Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 288 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

288 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

288 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
218
4 stars
47
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 stars
14
1-20 of 287 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 287 total reviews
1-20 of 287 reviews
Great product
1/10/2015

Customer review by SONNE31

5.0 stars 1/10/2015 by SONNE31
by SONNE31
Top 250 contributor

Great product for everyday use, helps keep my blonde without going brassy, it is not aggressive for your hair

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SONNE31
Terra incognita
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Top 250 contributor
If You Are A Blonde, This Is A Must Have!
3/16/2013

Customer review by bwaecht1

5.0 stars 3/16/2013 by bwaecht1
by bwaecht1

As other reviewers have said before me, I had platinum blonde hair growing up, but as my teenage years rolled around and after dying my hair dark brown a couple times, I could never get my hair back to light blonde without bleaching it, and bleaching only damaged my hair. I decided to try this product out, seeing as I was a fan of John Frieda's other hair products. After only one use, I could already see my roots getting lighter and my highlights getting brighter. I was amazed that something over-the-counter like this would work. I thought for sure I would have to go spend another seventy-five dollars at the hair salon touching up my roots. This has saved me so much money and time. Very easy to use, just shampoo like normal! I use this every other day and after about two weeks of using this shampoo, other people thought I just stepped out of the salon. For even brighter hair, I would recommend getting the conditioner and lightening spray. You will never have to go back to the salon for a dye job again!

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bwaecht1
Grand Island, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
New Fomula Is Dissapointing
1/28/2016

Customer review by Painter16

1.0 stars 1/28/2016 by Painter16
by Painter16

I have used Go Blonder for many years. I bought shampoo and conditioner the other day and right away new it had changed. My hair is now dry and brittle and falling out. I have tried to find the old formula but can't and now will have to try something else. Too bad because I use to get more compliments on the color of my hair which is natural.

Painter16
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
2/11/2012

Customer review by KatMC1221

5.0 stars 2/11/2012 by KatMC1221
by KatMC1221

It was great! It really did lighten my hair. I noticed results around the third use.

Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KatMC1221
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
4/20/2011

Customer review by blonderdays

5.0 stars 4/20/2011 by blonderdays
by blonderdays

This is a very good product for people with natually blonde hair that perhaps has gotten darker with age. The effects are very subtle, yet effective and the end result is absolutely natural looking. I have dirty blonde hair(was a white top as a kid) and my blonde has darkened through the years with age. Using this product about 2-3 times per week and also using the Go Blonder lightening spray 2-3 times per week has gotten me back to a healthy, shiny, "summer blonde" hair status that I am very happy with.

Was this review helpful? (43) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
blonderdays
AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Awesome :)
5/19/2011

Customer review by Phoenixdown13

5.0 stars 5/19/2011 by Phoenixdown13
by Phoenixdown13

I am not a natural blonde and dye my hair and it always looks great right after I dye it but tends to turn a little brassy after a week or two. I've only used the shampoo, but it works very well to keep it a nice blonde color. It didn't dry my hair out at all. I would def. recommend it!

Was this review helpful? (45) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Phoenixdown13
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
FABULOUS!!!
5/20/2011

Customer review by deebs024

5.0 stars 5/20/2011 by deebs024
by deebs024

I'd like to say an exact DITTO to the 1st review! I am/was a natural blonde until about 3-4 yrs ago - with age (I'm 49) my hair got very dirty blonde. I've never had to color or highlight my hair and I was thinking that this year I might have to start doing that! I'm glad I tried this first. The results are really quite astonishing! In the first 2 wks I used this shampoo 4x each week, conditioner 2x each week, and lightening spray 2x with hot hairdryer and straightener iron thing in first week, and the 2nd week sprayed it on and sat outside at my garage sale --- OMG! I am restored to that sunkissed natural California look that I had before I got old!!! Buy it now!

