Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 25 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

25 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

25 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
18
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-20 of 22 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 22 total reviews
1-20 of 22 reviews
Great bike, great value
6/14/2011

Customer review by SuburbanDaddy

5.0 stars 6/14/2011 by SuburbanDaddy
by SuburbanDaddy

I purchased two of these bicycles for my pre-teen daughters. They outgrew their 20-inch bikes. I wanted to buy high quality bikes for them that they would never outgrow so we wouldn't have to worry about constantly upgrading. I saw one of these bikes in the local store and the frame design was slightly different with a longer cross bar instead of the shorter step-through design shown in the picture above. Originally, I was disappointed that the local Walmart only had one bike in stock. I didn't want to go home with only one bike and have to search every store within 100 miles to find another one, so I simply ordered from Walmart.com. I'm glad I ordered the bikes because I got the newer frame design and both bikes arrived at the same time. At first I wasn't sure but now I think the newer design, shown above, is a good improvement over the traditional ladies' bike frame design. This design gives them a lower step-over height and if they suddenly jump off, there is no danger of a crotch bump. The frame is lightweight aluminum and the frame members have larger cross sections for stability. the bikes are very stable and well built. I have been a serious biker for years, taking bike tours such as the MS150 and longer distance rides such as the DALMAC. It was important for me to buy bikes for the girls with which they could confidently accompany me on some of these rides. The features that I looked for are: >Linear pull brakes for safe and quick stopping >Comfortable seat with padding >700C tires for speed and handling >Easy adjustments for handlebars and seat since they would be growing up with this bike >At least 21 speeds for pulling hills >Solid rear frame (no shock absorber) for better speed and push-offs >The Front shock absorbers are nice to have for bumps but rear shocks would be problematic >Lightweight frame so they could lift the bike onto a bus rack if necessary and maneuver it in the garage >E-Z Fire trigger shifter instead of Grip Shift. The trigger shifter is more positive and won't accidently shift while gripping the handle bar during hill pulls. This would be annoying and potentially dangerous. >High quality derailleurs and chain guard >Hybrid style frame for versatility. This bike easily serves any bicycling purpose from routine workouts, long distance tours, casual errands or just riding with their friends. I compared this Schwinn Avenue to a similar but more expensive bikes and it was exactly the same bike and components at less than half the price. Walmart came through for me once again. What they say is true..."Save money. Live better." The bikes arrived two weeks ago and my girls thoroughly enjoy them. The bikes arrived well packed in large cartons, partially assembled. Actually, I prefer to unpack and final assemble the bikes myself so I can make sure that they are put together properly and that all the bolts are tight. Nobody cares as much about my kids' safety as I do and it always pays to double check brakes, tires, lug nuts, handlebars and fork stems before trusting a bicycle. I am pleased with the bikes but I do wish some additional features could have been added. For example, >Frame bolsters for water bottle holder >Frame bolsters for bike rack >More color choices These are extremely minor issues and I was still able to install water bottles and racks with special clamps. I bought a paint pen so the girls can mark their initials on the frame of their bikes to easily tell them apart. Overall, this was the best feature set in a ladies' bike that I could find after searching every bike store in my area. In addition, the value is pleasing. I was willing to spend much more but found that it wasn't necessary. Now, my wife wants to upgrade her heavy steel framed bike to a Schwinn Avenue. The Avenue is light, fast, safe and a joy to ride. If considering this bicycle for the girls or ladies in your life, or for yourself, go ahead and buy it. You will be pleased

Was this review helpful? (332) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SuburbanDaddy
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/15/2011

Customer review by hybridJY7

5.0 stars 6/15/2011 by hybridJY7
by hybridJY7

Great bike! It's lightweight, just as good of quality as more expensive bikes, and it's good for on and off the road riding. I did a lot of research before purchasing this bike and am fully satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (80) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hybridJY7
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
8/13/2011

Customer review by CranbrookLady

5.0 stars 8/13/2011 by CranbrookLady
by CranbrookLady

Love it! It's lightweight and since it has shocks it gives a very smooth ride. The gears glide into place and are very easy to operate. The seat is pretty comfortable.... just went on a 19 mile ride and didn't have any butt problems. I highly recommend this bike!

Was this review helpful? (64) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CranbrookLady
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Best Bike I have Ever Owned!
9/10/2011

Customer review by Beachhouse0101

5.0 stars 9/10/2011 by Beachhouse0101
by Beachhouse0101

I love this bike! i was scared to spend the extra money so first i bought a cheaper bike. I had to return it thou for the problems that this bike totally took care of! I bought this one because i really like the placement of the handle bars, it makes my back and palms of my hands not hurt due to the position and placement to the seat. And i love the E-Z Fire trigger shifter instead of Grip Shift. My other bike kept accidently shifting while gripping the handle bar during hill pulls, knocking my chain off. And the tires made a huge differences in my ability to do hills!!! I LOVE this bike! Very much worth the money!!! I was not sorry one bit that i paid more than i budgeted because now i truly enjoy riding bikes instead of feeling like its work! And that was what I wanted out of a bike!

