Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 156 reviews | 2.1 out of 5

2.0 stars

156 reviews | 2.1 out of 5

2.0 stars

156 reviews | 2.1 out of 5

22%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
21
4 stars
13
3 stars
17
2 stars
17
1 stars
88
1-20 of 156 total reviews
22%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 156 total reviews
1-20 of 156 reviews
Color Way Off
10/1/2012

Customer review by Bessie

3.0 stars 10/1/2012 by Bessie
by Bessie

The product was very easy to use, I really liked the foam application. However, when I took the towel off my hair it took my breathe away!!! My hair went from light brown to dark black!! Not the result I was looking for at all. The color on the box was dark brown, NOT BLACK. I called the 800 number and they gave me instructions to strip the hair to a pumpkin color with Born Blonde, and then apply a Lt ash brown. I really think I am going to bear the black color, because I am afraid to try and strip my hair and possibly damage it., and end up with even a worst color. That process just seems a little above my skill level. I have to say every time I look in the mirror it still takes my breathe away and not in a good way! So, if you are looking for a nice dark down I would not suggest this color. I think Clairol should do something to fix the color on the box since so many people have had the same results. Sorry, to give such a bad review, but I wouldn't want other people to end up with bad results.

Bessie
Mission Viejo, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Disappointed...
9/26/2011

Customer review by wdfasdfasdfasdf

1.0 stars 9/26/2011 by wdfasdfasdfasdf
by wdfasdfasdfasdf

I have been using Nice 'n Easy 117D for the past couple years with good results-even my hairdresser was impressed!...so I tried 5A in the foam as it seemed a reasonable match to the 117D.... I found the product more difficult to use than the regular Nice 'n Easy in that it was tricky to determine where the colour was applied and where it wasn't as it "dissolved" into the hair. My hair turned out black (as like many other reviews I've now read), and didn't even look close to the colour on the package. The product odour was unpleasant and lasted for quite some time. As well, I found the product stained my skin and sink whereas the regular Nice 'n Easy did not. I have a wedding to attend in 2 weeks...so I have an appointment with the salon, but thought I'd call the contact line for some advice....guess what-was advised to go to a salon! On the plus side...I've had some interesting reactions to the colour and most have actually been positive! But I still won't be purchasing this product again. Tracey

wdfasdfasdfasdf
Toronto, CAN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Horrible experience
11/15/2011

Customer review by JudyR

1.0 stars 11/15/2011 by JudyR
by JudyR

I tried Nice and Easy Color Foam for the first time - I've been using another foam hair color but saw the Nice and Easy commercial and was looking forward to trying it. WHAT A DISASTER. There was truly no foam - just runny glop that stained EVERYTHING it touched including my face. It was very difficult to apply given the fact that it never even really thickened up at all. My hair is VERY short so rinsing has never been an issue for me - until now! After rinsing, conditioning and rinsing I still ended up with this product all over my towels. THEN I looked in the mirror and discovered that there was dye all over my scalp. I shampooed my newly colored hair and STILL have dye on my scalp. I have ALWAYS colored my own hair but the dye on the scalp, seemingly permanently stained skin, stained towels and poor hair color results are a totally new experience. I wish I had known about these reviews before I tried this product. It looks like I will now have to pay a professional to repair the damage. Thanks, Clairol!

JudyR
Henderson, NV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Color is beautiful..not a fan of the foam
1/28/2012

Customer review by snickers

4.0 stars 1/28/2012 by snickers
by snickers

First thing to let you know is that I was using this for the first time and applying it to another persons hair, her hair is very coarse and thick and long to medium in length. Thought I would try the foam since it looked pretty simple. The first thing I had problems with is the gloves in a tiny little package that was hard to open without tearing the gloves. Followed the instructions and began the application, I found the foam thin and not as thick as I expected. The smell was odd and strong in comparison to the Nice And Easy Color Blend. I had a difficult time trying to determine if I was actually getting full coverage the foam seemed to dry or absorb quickly making it hard to tell if I had covered everything. When all was said and done the color was beautiful and there was 1 small area that didn't have enough color which is really not noticeable. Overall the color is 100% great all the grey was 100% covered the hair has a nice shine and looks very natural . I may try the foam again but didn't really find it easier to use and the smell was as mentioned odd and strong.

snickers
floridA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome excperience!!!
1/2/2012

Customer review by harrislc3

5.0 stars 1/2/2012 by harrislc3
by harrislc3

I wasa initially hesitant about using this product based on the reviews that I had read, but after watching the videos on this site and YouTube I figured it seemed easy enough and decided to go ahead and give it a try. I am so glad I decided to try this color!! Not only is the color very impressive, I wish that I could buy the conditioner by the bucket full because it made my hair incredibly soft. I am African American and many colors that I have tried in the last have made my hair very stiff and dry, but this is by far the best color I have ever used. I will definitely be using this foam color for all of my future coloring. I hope that others will still try this color even though some people have had a bad experience. I think it is worth the try if you would like to experience the great results that I have. Clairol is there a way to get more of that conditioner? :-) I absolutely LOVE it!!