Was this review helpful? (25) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
deebs024
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
New formula is not the same, makes hair greasy and flat and dull, no brightening.
10/5/2014

Customer review by DebbieO

1.0 stars 10/5/2014 by DebbieO
by DebbieO

I have been using the sheer blonde go blonder original shampoo and conditioner for real blondes for over a year. I LOVED IT! My hair stays lighter and brighter after each use. I knew it would end. YOU CHANGED THE FORMULA! oh no! I went to buy my great working, wonderful shampoo and conditioner at the store and to my shock, It was there, but new improved formula. I used it. It is not the same shampoo or conditioner at all. My hair is not light and fluffy, it is now dull and greasy. I am a true blonde with thin, dry hair and do not wash my hair daily, but with the new formula, I have to because my hair looks like it has not been washed at all for a week! This is soo bad. Your old formula 5 stars, your new formula 1 star. I had to go to another store and found a few left over old bottle on the shelf and I bought all of them. I will continue my quest to get the old formula. I used it this morning and my hair is back to the beautiful, brightened, lighter fluffy hair I have been getting from your old formula for a year. WHY MESS WITH A GOOD THING!

DebbieO
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Great Shampoo
2/15/2012

Customer review by Dandelion84

5.0 stars 2/15/2012 by Dandelion84
by Dandelion84

I noticed that my hair became brighter and looks very healthy since the first time I used this. I am using it with the regular blonde's conditioner from the same brand and even though I have seen my natural color and highlights improving since day 1. I totally recommend this one.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dandelion84
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
REALLY LIGHTENS!
3/24/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 3/24/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I am naturally a dirty blonde but I like to lighten my hair to a golden/light blonde so I usually just dye it at home. My roots started coming in and I wanted to touch them up, so I bought a neutral medium blonde dye and used it both on the roots and the lengths of my hair. My hair became dark brown for some reason, so I re-colored it a lighter sun blonde with the same brand, after the r-color my hair turned two toned, the roots a brassy orange, the ends a dark tinge of green. I really didn't want to re-dye my hair nor did I want to see a specialist, and I had the Go Blonder shampoo and conditioner lying around in my cabinet, so I decided to use it. After just one use I was surprised to see my hair actually one event tone, a golden blonde tone with some neutral tones as well. I love the turnout, this stuff saved my disgusting hair!!! =) Would totally recommend this to any blonde who wants to revive the tone of their hair!

An anonymous customer
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Brightening your Blonde without the salon!
7/27/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/27/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I was a bit skeptical when I bought this product, I bought the shampoo, conditioner, and it came with a freebie blonde lightening spray. I thought how could shampoo really make a difference, but as a blonde obsessed with obtaining the PERFECT blonde coloring, I was willing to try anything! And I'm glad I did, because it works! I was at a stage where my roots were growing in dark, and I couldn't afford the salon, but after a week or two of using the lightening shampoo and conditioner from John Frieda, I could see a visible difference in my hair color. It also helps my blonde to look more natural, as it lightens gently and over time. It looks especially bright after blow drying and styling. Overall, I'm a very happy blonde customer. It smells AMAZING, the conditioner makes your hair extremely soft, and most importantly: it does what it says it will do. It lightens your hair to a perfect, natural looking blonde.

An anonymous customer
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Product that makes blonde real
7/27/2011

Customer review by veronica7

5.0 stars 7/27/2011 by veronica7
by veronica7

I used this product as well as all the others that John Frieda carries. I came to use John Frieda products after I tried others and was left with damage to my hair. All John Frieda products seem to work efficiently and without all the damages others cause. I have went from dull shabby haircolor to a vibrant blonde that I desire to be. It is amazing when I can use the product and people will notice a change and beauty and think I stepped into a name brand salon but the truth is with the John Frieda products I did it at home. I gladly will tell anyone I can that the John Frieda products are amazing and lifesavers to anyone who wants to make a change with salon results at home without the worries and fears of the what ifs....It is amazing when people do not think I am near my age and it is because my hair makes me look younger and more alive..Thanks John Frieda

veronica7
Abilene,KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Lightens hair well
6/7/2015

