Excellent vacuum for a range of needs and an appealing price! Please note, I am a participant in a user study.

Was this review helpful? (41) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CleaningMama605809
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Powerful & Great Features
6/1/2011

Customer review by hart85

5.0 stars 6/1/2011 by hart85
by hart85

I used the Dirt Devil Total Vision Cyclonic Upright as part of a user study and was very impressed. Here are my thoughts: Pros: Great Power - I was surprised as soon as I turned it on with the power and suction. I have mainly hardwood floors and it had no problem picking up hair and dirt from bare floors. It has a wide base to clean a larger surface area, which is also nice. Features - I really appreciated the height setting so I could move quickly from hardwood to area rugs and get the same cleaning power. I feel like this is a necessity if you have hardwood floors with area rugs. My old vacuum only had one setting and I dreaded vacuuming the rugs because the height was too low and I'd have to really push and pull it through the rug. Light Weight - Glides easily on carpet and hardwood. Very easy to use and carry. Attatchments - Attachments are easy to use and are great for cleaning baseboards, couches, etc. Con: Not necessarily a con for everyone, but because it has such a wide base, it's not ideal for small spaces. And because of the height settings, if you're vacuuming a thicker carpet, the vacuum height is obviously going to be higher, so it's not as easy to fit under furniture. However, one of the attachments acts as a mini vacuum- with wheels and bristles - and worked great under all furniture, so I didn't find this to be much of a problem. Overall, I'd highly recommend this vacuum. Great price for power, excellent features and ease of use.

Was this review helpful? (94) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hart85
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Lightweight Vacuum
6/13/2011

Customer review by FarmerTedThomas

5.0 stars 6/13/2011 by FarmerTedThomas
by FarmerTedThomas

This is a very nice, lightweight vacuum. It glides nicely over carpet - so nicely that my five-year-old who wanted to help was easily able to push it across our living room. The pick up was good as well. I had just vacuumed three days prior to my first use of this and there was a significant amount of dirt in the canister. The canister was easy to empty and the assembly was very quick. I tested this product as part of a user study and was very pleased.

Was this review helpful? (48) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FarmerTedThomas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So far so good
5/23/2011

Customer review by winodee

4.0 stars 5/23/2011 by winodee
by winodee

I purchased this vacuum BEFORE reading the 2 negative reveiws, and I must admit, I wanted to return it, but instead decieded to take a chance and use it. First of all the vacuum is so lightweight, I couldnt believe it. I have had a Dirtdevil "Vision" for over 13 years, and it soooo HEAVY, but has swivil casters to make it 'EASIER" to handle, but lugging it up and down stairs takes a weightlifter! This new "total vision" is so much lighter to handle. I was apprensive purchasing an upright now that I have tile floors, due to the kicking around of small rocks and dirt, but cant afford a canister, and it did it a little, but not much...It works great on my area carpets, picking up dog and cat hair. As far as its durability, Ill let you know...Ive only used it once, and can confidently say "so far so good"

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
winodee
Los Angeles, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
HORRIBLE product! Broke within a month!
10/19/2013

Customer review by Flyinirish

1.0 stars 10/19/2013 by Flyinirish
by Flyinirish

Bought this vacuum April, 2013. During very first time I used it, the "turbo tool" brush that is *supposed* to be fantastic at picking up pet hair stopped rotating and it's pretty much useless. Suction is horrible on it. Then about 1 month later I noticed I had no suction and discovered (by detaching the hose) that all of the pet hair I had been vacuuming up (3x/week for 4 weeks) had created one GIANT hairball at the end of the hose (where it connects to the vacuum - see photo)!! Since then I figured out I have to clean out the hose at least once a month or this continues to happen - UGH! Then in Sept the lever that locks the vacuum in upright position broke off when I pressed it. THIS IS A HORRIBLE MACHINE but I guess you get what you pay for!! bought at Walmart for $60 and since it's too late to return it to store, I'm contacting DD to return or replace with brand new one. In the meantime, I'm shopping around for more durable machine and not something cheap like this!

