Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 430 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

430 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

430 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
269
4 stars
91
3 stars
27
2 stars
18
1 stars
25
1-20 of 402 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 402 total reviews
1-20 of 402 reviews
2/13/2012

Customer review by LoveMonty

5.0 stars 2/13/2012 by LoveMonty
by LoveMonty

I have had this chair about 4 days and am very pleased so far. I sat on the one in the store and it sat a lot lower than the one I bought. So I assume it gets broken in. The measurements are not accurate in the description. It is not as wide, being only 39in., even stated that on the box. I saw that a few people said that the seating area was 24in. wide, mine is only 21in. and the one in the store was as well. I think that the picture is so misleading. This is a very well stuffed chair and the picture looks so flat. The color is dark. I bought it mainly for my family room where my three very hairy little dogs are allowed. It is so nice to just brush away hair with my hand. The chair seems to be holding up very well to the little doggy toenails digging to get up with me. I haven't seen any scratches from my little dogs or from my own nails. I am enjoying it for sure.

Was this review helpful? (169) (55)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LoveMonty
stockton,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent chair, great value!
12/7/2013

Customer review by ToniP13

5.0 stars 12/7/2013 by ToniP13
by ToniP13
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After having spine surgery I wanted a comfortable recliner and after comparing a few models, settled on this one based on the reviews. What a great choice! Quick shipping, put together within 5 minutes and the chair is beautiful and very well padded. I have no trouble getting it into or out if the recline and I find it extremely comfortable. It is well worth the price and after reading reviews of some of the lower priced chairs, well worth the extra money.

Was this review helpful? (110) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ToniP13
Queens, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My New Recliner
2/8/2014

Customer review by BioBlizzard23

5.0 stars 2/8/2014 by BioBlizzard23
by BioBlizzard23

I found this on Black Friday for only $200(plus shipping and handling), and I'm glad I bought it. Wasn't sure at first but my old one I bought was breaking so I needed a new one. This one is great and quite big which is good for I am about 6 foot and about 240 lbs. {I rest very comfortable in it with plenty of room left over} It was delivered by semi and the guy was very nice. It comes in two parts and I had no trouble bringing it in or setting it up {If you are not strong or are old you will need someone to help you}. Easy assembly and the recliner even rocks which is funny cause that wasn't even in the description. There is only one problem with it, and that's if you put your head all the way back, your just looking up and not at your TV. This is resolved by just putting a pillow behind your head, I just use my bed pillow. I have had it for over 3 months and not a single problem yet. Would recommend you buy this but be carful on sales like black Friday this can go out of stock very fast.

Was this review helpful? (110) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BioBlizzard23
WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Pleasantly Surprised and Very Happy
11/23/2013

Customer review by Debadoodle

5.0 stars 11/23/2013 by Debadoodle
by Debadoodle
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have been looking for a year and a half to replace my worn out Lazy Boy. We bought a Ashley at a local dealer In Bentonville. It did not have a handle to recline but a button. Well on thick carpet getting up and closing the foot was not working for me so I gave the recliner to my husband. I kept looking and saw this Better Home and Garden recliner. My Local walmart had one set up to see and I checked it out and decided to buy it. Of all the recliners I have sat in the last year and a half this one supports my lower back well and being as big as the recliner is I was surprised. I have a small frame 5'4 and I sit well in this chair. The mechanics of the chair look just like the Ashley Recliner and works very well. It has a handle and is easy for a woman to pull. I would have preferred the handle up higher because a small framed woman's arms are not as long as most men's. I love my chair! Thank you Pineville (Jane) for having one set up where I could reach it to check it out before buying it.

