Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.9out of 5 stars
3.9 out of 5 | 257 reviews
5 stars
139
4 stars
55
3 stars
12
2 stars
12
1 stars
39
Sort by: 
1-20 of 242 reviews
1-20 of 242 reviews
i had this hand vac for 2 years
1/17/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
i really like this hand vac. people in pa were getting stink bugs, that come into the house a lot. i bought this vac to suck up stink bugs and vacuum my car. the stink bugs stick on everything and you have to have a good suck force to get them .. i would not touch the stink bugs because they will stink you up.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (36)No (20)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not good for pet hair
12/30/2013
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have been through two of these vacuums and I would recommend buying something of more quality for pet hair. The vacuum would be good for general, small use. The vacuum does not hold a charge very well. And it is not good with short or long pet hair. Since this is the Pet Perfect, I had expectations the vacuum would be good with pet hair. I have a toy dog that sheds quite a bit. The vacuum slows so quickly from lack of holding a charge, it is difficult to get all the dog hair off the sofa at one time. I would need to stop and recharge halfway through. The suction does not stay strong over time (give it a month tops and it will lessen). And with long pet hair, the hair easily wraps around the brushes. I burned the motor on my first vacuum with long pet hair trapped on the side of the brush. The next vacuum also lacked holding a charge, but with cleaning the brush, I can get a solid 3-4 minutes out of the vacuum before it slows.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (68)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Quick and Easy
1/7/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Works great. I just checked the run time with a full charge and using the power brush on sofas and rugs - almost 15 minutes. Very quick and convenient for pickup of a small mess or whatever as most of the time the charger isn't plugged in as per the instructions. I rigged things up a little so it will store nicely in my old Shark's wall mount. The only real downside for my use is trying to keep up with the state of battery charge. As explained in the instructions, after intial charging, recharge only when the battery is "very low". When running the unit, you can hear the motor start to slow down - then it's time to plug in the charger. Problem is you don't have a full charge every time you start to use the unit and don't know for sure how long it's going to last. It would get 5 stars if it had one of the smart chargers that senses the state of the battery and goes to a trickle maintenance mode when fully charged up.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (91)No (23)
Report
Was this review helpful?
SV75Z_N
5/4/2017
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The vacuum did not work after I used it for a couple months. I believe the battery died. The cost of the replacement battery is more than the cost of the vacuum itself.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Small size does not compare to suction
6/19/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Such a powerful little vacuum! I have a car which has black interior and gets dirty very quickly. I bought this vacuum to clean the inside of my car. At first I was hesitant about this product because I was worried that it wouldn't have a good enough suction considering it's small size but I WAS WRONG! It has such a great pickup and the two pieces that came with the vacuum are great for getting small areas like the hair in my car seats and the motorized piece is great for picking up leaves that just don't want to leave my car located by my gas pedal. This was definitely a great buy and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a vacuum to not take up a lot of space and need it for small areas that a regular sized vacuum is just too big for. It's a GREAT BUY!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (111)No (16)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Suction!
3/22/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We bought this to vacuum the stairs (I'm tired of trying to carry the full-size vacuum up each stair and vacuum the carpet with the attachments!), vacuum up cat litter around the cat's box, and just for touch ups here and there. It works great! The suction was so great on the carpet that it works better than the attachments of the full-size vacuum! It took me only a few minutes to do the whole staircase. And it picks up the cat litter, etc. We've only had it about a week, but it has been working great! The charge has lasted long enough to do what I need it to do. I would definitely recommend this handvac to anyone. I just wish it came with a wall mount.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (137)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Vac
8/24/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Good strong vac for clean up . Follow recharge instructions completely
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Better than I expected
3/3/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this last night at walmart because I had been looking for something to get dog hair off my microfiber couch and my bed. My jack russell is long hair and sheds like CRAZY! This product actually sucked my couch cushion into the nozzle. IT did better than I thought it would becuase of the price and when I emptied the canister SO much hair was on the filter, I didnt even realize there was that much hair on my couch. It did great.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (211)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Fantastic for quick touch ups!
3/16/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Wow! This is the most fantastic hand vac I have ever owned. I have 2 cats that shed a lot and love to lay on every carpeted or upholstered surface in our home. It's so great to be able to grab this little hand vac right quick and run over the spots they have been laying in all day and it sucks all of it up just as great as my full sized vacuum. If I hadn't just bought a full size vacuum in another brand right before I bought this little hand vac, I would have bought one of the full size Shark vacuums because if the little hand vac works this good, I can just imagine how great the full size ones work. If I had anything to say as far as cons, I just wish the battery would stay charged longer.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (24)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Leaves a Lot to be Desired
4/2/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The vacuum works very well - when it's actually charged. It comes with at least a partial charge. But when that charge runs out, you find out that the company doesn't pack any kind of charger with the vacuum. So I bought the charging stand off the company's website, assuming it would come with a way to plug the vacuum into the outlet. Nope. The vacuum already ran me $40 and the charging stand (basically two small pieces of hard plastic) cost me another $10. Now if I want to charge my vacuum, I will have to order a $15 adapter from Shark's website!!! What I thought was a fair value for the vacuum and a charger ($40) in the original packaging would turn out to be a $65 cost altogether. You could just spend a little more and get the next best handheld vacuum that Shark makes. I'm never buying Shark again. Total rip-off.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (37)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It sucks gloriously!
