Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 199 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

199 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

199 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
144
4 stars
32
3 stars
5
2 stars
7
1 stars
11
1-20 of 185 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 185 total reviews
1-20 of 185 reviews
Otterbox, Don't leave home without it!
11/19/2011

Customer review by Droidaddict

5.0 stars 11/19/2011 by Droidaddict
by Droidaddict

This is my 4th Otterbox and they've all been great. My iPod touch 4G went right from the original store packaging to this case, and as long as there is an Otterbox available, it will be that way for every portable device I purchase. I love it, very protective without adding to much bulk like defender cases do for some devices. I love the look and feel of the case, the grip makes it easier to hold. The built in screen protector is great, I don't even know it's there. Like with any case you do have to take it off and clean out the dust and dirt every so often. The covers for the headphone jack and charging port do come open and could fit better, but for the protection this case provides, that was far from a deal breaker. I let my 3 year old neice watch movies on my iPod without much concern because of this case and she loves it. iPods and cellphones aren't cheap and it's good to know that with an Otterbox, there's a lot better chance your device will survive when "life" happens.

Droidaddict
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great for small kids
6/16/2011

Customer review by Momof2inAlaska

5.0 stars 6/16/2011 by Momof2inAlaska
by Momof2inAlaska

This cover is awesome! I know that my kids are rough with things and this protects a very expensive asset in our house. They love to listen to music on it and play games and I know they would have to work VERY hard to damage it, the case never comes loose and it has a protective cover on the screen, so awesome!

Was this review helpful? (75) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Momof2inAlaska
Kodiak, AK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great protective case
6/5/2011

Customer review by gitnashty

5.0 stars 6/5/2011 by gitnashty
by gitnashty

In my line of work I destroy things like phones. So when I got my iPod touch I wanted to make sure it was really protected! The otter box defender Series for the iPod 4g is the best purchase I could've made! I highly recommend the otter box for any one looking to protect their iPod, droid or iPhone!

Was this review helpful? (44) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gitnashty
Benton, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A considerable improvement
7/10/2012

Customer review by Randall

5.0 stars 7/10/2012 by Randall
by Randall

The newest model, available in the current batch of colors, improves nearly everything about the previous model of Defender. The silicon outer layer is now made out of a thicker, stronger version of the material, that, in conjunction with the new design of the inner plastic shell, stays in place much better than the previous design. Due to the redesigned shell, the silicon doesn't (can't, really) shift out of place around the home button or the camera holes anymore, and the bottom flap has been redesigned as one piece rather than separate flaps for the dock connector and headphone jack, and stays in place until opened, unlike the previous model of Defender. The silicon also feels less tacky and doesn't invite dust and dirt into the crevasses like the previous mix of the material did. It may have taken a few revisions, but if you don't mind a little extra weight and bulk on your iPod and need an all-encompassing protective case, this is for you.

Randall
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Awesome protection for IPOD4!
11/4/2011

Customer review by Jenique1

5.0 stars 11/4/2011 by Jenique1
by Jenique1

This case not only looks great, it protects your IPOD! I've used other "basic" rubber cases and I have to say this is the "Cadillac" of all cases! I would recommend spending the extra $, it is well worth it!

Was this review helpful? (25) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jenique1
NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Product!
9/24/2011

Customer review by CMax420

5.0 stars 9/24/2011 by CMax420
by CMax420

This case is worth every penny! The Defender Series is the BEST! This case fits like a glove and even has a built in screen protector, no more sticker screen protectors for us! I couldn't recommend Otter Box more for all your apple devices!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CMax420
Austintown, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product! And cheaper than Apple's Price too!
10/10/2011

Customer review by Yodle11

5.0 stars 10/10/2011 by Yodle11
by Yodle11

I bought the Otterbox Defender Case for my nephew after buying him the IPod Touch 4th Generation. I had previous experience with the Otterbox after I had purchased one for myself some time ago. This is a very good and dependable product. One of the best on the market!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Yodle11
Cordova, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Value
5/19/2011

Customer review by CampMomto2

5.0 stars 5/19/2011 by CampMomto2
by CampMomto2

Sturdy, offers additional protection for the i pod touch from breakage. Excellent price for the product.

