Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 698 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

698 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

698 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
441
4 stars
140
3 stars
46
2 stars
26
1 stars
45
1-20 of 668 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 668 total reviews
1-20 of 668 reviews
2/13/2012

Customer review by LoveMonty

5.0 stars 2/13/2012 by LoveMonty
by LoveMonty

I have had this chair about 4 days and am very pleased so far. I sat on the one in the store and it sat a lot lower than the one I bought. So I assume it gets broken in. The measurements are not accurate in the description. It is not as wide, being only 39in., even stated that on the box. I saw that a few people said that the seating area was 24in. wide, mine is only 21in. and the one in the store was as well. I think that the picture is so misleading. This is a very well stuffed chair and the picture looks so flat. The color is dark. I bought it mainly for my family room where my three very hairy little dogs are allowed. It is so nice to just brush away hair with my hand. The chair seems to be holding up very well to the little doggy toenails digging to get up with me. I haven't seen any scratches from my little dogs or from my own nails. I am enjoying it for sure.

Was this review helpful? (273) (77)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LoveMonty
stockton,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent chair, great value!
12/7/2013

Customer review by ToniP13

5.0 stars 12/7/2013 by ToniP13
by ToniP13
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After having spine surgery I wanted a comfortable recliner and after comparing a few models, settled on this one based on the reviews. What a great choice! Quick shipping, put together within 5 minutes and the chair is beautiful and very well padded. I have no trouble getting it into or out if the recline and I find it extremely comfortable. It is well worth the price and after reading reviews of some of the lower priced chairs, well worth the extra money.

Was this review helpful? (185) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ToniP13
Queens, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My New Recliner
2/8/2014

Customer review by BioBlizzard23

5.0 stars 2/8/2014 by BioBlizzard23
by BioBlizzard23

I found this on Black Friday for only $200(plus shipping and handling), and I'm glad I bought it. Wasn't sure at first but my old one I bought was breaking so I needed a new one. This one is great and quite big which is good for I am about 6 foot and about 240 lbs. {I rest very comfortable in it with plenty of room left over} It was delivered by semi and the guy was very nice. It comes in two parts and I had no trouble bringing it in or setting it up {If you are not strong or are old you will need someone to help you}. Easy assembly and the recliner even rocks which is funny cause that wasn't even in the description. There is only one problem with it, and that's if you put your head all the way back, your just looking up and not at your TV. This is resolved by just putting a pillow behind your head, I just use my bed pillow. I have had it for over 3 months and not a single problem yet. Would recommend you buy this but be carful on sales like black Friday this can go out of stock very fast.

Was this review helpful? (188) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BioBlizzard23
WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Pleasantly Surprised and Very Happy
11/23/2013

Customer review by Debadoodle

5.0 stars 11/23/2013 by Debadoodle
by Debadoodle
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have been looking for a year and a half to replace my worn out Lazy Boy. We bought a Ashley at a local dealer In Bentonville. It did not have a handle to recline but a button. Well on thick carpet getting up and closing the foot was not working for me so I gave the recliner to my husband. I kept looking and saw this Better Home and Garden recliner. My Local walmart had one set up to see and I checked it out and decided to buy it. Of all the recliners I have sat in the last year and a half this one supports my lower back well and being as big as the recliner is I was surprised. I have a small frame 5'4 and I sit well in this chair. The mechanics of the chair look just like the Ashley Recliner and works very well. It has a handle and is easy for a woman to pull. I would have preferred the handle up higher because a small framed woman's arms are not as long as most men's. I love my chair! Thank you Pineville (Jane) for having one set up where I could reach it to check it out before buying it.

Was this review helpful? (102) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Debadoodle
Bella Vista
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Better Homes and Gardens recliner
3/27/2016

Customer review by t4lulu

5.0 stars 3/27/2016 by t4lulu
by t4lulu

We set this chair up a few days ago and so far, so good. It is extra wide for larger folks. My brother is overweight, with circulation problems in his legs. Doctor said to keep his legs elevated, so I like that the leg rest is very large and padded. He falls asleep in this chair; it's very comfy. It reclines for watching tv, or goes completely flat like a bed for sleeping. A previous reviewer noted that it's a rocker, even though that's not in the description. Don't worry though, the chair is stable and doesn't move around unless you make it rock using your legs. Time will tell if this chair is long lasting. We had to throw away a perfectly good Lazy Boy because of bugs brought into my house. I put furniture cups under the new chair's feet filled with diatomaceous earth. So far no problems. Also, this chair is vinyl and bugs prefer to live in fabric.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
t4lulu
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Seems like a nice recliner
3/24/2016

