Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 203 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

203 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

203 reviews | 4 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
113
4 stars
45
3 stars
9
2 stars
11
1 stars
25
1-20 of 188 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 188 total reviews
1-20 of 188 reviews
i had this hand vac for 2 years
1/17/2014

Customer review by purple77

4.0 stars 1/17/2014 by purple77
by purple77

i really like this hand vac. people in pa were getting stink bugs, that come into the house a lot. i bought this vac to suck up stink bugs and vacuum my car. the stink bugs stick on everything and you have to have a good suck force to get them .. i would not touch the stink bugs because they will stink you up.

Was this review helpful? (18) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
purple77
Pittsburgh pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not good for pet hair
12/30/2013

Customer review by Cauli

2.0 stars 12/30/2013 by Cauli
by Cauli

I have been through two of these vacuums and I would recommend buying something of more quality for pet hair. The vacuum would be good for general, small use. The vacuum does not hold a charge very well. And it is not good with short or long pet hair. Since this is the Pet Perfect, I had expectations the vacuum would be good with pet hair. I have a toy dog that sheds quite a bit. The vacuum slows so quickly from lack of holding a charge, it is difficult to get all the dog hair off the sofa at one time. I would need to stop and recharge halfway through. The suction does not stay strong over time (give it a month tops and it will lessen). And with long pet hair, the hair easily wraps around the brushes. I burned the motor on my first vacuum with long pet hair trapped on the side of the brush. The next vacuum also lacked holding a charge, but with cleaning the brush, I can get a solid 3-4 minutes out of the vacuum before it slows.

Was this review helpful? (30) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cauli
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Disappointed Buyer
1/29/2016

Customer review by KMOC80112

1.0 stars 1/29/2016 by KMOC80112
by KMOC80112

I bought this vacuum, prior to reading any reviews on it. When I got home, i charged the unit for 6 hours, prior to its first use, just as the instructions indicate. The charge lasted maybe 15 minutes (at best). So, I charged it again. Same thing. It died after about 15 minutes. So, I found the reviews on this item and read all of them. Others have had similar experiences. So, I contacted the Shark company directly and told them my situation. Asked if I had to ship my vacuum to them or could I have a new battery sent to me. The response I got was this: "each new charge will only last 12 minutes. The warranty does not cover new batteries." I was a bit surprised by this. A company sells a product that has a battery in it that will only last about 12 minutes, after it is fully charged for 6 hours. I told the representative "thank you" and that I would be returning my vacuum today! This is sad....if the usage time was longer, say 30 minutes, this would be a great vacuum! The power it has to vacuum up pet hair, especially on stairs, is great. However, if the usage time is only about 12 minutes (or slightly longer), the product is not worth it!! Oh, well.....good luck to all you others who have purchased this vacuum!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KMOC80112
Would recommend to a friend? No
Quick and Easy
1/7/2013

Customer review by LifeLongDYI

4.0 stars 1/7/2013 by LifeLongDYI
by LifeLongDYI

Works great. I just checked the run time with a full charge and using the power brush on sofas and rugs - almost 15 minutes. Very quick and convenient for pickup of a small mess or whatever as most of the time the charger isn't plugged in as per the instructions. I rigged things up a little so it will store nicely in my old Shark's wall mount. The only real downside for my use is trying to keep up with the state of battery charge. As explained in the instructions, after intial charging, recharge only when the battery is "very low". When running the unit, you can hear the motor start to slow down - then it's time to plug in the charger. Problem is you don't have a full charge every time you start to use the unit and don't know for sure how long it's going to last. It would get 5 stars if it had one of the smart chargers that senses the state of the battery and goes to a trickle maintenance mode when fully charged up.