Was this review helpful? (28) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CampMomto2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Absolutely the best case available for iPod T 4G
1/14/2011

Customer review by Sukispop

5.0 stars 1/14/2011 by Sukispop
by Sukispop

When my wife got her iPad, our friends highly recommended getting an Otterbox case for it. They had gotten Otterbox cases for their various generations iPhones, and they couldn't be happier. So, my wife followed their suggestions and got one. It exceeded all of her expectations. So, when I got my iPod Touch 4th Generation, I anxiously awaited Otterbox's recent release of their Defender case for it. I'm glad to be able to include myself as another extremely pleased and satisfied Otterbox customer. I love the very protective but still light polycarbonate shell with the integrated screen protector. Excellent fitting outer silicon rubber case. Touch screen functionality and sensitivity just as good as though there was no screen protector. All covered buttons work just fine. In all, a superb product. Great looking, and feels great in my hand, too! Also still fits in my jeans pocket, no problem! Thanks, Otterbox!

Sukispop
Northern California, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great Buy
7/12/2011

Customer review by bballsam

5.0 stars 7/12/2011 by bballsam
by bballsam

Couldnt find a flaw with it...since i knew its capability my friend and I threw it out his window and it didnt leave a scratch lol...the only thing is its not waterproof, but thats already said in the description..I bought it on this website, because its the best deal I could find on the internet!! BUY IT BEFORE THEY RUN OUT!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bballsam
Vienna, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Goes Anywhere
11/28/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/28/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I love this case, I've had it for four months, and it is virtually indestructible. It goes everywhere and anywhere with me, and protects my iPod from almost anything. Worried your iPod (with your Otterbox) will fall on rocks, fall on the job, or fall on any other hard/rough object? No problem. I dropped this thing one time on the ground, the screen protecter was scratched all over and the plastic on the outside was chipped, but when I opened the case, aside from all the dust and dirt, it was perfect. No, you cannot step on this thing and expect it to not crack. I've had two iPods with this case (first one stopped working, had nothing to do with the case), and I stepped on it by accident, and the edge chipped. This is the crowned jewel of protection in the armory of iPods. Oh, and I must warn you. If this stays in your pocket a lot, it is extremely hard to get in and out of pockets.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Saved my Touch 4G many Times
9/24/2011

Customer review by Transmater

5.0 stars 9/24/2011 by Transmater
by Transmater

Purchased my Otterbox Defender February, 2011. The Otterbox Defender has saved my iPod Touch from destruction more the once. One of those "saves" happened when my right foot, unknown to me, got tangled in a length of the docking cable hanging off of the desk. when I went to stand up my foot jerked the Touch off of the desk and it went flying across to room, bounced off of a wall and hit the floor. Like the young man who dumped his Touch off of the car at 40 mph I too thought I had destroyed my Touch 4G. I picked it up and the case didn't have a scratch, and the Touch protected inside was undamaged. Every Smart phone, Apple devices, and anything else I purchase that has a defender case available will be in one. The only complaint I could lodge is the way the protective tabs at the bottom fit, they are hard to place, especially the tab that protects the earphone jack. This fit causes the bottom cover to be loose and it interferes the operation of the "home" button. a redesign of this area would be nice. To the People at Otterbox how about coming up with a Defender case for the MacBook Air.

Transmater
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Disappointed
5/24/2011

Customer review by Saje

1.0 stars 5/24/2011 by Saje
by Saje

I just received this product via FedEx. First of all, the directions (B&W drawings) for opening & reassembling the case were not very clear but I figued it out. The plastic case seems to be a cheap plastic (not very sturdy) & I was actually afraid of breaking it while I was opening & reassembling it. As others have noted, the outer silicone cover is not a very tight fit & the port opening at the bottom is an extremely poor fit. I can't get mine to lie flush with the rest of the case no matter what I do. One of the reviewers mentioned how they dove into a pool with their iPod in this case & had no problems with the iPod as a result. This is hard to believe as with the port opening fitting the way it does & the silicone case not fitting very snugly, there's no way water can be kept out. Perhaps they had it in a sealed plastic bag at the time? I also paid for the faster shipping option & it didn't arrive any faster than if I had chosen the middle shipping option. I will be contacting OtterBox after posting this review for instructions on how I can return this sadly constructed, overpriced case.

Saje
Would recommend to a friend? No
Dare I say Bulletproof?
2/8/2012

Customer review by thewind

5.0 stars 2/8/2012 by thewind
by thewind

The defender series for the ipod touch 4th generation is great! I've had this for over a year now and it's still protecting just as good as when i got the case. I got the case to protect it when I'm out doing my work, (farmer) and it hasn't had any problems, but the biggest test it's gone through are my 3 and 1 year kids, they have dropped it countless times and the only wear that has shown is the silicone has just started to tear a little at the headphone jack cover tab where my 3 year old has a tendency to play with that sometimes. But is has gotten sprayed with water and the cover tabs have done their job flawlessly. The silicone outer cover is great for dexterity, and it gives you something to hold on to. If I haven't put it through it's paces then I don't know who has. It's like your own personal security team for your electronics. I recommend Otterbox to anyone!

