Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 2396 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

2396 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

2396 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
1757
4 stars
408
3 stars
107
2 stars
58
1 stars
66
1-20 of 2268 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 2268 total reviews
1-20 of 2268 reviews
Just Buy It!
9/29/2009

Customer review by Shopper09126054

5.0 stars 9/29/2009 by Shopper09126054
by Shopper09126054

Seriously, just buy it! My daughter used my Kirby to clean the litter box and now I refuse to even turn it on because of the smell. She did me a favor! I love this Dyson! The suction is out of this world. I was disgusted with all the dirt and hair it pulled out of my carpets! I didn't know hair could "hide" in your carpet! I thought you could see hair! I ran the Dyson over my livingroom 4 times and emptied the canister all 4 times! I thought my $1,300.00 Kirby was an investment... but now it's a joke! I loved my Kirby until the Dyson picked up what my Kirby left behind! I like that the hose is attached to the machine unlike the Kirby, and the tools are easy to attach also and they lock so they aren't falling off. The only issue so far, I feel like I'm fighting the hose a little, it's hard to extend the hose because of the powerful suction, but I will suffer because I love the suction & power! I love the push button options! I love the miniturbine. I was worried it wouldn't compare to my Kirby's hand held attachment but it's great! My house smells cleaner too! I like the washable filters which my Kirby didn't have and always smelled like animals when I turned it on. Sad when a vacuum can make you this happy!

Was this review helpful? (182) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shopper09126054
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Fantastic/Love it !!!
6/23/2010

Customer review by WhiteRose61

5.0 stars 6/23/2010 by WhiteRose61
by WhiteRose61

I've had MANY vacuum cleaners over the last 30 years and by far this beats any Hoover, Eureka, Dirt Devil and even my last 2 Rainbows (at a third of their price!). My floors feel clean instantly. Even when I vacuumed spilled cat liter, instead of my feet being peppered with the pellets blowing out the back (like with the R'bow), it picked up EVERY one of them. the first time. The suction is unreal.... I have hard wood floors with area rugs, so there is no separation of padding for air flow beneath so I got quite a work out cleaning them due to the suction (not complaining, needed the exercise!) great on carpets, even better on the bare floors! Thought my house was clean until I dumped the canister .....the 2nd time! The amount of dust it picks up is unreal. Love it. :)

Was this review helpful? (43) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WhiteRose61
South MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
WOW
10/25/2010

Customer review by Handgunner

5.0 stars 10/25/2010 by Handgunner
by Handgunner

Outstanding vacuum. We have a Kirby cleaning system that we have owned for about 14 years. The Kirby does an outstanding job. But, the Dyson takes the Kirby hands down. We have two dogs. One of which is a black Lab. The Lab sheds year round. The Dyson is pulling hair and dirt out of the carpet that looks like it has been there for years. That's scary. If you are looking for something that will suck the socks right off of your feet. The DC28 animal is your bet. The controls are at your finger tips and it is light and easy to manage. I would recomend this to any one. Especially pet owners.

Was this review helpful? (38) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Handgunner
Washington, Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
BEST VACUUM EVER--
10/6/2010

Customer review by luvdogs4ever

4.0 stars 10/6/2010 by luvdogs4ever
by luvdogs4ever

I OWNED AN ELECTROLUX AND 2 ROBOT VACUUMS FOR TOUCH UPS--I THOUGHT MY CARPETS WERE CLEAN. I HAVE 2 CATS AND A DOG AND DIDNT NOTICE ANY HAIR ON THE CARPET AT ALL BUT AFTER GOING OVER THE FLOORS WITH MY DYSON, IT PICKED UP 3 FULL DUST CUPS OF "STUFF.." I COULDNT BELIEVE HOW MUCH HAIR AND JUNK THIS PICKED UP AFTER USING THE 3 OTHER VACUUMS REGULARLY--I SOLD MY ELECTROLUX AND STILL USE MY ROBOT VACS DURING THE WEEK WHILE I'M AWAY, (USING A SCHEDULER)--BUT AT LEAST ONCE A WEEK I GO OVER EVERYTHING WITH THE DYSON AND IT PICKS UP LOADS OF THINGS I MISSED AND DIDNT EVEN SEE--THE PILE COMES RIGHT BACK UP AND LOOKS LIKE BRAND NEW CARPET--WILL NEVER GIVE UP MY DYSON!!

