Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 18 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

18 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

18 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

78%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
5
1-14 of 14 total reviews
78%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

entrail all day baby!!!!
4/24/2011

Customer review by holyfire344

5.0 stars 4/24/2011 by holyfire344
by holyfire344

wow wow wow!!!!! amazing bike!!!!! colors look sweet!!! stable!!!!! omg pretty lite!!!! phenominal for a walmart bike i wouldent be suprised if they sarted to sell these in pro bmx shops!!!! get this bike if anything may be a lot or a little bit less or more money but its completely worth it!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (94) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
holyfire344
st.petersburg fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great BMX Bike!
7/28/2011

Customer review by livlafluv9247

5.0 stars 7/28/2011 by livlafluv9247
by livlafluv9247

We just gave my 14 year old this bike for his birthday. He was thrilled with how light it is and that it has 4 pegs (versus 2 on most other bikes he's seen). He was actually proud to tell his friends that we only paid $129 for his bike when his friends' bikes cost more than double and were heavier and only had 2 pegs! Great value!

Was this review helpful? (32) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
livlafluv9247
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome bike for $124.00 INCLUDING 6% MI sales tax
12/22/2011

Customer review by MoparManDan

5.0 stars 12/22/2011 by MoparManDan
by MoparManDan

After 7 months of use here is the good, the bad, and the ugly about the 20" Mongoose Entrail BMX style bike... The Good stuff: - I like the cool metallic black cherry color of the bike - 3-piece crank set (175mm length) - Heavy duty aluminum pedals (instead of cheap plastic units) - Heavy duty wheels that will not bend easily - Heavy duty aluminum stem (gooseneck) - Has a 'gyro' so you can spin the handle bars around in a circle and the brake cables will never get tangled up - Aluminum hubs - Aluminum hand brake levers (instead of cheap plastic units) The not so good: - Stiff brake levers - Cheap plastic chain guard (broke shortly after purchase, but it is not really a necessity anyways) - Left end of handlebars bent down a bit - Not thrilled with the purple colored stem (gooseneck), pedals, hand brake levers, gears (sprockets), and hubs, but it's tolerable. - It is a heavy bike, weighing almost 40 lbs. - Cheap gears (It wont effect most operators, however small gears + short chain = somewhat costly to upgrade) - Cheesy looking seat Would I buy this same bike again? For $124.00 out the door? Yes. For $180.19 out the door for a child who just wants a bike to ride? Yes. For $180.19 out the door for a child who is really into bikes or possibly wants to BMX race? I'd look for a pre-owned true BMX bike in the $130-180.00 range. I think you will get a lot more for your money. The full details: I bought this bike in the spring of 2011 for my 9 year old 70-lbs. son. I purchased it for $124.00 shipped 'Site To Store' via Wal-Mart.com. After assembly I noticed that the brake levers are very stiff. The gears/sprockets are very small diameter. An average rider likely will not care, but if you want to be able to have any adjust-ability in your gearing you will have to replace the front & rear gears to a more standard set. This will also means buying a new chain as the stock piece is VERY short due to such small diameter gears/sprockets. Overall it is an extremely smooth riding bike and coasts great. He has put the bike through its paces and a few crashes over the past 7 months and it is still an fantastic shape. It has been used every day, some days more than others. The only flaw so far is the left side of the handlebar has bent down a bit. I have no idea how it happened and he didn't realize it was bent until I showed him. I think the bike is heavy at almost 40-lbs. With that said I really can't say enough good about this bike for the price I paid for it. It is set up as a freestyle/trick bike than a true BMX bike which accounts for the beefy wheels, footpegs, gyro, ... I see the price is now $180.19 INCLUDING 6% MI sales tax online which makes this bike no longer a super deal in my opinion. I think it's still a great bike for the money if you are intent on purchasing a brand new bike or someone who just wants to ride a bike. However if you have someone who is really into bikes and/or likes to work on them or might want to start racing and you don't mind buying pre-owned there are a lot of really nice gently used quality bikes in the $130-180.00 range that will have all the same major features and will likely have a nicer seat, seat post, handlebars, smoother operating brakes, and will certainly be a bit lighter. Depending on the intended or projected use one of those may be a better buy/smarter investment in the long term.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MoparManDan
Marquette, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great deal
4/20/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/20/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

love it its awesome nice deal good colors very very good brand

Was this review helpful? (40) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
chicago ill
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
EXCELLENT VALUE QUALITY PRODUCT
8/15/2011

