Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 60 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

60 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

60 reviews | 4 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
33
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 stars
7
1-20 of 54 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 54 total reviews
1-20 of 54 reviews
Don't leave your neighborhood or go long distances
6/26/2011

Customer review by Castle6474

1.0 stars 6/26/2011 by Castle6474
by Castle6474

For the money, this is a good bike for very short trips and no more. (Max 3 miles at a time) I've owned this bike for a year (same model- Schwinn Avenue 700c Men’s Hybrid, only difference is paint scheme). For the first 6 months, I would ride around the neighborhood once in a while and the bike was fine. About 4 months ago, I started riding with some friends more frequently. 10 miles during the week and 35 miles average on the weekend (every week). After the second week of this routine, the bike needed to be adjusted (big time $$). After this adjustment, the bike was only good for 4 weeks. Derailleur started jamming and front crank sounded like it was going to break (I'm not very technical) and it would not shift right. This weekend, in the middle of a 35 mile ride one of the gears broke and the back tire blew 4 spokes. (I.e. I was on foot after this). After this weekend, I am no longer putting any more money into this bike. (Giving it to goodwill) I'm on my way to purchase either a Cannondale or Trek from a local shop. When you think of what this bike costs, plus parts and service (if you are going to be more than a neighborhood rider), you’re better off going to a local bike shop and getting a better bike from the very beginning. I am not a bike shop owner, I'm a financial advisor. Most local bikes shops include after the sale service for free (tuning and truing). Another lesson that I learned the hard way is that Schwinn (at least from a big box store) is not the same quality Schwinn that we were used to hearing about from 20 yrs ago. To add to this, just because a bike has Shimano parts does not mean it’s a quality bike. Shimano is the largest maker of bike parts in the world. This means that it has an entire range of parts, from very poor quality to higher end ones. I would urge you to do your homework and get something that is going to fit your needs and budget. Think of the long term vs. how cheap it is to buy now (because that's exactly what I did a year ago). Hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? (290) (52)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Castle6474
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice ride
5/16/2011

Customer review by Flyingsgt

5.0 stars 5/16/2011 by Flyingsgt
by Flyingsgt

Bought from store stock. Nice riding bike. Only had to put air in the tires. I had to return the first one I picked up. Who ever assembled the bike fouled up the chain drive. If you buy in the store test it in all gears before you go to the register. Will save you the drives back to the store. Was an easy return and replacement. Employees were helpful an cooperative.

Was this review helpful? (76) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Flyingsgt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Overall a great bike
6/9/2011

Customer review by Cornbread57

5.0 stars 6/9/2011 by Cornbread57
by Cornbread57

Purchased this one after stopping in a local bike shop. I REALLY wanted a trek and to buy local rather than a chain, but the most comparable bike started at $409, and I really didn't have the extra money. I got this for going to work and back almost daily (only 1.7 miles each way), but on the weekends for a little more exercise. I just took my first weekend ride for 15 miles and it did great. Bought mine online at walmart website for $20 less than their store sale price and got it shipped free to my house. It took only 3 days to get it which was faster than the site-to-store option. Had several compliments on the spokes being a different pattern than the normal boring style. Overall happy so far, and I've convinced 2 other coworkers to buy / get their bike out of the garage and start riding. Perhaps they were jealous...

Was this review helpful? (72) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cornbread57
Quincy, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Value for Money
5/12/2011

Customer review by MyReview3

5.0 stars 5/12/2011 by MyReview3
by MyReview3

This bike is value for money. I ordered and arrived on time to store. Store did the assembly and works fine for me after a month. Note that I am a casual rider and do not have much Technical expertise with Bike and I am enjoying my ride with no issues.

Was this review helpful? (54) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MyReview3
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
350 miles and no problems
9/6/2011

Customer review by golfman12

5.0 stars 9/6/2011 by golfman12
by golfman12

Got a great sale price at local WalMart.Rode for about 50 miles and took to local shop for a quick tune up which is normal on all bikes. Rode the GAP trail from Pittsburgh Pa. to Cumberland Md. (140 miles) with no problems. Have about 350 miles on bike with still no problems. Great bike at any price..

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
golfman12
Lillington,NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great bike for the occasional rider
6/22/2011

Customer review by MrValentine

5.0 stars 6/22/2011 by MrValentine
by MrValentine

Got this bike so I could ride around the local lake (around 3 miles) some hills and rough terrain, some main road. Could not find anything wrong with the bike, looks great, rides smooth and met/exceeded expectations that I had. Could not go wrong with buying this bike. I am now looking into riding it TO work. Overall good bike and worth more than a Walmart price.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrValentine
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Super Value
9/5/2011

Customer review by 1rider

5.0 stars 9/5/2011 by 1rider
by 1rider

There simply is not a better bike for the money. Spend three to four times more money than you would have paid for this bike and then ride this bike. You will take the expensive one back. What a value this bike is.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1rider
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great bike for under $200!!
6/13/2011

Customer review by rickf078

5.0 stars 6/13/2011 by rickf078
by rickf078

Great bike for the money...actually FANTASTIC bike for the money! I opted to assemble the bike myself and the brake assemblies do require a bit of tweaking. Most of it comes pre-assembled and the job doesn't take long at all. If you want a premium bike, go spend $800-$1000 if you have it. I doubt it will do much more then this bargain!!

