Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 180 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

180 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

180 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

66%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
54
4 stars
55
3 stars
18
2 stars
14
1 stars
39
1-20 of 161 total reviews
66%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 161 total reviews
1-20 of 161 reviews
Amazing Value
5/2/2011

Customer review by Strunz0

4.0 stars 5/2/2011 by Strunz0
by Strunz0

I recently gained interest in Biking and decided to buy something cheap before plopping down big bucks for a more advanced model (trek, Scott, etc). This bike exceeds my expectations given the price of $80 - It has a sturdy steel frame and all major components are made of metal - even the pedals. I agree that the seat is a bit uncomfortable, but it is a bike seat - even $1000 bikes have uncomfortable factory bike seats. Overall assembly was easy (need allen wrenches, socket set, pliers), but the fine tuning takes time. Also, make sure you go through the entire assembly and make sure that every bolt is tightened, as some of the pre-assembled factory work seemed to be just finger tight. I've owned this bike for a few weeks and am just starting to get the brakes to have the right sensitivity for my tastes. I have taken it on several 5 mile bike trips thus far. Clearly, the real test will be how this bike functions a year from now. But, given its steel construction and basic components, I don't think reliability will be a major issue. Gear shifting is this bikes weakest point as gears skip or take a while to catch. In one instance, the chain fell off of the gear while I was riding it, but it was easy to put it back on. I think this bike would be better if it had less gears that just worked better. I have found a few sweet spots that seems to work well, such as gears 1 and 6. Overall this is a fantastic entry level bike . This bike is well suited for streets, sidewalks and light trails. If you budget is under $200, I think this is your best bet. I would avoid the "name brands" under $200 as they are really just slapping a respected brand onto a similar quality bike as this. You will need to spend much more to get something worth paying for - like a Trek, Specialized, or Scott.

Was this review helpful? (301) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Strunz0
Connecticut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Bike Great Price
4/28/2011

Customer review by johnj2803

4.0 stars 4/28/2011 by johnj2803
by johnj2803

If you are starting to do some biking around the neighborhood just to get from point A to point B then this is the best bang for buck bike. The pedals are metal, (not plastic like other cheepo bikes), has multiple speeds and a front suspension. If you are going to be assembling this on your own and you are not very experienced or even if this is your first time assembling a bike, it is nor as complicated as you think. Just make sure you have the proper tools for it. NOTE: 1. The fork is reversed when unpacked so you need to turn it all the way around 2. The handle bar is also reversed after unpacking, turn it. 3. Know how to adjust brakes, you will need to do this after assembly. there are many youtube videos that show you this. 4. Buy A New saddle. the saddle that came with this pretty much made my butt sore after just 5 mins on it. The reviews here do not over exaggerate when it come to the saddle. I also installed the iBert child seat onto this without any problem. So yes, i use this bike with my 1 yr old daughter :D

Was this review helpful? (154) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
johnj2803
Miami Beach, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Best bike i tried
6/6/2011

Customer review by paramon

5.0 stars 6/6/2011 by paramon
by paramon

i tried different bikes under $250 including Scwinn , Mangoose and V2100. It was something wrong with all of them such as riding comfort,speed change easines, to push pedals ext.. I am casual rider, just riding few miles a day around the lake for excesise ,nothing extreme .It is best bike i tried and I am extriemly happy with it. I am not talking even about the price.It was my last intention to purchase cheap bike.

Was this review helpful? (138) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
paramon
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great bike for low price
4/7/2011

Customer review by Dee744

4.0 stars 4/7/2011 by Dee744
by Dee744

I bought this product and thought it was great. It's a smooth ride at a great price. I am very satisfied with this purchase. I am a person who rides to and from work everyday and so far it has not let me down. Would recommend to others.

