Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 365 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

365 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

365 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
280
4 stars
49
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 stars
23
1-20 of 364 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 364 total reviews
1-20 of 364 reviews
Magic in a bottle!!
3/19/2011

Customer review by tallperson13

4.0 stars 3/19/2011 by tallperson13
by tallperson13

I used this spray on my roots and combed it through trying to blend my hair because I had some long roots. All my hair was natural color but the ends for some reason was blonder, maybe from last summer idk, but I kept cutting my hair trying to get all my natural color and it never seemed to be one color. I seen this stuff and thought I would try it, I was a little scared that it might turn my hair oragne. I just used it 3 days and now my hair is all the same color or blended enough were it looks the same. I really like this stuff and plan on using it when ever I have darker roots growing back out. It did look a little golden brassy color by the 3rd day, but I stoped using it and used some purple shampoo and my hair looks good and I love it. I really didn't like the way the spray made my hair feel after using it, it felt like I had a bunch of hair spray in my hair, but after washing my hair it feels normal and silky.

Was this review helpful? (36) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tallperson13
Canada,KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
john frieda sheer go blonder lightening spray
4/25/2011

Customer review by jlynk

5.0 stars 4/25/2011 by jlynk
by jlynk

I have been using nice n easy to get my medium brown hair to a blonde color. but since I found this product I will just use it..after FIRST use, you could notice it was lighter...and each time I use it, it continues to lighten it..I LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT and will never go back to boxed color...simple to use..I am a 60 year old great grandma and I have been coloring my hair since I was about 14..so a long time and this is the BEST PRODUCT I have ever used.I am also using the lightening Shampoo, which I did use prior to buying the spray...both products are ok..will be buying the conditioner and another bottle of the spray..

Was this review helpful? (31) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jlynk
Deland, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Please read this review
12/10/2011

Customer review by CarolineH10

1.0 stars 12/10/2011 by CarolineH10
by CarolineH10

At first, this product seems like a miracle product. The perfect solution to grown-out roots between color. However, when using it over an extended period of time it absolutely destroys your hair. I've always had a reasonably healthy head of hair. Now my hair is damaged beyond repair thanks to using this product. The places where I've used the product have grown out and it has visibly dried and "kinked-up" that particular section of hair. When my hair is wet, I can run a brush through it and the sections where I've applied the product curl up like running scissors down a strand of ribbon. That is what this product does to your hair. Please take my advice! I can only wait for my hair to grow out now! This is going to take years to fix!

CarolineH10
Anderson, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Exactly what it says it is!
3/18/2011

Customer review by Krispie210

5.0 stars 3/18/2011 by Krispie210
by Krispie210

I'm the type of blond who swore I'd never dye my hair, but when years of sunless winter months in the Northeast turned my once honey locks dull, I was seriously considering my stance. I had looked at the John Frieda Sheer blond products before, but when I saw this, I decided to give it a try before giving in to fake color. I have to say I was thrilled enough with the results to get online just to write a rave review for it! Not only does my hair look naturally lighter, brighter, softer, and shinier, but it also added natural highlights to even the bottom of my hair (which was the nastiest dull color before). Only 3 days to a noticeable difference, and hopefully maintaining it will not be hard. Yay for no hair dye and a product that does what it says. Thank you John Freida for your hair-saving product!

Was this review helpful? (57) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Krispie210
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
First choice for blondes going blonder!
9/8/2011

Customer review by Allison0395

5.0 stars 9/8/2011 by Allison0395
by Allison0395

I'm not one to pay a lot of money to get my hair colored. It's been all natural (which is a really dirty blonde) for my entire life. I saw this product and decided I would try it, just to see. SO GLAD I DID. It does exactly what it says it will! People really started to notice after five days, then it kept getting more obvious. This is so worth the price for blonde hair. It is also easy to apply since it's just a spray. However, there are a few things I didn't like. One thing is that after I used it and straightened my hair after blowdrying it left residue on my flat iron. That got kind of gross. The other thing is the size. The bottle is very small and I only used it around eight times before it ran out. If you want to go way blonder I would suggest buying two right away. Overall this is an AMAZING product. I will definitely purchase it again in the future!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Allison0395
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Don't use this product....Please!
12/5/2012

Customer review by candygurl315

1.0 stars 12/5/2012 by candygurl315
by candygurl315

I've had natural blonde hair most of my life, but it's slowly faded into a light brown. I read the reviews before I bought this product. I saw the bad reviews saying thing like, "My hair is ruined!" or "John Frieda killed my hair" but I didn't listen and bought it anyways. After 13 uses it barely lightened my blonde. Yes, I was blow drying my hair with the product in because it is supposed too be heat activated. I regret using this spray so much! My hair isn't completely ruined, but there is no way to fix the damage done to it! I have to wait until my hair grows out again, and it's going too take years to fix. When my hair is wet it feels gummy and I can't brush it until it dries. When it dries it obviously looks like there is something wrong with my hair. It crinkly and rough. It wasn't worth the blonde for this damage. I've tried resoration kits and treatments, but I just have to accept the facts that it isn't going to get better. Please, If your love your hair don't use this product!

