Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 78 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

78 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

78 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

67%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
28
4 stars
21
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 stars
17
1-20 of 68 total reviews
67%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 68 total reviews
1-20 of 68 reviews
7/26/2011

Customer review by whydoineedanickname68

5.0 stars 7/26/2011 by whydoineedanickname68
by whydoineedanickname68

So far, so good. I weigh 265 lbs. and this bike is holding up to my weight right out of the box.

Was this review helpful? (168) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
whydoineedanickname68
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
incredible bike for the low price of $129
7/17/2011

Customer review by MadMerlin420

5.0 stars 7/17/2011 by MadMerlin420
by MadMerlin420

i have been out of a bike for 2+ years and i wanted a good bike it came pre-assembled i also bought an On-Guard bike lock (very good) i have ridden it 5 miles already and the shocks are great but you may need to take it in to a bike shop an get it Finished (brakes loosened/tightened gears fine tuned and others) also the pedals are METAL yes they will last so i would recommend this bike to anyone that asked me about it

Was this review helpful? (77) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MadMerlin420
Albert Lea, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Perfect for riding around campus
8/19/2011

Customer review by Jimbo87

5.0 stars 8/19/2011 by Jimbo87
by Jimbo87

I bought this bike for having to get from class to class in a short amount of time due to my tight schedule this semester. Before this one I had a very old huffy mountain bike, and I didn't care for riding it at all due to its lack of suspension. I also do a little trail riding when I can and I liked the fact that this bike came with shimano derailleur's and dual suspension. When I got the bike out of store it was already assembled but I knew the store's usually just make it look complete before they actually go into the detail of the assembly. So when I got it home the first thing I did was straighten any portions o the wheel by adjusting the spokes and then adjusting the derailleurs and brakes. Of course most people would rate it lower because they don't have the knowledge or drive to actually try to fix the problem themselves. The bike is exactly what I expected, which I am pleased with. Whence the five stars.

Was this review helpful? (63) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jimbo87
Mount Pleasant, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Quality control issues
8/29/2011

Customer review by wolfpaw

2.0 stars 8/29/2011 by wolfpaw
by wolfpaw

A friend purchased one of these bikes just over one year ago. He brought it to me recently to have a flat tire repaired. After removing the tire and inner tube, I found two temporary tape patches were used to repair two holes in the tube. This was a new bike bought off the rack at the store and I know that the tire has never been off of the bike. Why is the factory assembling wheels with patched tubes? Upon test riding the bike after replacing the defective tube I noticed that the gears were noisey and running rough. No amount of derailleur adjustment would correct the problem. An examination of the gear cluster revealed that some of the teeth on one side of the rear gear cluster were bent. This bike will never run smooth unless the gear cluster is replaced. The entire rear wheel assembly should have been rejected at the factory as a defect. I expect a new bike to be shipped with new undamaged parts. This may be an inexpensive bike but that is no excuse for such poor quality control. I also noticed that the gearing of this bike is inadaquate for off road use since the gear cluster is a 14x28, there is no granny gear for climbing. This bike should have 14x34 gearing with a megarange derailleur. Two stars due to poor quality and incorrect gearing on a bike that is marketed for off road use.

Was this review helpful? (75) (38)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wolfpaw
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Worth every penny!
8/2/2011

Customer review by HappyToClean

4.0 stars 8/2/2011 by HappyToClean
by HappyToClean

I bought this bike for my ex-husband as an early birthday gift. There were a couple of wear issues on the rims, and an issue with one of the tubes out of the box. After the issues were taken care of, he fell in love with this bike! It gives him everything he needs to get in a good workout or a leisurely ride. The price was incredible and affordable! Customer service took care of the issues promptly and with no hassle. I highly recommend this bike to any man.

Was this review helpful? (26) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HappyToClean
Craig, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Do Not buy this bike
2/1/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 2/1/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Warning!: Do not buy this bike. I bought this bike at the Wal Mart in Sand City, CA. After two days of riding it, the left crank arm fell off (that attaches to the pedal)! I attached it again, with a socket, and the next time I rode the bike, the left crank arm fell off again! Also the right crank arm started to get loose and the handlebars started to get loose. I brought it to a bike shop in Monterey and they found the crank arm assembly was stripped! It would cost about the price of the bike ($135) to repair it and give it a needed tune-up. This is after a week of buying the bike! The only good news from this story is that Wal-Mart very graciously allowed me to return it without any questions. Thanks Wal-Mart.