Was this review helpful? (125) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dee744
Phoenix, Az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
good bike, good value, very hard seat
4/27/2011

Customer review by ishopatwalmart24

4.0 stars 4/27/2011 by ishopatwalmart24
by ishopatwalmart24

i brought the bike from my local walmart store and rode it home (about 4-5 miles) it rides good it has smooth gear shifting the only problem i have with it is the seat it comes with. its like sitting on a brick! other than that, great bike for $80

Was this review helpful? (45) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ishopatwalmart24
palmyra, nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very please
7/1/2011

Customer review by paul691

5.0 stars 7/1/2011 by paul691
by paul691

I had this bike for about two weeks now I found no false with it. It rides very well shifts good too. I ride at least 5 times a week And do 100 miles once a week, I took my first 100 miles with it not one problem with it. I am very please and happy with this bike no complaints. I'm very please with this bikes purchase.

Was this review helpful? (32) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
paul691
Fall River,Ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worth the money, get a tune-up
9/8/2011

Customer review by rdhbass

5.0 stars 9/8/2011 by rdhbass
by rdhbass

I tried different bikes at walmart and this one felt right and was pretty light for a steel framed bike. I like the different color fork and the suspension on the front. I previously had a mongoose paver that got stolen and had aluminum construction yet heavier than this one. So I headed back for another bike. construction is steel but not overly heavy. Seat is pretty hard but needs to be broke in. nice front suspension. lots of gears to play with and cool front suspension. cheap shifters but you get your money's worth. For the price it cannot be beat. It was told to me by the nice worker at walmart that these are starter bikes and your parts are not high grade like the more expensive bikes but you will get what you pay for. I recommend on buying the warranty for a few extra dollars to cover the parts that wear out or break if they ever do. Also getting a setup and a tune up of this bike, to enjoy fully what this bike can do, especially on its shifting. I just got mine tuned up after riding for a month and its a different bike!. Just assembled without a tune up, the gears may skip, brakes not aligned, etc. So Go get a water bottle cage and a helmet. For under a 100 bucks there is not a deal like this one.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rdhbass
Springfield, mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
good bike
5/15/2011

Customer review by esbasin

5.0 stars 5/15/2011 by esbasin
by esbasin

We bought both man and woman bikes and we love them. The gear changes perfectly, goes smooth, no noises.. I'm ok with my seat, eventually you get used to it, although you can always buy those gel-covers.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
esbasin
Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
best bike i had
10/15/2011

Customer review by lwdw6655

5.0 stars 10/15/2011 by lwdw6655
by lwdw6655

i get a huffy bike from my job as a gift and i was junk so i was looking for a good bike i looked at walmart and i seen the roadmaster for 89.00 so i thought i would give it a try well let me say this i am 53 yr old 6 ft and 188 lbs. me and my wife took on the N C R trail we did 21 miles and it was the best the shifting was great and i had no problems with it at all Love it i just did not like the seat that came with it so i got a new one the seat that came with it is hard on the but

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lwdw6655
Baltimore
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
I really like this bike!
8/21/2011

Customer review by MCNice

4.0 stars 8/21/2011 by MCNice
by MCNice

The first thing that caught my eye was the sturdy look of the steel frame. But I have to admit, I was a bit hesitant when I saw it was on sale for only $58 bucks. After my wife and I looked at couple other bikes, I was still drawn to the Roadmaster. So I went for it! This bike was a gift from my wife purchased preassembled. So all I had to do was pump the tires up with 55 pounds of air and hit the roads. The sturdy look of the bike was instantly transferred into the feel of the ride. I actually enjoy riding this bike, and took it out 3 separate times my first day. Some unpleasantries noted are the gears tend to skip and the saddle is extremely hard. The saddle issue was quickly rectified with a gel seat pad. And I think the gears should be a quick fix too with some fine-tuning of the front and back derailleur. Overall, this is a solid performing entry-level bike, at an amazing value…thanks babe!