candygurl315
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
it does work, but wouldn't recommend it.
7/18/2012

Customer review by taroyogurt

3.0 stars 7/18/2012 by taroyogurt
by taroyogurt

I have black hair that's been bleached and colored to a dark brassy blonde. I've been using it a couple of times in the last 1+ month and there's a noticeable difference - the spray created natural-looking, obviously lightened highlights on the top layer of my hair where I sprayed and applied heat. But now there's barely any spray left in the bottle (I have thick, chin-length hair). If I still had my long hair, I think it would take 1/2 the bottle for one application, and it takes several applications to make a difference. In order to activate the product, I had to blow-dry and use a flat-iron, and although the product is a heat protectant I felt like the process damaged my hair more than bleaching highlights or dying with light blonde dye did. Because you have to use a lot of heat styling to activate the product, I wouldn't recommend it for damaged hair, and because the bottle is small and a lot of applications are needed, I would not recommend it for hair that is naturally thick in volume.

taroyogurt
Berkeley, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
I absolutely LOVE this product
6/30/2016

Customer review by Melissa97

5.0 stars 6/30/2016 by Melissa97
by Melissa97

My hair is naturally dark blonde / light brown. I use this product from time to time to add highlights or to get a natural ombre look. I spray it in my hair before blow drying, and I personally notice a difference even after one use. I absolutely LOVE this product. It easily gives me the look I hope to achieve, especially in the summer when I want more dimension to my hair. The only thing I'm not keen on is the scent, it's tolerable but not the best. Also, people need to realize that constantly using heat and this product WILL damage your hair. Do not abuse this product and mistake it for a hair dye substitute, and you will not have a problem.

Melissa97
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Money Saver!
3/12/2011

Customer review by Blondie889

5.0 stars 3/12/2011 by Blondie889
by Blondie889

This product was wonderful! I could definitely tell a difference within about 4 uses. It has saved me a trip to the salon, which would have been 130 dollars. This is definitely going to be a permanent staple in my hair routine. On top of working well, it has a fresh citrus smell and it leaves my hair shiny. I would definitely recommend this product. The only warning would be is if you have slightly darker blonde hair, like my roots are, your hair my go through a slightly brassy phase. But as long as you keep using the spray, it will lighten to a lovely blonde shade.

Was this review helpful? (24) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Blondie889
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great on dark hair too!
8/13/2011

Customer review by PattyT

4.0 stars 8/13/2011 by PattyT
by PattyT

I have dark brown hair and wanted just a few highlights without going through the long, damaging processing. This stuff works fine for me. It lightened up sections of my hair to a golden, reddish brown and gave me the highlights I wanted without any damage. It's not just for blondes!

Was this review helpful? (41) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PattyT
Central New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great for color, but it stinks...
8/3/2011

Customer review by atreecalledlife

4.0 stars 8/3/2011 by atreecalledlife
by atreecalledlife

My natural hair color is mostly a light chestnut brown, mixed with natural bleach blonde & golden highlights. I haven't dyed my hair in years, and read that this product was not for dark brown hair, but I figured I'd give it a try since mine is light. I also used this in conjunction with the Go Blonder Shampoo & Conditioner. I blow dry and flat iron my hair after every shower because of the style. My hair was noticeably lighter after one use. I wash my hair every 2-3 days because I I don't want to dry it out with styling tools. After 3 washes, everyone was commenting on how light my hair was. They thought I was spending a lot of time in the sun and that my hair had naturally lightened! I like this product, but feel the spray needs a better thermo protectant because even after waiting a while in between washes, and using a second conditioner (Redken All Soft) my hair seems dry from this product. Also, it stinks and when I hug friends they've commented on it.

atreecalledlife
NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Keeps the roots away and blondes brighter!
8/2/2011

Customer review by Ashley

5.0 stars 8/2/2011 by Ashley
by Ashley

I saw this product in a magazine in May and thought that I would give it a try. I am in love. I have dark brown hair and normally can not last more then 6 weeks without having to get my roots done. With this product, somehow, it makes my roots less noticeable and makes my highlight brighter and more natural looking then the orange/brassy look you can get by highlighting your hair and having such a dark natural color. My mother is a stylist and has been recommending this product to her highlighted clients, and they love it too! I use the lighting spray about 3 to 4 times a week and pair it up with the blonder shampoo and conditioner, which I use about 3 to 4 times a week as well. I apply a few squirts around my temples and part and some along the back of my head, that is all you need! As I said, I have bought this product in May and it is now August and am just about at the end of my bottle-- it lasted me over 3 months! Love love love this product, try it!

