Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 142 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

142 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

142 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
70
4 stars
36
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 stars
25
1-20 of 119 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 119 total reviews
1-20 of 119 reviews
just what I needed
4/22/2011

Customer review by bear308

5.0 stars 4/22/2011 by bear308
by bear308

Works very well with my Aspire one net book.Only had to use one cable to power it.Recognized the drive without software.Plays DVDs fine and used it to create backup disc,no problem.

Was this review helpful? (112) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bear308
Macon, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Worth the money
3/14/2011

Customer review by OurWing

5.0 stars 3/14/2011 by OurWing
by OurWing

I recently bought a notebook for use when travelling and I needed a slim external CD/DVD drive. This works perfectly. Plugs into the notebook and no other external power is needed.

Was this review helpful? (63) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OurWing
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Just what I needed
3/10/2011

Customer review by oregoniowamom

5.0 stars 3/10/2011 by oregoniowamom
by oregoniowamom

I burned out my dvd/cd rom in my computer and this was the perfect fix...plus I can use it on my laptops since it's a usb plug in. perfect.

Was this review helpful? (55) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oregoniowamom
Le Mars, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great Inexpensive External Portable DVD Drive
10/28/2011

Customer review by jwy1

4.0 stars 10/28/2011 by jwy1
by jwy1

This is a very good cheap DVD drive. It is portable and not noisy when in operation. I have used it to play music and movie DVDs, and load software. So far the drive has preformed as I expected. I recommend it to anyone who wants an inexpensive portable DVD drive for a netbook.

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jwy1
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very Nice.
8/23/2011

Customer review by Tige321

4.0 stars 8/23/2011 by Tige321
by Tige321

My computer didn't pick it up very easily,I was forced to used the USB ports in back and it installed the drive then acted like it wasn't there. Restarting the computer fixed the issue and the drive has worked seamlessly since. People complained that it felt cheaply made,but it doesn't feel anymore fragile than any other cd drive. The instructions that come with are 'engrish' and vague,so they aren't much help if you are having trouble. My advice,if your computer isn't noticing it right away,try all your USB ports,if it picks it up to install the usb hub,restart and you'll be good to go.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tige321
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The truth and nothing but the truth
3/2/2011

Customer review by rad105

3.0 stars 3/2/2011 by rad105
by rad105

It worked liked I thought it would. It is a low price device and it is worth the price.

Was this review helpful? (43) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rad105
New Orleans, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Drve
4/5/2011

Customer review by JWDawg

5.0 stars 4/5/2011 by JWDawg
by JWDawg

Bought this unit because I have an older system without a burner, just CD not DVD, now I have two working DVD burners, and I can move it any where I need it. Works great too!

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JWDawg
American Canyon, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT STOP COMPLAINING
10/6/2011

Customer review by ANNYO3922822

5.0 stars 10/6/2011 by ANNYO3922822
by ANNYO3922822

WHO EVER SAYS THIS IS NOT WORKING WITH WINDOW 7 THEN THINK AGAIN.First make sure you have it plugged IN ,you have to have the internet connected to install driver and it works great with burning dl disc reading

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ANNYO3922822
Chicago IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
11/2/2011

Customer review by metricman

5.0 stars 11/2/2011 by metricman
by metricman

I had just purchase the Acer Diamond Black 11.6 laptop which is fantastic by the way and wanted to make back up, restore and mirror image disk. Since the Acer does not have a DVD/CD write rewrite drive I got this nice external drive for my system. It was recognized by windows 64 bit seven immediately and ran like a champ. I got my back up project done in nothing flat. Great price great product. I couldn't ask for more as it did just what I wanted it for.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
metricman
Moses Lake
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Perfect addition to my ACER Aspire One D255E.
4/14/2012

Customer review by OldTiger61

5.0 stars 4/14/2012 by OldTiger61
by OldTiger61

I have a eight year old Dell INSPIRON 6000 and recently received my ACER as a gift from my daughters. My Dell is just like a Timex, it just keeps on ticking. It's pretty slow, but so am I, but at 69, who cares !! The little ACER is just great. It is a lot quicker with about three times the memory and a tenth the weight but without a CD read/write drive, it was kinda incomplete. Then along comes this portably unit. It is now complete and it was cheap enought for this Senior Citizen to afford and not cut into his prescription money.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OldTiger61
Joshua, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Dead on arrival
1/21/2014

Customer review by chorton49

1.0 stars 1/21/2014 by chorton49
by chorton49

Dead on arrival. Picked up the package from my local Walmart, I used site to store shipping. I brought it home and opened the shipping box, which was rather large for what was inside. There was no peanuts or air packets used inside the box. Therefore the DVD drive must have been bouncing and smashing all over the place inside because when I opened the actual product box the DVD player wasn't even inside the styrofoam that it was supposed to be in. I had a feeling at this point that I was in trouble but I continued. So now I am looking for an instruction manual and two USB cords. No instruction booklet but the box states there is one included. So I plug the wired into my brand new laptop and hope for the best. Tried playing a DVD, nothing. Tried a blank DVD, nothing. So long story short this was returned to the store the next day. Advice spend the extra $10 - $15 and get a brand name that you have heard of.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chorton49
Watertown, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent for the price
4/15/2012