Was this review helpful? (18) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
so far so good hold me up im 255lbs
8/19/2011

Customer review by 23307

5.0 stars 8/19/2011 by 23307
by 23307

Im 255lbs i wear a backpack that is around 8lbs so 262 lbs and it holds me up no probs so far

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
23307
tomball tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
What I expected it to be.
8/31/2011

Customer review by TRRev

4.0 stars 8/31/2011 by TRRev
by TRRev

I looked at this bike at my local Wal-mart store. I did so because I wanted to purchase a bike that fit me. I would not buy a bike on line if I could not sit on it first. I would have gotten the bike that day at the store but turns out that Wal-mart will not even match their on line prices like other stores will. I decided to buy on line because between price difference and taxes I saved 20 bucks and I knew I would have to do most of the adjustments anyway. Shipping to home was free on this one. As for the bike it is what I expected it to be. Built right for the price paid. This is not a $500 bike and don't expect it to be. With just a few minor tweaks the bike is perfect. All of the gears work and the brakes are fine too. I have no issues except that it only comes with a 1 year warranty on general parts. My other bike came with 5 years. This bike is made by Pacific Bicycle which is the same company that makes the economy Schwinn bikes. I think Pacific Bicycle is a small bit higher quality than what I had in the past. That bike was 6 years old and was weather beaten. I will not buy an expensive bike as I must leave mine in the hot, humid and rain of Florida. I need it to be at my call when needed. If I have this 5 or 6 years like the last one great. This bike is for many short distance rides each day. I would not buy this bike for long distance riding because it does not have the largest front sprocket and can not achieve the speeds of a road bike. As for anyone wanting to punish this bike off road doing jumps and stunts, it is not made for that. That is clearly stated in the warranty. One suggestion to Wal-mart. This bike came double boxed. Mongoose Box inside of a plain box. It clearly states on the Mongoose box to not lay the box on it's side. The Wal-mart box on the outside does not state that. Guess what? When my bike was delivered it was laying in the truck on it's side. The driver did not know. The reason for this is so the frame and other parts don't get bent in shipment due to putting other stuff on the side of the bike.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TRRev
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Good Introductory bike
1/9/2012

Customer review by Vip3r

4.0 stars 1/9/2012 by Vip3r
by Vip3r

After purchasing the bike I started to read some of the reviews on this bike and got a little nervous before it arrived. After it arrived I assembled the bike. It comes partially assembled. Only had to attach the handle bars and peddles. Some of the earlier reviews that I read were correct. The wheels came in a little warped, brakes not adjusted correctly, shifters need adjusted. Thats fine. Unless you are buying a bike from a dedicated bike shop you should expect to do a little tuning yourself or bring in to have adjusted for you, After adjusting everything the bike runs very nice. No major problems. I do have to make this a point. IF YOU TIGHTEN YOUR HANDLEBARS CORRECTLY YOU WILL NOT HAVE A PROBLEM WITH THEM SLIPPING. Other people complained about that but I just made sure to fully tighten them before riding and have had no issue to this point. This is a nice bike for around town and the occasional smoother dirt trails and fire roads. That being said, do not get too excited and expect to do extreme downhill runs. With that being said I am pleased with the bike. But keep in mind that I am also not use to $1000+ dollar bikes that some of the other reviewers are apparently use to. If you purchase this bike enjoy it!!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Vip3r
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
4/6/2012

Customer review by Brijomot

4.0 stars 4/6/2012 by Brijomot
by Brijomot

Maybe I'm getting ahead of myself but I bought this bike a week ago and for a 5'8" nearly 300lb person this bike is holding up great for the price of $135. Only complaint so far is the seat is a bit small for me but that's an easy enough fix.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Brijomot
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Don't waste your money.
6/9/2012

Customer review by MBee622

1.0 stars 6/9/2012 by MBee622
by MBee622

I bought this bike because it had gotten good reviews on Walmart.com. I thought that I could trust a brand like Mongoose but I was definitely wrong. The bike comes with some cheap handlebar grips that will fall off while riding, and brakes that don't work correctly. The worst think that happened was the handlebars wouldn't stay tight and every time i tried to tighten them it would just come loose again. This bike is not made well and I would be suprised if it lasted anyone more than 6 months of daily riding.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MBee622
PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
unbelievable!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
2/28/2012

Customer review by militaryman105

5.0 stars 2/28/2012 by militaryman105
by militaryman105

i have had this bike for a week now and i cannot stop riding this! it is insane!with my bike i can go off road and barely feel it with the dual suspension!BUY IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
militaryman105
omaha, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/25/2012

