Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 184 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

184 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

184 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

69%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
78
4 stars
43
3 stars
8
2 stars
13
1 stars
42
1-20 of 173 total reviews
69%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 173 total reviews
1-20 of 173 reviews
HORRIBLE product! Broke within a month!
10/19/2013

Customer review by Flyinirish

1.0 stars 10/19/2013 by Flyinirish
by Flyinirish

Bought this vacuum April, 2013. During very first time I used it, the "turbo tool" brush that is *supposed* to be fantastic at picking up pet hair stopped rotating and it's pretty much useless. Suction is horrible on it. Then about 1 month later I noticed I had no suction and discovered (by detaching the hose) that all of the pet hair I had been vacuuming up (3x/week for 4 weeks) had created one GIANT hairball at the end of the hose (where it connects to the vacuum - see photo)!! Since then I figured out I have to clean out the hose at least once a month or this continues to happen - UGH! Then in Sept the lever that locks the vacuum in upright position broke off when I pressed it. THIS IS A HORRIBLE MACHINE but I guess you get what you pay for!! bought at Walmart for $60 and since it's too late to return it to store, I'm contacting DD to return or replace with brand new one. In the meantime, I'm shopping around for more durable machine and not something cheap like this!

Flyinirish
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 week
Totally disappointed
12/26/2013

Customer review by blvdblonde

2.0 stars 12/26/2013 by blvdblonde
by blvdblonde

I purchased this vacuum, and like other customers in their reviews here, I was looking forward to my new vacuum. The last several months, the belt consistently falls off and I spend more time reattaching the belt than the time it takes to vacuum my small residence. I read the other customer reviews along with the responses from your customer service reps. I have checked and cleaned the filter parts each time I vacuum. The hose is not clogged, the brushes are cleaned, once the belt detaches itself, of course, the brushes are not turning. I've increased/decreased the floor settings which did not solve the problem. While vacuuming, I consistently check to make sure the brushes are rotating indicating the belt still in place....the hose suction is good when detached. In fact, I've spent many hours vacuuming on my knees on the floor only using the detached hose. NOT FUN. My boyfriend, who owns/operates a vehicle repair/mechanic garage, has also looked at the vacuum and can't figure out what the problem is. This is beyond frustrating and the only reassurance of my problem is that others have the same problem. HELP....what am I to do??????

blvdblonde
Boulevard, California 91905, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:3 months
Gender:Female
Great value
12/25/2013

Customer review by pgc34

5.0 stars 12/25/2013 by pgc34
by pgc34

I have been using this vacuum for a month and am very pleased with it. I wanted to purchase an inexpensive vacuum...but one that worked. I previously had an inexpensive Bissel bag-less, and it was horrible...got frequently clogged, very difficult to empty and assemble and cleaning filter, and the cord was very short. This Dirt Devil model is a complete contrast. It cleans very well, it is very easy to dump and assemble, and the cord is long! A terrific vacuum for the price...I couldn't be happier. Two minor comments to the manufacturer. First, the initial assemble instructions were for a slightly different model and it took a little while to figure out the assembly. Secondly, the extension tool does not stay clamped on to the vacuum very well.

pgc34
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:1 week
Gender:Female
Really grabs that cat hair!
9/2/2015

Customer review by Katie

4.0 stars 9/2/2015 by Katie
by Katie

I bought this vacuum 9 months ago, and it has gotten a real workout. The first time I used it, the foam filter got clogged with fine dust, and it emitted a high-pitched whine and shut down. I cleaned the filter, let it cool down, and it has worked fine ever since. Each time I vacuum my house, I empty it several times, which is very easy to do. Then, when I put it away, I wash the foam filter and rinse out the dirt canister, which takes about 5 minutes. As for the belt, I am amazed that in 9 months, there has been only one incident, a broken belt last night. The vacuum is lightweight enough that I have been able to vacuum stairs, and it does a great job of cleaning up after my 2 very furry cats.