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rickf078
Port Charlotte Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Bike Outperforms me.
1/16/2012

Customer review by Blanman

4.0 stars 1/16/2012 by Blanman
by Blanman

I read the reviews and got this bike, well I meant to get the brown version with a rear rack already installed, but went with this one instead when I got to the store. Keep in mind this is a Walmart bike not a professional $500+ touring cycle like some of the people posting reviews always forget. Right off the bat it seemed decent in the store, I later realized it needed some minor tweaks, which with its setup weren't really rocket science. The clerk who put it together had the handle bars slightly off, and the seat was just enough slanted I didn't notice it till its maiden voyage. I picked up a bell multi tool, basically a Swiss army knife of allan wrenches etc that most bikes used, and easily did any minor adjustments with just that. The tire pressure seems to not want to go above 30 on mine for some reason, well not stay above it for long, could be the route I use is awfull for biking so I spend a good half mile in gravel; min pressure on the tire however is 50, so if I don't check it before a ride I find myself shattered when I pass over the canal near my house, which isn't that steep of a grade. I have since put a decent amount of cash into it, nothing like a tuning just lights, water bottle holder, lock etc and have yet to regret anything other then thinking on that first ride that I could 2.5 miles after not riding a bike in over 12 years.. big mistake. Like I mentioned before I check it over every time it leaves the garage, knowing full well with my first motorcycle, car, etc simply doing that can vastly improve a vehicles life. Keep in mind I am no mechanic, but after fixing a slipped chain on a motorcycle (not a bicycle, but similar in principle when chain driven) not to mention driving it into the ground the first 6 years of my licensed life, I know a thing or too about minor adjustments, and got an idea of what something should look like. In conclusion this bike still wears me out, but I am slowly mastering it, and it runs nicer now then when I took it out of the store last month. Just remember if your not gonna buy the more expensive, don't expect professorial endurance, and never take it for granted, no matter how great it feels that first month. Never neglect the once over, and the basic maintenance, it always comes back to bite you, its easier to notice a potential problem early on and end up with a spare, then pay for repairs, and still need a new one.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Blanman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
2/27/2012

Customer review by riderJ

5.0 stars 2/27/2012 by riderJ
by riderJ

Don't miss this bike! Looked at a Trek for many hundreds more and not as good in my opinion. I now have two of these Schwinn 700's and they are a dream to ride. My rides are 9-10 miles each way, so I burn calories and not $4 a gallon gas. The workmanship and welding is excellent, the seat is more than comfortable, 21 speeds are more than I need, and the "click shifting levers" are perfect. I am so glad I did not waste money buying a Trek....all that is, is a status symbol which means nothing to me. You can check this bike from one end to the other and not find a shortcoming. This hybrid is the best I have seen. If you ride a night, I would suggest a 1300 lumen light and rechargeable batteries. That light is "motorcycle" bright for safety. Only available on line for about $30. Other headlights are not so great. You will not be disappointed in the 700. Do it!

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
riderJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great bike esp. for the Price
10/3/2011

Customer review by Grant81

5.0 stars 10/3/2011 by Grant81
by Grant81

Less than half of the price of bikes you would get from the local bike shop. If you are going to ride everyday for distance, pay the money to by the brand name. This is a good bike for 2-5 miles, and will likely last 2-4 yrs, but no set up on hardware, and the parts/frame are not f the quality you expect form the bike shop. I did a month of research, but don't ride enough to justify the better bike. The hybrid is the way to go, the reviews of this type of bike are spot on.

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Grant81
Champaign, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/22/2011

Customer review by birdieray

3.0 stars 7/22/2011 by birdieray
by birdieray

was not exactly what i was expecting, once i got it adjusted to my build pretty good ride and comfortable wish there was a bigger frame available meaning the distance from seat to handle bars i am 6ft and 300lbs not fat just big, assembly was easy and i save couple hundred and more versus high end or custom bike

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
birdieray
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great for riding around town!
2/3/2012

Customer review by QuinnTheOnly

5.0 stars 2/3/2012 by QuinnTheOnly
by QuinnTheOnly

I have ridden this bike around my town for about 3 weeks now. I have put around 70 Miles on it so far (5-20 Miles on a nice day.) It gets me around town quickly, for a good price. I got it on sale for around $160. It shifts gears with one click of the gear changer, very nice derailleurs. I am 15 Yr's, 6" 1/2 tall at 150 LBS. I would recommend this bike to an everyday rider.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
QuinnTheOnly
Rolla, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good bicycle for the money
9/5/2011