Customer review by thebikedude

1.0 stars 7/25/2012 by thebikedude
by thebikedude

As a bike builder, the Men's Mongoose XR-75 is the one bike I see most often returned. Usually one of the pedals falls off. The bearings on the them are too tight (manufacturer defect), and they simply fall off as you pedal along. This bike is the one we sell at our location that I never recommend in an effort to give the customer the best buying experience possible. No one likes to return to the store with a product problem shortly after buying it. Save your investment money and buy one of our many other bikes that are worth your money! And remember to learn bike maintenance, most of what winds up being returned is simply due to people not knowing how to maintain their new bike, therefore, it breaks down as they ride it into the ground almost literally. It doesn't matter if you pay 88 dollars or 800 dollars for a bike. It needs to be maintained, any bike ridden will eventually break down and fall apart if not maintained properly. Consult the internet for ways to maintain them, and even ask a Walmart Bike Assembler or a bike shop professional for ways you can take good care of your new investment.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thebikedude
S. Logan, Ut
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Walmart associate
love at first sight
8/27/2011

Customer review by venim

5.0 stars 8/27/2011 by venim
by venim

this bike is amazing . since the first day i ride it uhhhh . perferct , it's like a BMW on two wheels .it's well made , well design the shock absorber is smooth ,good brake , comfortable seat . verry light i was verry suprised about that . . i enjoy it . the only problem u might encounter .if u buy it online which i did u're gonna have assemble the front (wheel ,brake) which kind of difficult n the seat n the steering after the the rest is already put together .u wont regret it if u buy this bike .

Was this review helpful? (10) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
venim
Queens , NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great bike with problems
1/12/2012

Customer review by jackas73

3.0 stars 1/12/2012 by jackas73
by jackas73

i have had 2 of these bike within a month and i returned both of them because of the same problem the bolt on the crankarm keeps loosening and i have too tighten about once or twice a day i would not recommend this bike to anyone

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jackas73
new port richey, florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
would never recommend!
9/11/2011

Customer review by FISHINB

1.0 stars 9/11/2011 by FISHINB
by FISHINB

My wife and I both purchased this model only hers was the womans model and we returned both after our first long bike ride. first my 2nd gear sprochet bent. Handle bars do not stay tightend,evan after retightning several times through out the ride. We evan retightend all the nuts after purchasing because of other reveiwers comments. The bike also shifted for no reason while rideing. The gears and shiffting didnt really feel right from the begging. I would suggest save a little more money and buy a entery leval bike from a quallaty bike shop with quallity techs. putting togather the bikes.

Was this review helpful? (18) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FISHINB
st charles, mo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
it's ok but...
8/15/2011

Customer review by NewlyMe

3.0 stars 8/15/2011 by NewlyMe
by NewlyMe

easy assembly but the rim of the tire is bent, package was delivered intact so it wasn't a delivery issue..I think I would rather go into a store and exam the bike before purchasing next time, bike itself is nice looking

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NewlyMe
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great bike for the money
9/25/2011

Customer review by FORMERGOVTMAN

5.0 stars 9/25/2011 by FORMERGOVTMAN
by FORMERGOVTMAN

They assembled it free and have had no problem with it. Don't expect to do hard offroad punishment to it, because it is an inexpensive bike.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FORMERGOVTMAN
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Decent Bike
5/8/2012

Customer review by PokerDave60

4.0 stars 5/8/2012 by PokerDave60
by PokerDave60

I bought this bike on-line in Florida to ride for a month. I have put over 100 miles on it so far and it works well. I live up North so I only can ride there for 4-5 months a year in good weather, but I ride almost everyday. Was disappointed at first because I was looking for the "budget" bike, but none were available in the Tampa-St. Pete area, but I am happy with this bike even though it cost about $50 more. My bike up North is a Scwhinn mountain bike that cost me double what I paid for this bike (on sale) and there really is no difference except the name on it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PokerDave60
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Do NOT buy
2/27/2012

Customer review by dre3607

1.0 stars 2/27/2012 by dre3607
by dre3607

Do NOT buy!! Even if you are getting the warranty. I bought this bike on Sunday, Feb 26th 2012. The very same day I got home I did all the adjustment as recommended with the exception of one; I forgot to check the crank arms (part that connects pedal to crank w/ chain). I went out for a bike ride with my family so I was taking it easy and to my surprise the left crank arm with pedal came off at 1 mile. I had to walk/scooter push myself with the bike back home. I put it back on nice and tight, thinking it must have been loose. Next day, being today the 27th, I went out for another ride, alone but still taking it easy, not only did I notice some gears didn’t work, but the crank arm fell off at 1 mile again. And yes, I had to walk/scooter push myself back home again. Once I got home, just for the heck of it, I attempted to put the crank arm back on, the thing is stripped. Will not go back on and will need to be replaced. I am definitely taking if back to the store for a refund and will not be exchanging it for another one. Hopefully I can find another model that’s well constructed. This ride feels wrong. The front brakes after adjusting numerous times did not work properly. Oh and the SEAT, if you can call it that. It’s like sitting on a rock. It hurts!

Was this review helpful? (9) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dre3607
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 68 total reviews
1-20 of 68 reviews