Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 32 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

32 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

32 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

66%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
17
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
9
1-20 of 26 total reviews
66%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 26 total reviews
1-20 of 26 reviews
Very nice bike
7/27/2011

Customer review by Landdchamp

5.0 stars 7/27/2011 by Landdchamp
by Landdchamp

I bought this for my 9yr. old grandson. Was extremely easy to assemble. (I've had a few experiences assembling bikes over the past 50yrs..LOL) He absolutely loves it. Washes and waxes it, probably too often? Seems to be very good quality..should last several years. I engraved his name and phone # on it and recorded the serial #.

Was this review helpful? (121) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Landdchamp
Vancouver, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome for needs
8/1/2011

Customer review by LP12331

5.0 stars 8/1/2011 by LP12331
by LP12331

I really like the design of the bike. Its really smooth to ride.

Was this review helpful? (58) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LP12331
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great kids bike
9/28/2011

Customer review by Sschm

5.0 stars 9/28/2011 by Sschm
by Sschm

Really nice looking bike. It seems solidly built. I purchased it already assembled from Walmart and have not had any problems with the brakes rubbing. I haven't had any problems with it and my 7-year-old loves it.

Was this review helpful? (35) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sschm
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great For Bike Riding.
10/29/2011

Customer review by HNSyed

5.0 stars 10/29/2011 by HNSyed
by HNSyed

I got this bike around 3 weeks ago since I needed a bike. This was the first time I learned how to ride a bike, since I never really was interested in bike riding until just a few months ago. I got this bike, because it looks cool and looks great. I learned how to ride it in 3 days after practicing it for 30 minutes each day. Riding on the sidewalk is pretty smooth, on the road it's good too, but it slows down a lot on the grass you have to put more force into the pedals. The brakes work fine, I have no trouble stopping. The bike weighs around 30-38 pounds maybe, when I lift it I do it with both hands one on the handlebar and one on the frame. I don't do a lot of bike riding maybe just 1 mile a day, sometimes I use it for school it gives me no problems. When you put all your force on the pedals it can go pretty fast, but road bikes still go faster than this and it's only single gear. Tricks also might be a bit harder since it is heavier than other BMX bikes, but I guess you get used to the weight. In conclusion I like this bike very much I'm 5"4 and weigh about 110 pounds and it's nice. It comes with a kickstand too you could see in the picture. If you like riding bikes at a nice easy pace or are a boy who likes the color and design this is a simple and a great bike for you to get, but if you don't like the design or style you should skip this bike and look for one you will enjoy.

Was this review helpful? (33) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HNSyed
Cali
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
8/21/2011

Customer review by Roundup

3.0 stars 8/21/2011 by Roundup
by Roundup

Cannot seem to adjust the back brakes exactly right, no matter how much we adjust. Either they rub the tire while riding, or won't stop the bike at all.

Was this review helpful? (22) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Roundup
Would recommend to a friend? No
12/1/2011

Customer review by Ike5star

5.0 stars 12/1/2011 by Ike5star
by Ike5star

I was really impressed withthis purchase not only did it featur front and rear solid axle foot pegs but the annodized rims and handlebar bar clamps make this bike shine. MY grandson 9 years old claims this bike is "AWSOME" and would not trade it for any other even more expensicve models. Walmart had the bike in stock for same day pick up. I also puchased a bike helmet and lock.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ike5star
SF
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
AWESOME
1/13/2012

Customer review by Bebiboben

5.0 stars 1/13/2012 by Bebiboben
by Bebiboben

This bike was a Christmas present for my grand son. He was so excited when he saw it and has not stopped talking about how perfect it is. Not only does he do "normal" riding on it but he also does "stunts" as he calls them.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bebiboben
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/31/2011

Customer review by bargainshopper478

5.0 stars 12/31/2011 by bargainshopper478
by bargainshopper478

I would recommend this item to other shoppers. However, I would instruct others to select site to store with caution! I received the notification I could pick up the bike as early as Wednesday 10:30 a.m. and as late as the following Wednesday. I went in Friday evening to pick it up only to be told you have 48 hours from your notification time to pick up the order and they didn't have my order. Luckily there were 2 of the same bike in the stockroom and they were able to give one of those.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bargainshopper478
Pownal, vt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
4th Mongoose
1/3/2012

Customer review by frank0

5.0 stars 1/3/2012 by frank0
by frank0

This is the 4th Mongoose I have purchased for my grandchildren. They love the bikes so I do too. They are very well built and have had no problems. I am sure that a pro level BMX rider would find faults with the bikes, but for kids who ride in the woods and on the street it's a great single speed bike.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
frank0
Baton Rouge, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great looking and great quality
5/29/2011

Customer review by mcshorty

5.0 stars 5/29/2011 by mcshorty
by mcshorty

its a great bike nuff said

Was this review helpful? (45) (72)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mcshorty
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/27/2011

Customer review by Dani76

2.0 stars 12/27/2011 by Dani76
by Dani76

This item was a good product. It was a In-Store pick up. What I wasn't happy with is that they pulled an older model from the rack and it was scratched, the seat was ripped, and the handle was also cut. So I had to return the product and then get the new model bike that was not damaged. In the end my son was happy with the bike.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dani76
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
12/27/2011