Customer review by opinion02122

4.0 stars 3/24/2016 by opinion02122
by opinion02122
Top 500 contributor

My old leather recliner/rocker/swivel chair finally bit the dust and was beyond repair. So I wanted something a bit smaller but similar. I can't afford a leather recliner like the one I had, so I decided to try this one. It reclines and rocks, but no swivel. This is vinyl, not leather and the control for reclining is used only for reclining. If you try to use it to go upright, it won't work. You need to use your weight and positioning to get upright again. For the money, this seems like a nice chair. It isn't as heavy or as big as my old leather chair, but, as a senior, it works great for me. I have bad knees and getting out of chairs without groaning is almost impossible! This chair is much easier to get out of and elevates my knee when I'm in pain. My dog also likes it, though not as mush as the old chair. LOL. I decided to buy a second one. It's already on its way. BTW putting it together was very simple. I did it on my own. I couldn't lift the base, but it pushed easily across the floor. The back support simply slides into place and was light enough for me to do without help.

Was this review helpful? (20) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
opinion02122
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Top 500 contributor
Absolutely wonderful
6/22/2016

Customer review by Peach70

5.0 stars 6/22/2016 by Peach70
by Peach70
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have to say, I was a bit skeptical buying this chair without first being able to sit in it... I can tell you, I'm so glad I did!! It is very comfortable. Although on a humid hot day, you'd benefit from laying a sheet on it so you don't stick to it. It comes in two pieces. The top which is very light weight and the bottom which is heavy. If you live in a upstairs apt, be sure someone can help you bring in the bottom part. It came wrapped exceptionally well. Took 2 minutes for me to put together myself, if that. It is a ROCKING A RECLINER... It doesn't swivel, which is tool bad, but I still love the surprise that it rocked too... I am 5'9 and weigh 102lbs. There is more than enough room for 2 of me to fit in this chair. It appears to be very sturdy and we'll made. There is no way I would have found another rocking recliner as nice as this for 214.00 amazing & I'm so glad I bought it. I will be buying another as soon as they're back in stock.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Peach70
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Deluxe Recliner
1/22/2012

Customer review by TaMike

5.0 stars 1/22/2012 by TaMike
by TaMike
Top 1000 contributor

My wife bought this chair for me about 2 or 3 months ago. We were skeptical about the quality because of the price and it being furniture from Walmart, but we were pleasantly surprised. I am a big man and weigh around 300 lbs. I was hoping this would be a chair that I could not only sit in comfortably, but it would hold up my weight. It has held up fine so far, and my kids hop in the chair occassionally when I'm in it, really increasing the load. I wouldn't hesitate to purchase one of these if these are any of your reservations. We looked at several furniture stores and would have to spend about 150 to 200 more for a chair comparable to this in a decent quality chair with a brand name..more if you want a chair that meets all the requirements. The dogs jump on and off and the faux leather and it holds up to their nails too. Can't say enough good things about the chair and will be buying a matching one next month.

Was this review helpful? (700) (83)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TaMike
Spa City, Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Chair breaks within 6 months of use
1/20/2015

Customer review by billysitch

1.0 stars 1/20/2015 by billysitch
by billysitch

I bought this chair and within 6 months of purchase something in the leg rest snapped. This piece holds the entire char together and when it breaks support is lost in the seat and the legs will not stay pulled in. I took it back to the original store of purchase and they replaced it. 3 months later that chair broke in the same exact way. When you purchase this chair it comes with an owners manual DO NOT THROW IT AWAY. The company that actually makes these has wonderful customer service and they will replace the broken part of the chair. When I called and told them my situation they replaced the entire bottom piece of the chair. Upon installing it to the old back piece, the brackets that hold that part broke free from the chair. I called them back and they sent a new back piece. I wouldn't recommend the headache nor would I purchase this product again. I purchased it so that I could rock my baby to sleep and still be comfortable myself. Unfortunately the chair provides zero neck support so any time I sit in it, I get a headache.

Was this review helpful? (39) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
billysitch
Would recommend to a friend? No
GREAT QUALITY AT A GREAT PRICE
11/13/2012

Customer review by Hazelcow

5.0 stars 11/13/2012 by Hazelcow
by Hazelcow

My husband and I bought two expensive chairs at $700 each. My husband's chair had multiple manufacturing issues and had to be changed out four times over the course of a year and a half!!! I saw the BG chair at a local Walmart and was very impressed at how it looked. I read the reviews online and thought I would take a chance. I went to Walmart, had the sales associates remove the display from the shelf, tried out the chair, and thought I would take a chance, especially since each chair was on sale for less than $200. The chairs went together easily. My only issue is the top cushion angles back a bit too far in the upright position, which is easily fixed with a small throw or travel pillow, but when reclined the chair is extremely relaxing. The BG chair is a good product for the money. The footrest is nice because there is cushioning under the knees for support, and the cushion protrudes slightly at the bottom, which is good for the lower back.

