Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 263 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

263 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

263 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

53%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
86
4 stars
42
3 stars
26
2 stars
33
1 stars
76
1-20 of 263 total reviews
53%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 263 total reviews
1-20 of 263 reviews
I love it!
6/7/2011

Customer review by elrothiel

5.0 stars 6/7/2011 by elrothiel
by elrothiel

I tried this product just now and it's soooo great! It's very easy to use and it didn't drip at all. It covered my gray hair and the color turned out right. My hair is black and I use dark brown all the time. My hair is shinier now! Will definitely use this product again.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
elrothiel
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
11/12/2013

Customer review by rkecojevic

5.0 stars 11/12/2013 by rkecojevic
by rkecojevic

AMAZING! I honestly do not know where to begin with this product. To say it is the best box hair color I used is an understatement. Recently my hair was platinum and this has been kept up by a salon. Besides the cost, I wasn't happy with the roots that showed after just 1 week. I decided to go back to my natural light brown hair color. The thought of doing it myself made me cringe. I thought of the mess, the stains on my arms, neck, forehead, sink, clothes, towels, bathtub, the disgusting smell that lingered for days ahh!! This product made me jump and scream like a little girl! It was unbelievably easy to apply. Not a single drip on my clothes or skin. The scent was pleasant and did not overpower my shampoo. The mousse provided full coverage and left no discolored spots. It washed out even easier and when I dried my hair with a white towel...it was completely clean! My hair is shiny, soft, healthy and glowing; everyone is asking where I got it done. Once in a while a product comes along that is truly worthy of praise. This one is definitely one of those rare finds.

rkecojevic
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
6/27/2013

Customer review by DebbieDoRight

1.0 stars 6/27/2013 by DebbieDoRight
by DebbieDoRight

Bad Product. I have been a loyal L'Oreal customer for many years without regret...until now. Easy does not equal quality. I now have a L'Oreal product I will not purchase again: this wimpy haircolor that does not fulfill it's promises. I wanted a coloring product that was easy to apply and effective so I could continue doing my own (light brown to) light blond hair at home. I passed up my Preference for the closest one: Sublime Mousse 100 this month. The personal shade selection guide showed a dramatic difference between my starting color and the very light blond end result. I noticed that the instructions said I could use it all over, even though I usually just do my roots. I followed instructions...easy...waited 25 minutes...very little coverage for my gray roots, and what was covered was a reddish blond. My hair is not quite dry yet, but there are very light blond areas at the ends. And, I have never had so much hair in my drain screen. I ALWAYS counted on even, safe and effective coverage. Easy does not equal quality. I always tried new L'Oreal products and shied away from other brands...due to trust. I am not so sure now.

DebbieDoRight
Would recommend to a friend? No
4/12/2013

Customer review by KimberlyMD

4.0 stars 4/12/2013 by KimberlyMD
by KimberlyMD

I was very satisfied with the color portion of this product, though I wish it developed into a foamier consistency for easier application and less mess. I did not like the conditioner, which seemed to be waxy, I actually prefer the conditioner provided with the Preference coloring kits. I followed the coloring instructions and the color took perfectly. (My hair is probably 25% gray, and I am careful not to overprocess my hair.) About 2 weeks after I colored my hair, I went to a professional stylist for a $65 haircut, and she commented that she had to admit that I did a very good job coloring my own hair. I am not a haircare professional and believe that this says a lot about the product. The only problem is that I am having a difficult time locating my color at my local CVS where I first purchased the product.

KimberlyMD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfection
4/14/2012

Customer review by KDSANDJES

5.0 stars 4/14/2012 by KDSANDJES
by KDSANDJES

I was just a tad nervous to use this product but after looking at the reviews I gave it a go. Love love love it, the color is so pefect, the smell was not over powering like some products and it was so super easy to apply. I will use this product again!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KDSANDJES
ROSEBURG, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
5/15/2013

Customer review by takiete

4.0 stars 5/15/2013 by takiete
by takiete

Just dyed my hair with golden light brown shade. Love it! It hasn't done big changes. Just evened out my hair color, gave nice golden shine. I suppose foam color doesn't do much. If you want real deal, do you hair in the salon or use regular hair color. Application was easy although while applying, the foam on my hair was not very foamy as pictured in instructions. Maybe that's because I have long hair. Also, the smell was kind of strong and since you have to work next to your eyes, it got a little bit irritated so be careful. Other than that, it was nice experience. And the added-on conditioner is really nice! My hair is so soft and shiny right now. Bottom line? If you don't demand very big changes, go for this foam hair color.