Was this review helpful? (60) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LifeLongDYI
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great small vac
12/28/2015

Customer review by Pcole

5.0 stars 12/28/2015 by Pcole
by Pcole

Pleasant surprise. I ordered this at Christmas and was very pleased. All the glitter from gift wrapping disappeared. It charges quickly and keeps the charge. I especially like the carpet attachment. That combined with the great suction makes my carpet look like I used my big vac. The dust cup and filter are easy to empty and put back together. Very satisfied with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pcole
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Suction!
3/22/2011

Customer review by LStu01

5.0 stars 3/22/2011 by LStu01
by LStu01

We bought this to vacuum the stairs (I'm tired of trying to carry the full-size vacuum up each stair and vacuum the carpet with the attachments!), vacuum up cat litter around the cat's box, and just for touch ups here and there. It works great! The suction was so great on the carpet that it works better than the attachments of the full-size vacuum! It took me only a few minutes to do the whole staircase. And it picks up the cat litter, etc. We've only had it about a week, but it has been working great! The charge has lasted long enough to do what I need it to do. I would definitely recommend this handvac to anyone. I just wish it came with a wall mount.

Was this review helpful? (125) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LStu01
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
Lives up to the brand's reputation
1/9/2016

Customer review by Mommy2David

5.0 stars 1/9/2016 by Mommy2David
by Mommy2David

Best home purchase I've made since buying our Shark upright. My entire family loves using it which makes it even better! Suction decreases a bit when canister is full which is to be expected. Holds charge all week with moderate use.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mommy2David
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Small size does not compare to suction
6/19/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/19/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Such a powerful little vacuum! I have a car which has black interior and gets dirty very quickly. I bought this vacuum to clean the inside of my car. At first I was hesitant about this product because I was worried that it wouldn't have a good enough suction considering it's small size but I WAS WRONG! It has such a great pickup and the two pieces that came with the vacuum are great for getting small areas like the hair in my car seats and the motorized piece is great for picking up leaves that just don't want to leave my car located by my gas pedal. This was definitely a great buy and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a vacuum to not take up a lot of space and need it for small areas that a regular sized vacuum is just too big for. It's a GREAT BUY!

Was this review helpful? (88) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Better than I expected
3/3/2011

Customer review by cheesecakeluva

4.0 stars 3/3/2011 by cheesecakeluva
by cheesecakeluva

I bought this last night at walmart because I had been looking for something to get dog hair off my microfiber couch and my bed. My jack russell is long hair and sheds like CRAZY! This product actually sucked my couch cushion into the nozzle. IT did better than I thought it would becuase of the price and when I emptied the canister SO much hair was on the filter, I didnt even realize there was that much hair on my couch. It did great.

Was this review helpful? (189) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cheesecakeluva
jacksonville fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Fantastic for quick touch ups!
3/16/2011

Customer review by Chetcharica

5.0 stars 3/16/2011 by Chetcharica
by Chetcharica

Wow! This is the most fantastic hand vac I have ever owned. I have 2 cats that shed a lot and love to lay on every carpeted or upholstered surface in our home. It's so great to be able to grab this little hand vac right quick and run over the spots they have been laying in all day and it sucks all of it up just as great as my full sized vacuum. If I hadn't just bought a full size vacuum in another brand right before I bought this little hand vac, I would have bought one of the full size Shark vacuums because if the little hand vac works this good, I can just imagine how great the full size ones work. If I had anything to say as far as cons, I just wish the battery would stay charged longer.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chetcharica
Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good Buy!
12/29/2015

Customer review by Happy

5.0 stars 12/29/2015 by Happy
by Happy

I was surprised that it had that much suction!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Happy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
retired
1/26/2016

Customer review by tobie

5.0 stars 1/26/2016 by tobie
by tobie

Very handy to pick up small messes.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tobie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good suction power
2/5/2012

Customer review by rockawave69

4.0 stars 2/5/2012 by rockawave69
by rockawave69

Suction power is good for the size of this vacuum. The only downside is that you need to be careful while recharging/discharging the battery. Failure to follow the instructions will reduce considerably the life of the battery and they are as expensive as buying a new unit. The problem is that who has time to be checking the hours that you need to recharge or discharge the unit? nowadays manufacturers should make things as maintenance free as possible.