Customer review by ArtDirector

5.0 stars 12/27/2011 by ArtDirector
by ArtDirector

Great bike and a low price. Bike was already assembled when I picked it up. All I had to do was a slight rear brake adjustment and off my daughter went riding it all day. Strong and great looking BMX bike.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ArtDirector
Fort Myers, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cheap parts, poorly assembled
12/26/2011

Customer review by gramesy

1.0 stars 12/26/2011 by gramesy
by gramesy

Regret ever buying this bike. Soon as I got it home, had to take it to a bike shop to adjust the rear brake because the pads were touching the rim. Repair guy said the brake design was bad and he couldn't really adjust it that much. There was also a slow leak in the front tire that I discovered late Christmas eve. Finally, the rear brake lever mount cracked when my son took it out for a ride on Christmas day and fell off. I would expect a part like that to last more than 10 minutes on a dirt bike intended for children. Returning the bike today.

Was this review helpful? (5) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gramesy
St Cloud, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Poor Build and Material Quailty
7/14/2012

Customer review by JeffinCOU

1.0 stars 7/14/2012 by JeffinCOU
by JeffinCOU

My son (age 10) purchased this bike pre-assembled with his own allowance and gift money and it has proved to be one disappointment after another. So far, we have replaced two pedals that broke and fell off and one brake lever. The brakes are extremely difficult to adjust as well and have a tendency to come out of adjustment. At least two neighbor boys have the exact same bikes and they too suffer similar problems. I wish my son had saved his money and bought a used bike at a garage sale.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JeffinCOU
Columbia, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great buget bike.
7/22/2012

Customer review by Wahkeen

4.0 stars 7/22/2012 by Wahkeen
by Wahkeen

At less that half the price of the cheapest bike at the local bike shop this is a great bike for a young child to learn on. I suspect the bike to have been assembled on a Monday or a Friday by the Walmart night crew, but the the sales help in sporting goods did a great job tweaking what he could to make the bike rideable and the right height for my son to test drive it and make his choice. I gave it a once over when we got home and discovered the chain and crank to be over tightened. I spent a total of about 30 minutes screwing with the bike, doing the things I would expect a full service bike shop to do prior to delivery. I decided to remove the lock nut on the crank and repacked the bearing retainers, put a little slack on the chain, and lubed the brake cables. The front brakes weren't dragging, but tweaked about 80% to one side. My son may have never noticed, but what was two more minutes to make the bike perfect. We rode for an hour this morning and no issues at all. So if 30 minutes of your time is worth saving $100+ dollars, I would say this bike is a good buy for your kid.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wahkeen
Chandler, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
6/27/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 6/27/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

i bought this bike 2 days ago i rode it to work yesterday for the first time, the rear brakes barely worked at all, the front brakes didnt and they squeeled super loud. on my way home i ride UP a large hill, while doing so the rear drive sprocket internals got completly destroyed. i would not reccomend this product to anyone except MABY a small child riding a bike for the first time.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Bike But wish it would have been assembled
1/13/2012

Customer review by colorsfade

4.0 stars 1/13/2012 by colorsfade
by colorsfade

Ordered this bike online for the convenience and had my husband go get it. He brought it home in a box. I was like why is it in a box, well it was not assembled. I never saw a option to have it assembled, but why would I want to buy it online for convenience and then assemble it myself? The assembly went ok but the instructions for the brakes were horrible. The front brakes were fine and we figured them out, but I am pretty sure there were no instructions for the kind of brake in the rear. If you can't figure out how to do things yourself, definitely have it assembled for you.

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
colorsfade
washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
my fav
4/29/2012

Customer review by aWeSoMe101

4.0 stars 4/29/2012 by aWeSoMe101
by aWeSoMe101

i got this bike last year trust me never leave this bike out because when i did that it got stolen it was my fav but not now but still great bike

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aWeSoMe101
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
DO NOT BUY
4/5/2012

Customer review by URBFAM

1.0 stars 4/5/2012 by URBFAM
by URBFAM

DO NOT BUY. Bearings go out within four to six months. Double check all bolts when buying assembled. Bought assembled, and about eight percent of all bolts and nuts were not tightented. I have had nothing but problems with this bike, and will NEVER buy another Mongoose. On the good side, it does make a GREAT boat anchor.

Was this review helpful? (3) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
URBFAM
ERIE, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Frame is solid but the rest is junk.
4/21/2012

Customer review by dennisndodie

1.0 stars 4/21/2012 by dennisndodie
by dennisndodie

I bought 2 of these for my boys. The brakes on them both are junk.They both had leaky inner tubes The rear wheel stops working intermittently (spin the pedals and the rear wheel doesnt engage) The kickstands are junk they bend at the mount. Front sprocket/crank works loose on both bikes. The pedals fell apart after a few hours pedaling all that is left was the center part that screws into the crank. I bought a standard huffy bike for 50$ cheaper with rear drum brakes/old school brakes and it was a much better bike.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dennisndodie
anchorage ak
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 26 total reviews
1-20 of 26 reviews