Was this review helpful? (46) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hazelcow
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Better homes and Gardens Recliner
12/27/2013

Customer review by Stephanie26

5.0 stars 12/27/2013 by Stephanie26
by Stephanie26
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

EASY to set up! This chair is comfortable.The price? EXCELLENT if you get site to store.The box isn't as big as you may think... this could easy be put in the back of a BIG trunk and bungee corded down! Comfort is 4/5.Lumbar support is good (both me and my 43 year old husband suffer from major back troubles) and it even got my frisky 16 month old to sleep the night of set up =) reclines easily and is a SNAP to put together.The top just slides right in! Assembly took less than 5 mins.You may need a pillow if your going to be sleeping in it,it does seem to lean back a bit but nothing a $200 chair isn't worth! TOTALLY love the simple design.iF YOUR ON A BUDGET AND ARE LOOKING FOR A NICE,COMFORTABLE CHAIR: HERE IT IS.I did a LOT of research before purchasing.YOU WILL NOT BEAT THE PRICE Hope this helps you moms out there,IT'S COMFORTABLE ENOUGH TO ROCK A BABY IN.. NICE,CUSHY SEAT AND ARMS! =) God bless all!

Was this review helpful? (95) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Stephanie26
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not as I expected it to be
5/29/2012

Customer review by ILikeToShopAtWalmart

3.0 stars 5/29/2012 by ILikeToShopAtWalmart
by ILikeToShopAtWalmart

I had decided on this recliner based on the mostly positive reviews.When the price dropped I purchased it online.The shipping was prompt and the shipping guy was helpful.I had no trouble in unpacking or fixing up the recliner.It took just couple of seconds. But the recliner was not as I expected it to be but I guess for the price that is expected.The actual sitting area is not that deep. The cushion on the vertical part of the recliner kind of looks flatter than what it appears in the picture.If I bend the recliner forward too much while getting up or my kid climbs on to it while I am sitting it appears to go too forward that I worry it will tip over.I liked the color and it does recline as much as it has been said in other reviews.This being my first recliner I guess my expectations were higher than what I got so I was a bit disappointed. But overall for the price despite the flaws I am ok with the purchase and dont expect to return it.

Was this review helpful? (18) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ILikeToShopAtWalmart
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great purchase!!!
3/17/2016

Customer review by Reneeron

5.0 stars 3/17/2016 by Reneeron
by Reneeron

I don't often do reviews, but felt the need for this chair. We have had it for four months. It looks high quality and is comfortable. It seemed quite firm for a couple days, but broke in quickly. The lever to recline was also difficult to push for about a day or two. We have toddlers who are quite rough with it. They ride the arm rests like horses and use the foot rest as a slide...so I would say it is very durable. They have spilled liquids on it and it cleans up nicely. It still looks brand new! Only warning, is that it is not very bottom heavy. If you lean really far to one side, it will start to tip. But overall, we love it!

Was this review helpful? (21) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Reneeron
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ok Chair, But not for "Big" Guys!
6/17/2015

Customer review by WalmartShopper

3.0 stars 6/17/2015 by WalmartShopper
by WalmartShopper
Walmart associate

I have had this chair for 4 months now and while I do like it and I don't sit anywhere else, I don't think anyone over 300 lbs should buy it. I am a larger guy just over 300 lbs. The seat part is great and I am surprised that the springs have held up and the chair doesn't sit lopsided. However, the back of the chair only has a thin piece of wood holding the springs in place. If you actually recline often it puts to much strain on the back and they will push right through what seems to be about 1/8" paneling board that holds the springs in place. This causes a squeaking noise as you rock with the spring going in and out of the crack in the backing board. I think they should classify this recliner in a weight class as they do exercise equipment. If you are under say 280 lbs, or you do not plan to recline much, this chair is a good bargain for you.

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WalmartShopper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Walmart associate
Great buy!
10/30/2013

Customer review by EFM711

5.0 stars 10/30/2013 by EFM711
by EFM711
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My old recliner was an eyesore, albeit still comfortable, and I didn't want to invest in a new one, so I was looking at used ones, but scared of germs, bed bugs, etc., when I came across this one online. Cheaper than some of the used ones I had seen, I thought why not take a chance. At the very least it would be new and I wouldn't have to worry about bugs, etc. Best move I could have made. It was ready for pickup within something like 30 minutes of order. Insanely easy to assemble. Looks very nice. Hasn't scratched as easily as most real leathers...and I have pets. My brother came over and fell asleep in it the day after I got it and was out for hours. He woke up talking about how much better he slept in it than his own bed. I have to agree with him...I've slept in it a few nights myself and it's super comfortable. Very very happy and would buy it again without a second thought.