9/16/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We just got an indoor cat, so I needed something to suck up the kitty litter messes without having to drag out my big Shark! I'm very happy with it!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Disappointed Buyer
1/29/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this vacuum, prior to reading any reviews on it. When I got home, i charged the unit for 6 hours, prior to its first use, just as the instructions indicate. The charge lasted maybe 15 minutes (at best). So, I charged it again. Same thing. It died after about 15 minutes. So, I found the reviews on this item and read all of them. Others have had similar experiences. So, I contacted the Shark company directly and told them my situation. Asked if I had to ship my vacuum to them or could I have a new battery sent to me. The response I got was this: "each new charge will only last 12 minutes. The warranty does not cover new batteries." I was a bit surprised by this. A company sells a product that has a battery in it that will only last about 12 minutes, after it is fully charged for 6 hours. I told the representative "thank you" and that I would be returning my vacuum today! This is sad....if the usage time was longer, say 30 minutes, this would be a great vacuum! The power it has to vacuum up pet hair, especially on stairs, is great. However, if the usage time is only about 12 minutes (or slightly longer), the product is not worth it!! Oh, well.....good luck to all you others who have purchased this vacuum!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (45)No (11)
Report
Was this review helpful?
1/15/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This vacuum works well for a very short time. It overheats easily. I purchased this item and also the Warranty. Within 5 months it stopped picking anything up. I called the # on the Warranty Card and was told that it was still under warranty through Shark. I called Shark and they said yes they would replace, however, they asked that I mail a check for $16.95 to cover shipping costs. What a rip off. That increases the initial cost of the vacuum significantly. I asked for them to waive the mailing fee and the rep. said she was doing me a favor as usually you have to pay for shipping of $16.95 each way.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Ok, I recommend, but with reservations.
11/14/2013
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've had this vacuum for about a year and I like it overall but with a couple of exceptions. It's not one you can keep plugged in and charging all the time, according to the instructions. You have to wait until it loses its charge completely (which I've never had happen), then you charge it for 16 hours. It used to hold its charge for a long time so I didn't mind much, but now it's only holding a charge for about 2-3 weeks. Kind of a hassle. What is nice about this vacuum is you don't have to buy new filters, you just dump whatever is in the filter and rinse it with your kitchen spray hose and let it air dry overnight. So that's a savings.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (61)No (11)
Report
Was this review helpful?
good suction power
2/5/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Suction power is good for the size of this vacuum. The only downside is that you need to be careful while recharging/discharging the battery. Failure to follow the instructions will reduce considerably the life of the battery and they are as expensive as buying a new unit. The problem is that who has time to be checking the hours that you need to recharge or discharge the unit? nowadays manufacturers should make things as maintenance free as possible.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (32)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great handheld, low battery life
5/13/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I mainly use this vacuum to suck up all the cat hair off of our microfiber sectional (it's amazing how much one cat can shed!!!) and it works great. The rotating bristle attachment pulls the hair right up. My only negative comment would have to be the battery life. We have a large sectional and a matching recliner and the battery doesn't last quite long enough (even on a full charge) to finish the job.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (47)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Do not buy!
6/6/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
DO NOT BUY. Your cacuum's battery will be dead after two years of use. Then Shark will force you to buy a new battery (and it will not cover cost of battery under limited warranty). And guess how much your new battery will cost? $36. More than the cost of a new vacuum. Complete waste of money. I only used my vacuum about a dozen times before it died.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (23)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Do NOT buy it
9/10/2011
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I follow all directions and no matter if I charge it for an hour or leave it charging overnight, the vacuum will still die within 5 minutes. Less than 5 minutes!! I wasted my money on this.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (57)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Do Not Buy
9/16/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Purchased the shark SV75Z to use around the house and to vacuum the car. Not worth the money. Does not hold a charge for more than 15 Min. This is one of those over hyped products the consumer should avoid at all cost. Check out all other competitor brands before buying a Shark SV75Z. I was hoping for the Shark to do as advertized but it doesn't.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (19)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
3/29/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this item a few weeks ago to vaccuum my steps and furniture. so far it has worked great, it took me half the time that it usually does with my upright vaccuum. I do wish it came with a wall mount charger. unfortunately that must be purchased seperately. http://www.sharkclean.com/cgi-bin/livew/site.w?location=b2c/product.w&product=1048FI&frames=no&target=main&sponsor=000006&frompart=01
Was this review helpful?
Yes (107)No (23)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643928, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-