Customer review by mustangllb64

5.0 stars 9/5/2011 by mustangllb64
by mustangllb64

I bought this off the rack from my local store along with a ladies model for my wife and a bike trailer to do shopping for groceries and such. The service was great. Overall I have had no issues with the bike as far as general riding goes. It pulls the trailer quite smoothly up and over an overpass near me, loaded or unloaded. It was nice to see that the bike has trigger shifting and not the more common and cheaper twist grip style. The only problems I have had is that Wal-mart does not sell the tubes for this bike. Or if they do, they sell them with Presta valves instead of the more common Schraeder valves and non-puncture resistant. I had to go to a bike shop for to get the tubes that I wanted. Another problem I have had is that the kickstand housing broke after about a year of ownership and I have had to use one from a previous Wal-mart bike that I have since discarded (non-Schwinn). I ride this bike at least once a week to church and back and to do my shopping for groceries and such. Occasionally I will take a 20 - 30 mile trip, but not often. I would have also like to have seen fenders offered on this bike. I may buy some to put on at a later date, depending on if I haven't upgraded yet. If I was going to do some serious bike riding, I think I would spend the money and get something different such as a Trek, Cannondale or Specialized. I have had full suspension bicycles before and I would have liked to have seen the rear suspension with a spring on the frame instead of a shock on the seat post. I would not recommend this bike for off road usage, but for general usage on paved roads it is great. Schwinn is now owned as a subsidiary of Pacific Cycle (foreign, China I think) and is not the Schwinn that I grew up with as a kid.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mustangllb64
Ceres, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great quality, especially for the price
7/25/2011

Customer review by ChristianP

4.0 stars 7/25/2011 by ChristianP
by ChristianP

I did a lot of research for a bike I could comfortably ride to work and back (about 3 miles). I finally decided on the Schwinn 700c and couldn't be happier. It's definitely higher quality than some of the cheapos out there and I really like the looks. I've been riding this for a couple weeks and love it so far.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChristianP
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great value hybrid bike
6/17/2012

Customer review by HappyLAdad

5.0 stars 6/17/2012 by HappyLAdad
by HappyLAdad

I just got the bike for Father's day and I like it! It was assembled at the store, correctly, and besides putting air in the tires, adjusting the seat height, and adjusting the angle of the gear shifters on the handlebars, required no other work. I just went for a long ride through our neighborhood with my daughters and it worked great, and was very comfortable. A similar bike, like a Trek, from a bike store would cost around $350 - $400, so this was a great deal for someone who wants a comfortable, well balanced, lightweight, and easy to use bike. For the reviewer that wasn't happy, given the amount of riding he was doing I think he will be happier longterm with a bike from the bike store. For the average guy who isn't planning to do serious biking, this bike is great!! I will probably get the girl's version for my wife very soon!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HappyLAdad
Lake Charles, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great bike for the money
5/1/2012

Customer review by Slamman553

5.0 stars 5/1/2012 by Slamman553
by Slamman553

I have had this bike for a few months now. I am 6'5" tall and 245lbs. This bike is very comfortable and durable. I purchased a Raleigh bike from a bicycle shop for $350.00 a few years ago. That bike was not as good as this bike. I am glad I purchased this bike.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Slamman553
Norfolk, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good entry level bike
9/7/2011

Customer review by Craver7694

4.0 stars 9/7/2011 by Craver7694
by Craver7694

Assembly was easy. All things pretty solid for a bike in the $200 range. Two minor issues: 1) Rear wheel is slightly "off". It's most noticeable when I'm going faster than ~15mph, and i get slowed down by it. 2) The front derailleur has issues getting into 3rd gear if the rear is already in 6th or 7th. I believe both of these issues can be addressed by bringing the bike to a shop to get "tuned", but that would add >25% of the cost to the bike.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Craver7694
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Too many broken spokes
6/18/2012

Customer review by vimks

1.0 stars 6/18/2012 by vimks
by vimks

I definitely wouldn't purchase this bicycle again. It has a new spoke design and the spokes break too easily. (I had my old bicycle for 2 1/2 years and it never broke a spoke.) My bicycle repair shop has confirmed that he has seen this problem with other bicycles of this same model. I've had the bicycle for less than a year and have had 7 spokes break at different times. It's currently breaking a rear spoke about every 120 miles of use. I've e-mailed Schwinn with the problem and not response.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vimks
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
What a piece of garbage!
9/12/2012

Customer review by DonewithSchwinn

1.0 stars 9/12/2012 by DonewithSchwinn
by DonewithSchwinn

My guess is that virtually all of the reviewers on this site have only just purchased this bike. Ask them how they like it in six months! The entire, needlessly complicated, gear assembly on the rear axle rusted to pieces in less than a year. The bike was never left outside--always garaged--and was treated with great care. No matter, the cheap, thin metal parts rusted apart. The nature of this design flaw is such that the bike is rendered completely useless--can't be ridden, can't be fixed. We had chosen to pay a bit more in hopes that we'd have a bike that would at least last a couple of years. Schwinn has lost my business forever. Total trash!

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DonewithSchwinn
Port Saint Lucie
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 54 total reviews
1-20 of 54 reviews