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MCNice
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Severely underwhelming.
8/22/2011

Customer review by mrbusto71

1.0 stars 8/22/2011 by mrbusto71
by mrbusto71

First, let me say this. If I'm going to dub something a 'Great Value', then it has to meet two basic criteria: 1.) The cost must be at or below the average cost for the product's category 2.) The quality of the product must exceed average expectations in some way. The Roadmaster Mountain Bike most definitely hits the price point, but the quality of the bike itself is so profoundly lacking that I can't comprehend how this bike hasn't been recalled. Where to begin. For starters, the rims on the bike were bent when I received it. So when they were put on, rather than rolling in a straight line, the wheels would visually wobble and hit the brake pads about twice per full rotation. As a result, I had to adjust the brakes themselves so that they were ridiculously loose, thereby making it nearly impossible to stop. After adjusting the brakes, I took the bike out for a test spin. The wobbly wheels still hit the brake pads when riding, so when I was riding downhill, I would be in max gear, pedaling as hard as possible and still coast to a stop after about one to two hundred feet. Then there's the seat. The only way I can try to describe it would be a steel wedgie. It's extremely uncomfortable. I rode the bike for maybe a grand total of 20 minutes over 2 days and I felt like I'd never be able to walk correctly again. After all this, I was discouraged, but I figured I'd work on the bike and make it worth the $80 I spent on it, right? Wrong. On my third (and final) test run, I was pedaling along casually on the sidewalk when suddenly the left pedal felt odd. I stopped, examined it, nothing appeared to be wrong, but to be safe I turned around and started pedaling home. About halfway back to my house, in lieu of nothing at all, the pedal falls off completely. Not just the pedal, but the arm the pedal's attached to as well. I can't stress enough that I was LEISURELY pedaling on a flat, paved road. And this is a mountain bike? If it can't stand the rigors of a flat surface, I can only imagine what would happen if I actually tried to take this thing on a mountain. They should re-categorize this as a bike fit for flat lands and 'areas with gradual slopes'. All in all, I thought I was getting a steal of a deal, and instead ended up with a scraped calf from the pedal incident, a bruised tuckus, and a desire to strap bricks to this bike, throw it into a lake and let it sleep with the fishes. If you're looking for something reliable, or even a beginner's bike for yourself or a loved one, I'd recommend perusing something else in Wal-Mart's catalog, as this bike is only good for 3 things: A headache Buyer's Remorse A bruised tailbone.

Was this review helpful? (40) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mrbusto71
Would recommend to a friend? No
7/29/2011

Customer review by SCOOTER196741

5.0 stars 7/29/2011 by SCOOTER196741
by SCOOTER196741

I LOVE THIS BIKE. I AM A BIG GUY AND NEED TO LOOSE WEIGHT. THIS BIKE KEEPS ME GOING.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SCOOTER196741
WADENA,MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great fun!
7/14/2011

Customer review by thorazine

4.0 stars 7/14/2011 by thorazine
by thorazine

I have been using the bike a lot and have no complaints except one - the gears have taken quite a long time to adjust to get them to change through all of them and not grind in between - and this adjustment is not the easiest of tasks unless you have 3 hands!! But the bike rides nice otherwise and considering the cost, it has been a great investment!!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thorazine
Miami Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great quality
9/27/2011

Customer review by Alanator93

5.0 stars 9/27/2011 by Alanator93
by Alanator93

I ordered this as an incoming college freshman a year ago. It is still up and running. I got it because it was cheap and simple, easy to maintain. I had small adjustment issues early on but those were easily fixed with select screwdrivers and small bit of know-how. I've had this for about a year and the only things I've replaced were the inner tubes and the back brakes. I ride mainly to get to classes and work so basically 3-4 miles daily. I've also used it on a beginner trail once and it held up pretty well. I'm upgrading to something more expensive and I was sad to watch it go, although I did sell it for $90 on craigslist. Overall it is a great bike!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Alanator93
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
9/11/2011

Customer review by aiyz

1.0 stars 9/11/2011 by aiyz
by aiyz

crankarm wont stay tightened up back gears are crooked gears wont shift properly and chain skips when youre petaling. gouged the back of my leg second day riding it onthe petal due to the skipping i know its a 80 dollar bike but come on i shouldnt have to consider rebuiling a bike up with other parts for at least 6 months especially on a preassembled bike. i ride every day when i have a bike but if its gonna get me hurt id rather walk im returnin it for a new one hopefully the parts will be a lil better this time if not im tryin a different bike. i thought roadmaster was supposed to be a well made bike for a cheaper one, guess the quality cost to much to use for this model lol