harrislc3
illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
DO NOT TRY THIS!
11/22/2011

Customer review by Brandy

1.0 stars 11/22/2011 by Brandy
by Brandy

I expected ease and great results. The commercial was very convencing that would happen for me. SIKE! It didn't. The hair dye turned my hair BLACK. I am extremly disapointed. Black is the hardest color to get out of your hair. Not to mention, the hair dye didn't fully cover all of my hair. I have spots on my hair that are still light brown. So....now I look like a calico cat. The smell of this hair dye is unlike any other hair dye. I swear it smelled like soy sauce. It was rank. So, now I need to re dye my hair. I am not happy about having to shell out the extra cash for that. I WILL NOT reccomend this product to anyone. In fact, I will and have already highly discourage the use of this product. I will be sticking with my usual hair dye from a different brand. At least A. your hair comes out what it is supposed to be, and B. it smells nice...not like nasty soy sauce :(

Brandy
Del Rio,Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
I hope you read this before you use it!
10/11/2011

Customer review by crackerjack

1.0 stars 10/11/2011 by crackerjack
by crackerjack

Didn't want to foam properly. Didn't want to expel from the bottle. I had to take the spout off and pour it into my hands. It didn't 'feel right' on my hair. Didn't cover well. Absolutely did not want to rinse. Not enough conditioner in the tiny packet. When I thought it had rinsed out, I used the conditioner, only to find more color dripping down. I actually conditioned AGAIN, with my own product. More rinsing. Dried my hair, it came off on my towel. Put on a turban twist, came off on that too - AFTER my towel! Once I was ready to look in the mirror, I see colour stuck to my scalp. It didn't rinse off. My hair is NOT colored properly, and I hated the whole experience. It was even messier than normal hair colour. I want my money back. I'm a single parent, and money is tight. I'll go back to my regular colour brand and shall never stray again. Horrible experience.

crackerjack
Omaha
Would recommend to a friend? No
unhappy
10/25/2013

Customer review by bre1021t

1.0 stars 10/25/2013 by bre1021t
by bre1021t

I always use the regular Nice n Easy and have always been happy with it so I automatically assumed the foam product would be just as good. I was so unhappy with the entire experience. The fumes it puts out are so strong, awful. The application of the product is not user friendly, I could not tell if I had enough product in my hair to cover everything. There was at least two inches of product left in the container that I could not get out so that went in the garbage. When rinsing it out of my hair I rinsed and rinsed until I thought I had it all out and the same process with the conditioner, but my hair turned out greasy feeling and flat. I bought dark blonde because that is the closest to my hair color but it came out dark brown. Needless to say this was not a happy experience. I will certainly return to the original product. Thanks for letting me vent.

bre1021t
Kelso, Washington
Would recommend to a friend? No
Wouldn't buy again
8/25/2011

Customer review by shadow

1.0 stars 8/25/2011 by shadow
by shadow

I decided to try the nice and easy foam after seeing it advertised on tv and wish I would have read reviews first. Had a hard time aplying the foam to my hair about ten minutes longer than it usualy takes with the liquid form. Sencod off was the smell. It smelled horible like beer. I HATE the smell of beer and do not drink. The smell was really strong and ended up giving me a really bad headache witch I have not had this problem with other products. I had to wash my hair three time to get the smell out and my apartment still smells like beer. My hair also came out more red than it did blonde and I have always died it a medium blonde except for the occasional light blonde. Overall satifacation is not good and I would not recomend to a friend. Only thing that I found positive was that the color rinsed out of my hair faster than other brands.

shadow
Would recommend to a friend? No
Got The Job Done
10/15/2011

Customer review by KellyxLove

4.0 stars 10/15/2011 by KellyxLove
by KellyxLove

I wanted to darken my blonde hair a shade or two after the salon had made it too blonde. One of my complaints about this product is the smell. It is absolutely a horrible horrible smell. At times, i could only apply foam to my hair with one hand, because I would be using my other hand to breathe into a towel. The smell was that painful at times. But in the end, after washing, i didn't notice the smell anymore. Another thing is that, with the foam, its hard to cover all of your hair. It's very easy to miss parts. So be careful. Just make sure to apply to your hair throughly. In the end, the color turned out to be a tad darker then what was shown on the box. I wish the color did last longer though. This was my first time coloring my hair myself, but i was pleased with the results...but maybe theres better products out there....