Was this review helpful? (129) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EFM711
Winchester, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best Recliner I've Ever Bought
4/12/2012

Customer review by Sadie7777

5.0 stars 4/12/2012 by Sadie7777
by Sadie7777

We bought our recliner in Feburary. So far we have been arguing over who is going to sit in it. Over the past 11 years this is our fourth recliner. I have spend $500.00 on each recliner I have bought, and sometimes a little more. We have spent a small fortune on recliners over the years. This recliner was under $300.00 and worth every penny. The biggest problem in the past with our recliners has been after much use the arms of the chairs looked deflated, and the cotton in the seat gets seperated and bunched up. Making sitting in them very uncomfortable. I'm over joyed that we finally found a recliner that is inexpensive and very comfortable. I also love the dark brown color it goes great with my red sectional couch. I'm not sure I can say this..... but you could not give me a Simmons recliner, if that helps anyone. I would highly recommend this recliner, you will not regret it. :)

Was this review helpful? (84) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sadie7777
Steele
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Brown Rocker Recliner
3/12/2016

Customer review by TechSavyMom2013

4.0 stars 3/12/2016 by TechSavyMom2013
by TechSavyMom2013

This recliner arrived on time by shipment to my home in one very large sturdy box (no damage to box). We had to open this furniture box outdoors and bring in the 2 unassembled recliner parts separately or it wouldn't have fit through the doorway. Both parts are protected with padding and plastic inside of the box and it was easy with 2 of us to bring them into the home undamaged. I was able to follow the directions for assembly and once 2 parts lined up it snaps easily into position. This chair sits taller than I expected and fits taller/long legged people best with 2 of us in home over 6ft tall. Wouldn't be good for a shorter person as their legs won't touch he ground when you lean back in the rocker. I am unsure if the product description even mentioned it is a rocker when it isn't reclined, which I am enjoying. The seat cushion was very firm for first week of use, but I have used it daily for a month now and it seems like it gives a little now. I feel it is a good quality for an online purchased and for the price range and the free shipping was a plus and part of what sold me on the purchase since I live in rural area. Photos on the website are an honest representation of the look and color of product. Glad I liked it as it would be difficult to do a return by mail or to the store as it is a large product. So far very pleased with the purchase and hope it will last me years!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TechSavyMom2013
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So far, pretty good!
4/17/2011

Customer review by lbr123

4.0 stars 4/17/2011 by lbr123
by lbr123

After seeing this in local stores and debating for a few weeks, I finally decided to purchase. It comes in 2 pieces, and, while the assembly probably should be easy, it took me FOREVER to get it latched together properly. It's probably just a showing of my extreme lack of assembly skills. Once it was together, I'd definitely say it's an extremely comfortable chair! The only reasons I wouldn't give it '5 stars' are because it scratches/tears very easily and the back doesn't 'latch' when it reclines. The chair rubbed against a wall, and got a slight tear...I'm not sure about the durability/quality of the fake leather. Secondly, if you lean back in the recliner, it doesn't 'latch' to stay reclined...you kinda have to (minimally) push with your back to keep the back portion reclined. Overall, I think it's pretty great quality for the price and would definitely recommend the purchase!

Was this review helpful? (172) (56)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lbr123
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
So Far So Good
11/27/2013

Customer review by TLS19

5.0 stars 11/27/2013 by TLS19
by TLS19
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My main concern at the time of ordering was price but I also wanted a comfortable, durable chair. I have to say that so far, and I've only had the chair about 2 weeks, it has met all my expectations. It is comfortable and holds my weight with ease, even the added combined total of 60 lbs for all three of my dogs on occasion. I love that it is a ROCKER recliner. Yes, it is a rocker! Great extra benefit at no extra cost. There is not a lot of padding at the top part of the chair so you do not have a "head rest" so to speak, but if necessary a small pillow will work well if I feel the need. This is not a high end chair and I am sure would not be able to take the wear and tear that small children would put it through, however we do not have small children at home so no need to worry. As far as durability...I can not answer for the long term, only time will tell, but so far so good.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TLS19
Guymon, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So Disappointed
1/23/2013

Customer review by RARAREY

1.0 stars 1/23/2013 by RARAREY
by RARAREY

We bought this chair as a gift for my parents for Christmas. After reading the reviews, we felt confident this would be a great chair. While it looks nice and is very comfortable to sit in, there is absolutely no neck support. The chair is positioned back too far. To compare I would say it is like sitting in an adirondack chair. So to sit up and have a conversation or to watch television, your neck is in a very forward awkward position. My parents just put a pillow behind their head and lower back everytime they sat in the chair. So today, 1 month after our purchase the chair is completely broken. The inside is made of particle board which broke on one side where the bolt was attached in the seat area. What a waste of $250.00 and how embarrassing that our Christmas gift was such a let down.

Was this review helpful? (182) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RARAREY
Syracuse, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 668 total reviews
1-20 of 668 reviews