Was this review helpful? (60) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Beachhouse0101
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
THIS WOMEN'S HYBRID MAKES BIKING A BREEZE!
11/20/2011

Customer review by SunshineGiGi

4.0 stars 11/20/2011 by SunshineGiGi
by SunshineGiGi

I LOVE THIS BIKE! LIVING HERE IN SOUTH FLORIDA; THERE ARE MANY OPPORTUNITIES TO ENJOY BIKE RIDING. AFTER RIDING WITH MY TWO FRIENDS THAT UPDATED THEIR BIKES WITH HYBRID BIKES -- KEEPING UP WITH MY WALMART ONE GEAR BIKE JUST MADE IT HARD TO GO THE DISTANCE. AFTER VISITING A LOCAL BIKE SHOP, I THOUGHT TO GO RIGHT TO WALMART TO VIEW THE AVENUE. THIS HYBRID IS PRICED JUST RIGHT! THE STAFF WAS GREAT AND LET ME TRY OUT THE BIKE UP AND DOWN THE AISLES -- I ARRIVED AT THE STORE EARLY IN THE DAY FOR THIS REASON. I FOUND THIS BIKE TO BE VERY COMFORTABLE FROM THE FIRST RIDE. LOVE THE SEAT HEIGHT ADJUSTMENT AND HANDLE BAR FEATURES. I DID GIVE THIS A FOUR STAR DUE TO THE COMFORT OF THE SEAT BEING OK ... I AM CONSIDERING GETTING 'HELP' IN EITHER REPLACING THE SEAT OR WITH BIKE SHORTS WITH GEL PADS. THE BIKE IS VERY LIGHT WEIGHT TOO. THE SHIFTING OF GEARS ARE SMOOTH. I WAS ABLE TO TALK WITH THE MASTER BIKE BUILDER, ERNIE, IN PSL, FL AND HIS KNOWLEDGE AND EXPERTISE GAVE ME ALL THE INFORMATION I NEEDED TO MAKE THIS MY BIKE CHOICE. I AM IN MY MID FIFTIES AND NOT ALL THAT PHYSICALLY FIT. THE FRAME SIZE FITS ME GREAT -- I AM 5'5". I FIND THIS SCHWINN HYBRID AWESOME AND EASY TO CONTROL FOR GOING 'ALL AROUND TOWN'; ALSO IT IS EASY TO HANDLE THE NORMAL 20 MILE WINDS WE GET HERE OFF THE ATLANTIC OCEAN AND FOR GOING OVER THE INTERCOASTAL BRIDGES. MY FIRST WEEK AND I HAVE TRAVELLED APPROXIMATELY 50 MILES ON IT! VERY HAPPY WITH THIS PURCHASE!

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SunshineGiGi
PORT ST. LUCIE, FLORIDA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
9/5/2011

Customer review by swimmom90

4.0 stars 9/5/2011 by swimmom90
by swimmom90

The bike is light weight and rides smoothly. Two week after getting the bike and riding about 14 miles a day I had to replace both tire tubes. One leaked air and the other one blew out. I also replaced the seat for more comfort. I had a problem with a clicking sound on the left peddle & my gears quit working, so I had a bike shop check it when they replaced the tubes. He said the shaft was loose and worked on the gears. I recommend having a bike shop check over your bike. Now it rides great.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
swimmom90
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Light, great gears and smooth ride.
1/16/2012

Customer review by Billie73

5.0 stars 1/16/2012 by Billie73
by Billie73

Had an Schwinn Admiral that I took back. It was too heavy and clunky. I realized I needed a bike that was lighter and picked up faster speeds. Put ten miles on it the first day and had zero problems. Pretty color green/champagne. Gears shift smoothly. Overall a great bike. Light at 30 lbs.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Billie73
Tarzana, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Choice
2/19/2012

Customer review by jeupsiu

5.0 stars 2/19/2012 by jeupsiu
by jeupsiu

I needed a bicycle that would allow me to go distances comfortably and be able to handle the dirt roads in my area. The Schwinn Avenue Hybrid was pretty perfect. The value is good for a Hybrid (the others I checked both Trek and Diamondback were in the $450-600 range) and this price was very good for me. I have had the bicycle for two months and I have not needed to do any maintenance on it thus far. I go 15-20 miles each weekend and the bike works just great. I have also used the bike for runs to the library and the produce stand. Great for short and long distances.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jeupsiu
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
great value
11/8/2011

Customer review by grockle

5.0 stars 11/8/2011 by grockle
by grockle

Really impressed with this bike very high qualitity for the price. A great buy

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
grockle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love this bike
6/8/2012

Customer review by BPsupermom7

5.0 stars 6/8/2012 by BPsupermom7
by BPsupermom7

This is the 3rd bike i have bought from walmart. I took the 1st 2 back to the store. The next womans power climber and the womans Avalon. I wanted a bike I could ride comfortably while pulling my twins in their bike trailer. This bike is AMAZING!!! I got home after dark with it and was so excited to ride it I was riding it in the dark around my culd a sac at midnight! I really love this Bike I highly reccomend it! Well worth the money!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BPsupermom7
Trenton, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love Love Love the bike
8/12/2012