takiete
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
2/7/2013

Customer review by ellla

1.0 stars 2/7/2013 by ellla
by ellla

i have naturally light hair that gets even lighter in the summer. However, without the sun in gets darker during the winter months. Since it is now February my roots have grown in and is not as light as the rest of my hair. My hair color was about the same color as the shade is shows on the box so I thought it would be a perfect match. Sadly the box coloring is misleading and it is NOT the color of the dye. If you have blonde hair DO NOT USE this product. It made my hair DARKER THEN IT STARTED OUT AS. i am glad the product made my roots the same color but it overall DARKENED MY HAIR INSTEAD OF LIGHTENING IT. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND IT IF YOU WANT BRIGHT BLONDE HAIR, perhaps try the shade higher

ellla
Would recommend to a friend? No
4/2/2013

Customer review by LorealUser4Life

2.0 stars 4/2/2013 by LorealUser4Life
by LorealUser4Life

I was excited about using a mousse since I had heard how much easier and quicker the process would be. As for the process, yes, it was a cinch. Now the color and gray coverage were sadly not good. I normally used the same shade in the Loreal Excellence Creme product, so I expected near if not exact results; instead i got 2-3 shades darker which was disappointing. The gray coverage appeared fine the first day, but 3-5 days later the grays began to show through and after several washing's, there was no dye on the grays. Too bad, the concept is good but the product needs much improvement. I will continue to use your Excellence Creme which is marvelous, but will not recommend your Mousse at all.

LorealUser4Life
Would recommend to a friend? No
1/28/2014

Customer review by Thank You

5.0 stars 1/28/2014 by Thank You
by Thank You

I was just looking over the reviews on this site and noticed that most of the people who have had issues are the ones who have used the blonde dies or have not read the label or applied it correctly. Yes this product does go on darker then most but it fades better then any other product on the market. I have not found a hair die that I like better then this product. I am disappointed that I am unable to find it in the stores here where I live anymore. They have stopped carrying it. I cannot speak for the blonde dies but the "pure" brown ones are very natural looking and fade into chocolate instead of bronze which I cannot stand. I would recommed the brunette dies in this line to anyone.

Thank You
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
8/15/2013

Customer review by J Sweet

5.0 stars 8/15/2013 by J Sweet
by J Sweet

For me, this is THE BEST over the counter hair color I have ever used! Not only does it turn out true to shade but it LASTS! Even though it is a permanent hair color it seems to do a natural "fade to grey" without looking like it is actually fading in color! The mousse application is also a plus for me, as I at times, have trouble with my hands and don't have the abilitly to apply the squeeze bottle type hair colors. The pump can sit upright on the counter and I just have to press the mousse into my hand and apply! Bonus for those of us with "limitations" in life. L'Oreal, PLEASE do not discontinue this product. I WILL CRY!!!!! A+++!

J Sweet
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
3/2/2014

Customer review by SmartySpice

5.0 stars 3/2/2014 by SmartySpice
by SmartySpice

I love this product! My natural color is a 6A, and after years of highlighting it, I decided to go darker. Finding an attractive 5 or 4 in a cooler tone has been challenging. While I found the mousse neither easier nor harder to use than any other application method, I love the results. The color is beautiful and natural looking, a lovely medium brown with auburn highlights. I love it, and it doesn't seem to available in Preference or Excellence. Also, as with all L'Oreal hair color, this product left my hair healthy and shiny. Four weeks later, it still looks great, though I will have to do a root touch up soon.

SmartySpice
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
4/21/2014

Customer review by jawfish

5.0 stars 4/21/2014 by jawfish
by jawfish

Sublime Mousse Iced Dark Brown matches my natural hair color perfectly. And it's the only formula that will color my gray roots perfectly in 15 minutes. It is the only mousse on the market that will do this. The creams will not saturate & spread well enough to prevent leaving white spots here and there. I love this product. But I can't find it anymore. Your brand new mousse - after 30 minutes using what is supposed to be the same color - produces a light auburn color at my gray roots. Unacceptable!!! Why did you ruin a perfect product?

jawfish
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
8/7/2013

Customer review by sweeneyword

1.0 stars 8/7/2013 by sweeneyword
by sweeneyword

When I bought this I thought it would be like your Natural Match which was the best hair color you ever made but no longer. I decided to try this because it said Healthy Look so I thought it would have no peroxide or ammonia. Wrong!!!. Definitely has ammonia galore. Then I went to use the product and turned it in my hand back and forth like it showed on the paper for at least a minute, but the stuff doesn't mix well. The first part was very light, only at the very end did I see the red color . Doesn't foam hardly at all. Very disappointed.