thewind
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
i like it
12/31/2010

Customer review by AvidUser

4.0 stars 12/31/2010 by AvidUser
by AvidUser

the shipping was fast 2 days. it adds good protection.the screen protector is the main reason i bought this product, well plus for the case obviously.i was able to have a screen protector on the device screen itself and on the otterbox screen protector with no touch issues,so basically i have 3 screen protectors.if you drop your pod in the pocket you got your keys in, your good to go.it's almost completely sealed except for the 2 camera holes,the sensor hole and the speaker, probably to help with ventilation, it should be seal better to keep dust and debris from getting in. it could use a lanyard hole. i made one with some 2 sided 3m tape and a small thin piece of stainless steel with a hole in it, attached under silicone cover it works awesome.this is the best itouch case I've seen so far. alittle pricey but so are ipods, rather wreck the case than the pod...right.

AvidUser
Green bay(the frozen tundra)Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
3/19/2012

Customer review by Boatnfish

4.0 stars 3/19/2012 by Boatnfish
by Boatnfish

Solid product feel much safer letting my 3yr old use my ipod.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Boatnfish
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Needs to be improved
1/31/2011

Customer review by LeyMez

4.0 stars 1/31/2011 by LeyMez
by LeyMez

Otter box is the best case to use hands down. I'm upset with this one though. The plastic around my screen already chipped. The rubber over my home button won't stay still. It keeps slipping up. The charger plugs don't stay in. The holes where the camera is on the front collects dust really easily so since your screen protector is built in, what ever gets in there might scratch your screen. So you have to keep taking it apart and cleaning it. There is no belt clip. Otter box must of felt like the i-touch customers weren't as important as the i-phone customers. So the case is still bulky even though its a slim design. No one wants to always have to hold the ipod. It's so much easier to have it clipped to your waist and have your hands free do things like work out, cook, etc. So since there's no belt clip there's nothing covering your case. I know you have a screen protector. But how stylish is it to have a big scratch on your screen protector. It's not like you can change it either since your screen protector is built in. It's a good case don't get me wrong. It does its job at protecting it. But it does need to be improved.

LeyMez
New Orleans, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great But
3/2/2011

Customer review by Hulk

4.0 stars 3/2/2011 by Hulk
by Hulk

This is a great case for me because of my terrible record for breaking things and well i have yet to break my Ipod. As has been said previously the cable flap doesn't stay in it's designed spot and that's annoying. On the bottom of the case, where the Home button is, it's not a tight snug fit against the inner shell. i work out and love to listen to music while i do and this is a problem with this case because of no ability to clip onto anything. i could recommend a general arm strap and a clip for this case and it would be the most amazing case but it's pretty dang close to that anyways. all the other buttons on the case are great for me but my girlfriend has a hard time pressing down the volume buttons. i do recommend this case to anyone who wants an Ipod BEEF CAKE well in other words a great protective case for you Ipod.

Hulk
Boulder Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Good but has some flaws
1/4/2011

Customer review by Tom120

5.0 stars 1/4/2011 by Tom120
by Tom120

this is my first Otterbox as i don't have any other device that could use an otterbox (iPod Touch 4g) and i must say it is much better then the leading brands/ any others. Ive done SIMPLE drop tests such as falling out of my pocket on to the grass, road, and my kitchen floor. I also dropped it from the top of a firetruck (approximately 10-12 ft) and from the seat of a firetruck (approximately 6-8 ft) and hit the hard cement floor and is still working with nothing wrong, still looks new. With those tests, it is perfect for me. Now as far as user interface is concerned, everything is accessible, everything is covered and works great. Now for me (i don't know if it is just me or not) the screen seems to have 'un-fixable' bubbles in the screen, and also has 'small bump' looking bubbles all across the screen which is hardly noticeable but noticeable. Also, the flaps that protect the headphone jack, and power/usb connector do not stay on, they occasionally loosen up and become 'exposed'. Also i don't like how it doesn't come with a holster. That's pretty much all, i would seriously recommend this product to anyone, only main flaw for me is the screen problem.

Tom120
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great iPod protection
4/23/2012

Customer review by Mexicanmike

5.0 stars 4/23/2012 by Mexicanmike
by Mexicanmike

Iv been through a lot of cases looking to protect my iPod I'm a carpenter and it sees a lot of abuse I highly recommend this case a little bulky for your pocket is the only complaint

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mexicanmike
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 185 total reviews
1-20 of 185 reviews