Customer review by jojo1984juniata

4.0 stars 4/15/2012 by jojo1984juniata
by jojo1984juniata

I installed this on my XP system without a problem. My Ubuntu system had no problems with it either. I don't know if it would work on Windows above XP because I refuse to upgrade my Windows to those systems instead going to Ubuntu. The documentation is useless. It is how to install on an older system of 95 which no one should be using any more. You need a basic understanding of Plug and Play aka Plug and Pray. However this one is indeed a plug and play not pray system. It works well. There are two cables. One is for data transfer and power transfer. IF your computer is not powerful enough there is a second USB cable to assist in power transfer. Nice, neat and no power cord to fight with or plug in making this a true portable system needing no outside power outlet. You do need to be an Advanced beginner Windows user to know how to copy. If you are like my sister and have no clue how your computer actually works except it works, you need to listen well to the next sentence. IF you do not know how to copy, I suggest buying a good Windows for Dummies that has a section on how to drag and drop copy. IF you do not understand what I just said about Drag and Drop Copy, yes you need the book. For those that do know how to copy: It's a no brainer copier and works well with existing Windows XP copy and burn systems. No excess software to bulk down your system needed. It is small, light and easy to use. Handles the windows software to adjust copying well. Quiet? Sounds like every other Drive I have ever used and I've been thru 10 or 11 computers since 1990 and 95% of em had a CD or CD/DVD drive. I would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jojo1984juniata
Harrisburg PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
RETURNED THE PRODUCT
3/13/2011

Customer review by Tomadachi

1.0 stars 3/13/2011 by Tomadachi
by Tomadachi

WOULD NOT INSTALL WITH WINDOWS 7. PURCHASED ANOTHER AND MADE SURE IT WAS COMPATABILE WITH 7 BEFORE PURCHASING. THE FIRST BURNER HAD NO DOCUMENTATION WITH IT, ONE SMALL SHEET WHICH REFERRED TO WINDOWS 98. WASTE OF TIME AND EFFORT!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (13) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tomadachi
Starke Fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8x DVD R/RW DL USB 2.0 Slim External Drive
5/8/2012

Customer review by bstan8596

5.0 stars 5/8/2012 by bstan8596
by bstan8596

the internal drive died in my HP LAPTOP JUST PLUGGED THIS ONE INTO A USB PORT WINDOWS XP FOUND IT RIGHT AWAY & IT WORKS PERFECT. & IT COMES WITH EVERYTHING NEEDED TO HOOK IT UP.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bstan8596
What a lemon!
12/13/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 12/13/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I recently purchased this DVD R/RW external USB drive as a peripheral for a new ASUS Transformer Laptop/Tablet. After connecting the drive to my new laptop, it recognizes the drive, but it won't play any CD or DVD I have. I've tried both my P90X DVDs and Shaun T's T25 DVDs, and none will play in it. I've chalked it up to it being a lemon, and a loss of $42 (includes shipping & handling). From now on, I'll take my laptop to a brick & mortar store before buying peripherals online.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Memphis, TN.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
portable dvd player
8/16/2011

Customer review by k9justice

1.0 stars 8/16/2011 by k9justice
by k9justice

did not work with windows 7. returned to store.

Was this review helpful? (6) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
k9justice
watertown,ny
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
just what I need
3/5/2011

Customer review by uuallygator

5.0 stars 3/5/2011 by uuallygator
by uuallygator

The external r/w cd is just what I need for my ACER 10.5 mini lap notebook.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
uuallygator
melrose, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice Value
7/6/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/6/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Instant plug-in and setup. Very easy to use. I cannot carry it with me in my Netbook 10.2 inch carry case 'cause it is a bit too big for the external pocket.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Southern Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great inexpensive disc writer
4/20/2012

Customer review by bulletboy

4.0 stars 4/20/2012 by bulletboy
by bulletboy

I Purchased this unit because my internal drive on my home PC died. I was considering another internal drive then realized that this external one could be used on my laptop and netbook. It works great on all 3! Simply plug and play. This drive may be a little on the slow side for some people but at 24X for CDs I can burn an entire disc of Mp3 files in about 6-7 minutes. I also like the small size, it fits almost anywhere. All it requires is 2 open USB ports, one for power, and one for data hookup. I would recomend this baby to anyone who either needs a drive for a laptop or a second drive for a PC. I have only had the unit for 2 weeks so I guess the real proof of value will be if it lasts, hopefully that will be longer than my internal drive.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bulletboy
Manitowoc, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent low cost product.
7/14/2011

Customer review by BigDuck

4.0 stars 7/14/2011 by BigDuck
by BigDuck

Let's face it, the only time you really need an external drive with a netbook is when installing software, usually during setup of your new computer. That's why I bought this item and it worked great. It feels a little flimsy and I don't know if it would stand up to repeated every day use, but I keep it in a drawer, plug it in once a month when I need it and it works perfectly. I've had no problems at all and I think it's a good value.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigDuck
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
1-20 of 119 total reviews
1-20 of 119 reviews