Was this review helpful? (13) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aiyz
three rivers MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great mountain bike for the price!
9/5/2011

Customer review by leone68

4.0 stars 9/5/2011 by leone68
by leone68

I needed a bike for four months, and I always liked mountain bikes. I had looked for a used bike in the city, but then I thought I could look into what Walmart had to offer...I was a bit skeptical of buying a bike on-line and having shipped, but since I didn't have a car to go shopping, I decided to try. The bike arrived in a box, half assembled. I put it together, it wasn't too hard, but obviously it was not all right...I went to a local bike shop, and had it tuned up for an extra $15. I have been riding my new bike since then with no problems, the shift works very well, the bike is not too heavy, and it only cost me a little over a $100...I think it's a pretty good deal!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
leone68
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works great for me
4/11/2012

Customer review by Kafziel

4.0 stars 4/11/2012 by Kafziel
by Kafziel

I don't know what the heck all these one-star reviewers are doing to their bikes, but mine has been just fine. Tires are fine. Rims are fine. Brakes are fine. Gears are fine. Are you going to win the Tour de France with it? No. Will it get you from point A to point B? Yes. I'm 6'3", 200 lbs, and I had no problems with the pedals breaking off or anything crazy like that. Having said that, though, I did eventually let the bad reviews get to me and I ended up ordering a pair of high-quality pedals and swapped them out, just in case. Better safe than sorry, right? A good set of pedals is only $15, which still makes this one of the least expensive bikes around. I also swapped out the seat for a more comfortable gel seat, but I've done that with every bike I've ever owned as an adult. Aside from those two minor additions, it worked great right from the store. I rode it with stock pedals and seat for the first few days and it was A-OK. The frame may be a tad small for me, only because sometimes the front tire rubs against my foot while pedaling through a sharp turn. But it's really not an issue at all. I only ride 10-20 miles at a time, mostly on streets and paved trails, so it's perfect for what I want.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kafziel
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Pedal Problems
10/12/2011

Customer review by MMajava1

1.0 stars 10/12/2011 by MMajava1
by MMajava1

I bought this bike in May for my freshman year at college. The first time I rode it here the left pedal fell off. I brought it in to be replaced just as warrenty expired and they just repaired it. After it was supposedly repaired, the first time I rode it to a doctor appointment, the same pedal fell off at the same spot (where it connects to the chain part).

Was this review helpful? (10) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MMajava1
Clermont, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Lasted only a few months. No Replacement Parts
4/12/2012

Customer review by jakejh02

1.0 stars 4/12/2012 by jakejh02
by jakejh02

Im 6'3" 225 lbs thought this bike might hold up for a while before I could afford something stronger. Wrong. The cassette gears were bent and it skips in 4th and 5th gear. This was the straightest one in the store. Both tubes had blown out after 1 month. The wheels bend incredibly easy and the brakes always rub. It lasted longer than I thought but around month 3 the rear axel bearing went bad and the wheel just wobbled all over the place. But none of this is that bad considering Im a larger guy. I expected things to break on this bike simple because of my weight and the quality of the parts. What makes me angry is that you can't find any parts anywhere. No bike store carries them because all that have are high quality parts that don't fit and no online parts list match the bikes model #. Im ok with things breaking, but not when they can't be replaced. What a waste of money.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jakejh02
Davidsonville, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1/16/2012

Customer review by jman063000

4.0 stars 1/16/2012 by jman063000
by jman063000

I like this bike. It is not every day you can fiend a well known company like Road master sealing there product for under one hundred dollars. I paid the same amount that it was offered on line already put to gather. I do not like the way it was put to gather by the store put it to gather. On the other hand like the bike so much I am going to buy my wife the f email virgin of this bike. I like so much I am thinking about buying one for my mother as well This is a best buy.....:) happy

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jman063000
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 161 total reviews
1-20 of 161 reviews