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
luvdogs4ever
BREWER, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Disappointing for the long haul
2/17/2010

Customer review by Robin527

1.0 stars 2/17/2010 by Robin527
by Robin527

This vacuum was incredible for the first year! From that point forward I have had nothing but problems with it. Almost every time I vacuum with it, I have to stop repeatedly to clear clogs. I have replaced the (lifetime) filter twice and hose is falling apart. I was willing to pay the money for this vacuum because of the warranty, (just try to get them to honor it....you spend hours on the phone with them expecting you to fix it yourself). I have to blow out the canister about every 3rd use with an air compressor (recommended by Dyson) to clear the dust so it will work properly. This is the first time I've been displeased enough with a product to leave a bad review. Dyson is far over rated, I will never waste a penny on one again. I want to pull my hair out every time I use it. I am praying that today was the last time I will every use my Dyson.

Was this review helpful? (35) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Robin527
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Continues to Impress!
12/5/2010

Customer review by PromisesPromises

5.0 stars 12/5/2010 by PromisesPromises
by PromisesPromises

I couldn't wait to get my Dyson vacuum. After reading all the customer reviews, I felt sure I was in for something great. This machine is powerful. Every time I dump the canister, I am amazed at how much fine dust and dirt it is pulling out of my carpets. Also, it's so easy to dump the dirt! Your hands will never have to come into contact with the mess. I love the way it picks up the nap of my carpets. They look new again! I was worried that the hose would not be long enough to reach the top step. Not to worry. Power cord is more than adequate. I feel good about the 5 year warranty. This will be the best investment you will make. Don't wait another day!

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PromisesPromises
Husker Country
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Defective out of the box - unacceptable for price!
7/13/2011

Customer review by Diann71

1.0 stars 7/13/2011 by Diann71
by Diann71

I gave this 1 star because it was defective out of the box. For $550+ dollars, defective out of the box is unacceptable!!! The brush bar is supposed to stop in three situations: 1 - When the vacuum is in the upright position. 2 - When the Bare Floor position is selected. 3 - When using the attachments (when the extension wand is out of the handle). I have a 3 bedroom ranch with rugs in almost every room. Well, I vacuumed two spare rooms and part of the living room before I realized that the brush bar was almost always going when the vacuum was in any one of the above three modes. Sometimes the brush bar would stop as it should. Sometimes there would be a loud belt vibrating noise and the brush bar would be spinning fast. I called Dyson and they explained to me how to use the vacuum, like Vacuuming for Dummies 101. I said I was using it properly, but the guy couldn’t believe the vacuum was defective, like it could only be Operator Error. Hmmm. Anyway, he said “It must be defective - bring it back to Wal-Mart.” Wal-Mart was great. I said it was defective and they took it back no problem (I only had it a few days). Now, let me explain the vacuum while I had it. The suction power for the rugs is awesome and I give the suction 5 Stars on the rug settings. I could not believe how much dust and filth was vacuumed from the rugs. I’ve owned a Fantom Lightening Canister for 15+ years, so a stand up vacuum is quite a change for me. The bin filled with cat fur faster than I expected, so I had to empty it more often than with my old Fantom. It was easy to empty, just push the top release button and the bottom drops out. Be careful of dust flying up though! I use attachments all the time and the use of attachments on this stand up is not user friendly at all! You have to pull the extension wand out from the handle in order to use the attachments. I don’t know how many times I stopped to pull the handle out and how many times I pinched my fingers pushing the handle back in. The attachments are hard to use as well because there is no manual suction value like canisters have. Because there was so much suction, the attachments would literally get stuck on the surface I was trying to vacuum. The optional mini blind attachment would literally suck the mini blind into the attachment. There needs to be a manual suction valve to regulate the suction power in order to vacuum “delicate” items. I tried to vacuum my ceiling fans, but the brushes would get stuck on the blades as well. The mini-turbine head is awesome - 5 stars!!! It picked up all the cat fur from my cushions and drapes in one sweep! The hose is supposed to stretch to around 17’, including the extension wand. Yeah, right. I stretched the hose about 3’ before the vacuum came flying back at me like a slinky! There should be brakes on the wheels of the vacuum, like brakes on my BBQ grill. There is a constant tension on the hose while trying to use the attachments too. I work out with weights, exercise and I am physically fit. Well, this vacuum is a constant workout and is not for the weak!!! Too much tension all the time!!! I give this vacuum 1 star for my bare floors. Even when I had the bare floor setting engaged, there was so much suction that the vacuum would get stuck on the bare floor and I could not move it forward or backward. I even used the bare floor vacuum head as an attachment, with the side vents open, and the vacuum head would still get stuck to the floor. Oh, the brush bar would also be spinning when it shouldn’t (defective). Because the suction sealed the vacuum to the floor, the cat litter was just pushed along the floor and was never vacuumed up. The bare floor vacuum head works great on the rugs to get under dressers, beds and couches. 5 stars here! I was going to purchase the DC23 Animal (Canister) so I could use all of the attachments easier, but the reviews said the canister wasn’t the best for vacuuming rugs. The bin on the DC23 is a lot smaller than the DC28 too, so I didn’t want to have to keep emptying it. The brush bar is not motorized on the canister model either. Since 3/4 of my house is rugs, I chose the DC28 Animal. I returned the defective DC28 to Wal-Mart and I re-ordered the same model, the DC28 Animal. I really like how it cleaned my rugs. I guess I will have to get used to the attachments and fight the tension in the hose all the time. I will submit another review for the second DC28 Animal. I hope that review will be better than this defective one out of the box!