Flyinirish
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 week
Powerful and lightweight!
10/1/2011

Customer review by tnt22

4.0 stars 10/1/2011 by tnt22
by tnt22

I just replaced my old Dirt Devil Swivel Glide (bagged) model with this one. I am very surprised at how powerful the suction is. It's lightweight compared to my old vacuum and other cyclonic vacuums I've tried. As for being loud... No way! My Swivel Glide was sooo much louder. I did clean the container twice the first time I used it. However it was full of hairy and dusty fluffy stuff. Obviously my old vacuum was only getting the big noticeable stuff. But this one never tried to quit or lost any suction power. Also, it has brought back the pile of my carpet! With any bagless vacuum you HAVE to empty the container and clean the filters! If you expect only to empty it when it's full you don't need a bagless vacuum...I have had this one for about a month and use it 3 or 4 times a week. I empty the container after every use and have not had to clean the filters yet. Besides, I don't want to look at a dirt filled vacuum tank everytime I go into the closet. The only reason I didn't give this model 5 stars is... It really could use a 5 foot longer cord and if it had swivel wheels it would be PERFECT! I do miss the ease of swivel wheels. I have a family of five and we own a cat and dog. This vacuum gets everything up. It really picked up alot of animal hair that the old vacuum had left behind. I cringe at the thought of my kids playing on the floor with all of that stuff being down there. I've also noticed that my a/c filter hasn't got so much dust on it now!!!

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tnt22
Pikeville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great vacuum, except for that slipping belt
5/31/2012

Customer review by Matchbox20Girl

1.0 stars 5/31/2012 by Matchbox20Girl
by Matchbox20Girl

I should have paid more attention to the reviews...or at least the ones where people had actually owned/used the vacuum enough to justify writing a review. I've had this vacuum 4 months, and I have to put the belt back on it every single time I use it. That's not exactly an easy task, either--there are 6 screws holding the bottom on--these all have to come off before you can put the belt back ON the beater bar. It seriously takes longer to do this than you get to vacuum. I've had enough. I just want to vacuum--not repair my vacuum every day. Sorry, Dirt Devil, but you dropped the ball on this model.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Matchbox20Girl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
What do people expect?
1/29/2012

Customer review by TrustandObey4

4.0 stars 1/29/2012 by TrustandObey4
by TrustandObey4

This is a low end, affordable vacuum, otherwise it would cost 2 to 3 times as much. With that being said, it is simple, easy to use, and has tons of sucking power. It empties out easy enough, and if it breaks I will either return or get it repaired. That is why Royal offers a one year warranty. I would not recommend this vacuum if you have over 800 sq ft of carpet, and if your expecting something to catch all the pet hair without clogging, might try a shop vac. If you want a bag-less monster vac, take a serious look at the LG Compressor, a Panasonic, or worse a Dyson. Actually Bissel has one of the best all around uprights made, but it will run you 150.00 or so. Not sure what we can expect for 60,00, other than a vacuum that works decent, is simple, and pulls the dirt out of the carpet.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TrustandObey4
Stanton, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1/9/2012

Customer review by kirkland75

5.0 stars 1/9/2012 by kirkland75
by kirkland75

I really love using the dirt devils and I would reccommend them to everyone. I really like the Dirt Devil Total Vision Cyclonic upright,. UD70220 and I hear they will no longer make this model. I really hate they are going to discontinue making this model. I sure hope they don't I reaaly love this. I clean houses for a living and this works really great for these jobs. Please don't stop making this model.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kirkland75
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good vacuum for the price
5/25/2011

Customer review by pilkie01

4.0 stars 5/25/2011 by pilkie01
by pilkie01

The vacuum is a good product for the price. It is lightweight enough to transport up and down stairs easily, but still powerful enough to clean up the messes left by my 1 dog, 3 cats, and 2 young children. I especially like the multi-floor feature that allows you to vacuum wood floors to shag carpeting. Granted, it may not be as powerful as some other models, but again, it's a good deal for the price.

Was this review helpful? (40) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pilkie01
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worst Vacuum We've Ever Own
1/26/2012

Customer review by BMAC13

1.0 stars 1/26/2012 by BMAC13
by BMAC13

This vacuum lasted about 3 months. It clogged constantly with pet hair and it got to the point that it would not suck up anything, so we pitched it. It did a poor job on area rugs and an even worst job on bare floors (it just blew the dirt around). The hose ripped, the latch broke, and it was incredibly loud (my 7-year old would run to another part of the house when it came out of the closet; the dogs would run to the door to be let out). My wife and I both commented that it felt dirtier after we vacuumed because the hose would constantly pop out, throwing dirt into the air. We contacted Dirt Devil to complain about the constant clogging and they said their warrant wouldn't cover that. It was a piece of junk.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BMAC13
Would recommend to a friend? No
The Little Vacuum That Could, Unbeatable for Price
8/19/2013