Katie
Lexington, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very disapointed
5/13/2013

Customer review by cleaner221

2.0 stars 5/13/2013 by cleaner221
by cleaner221

I always have owned Dirt Devil vacuums. I bought this one from wal-mart for 94.00 less than a yr ago. It was suppose to have rinsable filters, big mistake. They are clearly not rinsable. Upon trying to purchase new filters I ran into a big problem they are not in any stores. I had to call dirt devil to get a replacement and when i did I found something odd the filter that is listed for my vacuum is not the filter it came with. On one part of the vac it says f59 and on the filter it came with and on another part of the vac it says f66? Dirt devil is very helpful in getting me the correct filter, but I realized the cheaper version of this vac is the one with the f66 which mine came with. Very strange?

cleaner221
Joppa, Joppatowne, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 month
Gender:Female
Really like this machine, but now I am disappointe
10/17/2013

Customer review by Angie

4.0 stars 10/17/2013 by Angie
by Angie

First of all, let me say...I really like my vacuum cleaner. After reading the reviews on here, I am disappointed to hear that people are having issues with this machine. Now my struggles have started. The hose that connects to the base of the vacuum keeps coming out. It does not clamp into the machine, which it should. I have to keep putting it back, when cleaning, and have even taped it to stay in place. Now I have encountered a new problem. The cover to the canister has broken now, and I don't see a replacement part on this website. The worst part...this cleaner is only 4 months old! Please contact me and let's get this taken care of. I really like this product, but am so disappointed.

Angie
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:1 week
Gender:Female
Skip this vacuum when shopping
2/24/2014

Customer review by Sheshells

1.0 stars 2/24/2014 by Sheshells
by Sheshells

I purchased this for my tiny apartment and had issues putting it together since the instructions did not describe each step, at all, and the instructions were missing steps. Should have taken this as a sign. The dirt compartment dumps itself just trying to get it off. After 3 months, it has lost all suction even though Ive very thoroughly cleaned every filter nook and cranny. I currently have a giant pile of grey dust and hair in the middle of my livingroom from the dirt cup dumping itself. Why not make a vacuum that dumps from the top? I cant clean it because there is no suction. Vacuum manufacturers obviously never have to use their own products.

Sheshells
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 week
Gender:Female
disappointed! will go back to my cheap BISSELL.
1/30/2014

Customer review by Debbie

1.0 stars 1/30/2014 by Debbie
by Debbie

I have had this vacuum a couple of months and the first time I used it the attachment hose came loose 7 times in one small room. This is the hose that attaches to the bottom part that is used with the different attachments for furniture, crevice, etc. I ended up duct taping it and when I want to used the attachments I have to untape it and tape it back. Cleaning is hard enough work without the struggle of fighting with the machine. I have had 3 Bissell bagless that cost a little less and work a lot better. I will go back to my Bissell and not buy another dirt devel.

Debbie
Hendersonville, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 week
Gender:Female
Great Vac
12/25/2014

Customer review by Bill100

5.0 stars 12/25/2014 by Bill100
by Bill100

I bought my Dirt Devil Total Vision, 4 years ago and it has been the best vacuum cleaner I have ever owned. It is very light weight which I like, but more than anything it is VERY powerful. I've read through the reviews while looking for replacement filters and thought wow, these people must have a different model than mine because I absolutely love mine. A friend of mine was so impressed when I showed her how well it worked that she went that weekend and bought one. This is one thing I'm glad that it sucks.

Bill100
Nashville, TN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Level of expertise:Advanced
Gender:Male
Usage frequency:Weekly
Should Have Read Reviews
6/13/2013

Customer review by SaiH

1.0 stars 6/13/2013 by SaiH
by SaiH

I should have returned it when it stopped working the first time I used it. But my husband was able to fix it by taking the belt off and on. But in the last year everytime I've used it, we have to take the belt off. The last couple of times even that doesn't work, it's almost like the vacuum overheated. I can't put it on a low floor setting or it just blows stuff about, even on a hardwood floor. I know this is a cheap vacuum but I've never had this many problems, even using cheaper vacuums. 

SaiH
Small Town, UT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:3 months
Gender:Female
Dirt devil cyclonic upright
4/11/2016

Customer review by Lindylu

1.0 stars 4/11/2016 by Lindylu
by Lindylu
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am very disappointed in this vacuum. It is hard to use. For example: very difficult to put back in the upright position, hose is in an awkward place and there is hardly any suction when using the hand tools. Like I said "very disappointed" in this product. Should have listened to my sister and bought a Shark product.