Customer review by Bklyngrl13

5.0 stars 8/12/2012 by Bklyngrl13
by Bklyngrl13

I got this for my 47th birthday, after having my previous mountain bike for 20 years. At first I was sure I only wanted another heavy framed , mountain bike but the minute I sat on this one I know it was meant to be. It is comfortable and smooth and so lightweight I can load it myself on the back of the pickup without waiting for the hubby to come home and do it for me ( a huge plus.) I researched it online and read reviews extensively and found that schwinn makes this bike specifically for Walmart so you won't find it on their website but everyone agrees it is a well made and great performing bike comparable to much more expensive models. The style is classy and will suit many types of terrain and will also look cute with all kinds of outfits ( hey this stuff matters to us girls you know!) Looking forward to another 20 plus years riding this one!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bklyngrl13
warrenton, va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Perfect!
1/4/2012

Customer review by Mossrock

5.0 stars 1/4/2012 by Mossrock
by Mossrock

This bike was perfect - exceeded my expectations! It had all the features I was looking for and more. When trying to comparison shop this bike I found out that this model is a WalMart exclusive - only available at WalMart. Probably no other store could offer all the features of this bike for this price, other than WalMart. Very pleased!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mossrock
Bakersfield CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
2/21/2012

Customer review by bikermaniac

5.0 stars 2/21/2012 by bikermaniac
by bikermaniac

Great ride. Needs a little adjustment with the gears and brakes.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bikermaniac
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great bike
3/22/2012

Customer review by hellbell

5.0 stars 3/22/2012 by hellbell
by hellbell

This is my first bike in years and found in to great overall. It shipped to the store super fast. The store put it together, and took about a week, but everything else has been great. Definitely recommend this bike for anyone getting back in to biking or just wanting to have fun.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hellbell
florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
7/17/2012

Customer review by ho87trains

4.0 stars 7/17/2012 by ho87trains
by ho87trains

All-in-all the bike is as advertised and overall a good bike. We have had one problem...the tires won't stay inflated. I repaired a hole in the inner tube of each wheel. Put the wheel back together and inflated the tire half-way to make sure the inner tube wasn''t pinched and then let the air out and reinflated the tire. The tires stayed inflated for the next two days and then went flat again. I am going to return the bike to Wal-mart so they can solve this problem.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ho87trains
East Central, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Super bike
10/24/2012

Customer review by AZSenior2

5.0 stars 10/24/2012 by AZSenior2
by AZSenior2

This bike is made for my 5'2" wife. We live in AZ in a nice, mostly flat, 55+ development. We are active seniors (late 60s). We bought it on-line because it wasn't in any store within 50 miles. It took 3 work days to arrive at the store and the local assembler (Dave) put it together (in spite of the on-line warning that no assembly included.) I was present for the assembly and he did a fabulous job, tweaking all the adjustments, including changing the "stops" on the gears. Took it home, replaced the seat with wife's cushy one, adjusted the height of the seat, and "Voila", it was rarin' to go. So we went out and it was a gem. We really only need to use the 2nd gear on the front wheel, but the "trigger" shifter is so much nicer than grip ones. Rides nice with the suspension and the springs in our after-market seat. The spoke pattern is cool, too. BTW, I compared this model with its cousins at Sears and Target. Both were selling for $30 more and did not include the trigger gears. We are really satisfied with bike and "Wally" (Wal-mart.)

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AZSenior2
AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/12/2012

Customer review by Ice113

5.0 stars 1/12/2012 by Ice113
by Ice113

I love this bike. It is very nice!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ice113
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I love my Ladies Schwinn!
9/20/2012

Customer review by Mommalynn21

5.0 stars 9/20/2012 by Mommalynn21
by Mommalynn21

Hey I really love this Schwinn Avenue 700cc Ladies' Hybrid Bike! I purchased this bike in April of 2011 and I have enjoyed it every since. I got it for commuting to work, via city bus/Metro-link Train. This Hybrid bike has given me the ride experience that is very delightful. I highly recommend the purchase of this bike to anyone interested in a smooth ride, easy gear shifting. I only had to add a few items on the this bike for my safety such as, a mirror, night lights, flashers and a better cushioned seat. Only one thing puzzles me is, when I don't ride my bike for a month the air leaves the tires... But other than that it's problem free.... So those of you who will purchase this bike, I hope you will enjoyed it as much as I do....

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mommalynn21
Colton, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great for the road
8/23/2012

Customer review by honneydog

4.0 stars 8/23/2012 by honneydog
by honneydog

I would highly recommend this bike for any woman wanting a comfortable ride. It shifts nicely and was very enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
honneydog
Broadway, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice ride, too!
10/29/2012

Customer review by randyrk

4.0 stars 10/29/2012 by randyrk
by randyrk

After riding this bike only about 15 miles, everything is great!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
randyrk
Titusville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 22 total reviews
1-20 of 22 reviews