Was this review helpful? (49) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Debadoodle
Bella Vista
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
FANTASTICALLY COMFY & ROOMY
1/15/2016

Customer review by Lisa

5.0 stars 1/15/2016 by Lisa
by Lisa

Bought this for my husband and he LOVES it. It's unbelievably comfortable and soft and it is big enough to cuddle up with the kids. He is 6'2" and it suits him just fine. The kids all fight to relax in it when he's not home. It was super easy to put together and it rocks, literally! It has smooth rocking action and a full recline! Outstanding recliner for the price. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lisa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great buy
1/27/2016

Customer review by greenrover

5.0 stars 1/27/2016 by greenrover
by greenrover

Nice and sturdy and comfortable well built and a steal for the money I was kind of sceptical at first because of the price when I got it and set it up I was more then happy for the sale price or the regular price it's well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
greenrover
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not what I expected at all
1/22/2016

Customer review by Dawn

1.0 stars 1/22/2016 by Dawn
by Dawn

Got this recliner based on the good reviews. Unfortunately, it doesn't quite match what I read. I'm 5'5 and my feet hang off the end of the recliner when the foot rest is up. The back also doesn't come up any further than the back of my neck, so when upright there is no head/neck support. The hard frame is easy to feel through the top cushion. The cushions are also stiff, thin and not comfy at all. Very unhappy with this purchase. The only good thing is it is not just a recliner, but a rocker as well. Wish it was as comfortable as was advertised.

Was this review helpful? (12) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dawn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Easy to set up
12/9/2015

Customer review by stardancer95011

2.0 stars 12/9/2015 by stardancer95011
by stardancer95011

It is very easy to set up, but you have to be super careful not to rip the fabric, It also shows up any wetness, like wet fingers or oily face. The springs make noise and it sounds like a clinking. The armrests are very low and for a short person 5'7 your legs and feet dangle from the chair The lever is not placed on correctly and looks like it is hanging out of the chair. You also get stuck buying a magazine subscription with this purchase and you have to go through an ordeal if you want to get a refund. For a 103 pound chair to be shipped and lugged around to get it all assembled and then find out it is not excellent quality. I would rather be stuck with it, then to attempt to ship it back. One more thing if you like to keep your head in an upright position this will not help, you will need to place a neck or other travel pillow behind the head to even get a lift.

Was this review helpful? (21) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
stardancer95011
Would recommend to a friend? No
Full Stars!
12/31/2015

Customer review by biomike

5.0 stars 12/31/2015 by biomike
by biomike

My old Lazy-Boy finally gave out last month and I was looking for a good deal, and was able to find it at Walmart. Not only was the price marked down $50, but free value shipping was included. This chair is roomier and more comfortable than my old chair, but it doesn't take up any more space. Easy to assemble, easy to recline or rock, and the over-sized arms and back padding making the past two weeks a joy to come home to and relax after work. I'm 6'2", 225 pounds...it's a perfect fit for me!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
biomike
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Deluxe Recliner
1/22/2012

Customer review by TaMike

5.0 stars 1/22/2012 by TaMike
by TaMike
Top 1000 contributor

My wife bought this chair for me about 2 or 3 months ago. We were skeptical about the quality because of the price and it being furniture from Walmart, but we were pleasantly surprised. I am a big man and weigh around 300 lbs. I was hoping this would be a chair that I could not only sit in comfortably, but it would hold up my weight. It has held up fine so far, and my kids hop in the chair occassionally when I'm in it, really increasing the load. I wouldn't hesitate to purchase one of these if these are any of your reservations. We looked at several furniture stores and would have to spend about 150 to 200 more for a chair comparable to this in a decent quality chair with a brand name..more if you want a chair that meets all the requirements. The dogs jump on and off and the faux leather and it holds up to their nails too. Can't say enough good things about the chair and will be buying a matching one next month.