Customer review by thekoolaidhouse

5.0 stars 8/15/2011 by thekoolaidhouse
by thekoolaidhouse

We purchased this bike for our eight year old son. He is very hard on all his toys. It's usually only within a few weeks that whatever we have bought him shows some type of battle scars. This bike is SOLID built tuff. I think it's going to hold up quite well. He loves that it has double pegs. I like the fact that it comes with a kickstand. When the heck did they stop putting those on there anyway? All in all it's a great looking bike solid and well built. I had some trouble putting the break assembly together I found the instructions difficult to follow. If your not really handy with this type of thing I would advise taking it to a bike store any paying them to assemble it for you. I wished Walmart offered that option I would have gladly paid the extra money. They may do it in the store but we bought this online and had it shipped to our local store, and I was told it was not an option at the store I picked it up at.

Was this review helpful? (14) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thekoolaidhouse
Port St. Lucie Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Brought out the smiles
9/19/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 9/19/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Picked this up for my Nephew after he mentioned to me that his other bike was stolen. I had it shipped to the store and took him with me to pick up some other items for family dinner. The surprise on his face when we also picked up the bike was priceless! All he needs now is to take it off some really sweet jumps.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
10/17/2012

Customer review by Thoren69

4.0 stars 10/17/2012 by Thoren69
by Thoren69

I got this bike for my 11 year old son for his birthday. He LOVES it!!! The color scheme is a little different than what we thought, but it worked! The description was black bike, but when we got it, the bike also came with some purple metallic parts. (ie. brakes, pedals) My son said it looks cool and that is all that matters. Regarding the cost, I do not feel that we could have gotten a "Mongoose" bike of this quality anywhere else for less than $200. What a bargain!! We will definitely be using Walmart in the future for our daughters next bike.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Thoren69
Wentzville, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
good inexpensive bike for beginner bmx-style
7/28/2011

Customer review by shamrock11

3.0 stars 7/28/2011 by shamrock11
by shamrock11

got this for my 8 yr old -- frame is a bit long for his size but he makes it work and he loves the look. bike was so inexpensive, you almost can't go wrong. I doubt this bike would last on a much older/heavier child or adult, but it's perfect for him as a first bmx style bike with its small sprockets so he can drop down off ramps and into a bowl. pretty easy to put together after delivery, too. brake cable setup is poor -- the wires need to be replaced in their tracks almost every time we take the bike out of the car, and rear brake cable is exposed right under bar so that we needed to fit foam on our bike rack to transport it without damaging cable. overall it's exactly what I would expect at this great bargain price, and I'd recommend it for younger kids -- I'm not expecting it to last forever, but it was the perfect bike for him as a beginner.

Was this review helpful? (7) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shamrock11
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
3/17/2012

Customer review by Milfordaquarius

5.0 stars 3/17/2012 by Milfordaquarius
by Milfordaquarius

My 11 year old daughter loves this bike..

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Milfordaquarius
Connecticut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Holiday Gift
12/10/2014

Customer review by xmas954305

1.0 stars 12/10/2014 by xmas954305
by xmas954305

Item came in a box instead of being assembled at time of pickup. That was little annoying because they didn't mention anything about Item Being Not assemble......

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
xmas954305
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Bike
5/2/2015

Customer review by youngsta5000

1.0 stars 5/2/2015 by youngsta5000
by youngsta5000

Rides good. Brakes are good. Couple too many stickers on it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
youngsta5000
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
10/12/2012

Customer review by melovestoshop

1.0 stars 10/12/2012 by melovestoshop
by melovestoshop

Not happy, had problems with the front wheel as well as hooking the gears. I could have had a bad experience. It may not be the case for you.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
melovestoshop
Portage, Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
bike is decribed as black
12/21/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 12/21/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Ordered the bike for my grandson thinking the bike was black as described, when it arrived it had alot of purple on it , the pedals and other parts were purple, not boy colors although it was a boys bike. Lucky , I returned it and found another bike in time for Christmas

Was this review helpful? (0) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
tiverton RI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great first bike
4/8/2013

Customer review by jimmyego

5.0 stars 4/8/2013 by jimmyego
by jimmyego

Bought for my nephew - it's a terrific bike, well built and with easy instructions on assembly.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jimmyego
Fort Lauderdale
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.