KellyxLove
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I loved this product!!!
10/24/2011

Customer review by melanie

5.0 stars 10/24/2011 by melanie
by melanie

I recently got my hair professionally dyed from bright blond to black. When the girl did it it didn't cover all my blond because it was so bright, so I ended up with dark brown. I wanted jet black hair. So I seen the commercials for this and decided since my hair is all one color I would give it a try. I have never dyed my own hair before. It turned out awesome!! The jet black I was looking for and It made my hair extremely soft unlike when I get it professionally done and its all tough. The product was really easy to use. You have to use common sense when using it though. DON'T wear nice clothes!! use old towels. Also, just take your time with it. I got some of the dye on my skin and I used my Olay body wash and it came right off!! I will use this product from now on. Thanks a lot Clairol for making such a great product!!!

melanie
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Such disappointment.
8/18/2011

Customer review by Porcelainbellax0

2.0 stars 8/18/2011 by Porcelainbellax0
by Porcelainbellax0

When I first purchased this I was excited till after I started to apply it the smell is really intoxicating even with windows and a fan going, I left the product longer in my hair just to make sure the color sinks in my previous hair color was an ash blonde with light pink highlights. After I rinsed it looked darker than on the box but when I blew it out the color was beautiful I mean it was a bit darker than on the box but it was gorgeous I was so happy with the color... I waited 3 days to wash it because the smell of the product was still strong after one usage of shampoo it was a whole entire different shade. The auburn part of it was completely gone ! I am so utterly disappointed because it was such a beautiful color but now its like a brassy brownish with blonde highlights my hair is multi toned thats not whats wrong its just the red is completely gone. I hate the color it is now and I did use a special shampoo for color treated hair but it still washed out. I will be calling with my mixed review and attempt to get my money back because I really didn't want to pay for disappointment. It has been 6 days since I colored it and the color is gone.

Porcelainbellax0
Would recommend to a friend? No
Nice and Easy Foam Light Brown
8/28/2011

Customer review by cchapin1

3.0 stars 8/28/2011 by cchapin1
by cchapin1

Beware of first squirt of foam. The directions said to squirt a large amount into my hand, but the first squirt was a runny liquid, not foam. It stained the vinyl floor and the carpet right outside the bathroom. I tried to clean it as soon as I noticed it, which was after I'd finished applying the color to my hair. The rest of the haircolor foamed the way it should. It was easy to apply. I found the product to be much too dark. I think it was close to the color on the box, but felt that it is too dark to be considered a "light brown". I still have grays which is disappointing. I probably have less than 5% gray in my hair to begin with. It really stands out with the darkness of my hair. I do have very thick hair and often have used 2 boxes of color when my hair was longer. One box of the foam haircolor was sufficient.

cchapin1
Would recommend to a friend? No
Worst haircolor used EVER
12/4/2011

Customer review by Coppertop007

1.0 stars 12/4/2011 by Coppertop007
by Coppertop007

1. Initial haircolor was fabulous, but has faded within 2 weeks (a lot) and looks shabby. 2. Colored spouses hair same time, also very poor result - he asked it to be redone with Nice'n Easy Creme before 2-weeks (now that one IS a GOOD product - and covers grey!) 3. Did NOT foam, was watery & 'scum-like'; it dripped everywhere, including off the scalp, down neckline... THIS PRODUCT DID NOTHING IT PROMISED! I LIKED: the initial color, that it did not have the 'just colored smell', and the concept of a foam (alas that did not work either time); and I liked the rinse-out, in that it was not color-globs going into the water supply (but I actually DO want my hair colored). I will not buy this product again; it is very disappointing; but thanks Clairol for trying. I will go back to using the Nice'n Easy creme.

Coppertop007
Bend, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Mixed Feelings
5/24/2012

Customer review by Skippy

4.0 stars 5/24/2012 by Skippy
by Skippy

I started with medium ash brown as I have rather dark brown hair with a fair amount of gray. I came out looking like "Elvira." Switched to light ash brown which is way lighter than my natural shade, but this comes out as dark as my natural hair really is and so I like it. I find the foam hard to use. You can't possibly get it on the roots alone so have to do the whole head each time. I got some on my face and ears and didn't see it right away. It wouldn't come off. I used soft scrub on my counter and on my FACE. Also, the bottle gets slippery when you squeeze it and then have the product on your hands. It has flown across the bathroom several times. I will continue to use it because the color is the best I've gotten in some time, but it could benefit from some more user friendly features.