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Diann71
Upstate NY - Catskills
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Love the vaccum
2/11/2010

Customer review by TiffJohnson

5.0 stars 2/11/2010 by TiffJohnson
by TiffJohnson

This is absolutely the best vaccum I have ever used. After using this product you could instantly tell that our home was cleaner, simply because the air in our home was like if we had an airfilter running all the time. I absolutely love this product and would recommend it to anyone, even if you don't have pets.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TiffJohnson
Versailles, Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent high suction vacuum
6/7/2011

Customer review by Fung

5.0 stars 6/7/2011 by Fung
by Fung

Cons are: It fills up to quickly. It is also a bit heavy Expensive. I used credit card rewards to get this. This is not one of the purchases, I would spend my hard earned cash on. Pros are: Excellent suction. Rugs become unnaturally cleaner. I vacuumed with my old vac first as a test and then vacuumed with this one. This vacuum really digs into the rug and pulls out so much more dirt than the old one. Makes rugs softer.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fung
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome Suction!
2/8/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/8/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This vacuum really does SUCK! I couldn't believe how much this pulled out of my carpet and continues to pull canisters full each time I vacuum. A definite must if you have pets. I have 4 cats and 2 dogs. The only downside is that it is a heavy vacuum but after a few times using it you get used to it. I can't believe I waited so long to get this vacuum. It really is a suction machine!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Selden, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great to use, short life span.
6/13/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 6/13/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

We bought this thinking it was going to be good from all the reviews we had ready. It really was great at picking up the everything from the carpet. We have 3 cats and a Great Dane so we need hair picked up. We found it easy to use and seemed to stay unclogged as it promises. I only had to clean around the upper part a couple of time. Now Noticed i said "had". Well the fan motor stopped working within three months of purchase. I was no longer usable. The nice part is we were able to return it and get an DC25 Animal Ball. Lets hope this one last longer.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Blackfoot, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Awesome Vacuum
6/11/2011

Customer review by sayde15

5.0 stars 6/11/2011 by sayde15
by sayde15

I ordered this vacuum because my son has terrible outdoor allergies with that said I started researching vacuums. Spending 400 plus dollars(which we did not have laying around) on a vacuum is crazy. WELL then I am crazy, I order the DC28 and will not live without it! I put it together in two minutes and started vacuuming. I vacuumed my son;s room yesterday with the old vacuum and thought it was clean. I used the Dyson and got a half canister full of dirty, dust. The suction is unbelievable. This vacuum is expensive but worth every penny!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sayde15
Westmont, illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
very good
5/21/2011

Customer review by lovetoclean999

5.0 stars 5/21/2011 by lovetoclean999
by lovetoclean999

I love this vacuum. It picks up everything in one sweep. I have many vacuums and this one is the best of them all. Wish I bought it a long time ago.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lovetoclean999
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product, too pricey
2/23/2011