Lindylu
Montreal, QC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great suction, but eats belts
6/11/2015

Customer review by Lisa133

2.0 stars 6/11/2015 by Lisa133
by Lisa133

I'd like to say nothing but praise because suction is supreme on this Dirt Devil, as with all, imo. However, I've never replaced so many belts in two years. It eats them. My daughter just bought the new "Duo" & although suction is great, it's soooo tiny that vacuuming time is greatly increased. Beware, once unboxed, it's almost toy size. I'd REALLY love to find a Dirt Devil to use & recommend. Any suggestions?

Lisa133
New Orleans, LA
Length of ownership:3 months
Gender:Female
Excellent Value
3/28/2016

Customer review by dancing mom

5.0 stars 3/28/2016 by dancing mom
by dancing mom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is actually the second one we have bought this year. We were so happy with the product we bought a second one for our parents. Easy to assemble and operate. It is powerful and we liked the idea of not having to buy bags, the canister is very easy to empty

dancing mom
Durham Regional Municipality, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does not work properly
5/21/2013

Customer review by Khimelright13

1.0 stars 5/21/2013 by Khimelright13
by Khimelright13

I bought this vacuum when we bought a new house full of carpet and I was sooo excited it worked great the first time I used it than after that the bottom part of the vacuum does not suck and does not work properly... I have cleaned it numerous times and my husband has looked at it but we can not figure out what is wrong with it. I wish it had a lot better suction and just worked.

Khimelright13
Overton, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 month
Gender:Female
Too much hassle
3/14/2014

Customer review by MrClean

2.0 stars 3/14/2014 by MrClean
by MrClean

This vacuum worked fine the few few months. After that, the belt slipped every time I used it, and eventually the belt broke. Also, it started making a high pitched noise that it didn't use to do. I cleaned the vacuum thoroughly and often as well.  I wouldn't recommend this vacuum. I spent more time trying to fix the vacuum than I should have to. 

MrClean
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:3 months
Gender:Male
Worst vacuum I have ever owned
2/24/2015

Customer review by Ashleyc24

1.0 stars 2/24/2015 by Ashleyc24
by Ashleyc24

I have had to replace the belt on this vacuum so many times I have lost count!!! I need a new filter, not in stores. The "rinsable" claim is bull! I let the filter dry out after washing it but now it smells horrible whenever I use it. Waste of 100 bucks, should have been better... It's more like what you get for forty bucks 

Ashleyc24
Laurel, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:3 months
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Gender:Female
Usage frequency:Weekly
The biggest mistake ever OMG this is insane
6/12/2015

Customer review by Mora812

1.0 stars 6/12/2015 by Mora812
by Mora812

OMG I wish I would've read the reviews before I purchase. It keeps over heating now it doesn't turned on this is only a 3 day old vacuum this is a huge scam. Please do not buy this "dirt devil" do not plz do not buy this biggest scam everrrrrrrr

Mora812
York, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 week
Gender:Male
Its alright
5/27/2014

Customer review by donna123

2.0 stars 5/27/2014 by donna123
by donna123

Got the vacuum as a housewarming gift but now there is lint stuck in the upper portion and I can't get it out. On top of that the hose that comes down and connects to the side of the vacuum keeps coming out and then you can't suck anything up with it. I guess you get what you pay for!

donna123
dfw tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 month
Gender:Female
Worst vacuum I have ever owned. Complete waste of money
8/23/2015

Customer review by Bonny

1.0 stars 8/23/2015 by Bonny
by Bonny

It is always clogging up, has poor suction power, breaks easily and stinks up my house. I have owned many vacuum cleaners; this is my first Dirt Devil and my biggest disappointment.

Bonny
Olympia, WA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
horrible base suction
10/4/2015

Customer review by al39

1.0 stars 10/4/2015 by al39
by al39

Have to unplug the hose from base part to suction pieces. Poor overall suction from day 1. Don't get this

al39
Missouri, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 173 total reviews
1-20 of 173 reviews