Was this review helpful? (633) (76)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TaMike
Spa City, Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Chair breaks within 6 months of use
1/20/2015

Customer review by billysitch

1.0 stars 1/20/2015 by billysitch
by billysitch

I bought this chair and within 6 months of purchase something in the leg rest snapped. This piece holds the entire char together and when it breaks support is lost in the seat and the legs will not stay pulled in. I took it back to the original store of purchase and they replaced it. 3 months later that chair broke in the same exact way. When you purchase this chair it comes with an owners manual DO NOT THROW IT AWAY. The company that actually makes these has wonderful customer service and they will replace the broken part of the chair. When I called and told them my situation they replaced the entire bottom piece of the chair. Upon installing it to the old back piece, the brackets that hold that part broke free from the chair. I called them back and they sent a new back piece. I wouldn't recommend the headache nor would I purchase this product again. I purchased it so that I could rock my baby to sleep and still be comfortable myself. Unfortunately the chair provides zero neck support so any time I sit in it, I get a headache.

Was this review helpful? (24) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
billysitch
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ok Chair, But not for "Big" Guys!
6/17/2015

Customer review by WalmartShopper

3.0 stars 6/17/2015 by WalmartShopper
by WalmartShopper
Walmart associate

I have had this chair for 4 months now and while I do like it and I don't sit anywhere else, I don't think anyone over 300 lbs should buy it. I am a larger guy just over 300 lbs. The seat part is great and I am surprised that the springs have held up and the chair doesn't sit lopsided. However, the back of the chair only has a thin piece of wood holding the springs in place. If you actually recline often it puts to much strain on the back and they will push right through what seems to be about 1/8" paneling board that holds the springs in place. This causes a squeaking noise as you rock with the spring going in and out of the crack in the backing board. I think they should classify this recliner in a weight class as they do exercise equipment. If you are under say 280 lbs, or you do not plan to recline much, this chair is a good bargain for you.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WalmartShopper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Walmart associate
Pleasantly Surprised
11/8/2015

Customer review by Me2U

5.0 stars 11/8/2015 by Me2U
by Me2U

Our couch broke, and honestly, I didn't want to have to keep moving a big heavy couch again when I clean. So, I opted to purchase a pare of this recliner. I was anxious at first since I didn't get to 'test' it out in the store first (like you can at a furniture store), but I'm happy with my purchase. These recliners are comfortable and wide enough for even a big man. The leg rests don't cut into the backs of my legs like some recliners I've had and their isn't an ottoman always in the way like the glider recliner I had a few years back. They are pretty sturdy and recline all the way back. I can't keep them up against the wall like my couch but I am enjoying lighter duty when moving them to vacuum. And, even though I purchased a set, the price was as comparable as buying a new couch. I'm very happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Me2U
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GREAT QUALITY AT A GREAT PRICE
11/13/2012

Customer review by Hazelcow

5.0 stars 11/13/2012 by Hazelcow
by Hazelcow

My husband and I bought two expensive chairs at $700 each. My husband's chair had multiple manufacturing issues and had to be changed out four times over the course of a year and a half!!! I saw the BG chair at a local Walmart and was very impressed at how it looked. I read the reviews online and thought I would take a chance. I went to Walmart, had the sales associates remove the display from the shelf, tried out the chair, and thought I would take a chance, especially since each chair was on sale for less than $200. The chairs went together easily. My only issue is the top cushion angles back a bit too far in the upright position, which is easily fixed with a small throw or travel pillow, but when reclined the chair is extremely relaxing. The BG chair is a good product for the money. The footrest is nice because there is cushioning under the knees for support, and the cushion protrudes slightly at the bottom, which is good for the lower back.

Was this review helpful? (41) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hazelcow
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Better homes and Gardens Recliner
12/27/2013

Customer review by Stephanie26

5.0 stars 12/27/2013 by Stephanie26
by Stephanie26
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

EASY to set up! This chair is comfortable.The price? EXCELLENT if you get site to store.The box isn't as big as you may think... this could easy be put in the back of a BIG trunk and bungee corded down! Comfort is 4/5.Lumbar support is good (both me and my 43 year old husband suffer from major back troubles) and it even got my frisky 16 month old to sleep the night of set up =) reclines easily and is a SNAP to put together.The top just slides right in! Assembly took less than 5 mins.You may need a pillow if your going to be sleeping in it,it does seem to lean back a bit but nothing a $200 chair isn't worth! TOTALLY love the simple design.iF YOUR ON A BUDGET AND ARE LOOKING FOR A NICE,COMFORTABLE CHAIR: HERE IT IS.I did a LOT of research before purchasing.YOU WILL NOT BEAT THE PRICE Hope this helps you moms out there,IT'S COMFORTABLE ENOUGH TO ROCK A BABY IN.. NICE,CUSHY SEAT AND ARMS! =) God bless all!