Customer review by BuffaloTiffany

5.0 stars 8/19/2013 by BuffaloTiffany
by BuffaloTiffany

I purchased this when my husband was between jobs and we NEEDED a vacuum. We have 6 kids, including a new baby, so I use my vacuum probably more than most. I vacuum about twice a day, sometimes more. We have a large home that is almost entirely carpet, and I use the hose/ tool for the "sweeping" also. I cannot praise this vacuum enough. Even though we can now afford any vacuum now, I have NOT purchased a new one. This vacuum puts up with all the abuse my family can dish out. I have run it for probably 30 min at a time with no problems. I love the filter because honestly..... wash it, dry it and it works like new!! I swear this vacuum just wont give up! We've had it for a few years now and little pieces are starting to go # plastic break etc.# but the motor and vacuum as a whole is still going strong. I will not be getting rid of this until it just gives up.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BuffaloTiffany
Ennis, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Practically self-propelled!!!
4/3/2012

Customer review by celticwolf

5.0 stars 4/3/2012 by celticwolf
by celticwolf

I was not too sure about this vacuum cleaner when I ordered it. I had a Dirt Devil that I wished to replace after numerous years of reliable and dependable cleaning. I was more than pleasantly surprised when I got it home, put it together (inside twenty minutes) and turned it on for the first time. WOW!!! It practically ran away from me. The one I had before had the swivel wheels and was easy to maneuver, but this one is a dream! It sucked so much dirt out of my carpet on the first run, I was shocked. I had just cleaned the day before and the amount of dust and dirt in the cup was shocking. I thought I was getting my carpets and furniture clean, but I was amazed at how much this one picked up on the very first ten minutes. I would definitely recommend this one to anyone. I have arthritis and it is a dream to operate, almost self-propelled and lightweight. My former Dirt Devil was great....this one is fantastic!!!! I got all the onboard tools I wanted, with powerful suction that really gets everything clean from the floor, to furniture, to miniblinds, etc. I could not be more pleased.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
celticwolf
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent at first
4/4/2014

Customer review by MR14

4.0 stars 4/4/2014 by MR14
by MR14

I read the reviews and they were mostly good. It was easily available at a reasonable price. I used the vacuum 4 times with no problem. It was light weight, easily maneuverable, and picked up really well. I didn't like the short attachment hose but it Had extension hoses so I didn't have to work hard to clean the baseboards. On the fifth time I used the vacuum, I was almost finished cleaning and turned it off while moving a table. When I went back to continue cleaning, it didn't turn on. I thought the plug had slipped from the wall socket. That wasn't the case it wouldn't turn on. Make a long story short, it did the same thing the next time I used it. Not sure what happened, but if took it back before getting stuck with a relatively new vacuum. Loved it when it was working but not sure why it didn't turn on those couple of times. So yes I would recommend but with hesitation.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MR14
Conover, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
2/2/2012

Customer review by photo1

1.0 stars 2/2/2012 by photo1
by photo1

This vacuum lasted about 2 weeks. The hose had no suction and the vacuum is very cheaply made. I bought it to use as a second vacuum, but returned it very quickly. Would not recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
photo1
plattsburgh,ny
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Forget this product if you have pets
2/19/2014

Customer review by verysweetfaith

1.0 stars 2/19/2014 by verysweetfaith
by verysweetfaith

I have 1 dog that sheds moderately and this vac could not handle it. It clogs and I have to take the whole thing apart after every vacuum, including taking the hose off and the filter out. It makes house cleaning a pain. It is easy to empty, but overall the worst vac I have ever owned.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
verysweetfaith
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Absolutely Horrible. Do Not Buy
3/21/2014

Customer review by glastr0n6

1.0 stars 3/21/2014 by glastr0n6
by glastr0n6

I have used this vacuum for 2 months. It is worthless. The hose falls off every time you push the vacuum. The suction power is really bad. You are better off picking the stuff up with your hand. When you finish vacuuming all the dirt falls out the bottom in a pile on the floor. I have emptied the cylinder, cleaned the filter, but nothing helps. This is a pathetic vacuum and a waste of $59.96. I have contacted Dirt Devil and am waiting for a response. Do not waste your money on this vacuum.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
glastr0n6
Johnstown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 165 total reviews
1-20 of 165 reviews