Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 247 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

247 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

247 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
187
4 stars
47
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 stars
5
1-20 of 240 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 240 total reviews
1-20 of 240 reviews
Great monitor, bad button placement
3/1/2012

Customer review by Brian11058

5.0 stars 3/1/2012 by Brian11058
by Brian11058

The monitor is great. I have been using it for 2 weeks now, and I have had no issues with it. Connected up to my computer via DVI and I have had no problems. Its very thin which is great, and it has a nice slim/sleet design. With mentioning the design, there is only one thing that I do not like about it. The buttons for the monitor are positioned so that you have to push up on the buttons. I thought it seemed odd and felt a little awkward to push as well. Most times when I push one of the buttons, because the monitor is so light, the monitor lifts up and button isn't 'pushed', so I must just gently hold the monitor from lifting. But, its not the end of the world. **The Bottom Line**: This is a great monitor, its large, works great. Offers different preset settings for text/movie/games/etc along with a custom setting option. It's easy to set up and everything. I would most certainly recommend the purchase of this monitor.

Brian11058
Connecticut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
great monitor
3/16/2012

Customer review by jineug

5.0 stars 3/16/2012 by jineug
by jineug

i have only been using this 2311x, 23" monitor for a short time, but so far it's working great. matte screen with shiny black surrounding besel. very lightweight for it's size. good stand. good forward and back tilting. easy to reach ports in back. i'm using it on a newer mac mini and it is important to go into the settings and from the main menu select image control, then select custom scaling, then overscan. select off. i am using an hdmi cable. mine came with overscan set to auto, and this made the image too large for the screen size, and the text was blurry. turning overscan off fixed these problems. it's worth your while to play with the controls a bit and see how you like them set. you can always reset them back to the defaults, and start over. my previous hp monitor is a 22" and has a glossy screen, and while i like it, i also like this matte finish. they both seem to have their good aspects. i tried a 27" first and found for me the screen size was too large for this resolution. the 27,25, and 23 all have the same 1920x1080 (1080p) resolution.

jineug
or
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice Display but Extremely Sleepy
1/21/2012

Customer review by TombRaider

1.0 stars 1/21/2012 by TombRaider
by TombRaider

I hooked this monitor up via DVI to my desktop was was extremely impressed. The out-of-the-box settings looked pretty good. I have spent days tweaking the default settings on my previous LCDs. The monitor worked great until it went into sleep mode or I turned off the power. It would not wake up after doing so. It would not detect the DVI input signal and would return to sleep mode. The only way to resurrect it was to hard re-boot the computer. I tried this on 2 different desktops with 2 different DVI cables. I used an existing DVI cable I have used for several years with a Samsung LCD and I also tried the DVI cable shipped with this monitor. Hooking it up via a VGA cable worked fine, but I did not buy this monitor for it's VGA capabilities. As I write this review, the monitor is on a FedEx truck back to whence it came. HP offered to send a replacement, but I'm a little skeptical that the next one would work any better.

TombRaider
Would recommend to a friend? No
An Excellent Monitor; No Major Cons
4/21/2012

Customer review by HPUser97

5.0 stars 4/21/2012 by HPUser97
by HPUser97

I bought this monitor at Christmas and decided to write a review now after using it for over four months. Anyways, this is a great monitor with very simple setup. It was up and running within 10 minutes and didn't require me to run the startup CD. The colors on this monitor are real and vivid. Also, the 1080p is a nice touch and looks flawless when running bluray off my three year old laptop. The different modes are nice, but I tend keep mine on text for best overal results. Some people may not like how this monitor does not have a glossy screen, but the matte finish is easier to look at and doesn't collect dust (huge plus.) The only complaint I have is that one of my pixels turned green, but that can happen to any brand on monitor, even Apple's overally expensive screen. Other than that, their isn't any cons. The menu is easy to learn and anyone can enjoy this monitor, espessaily duel monitor users (like myself.)

HPUser97
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Thrilled with this monitor
1/10/2012

Customer review by pdc11

5.0 stars 1/10/2012 by pdc11
by pdc11

First let me say that one of the best things about the internet is the ability to go to various websites and check out the reviews on virtually any product. I never buy a product without checking as many reviews as possible. Now for the monitor: I shopped my fingers off! Got the best deal at the HP online store. I love this monitor. It's much larger than I expected, clear as can be, colors are beautiful. I've only had it a few weeks so I can't tell you about longevity but I've had other HP products and have no complaint. Yes, you may have some difficulty locating the on/off button by feel and you should keep one hand on top of the monitor when you do press the button-big deal-get over it. This monitor will not disappoint anyone looking for a really, really large beautiful picture for searching on the web, gaming and watching movies, etc. Everything you want a monitor for. I highly recommend this product.

pdc11
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
needs some work
12/17/2011

Customer review by Dusty2

4.0 stars 12/17/2011 by Dusty2
by Dusty2

I upgraded from hp 2207 which I was very happy with but needed a slightly larger screen for my aging eyes. Overall I am still on the fence as to whether this was a good move or not. The new monitor is very bright, to much so. The control buttons are very difficult to reach and find and the menu system is very poor. Out of the box the monitor had a terrible color bias which was very difficult to remove with the menu system. There is no good adjustment software supplied with the monitor which makes it very difficult to adjust. After a long and frustrating attempt to do it with the buttons I found that Win 7 had adjustment software that brought out the true colors. Now I have white whites and black blacks and good crisp text. I am a photographer and true color is critical to my work. I require that the color I see on my monitor are what I see when I print the pictures.