Was this review helpful? (77) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Stephanie26
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great comfort
2/9/2016

Customer review by Corkey

5.0 stars 2/9/2016 by Corkey
by Corkey

when I was a little baby, I used to sit and rock in the chair and my dad used to say I used to rock like a cork on the bottle so he gave me the nickname-"Corky"- that's why I always wanted a rocker recliner.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Corkey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not as I expected it to be
5/29/2012

Customer review by ILikeToShopAtWalmart

3.0 stars 5/29/2012 by ILikeToShopAtWalmart
by ILikeToShopAtWalmart

I had decided on this recliner based on the mostly positive reviews.When the price dropped I purchased it online.The shipping was prompt and the shipping guy was helpful.I had no trouble in unpacking or fixing up the recliner.It took just couple of seconds. But the recliner was not as I expected it to be but I guess for the price that is expected.The actual sitting area is not that deep. The cushion on the vertical part of the recliner kind of looks flatter than what it appears in the picture.If I bend the recliner forward too much while getting up or my kid climbs on to it while I am sitting it appears to go too forward that I worry it will tip over.I liked the color and it does recline as much as it has been said in other reviews.This being my first recliner I guess my expectations were higher than what I got so I was a bit disappointed. But overall for the price despite the flaws I am ok with the purchase and dont expect to return it.

Was this review helpful? (17) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ILikeToShopAtWalmart
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Cheap comfort !!
2/2/2016

Customer review by MDKA01

3.0 stars 2/2/2016 by MDKA01
by MDKA01

I bought this recliner in July 2015 it is Feb 2 2016 one of the piece that supports the your weight broke off a day ago . Also one side has sunken down not sturdy. It is a good chair for someone under 200 pounds and treat it gentle as the price is cheap and so is the quality.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MDKA01
Would recommend to a friend? No
Spend a little more and get a comfortable chair
11/15/2015

Customer review by deb53

2.0 stars 11/15/2015 by deb53
by deb53

I spend a lot of time in my recliner. I have a bad back and need support and also the ability to change the position of the back frequently. This chair has a hard seat not much more comfortable than a hard chair. The worst part is the back support. There is no padding in the head rest area so you must lean far back to rest your head, resulting in an unatural arch of your back. I tried this chair for five hours and had such a back and neck ache that I am returning the chair tomorrow. Also the delivery company left the chair in a box in my driveway and the box was totally destroyed so there was minor damage to the chair as well. This would be OK if you just want an extra chair in a room but not if you are looking for a comfy chair to relax in.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
deb53
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great buy!
10/30/2013

Customer review by EFM711

5.0 stars 10/30/2013 by EFM711
by EFM711
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My old recliner was an eyesore, albeit still comfortable, and I didn't want to invest in a new one, so I was looking at used ones, but scared of germs, bed bugs, etc., when I came across this one online. Cheaper than some of the used ones I had seen, I thought why not take a chance. At the very least it would be new and I wouldn't have to worry about bugs, etc. Best move I could have made. It was ready for pickup within something like 30 minutes of order. Insanely easy to assemble. Looks very nice. Hasn't scratched as easily as most real leathers...and I have pets. My brother came over and fell asleep in it the day after I got it and was out for hours. He woke up talking about how much better he slept in it than his own bed. I have to agree with him...I've slept in it a few nights myself and it's super comfortable. Very very happy and would buy it again without a second thought.

Was this review helpful? (126) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EFM711
Winchester, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 402 total reviews
1-20 of 402 reviews