Customer review by StrawberryBit

5.0 stars 2/23/2011 by StrawberryBit
by StrawberryBit

Love it! I have 3 cats and 2 dogs and it's awesome at cleaning up after them! I will recommend to all my friends and family! I didn't give it a better rating because it's quite pricey. I had to save for quite some time to pick up this model.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
StrawberryBit
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
So - So
5/27/2011

Customer review by rh1279

3.0 stars 5/27/2011 by rh1279
by rh1279

Disappointed because it doesn't have a edge vacumm for picking up debris up next to a wall or cabinet.. you have to use the flat head attachment. Also, the hose is not long enough to reach some places and I suspect is going to stretch out over time and not fold neatly back into place. Other than that it performs as advertised ...

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rh1279
Dallas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
For the price and delivery of this pricy machine
8/1/2011

Customer review by AzHarleyGal

1.0 stars 8/1/2011 by AzHarleyGal
by AzHarleyGal

Look at others!!! I purchased this vacuum about a 1 1/2 years ago. Upon the first year, this was the best machine regardless of the high price. Here it is a 1 1/2 later PIECE OF JUNK!!! This was purchased to help with the animal fur and findings are it severly has been clogging the machine. Now the vaccum isn't picking up at all and yes I have cleaned the filters and always dumped the dirty tank!!! Please do yourself a favor, save yourself some money and look at other vacuums. I have called customer service (calls are higher than normal<--hummm, wonder why that is) to find out the part we hope is the issue will take 7-10 days to get!! ARE THEY KIDDING!!! AND THEY DON'T PUT A RUSH ON THIS!!! Great I can't wait to see the fur on my carpets!!! I can't believe I can't vacuum for 7-10 days!!! Now, going back THIS MACHINE ISN'T WORTH THE PRICE IN THE LONG RUN!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AzHarleyGal
Phoenix, Az
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
GOES ABOVE & BEYOND EXPECTIONS!!
12/13/2010

Customer review by AllAboutKeeley

5.0 stars 12/13/2010 by AllAboutKeeley
by AllAboutKeeley

With two Siberian Huskies and a few indoor cats, we are not strangers to pet hair. We are also not strangers to having to buy a new vacuum every 6-18 months because it no longer works. With Dyson's 5 year warranty, I know we won't have to put any more money into vacuums for at least 5 years! We have had our Dyson for almost a month and I have vacuumed 2-3 times a week since...by now any previous vacuum we've had has already started to lose suction...NOT THE DYSON! :-) Even after all this, my very favorite part of my Dyson is the Mini turbine head. We've had many of these that came with vacuums, but add any pressure to the brush (like touching carpet, couch, etc.) and it immediately stops...NOT THE DYSON! :-) I definitely recommend this vacuum to everyone...it is SO WORTH the money!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AllAboutKeeley
Richmond, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Wow just love it
2/6/2011

Customer review by cam4fun

5.0 stars 2/6/2011 by cam4fun
by cam4fun

Ok enough of my old vacuum with the duct tape. I decided to get the best of the best and I did it. I figured if I didn't think it was worth the money I would return it (never had a return problem at Walmart). Well with two dogs one of them a golden retriever and three cats (I must be crazy) it worked outstanding even my thrifty husband felt the same. I love the warranty because I know it will never have duct tape like my other one. But really you get what you pay for and this machine is powerful and well worth it. I don't usually write reviews so this is probably more info then needed but just had to say it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cam4fun
Macomb Twp, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Pet Vacuum
9/24/2012

Customer review by Teacher23T

5.0 stars 9/24/2012 by Teacher23T
by Teacher23T

I was looking for an effective vacuum cleaner to pick up dog hair. I have a wonderful Golden Retriever who sheds like crazy. I'm constantly picking up dog hair (my car can attest to this). Upon recommendation from friends and family, I ordered this and am glad I did.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Teacher23T
Liverpool, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
glad I bought it
10/6/2010

Customer review by cdg48

5.0 stars 10/6/2010 by cdg48
by cdg48

I had wanted one for years. 3 family members have one. I'm amazed at what it picks up from the carpet everytime and I consider myself a clean person! I do live in the country and dirt happens (as well as dog hair).

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cdg48
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
1-20 of 2268 total reviews
1-20 of 2268 reviews