Customer review by ksjch

5.0 stars 6/7/2015 by ksjch
by ksjch
Top 25 contributor

I have dark hair and don't want to bleach it so every time I get my highlights done they look brassy / orange at roots and I absolutely hate that! This shampoo tones them in a week after using every other day! And my highlights look amazing! The only thing I don't like about this shampoo that after continuing use my hair starts feeling very dry and straw like, so I have to do extra conditioning measures. Other than that it definitely does what it says, and that's just a shampoo! I have never used lightning conditioner, it would do the job better and faster probably.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ksjch
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Top 25 contributor
6/8/2012

Customer review by swampfox619

5.0 stars 6/8/2012 by swampfox619
by swampfox619

Product really lightens hair color

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
swampfox619
Denver, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Brightens my blonde
7/27/2011

Customer review by sillyrabbittrix

5.0 stars 7/27/2011 by sillyrabbittrix
by sillyrabbittrix

This, along with the Go Blonder Lightening Spray, are must-haves in my hair care arsenal. I am a natural blonde that has used these products to maintain my blonde and avoid dyeing my hair. Both of these products help me (very) successfully achieve that! The lightening spray does an excellent job of getting my blonde to that lighter shade or two. The Go Blonder Shampoo helps brighten my blonde - it keeps it from ever getting brassy or dull, and gives me the brightness to my blonde that I need! Before the lightening spray came out, the shampoo even did a decent job of slightly lightening my hair - maybe half a shade or so, up to a full in the summer time. I would recommend this shampoo if you are looking to brighten up your blonde, or need minimal lightening. Pair it up with the lightening spray to really watch your blonde lighten a couple shades!

sillyrabbittrix
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Another great John Frieda product!
8/11/2011

Customer review by toqueenelisabeth

5.0 stars 8/11/2011 by toqueenelisabeth
by toqueenelisabeth

Years ago it was intended as a joke when I was given the "Secret Weapon" finishing cream for my frizzies. From that day forward I have used no other hair care product but John Frieda because all I have tried stand true to their results. When I started highlighting my hair I soon found the natural moisture and softness needed help. Not to mention in between touch ups per say before returning to the salon. There was no hesitation to try the Go Blonder Lightening product line based on my personal success with the other John Frieda products I use or have used. Go Blonder moisturizes as well as lightens my hair and helps hold my solon color until the next visit. In fact my hair dresser commented on how nice the color looked on my first visit back after starting using the Go Blonder. As always, thank you for providing such a wonderful product line!

toqueenelisabeth
Columbia, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
I enjoy the product
9/5/2011

Customer review by Jaybo85

5.0 stars 9/5/2011 by Jaybo85
by Jaybo85

The product only slightly lightens my hair, Im sure that if I purchased the conditioner and spray the product would have worked even better.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jaybo85
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The new formula is awful. :(
12/10/2014

Customer review by peonygirl

1.0 stars 12/10/2014 by peonygirl
by peonygirl

I had been using this shampoo/conditioner for years and I LOVED it. It made my dirty blonde hair much brighter, shinier, and voluminous. It was one of those rare products that I'd use to the last drop and continue to repurchase. I was actually excited when I saw the 'new formula' bottle. But sadly, the new formula doesn't brighten. I've got this obvious amount darker growth marking the time when I started using the newer formula a few months ago. Not only has it stopped lightening my hair, but it no longer makes it shiny or gives it volume. My hair looks so greasy and flat by the end of the day that I HAVE to rewash it in less than 24 hours. I'd have given the shampoo a 3/5 had it still functioned as a normal shampoo, but it doesn't even do that for me anymore.

peonygirl
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love All The Go Blonder Products :)
12/2/2013

Customer review by cj4677

5.0 stars 12/2/2013 by cj4677
by cj4677

Was a little skeptical at first but jumped off the ledge to try it and I have to say Using all 3 products It Works!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cj4677
Morristown, Tn.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Product For Blonde Hair
8/3/2014

Customer review by JessNH

5.0 stars 8/3/2014 by JessNH
by JessNH

I love this shampoo and the matching conditioner. It makes my hair look like a ray of sunshine. I love the way it keeps my hair looking bright and beautiful even in the dull winter time. I would recommend this product to anyone and I will be buying this again.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JessNH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 287 total reviews
1-20 of 287 reviews