Was this review helpful? (27) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rockawave69
Queens, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Ok, I recommend, but with reservations.
11/14/2013

Customer review by ColoGirrl

3.0 stars 11/14/2013 by ColoGirrl
by ColoGirrl

I've had this vacuum for about a year and I like it overall but with a couple of exceptions. It's not one you can keep plugged in and charging all the time, according to the instructions. You have to wait until it loses its charge completely (which I've never had happen), then you charge it for 16 hours. It used to hold its charge for a long time so I didn't mind much, but now it's only holding a charge for about 2-3 weeks. Kind of a hassle. What is nice about this vacuum is you don't have to buy new filters, you just dump whatever is in the filter and rinse it with your kitchen spray hose and let it air dry overnight. So that's a savings.

Was this review helpful? (49) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ColoGirrl
Longmont, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
works great
12/14/2015

Customer review by butterscotch

5.0 stars 12/14/2015 by butterscotch
by butterscotch

I just got this and I'm amazed at the power it has. I had Christmas tree flocking all over, and with the brush it took it right up. I hope it lasts along time.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
butterscotch
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great size
1/20/2016

Customer review by jh67mustang

4.0 stars 1/20/2016 by jh67mustang
by jh67mustang

This is a great sized vacuum. Charges well, & stays charged. I wish it vacuumed a little better.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jh67mustang
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Don't waste your time and money.
8/25/2012

Customer review by unsatisfiedx2

1.0 stars 8/25/2012 by unsatisfiedx2
by unsatisfiedx2

I bought this vacuum in February. I charged it according to the directions and let the battery run dead before recharging as recommended. It worked after the second charge, but then would not charge again, the indicator light did not come on. I returned it and bought another one, figuring the charger was defective. The same thing happened, except this time, I only got to use it once. I bought the extended warranty, but the company will not cover it since the problem is with the charger. Piece of junk and poor customer service! I read a lot of reviews online that are similar to my experience.

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
unsatisfiedx2
Would recommend to a friend? No
Shark hand vac
12/31/2015

Customer review by Cinderealla

5.0 stars 12/31/2015 by Cinderealla
by Cinderealla

Like this portable vac. has a lot of suction for a small vac.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cinderealla
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Leaves a Lot to be Desired
4/2/2012

Customer review by mgilmartin3

1.0 stars 4/2/2012 by mgilmartin3
by mgilmartin3

The vacuum works very well - when it's actually charged. It comes with at least a partial charge. But when that charge runs out, you find out that the company doesn't pack any kind of charger with the vacuum. So I bought the charging stand off the company's website, assuming it would come with a way to plug the vacuum into the outlet. Nope. The vacuum already ran me $40 and the charging stand (basically two small pieces of hard plastic) cost me another $10. Now if I want to charge my vacuum, I will have to order a $15 adapter from Shark's website!!! What I thought was a fair value for the vacuum and a charger ($40) in the original packaging would turn out to be a $65 cost altogether. You could just spend a little more and get the next best handheld vacuum that Shark makes. I'm never buying Shark again. Total rip-off.

Was this review helpful? (18) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mgilmartin3
High Point, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great handheld, low battery life
5/13/2011

Customer review by leahsd

4.0 stars 5/13/2011 by leahsd
by leahsd

I mainly use this vacuum to suck up all the cat hair off of our microfiber sectional (it's amazing how much one cat can shed!!!) and it works great. The rotating bristle attachment pulls the hair right up. My only negative comment would have to be the battery life. We have a large sectional and a matching recliner and the battery doesn't last quite long enough (even on a full charge) to finish the job.

Was this review helpful? (41) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
leahsd
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 188 total reviews
1-20 of 188 reviews