Dusty2
Tacoma, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
HP 2311x Monitor OK
7/28/2011

Customer review by TechieTim

4.0 stars 7/28/2011 by TechieTim
by TechieTim

I am generally pleased with this monitor for the price -- when purchased with a system. It has full HD resolution, and is easy on the eyes. Purchasers should keep in mind this monitor does not come with any built-in speakers. Personally, I do not care for the tinny sould typical of built-in speakers, so it was not a problem for me. What was a little disappointing was the cost of using two monitors with one PC. There was no way to order a second monitor with a HP system to obtain the system discount, and because it does not come with an HDMI cable, the price for a cable further increased the cost of the second monitor. (The monitor comes with a DVI cable and VGA adapter; the video card in my system came with one DVI output and one HDMI output. Thus, to use a second monitor I had to not only pay more for the monitor, but also buy an HDMI cable to hook it up.)

TechieTim
South Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Fantastic Monitor
4/23/2011

Customer review by jerrywd

5.0 stars 4/23/2011 by jerrywd
by jerrywd

Using this monitor makes me wonder why I waited so long to upgrade my old 15" square monitor. This monitor if wonderful. I find the brightness great and the size is just right for my desktop. I do a lot of work with financial software and it is in the form of spreadsheets. I find the crispness of the text perfect. I viewed a DVD with my new Blue-ray disc player and this monitor blew me away. It is so clear. One surprise was that I received this monitor before I received my new fast PC and I though I would not be able to see the full 1920 x 1080 resolution because of my old graphics adapter. My surprise was that the new monitor came with a driver for my old graphics adapter and I could see the full HD resolution. What more can I say. This monitor is great.

jerrywd
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Hard to install
8/5/2011

Customer review by fabianab47

4.0 stars 8/5/2011 by fabianab47
by fabianab47

This is a very good monitor with outstanding graphics. Clarity is excellent and in SIM mode, we can now clearly differentiate graphics. However even though it's supposed to be plug & play, the computer would not recognize the monitor. We were connecting this to a HP desktop running the Windows Vista OS so there should not have been any problems. But, it took us over 2 hours before we could get the computer to recognize it. The instructions provided for installation were very poor bascally consisting of Turn on Monitor, select Viewing Mode, and then select Video Input. Everything else is on the CD. Luckily we purchased this to replace a broken (not an HP) 2nd monitor, not as a replacement for our only monitor. HP definately needs to provide at least some type of paper documentation for situations where the system does not automatically recognize the monitor. We're still trying to figure out why, but for some reason the desktop will not recognize the second monitor if we use the monitors DVI input (even though the desktop's video card (NVIDIA GForce 9500 GT) has 2 DVI output connectors). However, when we use a DVI to VGA adaptor on the video card and hook up to the monitor's VGA input, the system recognizes it immediately.

fabianab47
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great for Matte Screen Finish
1/26/2011

Customer review by Starchecker

5.0 stars 1/26/2011 by Starchecker
by Starchecker

It's ultra thin and light(even compared to standard LCD screens), very bright vibrant colors. I had an HP2338 that went bad, but I loved that one. This one has better colors than that model. The 2338 had a greenish tint(reducing the green made it purple or reddish), but this one is much better. The only downside is I just don't like the matte finish, I am a big Glosssy screen fan, text just looks sharper. That being said this monitor is sharper than any other matte finish LCD or LED screen I have seen. If you don't like the glossy look or the refection bothers you this is the screen to get. If you like the glossy screen get the 2310e, It's an LED like this one but with the glossy finish. That's what I ended up with and I love it.

Starchecker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Monitor
3/9/2012

Customer review by NickZ

4.0 stars 3/9/2012 by NickZ
by NickZ

Shipping was extremely fast; it was at my door in three days. Monitor was extremely easy to assemble, and once I put the disc in for the drivers, everything auto corrected itself with no problems. There is no height adjustment unfortunately, but there is a tilt adjustment that offers a fairly wide range of movement. Also, I do not like how the buttons are on the bottom of the screen, and since the monitor is so light, it moves very easily when using them. However, I rarely use any of the buttons so it isn't a big deal. With the deal that HP offered for the monitor when I got it, it was easily the best price for a monitor this size. Very pleased with my purchase.

NickZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Very Pleased
12/21/2011

Customer review by MrT2

5.0 stars 12/21/2011 by MrT2
by MrT2

Pro: Setup can't be much easier--add the two base pieces to the display and plug in the data cable and power cord. Display is fast, and color and clarity is all I hoped for. I have yet to find a bad pixel. Some reviewers have said the unit cannot be disassembled, but this is not true. The two base pieces are easily removed, one by a push button, the other by two clips. Con: It would probably be helpful for the instructions to describe how the base comes apart. Using the adjustment buttons requires a little care, as pushing them up tends to lift that side of the unit. I'd like for a printed manual to be included. I'm very pleased after about a month.