sweeneyword
Would recommend to a friend? No
9/22/2013

Customer review by jackie118

5.0 stars 9/22/2013 by jackie118
by jackie118

As another writer wrote, this is the best product I've used. It is pretty true to color and lasts extremely long without fading to a goldish color. I have a question, if I redye my hair this color, it is a little dark. the last time I needed a touch up, I used another product for just the roots. I need to cover my roots again. Do you have a suggestion? If I were to redye my entire head, I would like a color just a tad lighter, but not too much. If I do only my roots, what do you suggest for both. Thanks

jackie118
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
5/8/2013

Customer review by IHATETHISPRODUCT

1.0 stars 5/8/2013 by IHATETHISPRODUCT
by IHATETHISPRODUCT

The absolute WORST hair dye i have EVER used. And i have used a large variety of hair dyes. this is by far the worst. DOLLAR STORE HAIR DYE WORKS BETTER. i am very upset with this product. It DOES NOT WORK if you are trying to dye your hair lighter! This product did NOT change the color of my hair one bit. And also it COMPLETELY dried out my hair. The products SMELLS EXTREMELY BAD OF AMMONIA. I do not recommend this product. CLAIROL NICE AND EASY FOAM IS DEFINITELY THE WAY TO GO! NEVER USING THIS AGAIN.

IHATETHISPRODUCT
Would recommend to a friend? No
l'oreal sublime mousse 70 pure dark blonde- no
10/30/2012

Customer review by Ingrida

2.0 stars 10/30/2012 by Ingrida
by Ingrida

I had a medium blonde hair, previously died using l'oreal sublime mousse 80 pure medium blonde, but my roots were yellow, so thought I will go for a shade darker. The picture on the box is beautiful dark blonde with a moca shade. Followed instructions, easy to apply, but after 20 minutes rushed to wash it off as my hair was looking very dark. And I am very disappointed, from a blonde I turned to brunette... And it is not a nice color either, it is dark, mixture or brown and green....very very un

Ingrida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Amazing results!!! It does cover grays!!!
6/11/2012

Customer review by yayabera

5.0 stars 6/11/2012 by yayabera
by yayabera

Super easy to apply, which I do appreciate holding a super duper thick, long hair. It covered all the gray hair! For the first time ever I find a product that really covers gray hair! The shade came out a little darker than I expected though, but still a very beautiful shade, it gave new life to my dull hair, it looks natural, healthy and shiny,and it feels soft and silky! I just love the way it left my hair! Will buy a lighter tone next time but definitely will keep buying this amazing product!

yayabera
Hialeah,FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Extremely appreciate the Mousssssss...^^
2/26/2011

Customer review by Charlene

4.0 stars 2/26/2011 by Charlene
by Charlene

I extremely like this product, because it is easy to use. But I don't like others because it looks like a little complicated (to be honest). I bought this product because of 2 reasons: first, L'oreal is a famous brand in the world, that I feel safe to use it; second, such a responsibility webside, especially the videos of hair colors, because as I know, many people usually confused how to correctly use chemical products, this webside can inspire me to buy and learn--easy,simple,clear....good job

Charlene
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Spicy Auburn Brown did nothing
3/17/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 3/17/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have used several at home hair colors and have always been succesful in dying my naturally dark brown to black hair. I was excited to use the new "mousse" hair color system. I followed all the instructions and throroughly saturated my hair and left it in for 30min. I have a slight reddish tinge to my bangs but that is about it. I am kinda sad that it didnt work and will try and get a refund. I will say that my hair does feel nicer after using the finishing conditioner. But I will not buy again

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
So much color in one little bottle!
6/24/2011

Customer review by QVicki

5.0 stars 6/24/2011 by QVicki
by QVicki

I dyed my hair a blue black a while ago, with the goal of eventually creating a somewhat gradient throughout my hair. I meant to do a brown black, but they were cleaned out at my store. Once my roots grew out a couple of inches, I decided it was time to star5t. I selected Sublime Mousse because I wanted to try out the foam colour and I trust L'Oreal the most when it comes to DIY colour. Needless to say, it was fabulous. It covered my whole head completely. I am very satisfied with this product.

QVicki
El Paso,TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 263 total reviews
1-20 of 263 reviews