Skippy
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Loved it!
10/29/2011

Customer review by rhiannas27

5.0 stars 10/29/2011 by rhiannas27
by rhiannas27

I have been going to a professional hair styliest to get my hair dyed -to all the colors of the rainbow it seems- for about 7 years. Had good experiences and bad ones with the color. I'm a natural red head and decided to go dark brown, the stylist did an okay job, was not too pleased with the outcome, my husband however hated the color. So instead of paying an arm and leg I tried my hand for the first time dying it myself with an otc hair product. Saw the commercials thought I would give it a try. Very inexpensive, easy to apply on my hair, I however did not have any trouble squeezing the bottle and I did not make a mess, live and learn lay down old towels on the floor just in case. The color did seem to come out a lot when washing it but the color was beautiful! I love it. It was by far the best hair color that I have ever had. And here I was paying almost a $100 for a color job when I could have saved my time and money. Now I go to the salon just for a cut. Definetely have been telling my friends about this product and I have gotten a lot of comments on how soft it is, how pretty the color and how healthy my hair looks, that coming from the lady who cut my hair recently and I let her in on my little secret! Thanks!

rhiannas27
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I wanted to love it
1/25/2012

Customer review by Aloura

3.0 stars 1/25/2012 by Aloura
by Aloura

I will start with the positive. I did get good even and natural-looking coverage. This did cover my grey hairs. It was easy to rinse out of my hair quickly. It is reasonably priced for they type of product it is. Here is what I did not like. Unlike other foam products, this one is hard to use. The dispenser does not pump, you squeeze a bottle, sometimes really hard to make it work. Little bubbles of it went everywhere, on me, on my bathroom, the cleanup was awful. I have used other foam products that have a pump and they were much cleaner and easier to use. I love the regular Nice and Easy permanent hair color and I personally feel it is a better product than the foam. Just my personal opinion, maybe I just couldn't make the foam bottle work correctly.

Aloura
Would recommend to a friend? No
I hated this product!
1/1/2012

Customer review by LMMH

1.0 stars 1/1/2012 by LMMH
by LMMH

I bought this product, thinking it would be easier. I've used this shade of the regular Nice and Easy for years and been pleased with it, so I thought I'd give this a try. It was awful! The foam didn't look like it mixed well, no matter how much I shook it. It was difficult to work with the dispenser, as you have to squeeze the center of the bottle to get the foam out, and it took longer to apply than the original. It also smells horrible, not the pleasant smell of the original. I also feel like half my money was wasted, as I only needed half of the foam (which went on this weird yellowish-orange color.) In addition, instead of the tube of conditioner in the original box which is used for an entire month, you only get two packs, which are good for two applications if you have longer hair. And last, but most importantly, this product did not dye my grey roots at all, which is why I was using it to start with! I left it on longer, as recommended for stubborn grey, but it ended up dying the ends of my hair too dark and not dying the grey at all. Horrible product! I'll never use it again! You can't improve on a good thing, and the original was great. Guess I'll be re-dying my hair as soon as I can get my original Nice and Easy!

LMMH
Knoxville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
EGGPLANT
10/23/2011

Customer review by AmyM

1.0 stars 10/23/2011 by AmyM
by AmyM

I am very unhappy with the color. My hair is now a black/purple much like an egg plant. Much too harsh for my skintone. It has been three days and i still cant get the color off of my skin. On the positive side, my hair is soft and shines. After reading other reviews of the Nice And Easy Foam, it seems that I am not the only one with this complaint. All I wanted to do was keep my color and cover the grey. I have very long hair which I am quite proud of. My husband feels my "head is a mess" and I am not looking forward to visiting my son as I am sure he will have quite a bit top say about my hair. It is very upsetting. Is there some whay to correct this or should I just leave it as i am afraid it will get worse. Please help me. Amy Z

AmyM
Union New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? No
If you want your hair to become pitch black, go ahead, use this
2/11/2012

Customer review by Jeno16grl

1.0 stars 2/11/2012 by Jeno16grl
by Jeno16grl

I used this product back in September, but I just saw a commercial for it and decided I must write a review. 5 months later, and seeing the commercial STILL makes me mad. And seeing current reviews show that Clairol clearly hasn't done much to try and make their product any better. Usually when I want to dye my hair dark brown, I choose a dark brown shade. But when I dyed my hair in September I decided to go with a Medium Brown since Dark Brown is usually to dark for my liking at first. First of all, the foam is a bit easier to apply, but it still is messy. And if I remember correctly, it smelled AWFUL. Of course, most hair dye smells bad, but this was the worst. It smelled like rotten egg, and left my hair smelling like that for a couple days (After washing my hair 4 times a day). I ended up rinsing out the color about 5 or 10 minutes early, because it looked like it was becoming black, not brown. I was right. My hair was pitch black. I absolutely hated it. I tried to wash my hair 4 times a day, but it would not fade at all. After 2 weeks or so I just got so sick of it I ended up using color remover and re-colored my hair a different color (and brand). I try to not use any clairol product any more, because this experience has caused me to distrust them.

Jeno16grl
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 156 total reviews
1-20 of 156 reviews