MrT2
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great Inexpensive Monitor
2/3/2012

Customer review by WirelessEngineer

5.0 stars 2/3/2012 by WirelessEngineer
by WirelessEngineer

I purchased this new monitor as part of a package deal discount along with computer. The monitor replaced an old square 19" flat panel LCD display. I must say that I was on the fense about not upgradiing, but I am very pleased that I did. The 2311 23" monitor has much more screen real estate which makes performing multiple tasks much more easier. The HP 2311x 23" LED Monitor has exceptional connectivity for anything taht you want to hook it up to, and the screen resolution is both fantastic and highly adjustable. I actually had to dim it down a bit from the factory settings, becasue it was a bit too bright, but is perfect now.

WirelessEngineer
Great Falls, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Perfect for displaying multiple graphs and plots
4/18/2012

Customer review by mindsurfer

5.0 stars 4/18/2012 by mindsurfer
by mindsurfer

I wanted a larger monitor for displaying multiple windows for the purpose of 2D data analysis. It serves as the extended monitor for my laptop. The color fidelity was not important so I have not assessed this measure of performance in the 2311x. Compared to my 15.5" laptop screen, this was a huge improvement. It worked just fine out of the box without having to make any adjustments. Easy set up. Many more windows really improved efficiency, and the larger screen enabled me to analyze more complicated diagrams. Clarity, focus, resolution was just fine.

mindsurfer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A problem in paradise
1/22/2012

Customer review by Steve66

4.0 stars 1/22/2012 by Steve66
by Steve66

Though I think HP has great products, I am not happy with their 23 inch screen I just bought because the turn off switch is on the lower right of the screen underneath and very difficult to get at. The last screen I had it was on the top right with a light and very easy to get at. I think sometimes manufacturers change things just to change things. This did not improve the product but made it much more difficult to manage. That.s it, the picture itself is very good and the screen is very light if that is what you want.

Steve66
Palm Desert, California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
23" wide screen
8/25/2011

Customer review by Pennylaw

5.0 stars 8/25/2011 by Pennylaw
by Pennylaw

Purchased this wide screen (23") in order to view television programs on it; also purchased the TV Tuner with my custom built Pavillion 8xt desktop. Customer service will help with setup of external hard drive. You could not go wrong with HP - do your research, HP has the website to assist you with whatever type of computer you want to design and various suggestions for each component. Also provide a comparison for more than 2-3 computers. Not too many directions with the monitor, but its not that hard to figure out.

Pennylaw
Hot Springs Village, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
HP 2311x is an Excellent Buy/Value
5/16/2012

Customer review by tazzman

4.0 stars 5/16/2012 by tazzman
by tazzman

Purchased the HP 2311x 2 weeks ago and received prompt delivery. Monitor was easy to setup & Installation was a snap. PQ (picture quality) is excellent in about every way possible, bright, sharp and incredible contrast. I have not had the opportunity to get deep into the menu yet, but will follow-up later after tweaking for some specific apps. I could not select 4 1/2 Stars, but would have given this unit 5 Stars if the base had been slightly heavier so that this unit felt more substantial. Overall, awesome buy.

tazzman
St. Louis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great monitor!
1/28/2012

Customer review by Mudandgunk

4.0 stars 1/28/2012 by Mudandgunk
by Mudandgunk

I admit we are kind of behind the times, but never thought we would have a monitor bigger than the TV (in our computer room that is). Very happy with the clarity, and since our last monitor took up the whole desk, we are very glad to have more room for the keyboard to be in front of it instead of off to the side slightly! It is nice to look at and matches both our printer and tower perfectly. I guess from that last comment you can tell a chick wrote this but my husband agrees totally.

Mudandgunk
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Large Screen with Compact Size
10/24/2011

Customer review by Rosebuds12

4.0 stars 10/24/2011 by Rosebuds12
by Rosebuds12

If you want a large screen, but with a monitor that does not take up much desk space, this is the one for you! It is cheaper made than I expected. When you power it off and on, it shakes. Also, it does not slide up and down--it only tilts. The height is perfect for me though. Do not use with an extension monitor cable, as the screen will shift to one side. It does not have speakers, but I prefer external speakers anyway. The view is absoutely splendid! This is a great buy!

Rosebuds12
Riesel, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
WOW
3/29/2012

Customer review by Castogere

5.0 stars 3/29/2012 by Castogere
by Castogere

Much bigger than I expected. Comes with a solid VGA cable is a plus. Excellent picture with a great unbeatable price. Allows me to see things in a whole new light....this screen rocks. If your buying a new computer and your looking for a modest screen that doesnt need to be obnoxiously huge. This is the screen for you. Big enough for easy viewing, and fits where ever you need it. Once again HP delivers. Will never shop for a monitor or computer in a bigbox ever again.

Castogere
Anchortowne AK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 240 total reviews
1-20 of 240 reviews