Ashley
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ruined my hair. Lost hair from use.
2/4/2012

Customer review by Wickedsweetpea

1.0 stars 2/4/2012 by Wickedsweetpea
by Wickedsweetpea

I'm really surprised that this product received great reviews. I had only used it for a month. I did not overuse it. My hair was in great condition until I purchased and used this product. I was simply looking to give my roots a lighter look. After a month and had used less than 1/2 a bottle....my hair started to fall out at the roots. This is common for some who have used this product. Check out Amazon's reviews. It's more common than you think. I have stopped using the spray a few months ago and my hair is still damaged and left with a nasty sticky film at the roots. Good luck to those using this. Side note: My hair was not color treated or anything with chemicals upon using the product.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wickedsweetpea
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Brightens hair, but not worth it
12/26/2013

Customer review by Col71

1.0 stars 12/26/2013 by Col71
by Col71

I began using this product when I was 18 and a freshmen in college, and I had never dyed my hair before, so I thought this was a good way to make my dirty blond hair look a little bit brighter. I only used the spray a few times, and the top of my hair looked a lot lighter within 2 weeks. However, when I decided to use the spray again about 6 months later, I noticed that I was getting too blond (almost orange) and my hair was beginning to break at the roots. Within a month of my last usage, my hair had thinned completely and I had short pieces of hair at the top of my head. I could not wear my hair down comfortably for several months because it was way too thin. I am now 21, and my hair is still very damaged and much thinner than it was before I started using this product. I still have been unable to dye my hair. I do not recommend this product at all. It is successful in making hair lighter, but the years of damage are not worth it.

Col71
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Best I've ever used!
3/25/2016

Customer review by Anaksha

5.0 stars 3/25/2016 by Anaksha
by Anaksha

I've used various of things to help lighted my hair over the years. I used Sun-in when I was in middle school and high school and that worked for me at the time. Since joining the military and working in a building all day or sometimes all night, I didn't spend that much time outdoors like I used to. My blonde was borderline brown, and dull. I had completely lost the luster in my hair. I bought this product in hopes of returning my hair to a bright blonde shade that I used to come by naturally. And boy did I get just that. Even in the first use, my hair lightened up immediately. I've since used it four times, and now my hair has that perfect blonde luster that I used to have as a kid. I am in love with this product, and I would recommend it to anyone looking to restore their bright blonde layers!

Anaksha
Augusta GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Blonde Spray
5/3/2016

Customer review by balticinstitches

5.0 stars 5/3/2016 by balticinstitches
by balticinstitches

Highlights where you spray it...even on dark hair. Combs in lighter streaks.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
balticinstitches
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It really works if you want to enhance your natural color
8/21/2014

Customer review by Evie

5.0 stars 8/21/2014 by Evie
by Evie

I have always had natural dark blond hair (well, the color is difficult to define - something like honey/straw/cooper blond), and liked that a lot. When I have recently noticed that my hair is loosing the natural lightness and becoming a tad darker and more to the gray shade side, I decided to look for something to enhance the color. I have bought shampoo, balsam and spray. While shampoo and balsam are nice, I did not notice immediate change. However, the spray did what it was advertised. I usually do not color my hair, nor use hair-dryers, so they are quite healthy. After using 3 times as advised, the hair shade became lighter. My hair stylist did not find any hair damage and agreed that the lighter color suits me better than the one growing back. However now I am wondering how to refresh color on the roots. While the color difference is not very pronounced and I would not advice to lighten dark hair or roots, it works great to accent your natural color. The photo shows difference between the freshly grown hair at the root (several cm) and lighter downwards.

Evie
Europe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
I'm Hooked
12/2/2013

Customer review by cj4677

5.0 stars 12/2/2013 by cj4677
by cj4677

I use this with the shampoo and conditioner and all I can say is it works! I had highlights with the cap done only 2 times and still had some brown strains in my hair. I sprayed this not only on my roots but all over and now my roots are hidden and my hair is blonde all over without any brassy colors! I seen results the first time I used it and by the third time even more results. This is my new friend :)

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cj4677
Morristown, Tn.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Amazing product for natural Blondes when your sun kissed summer hair grows out in the winter months.
1/5/2012

Customer review by Emmy24

5.0 stars 1/5/2012 by Emmy24
by Emmy24

As a natural blonde my hair will lighten significantly during the summer months due to the sun, i'm talking bleach blonde natural highlights, which I do love. However, during the long and cold winter months, I lose that sun kissed brightness and when my hair starts growing out it looks like I have roots. Not no more! Thanks to the Go Blonder Controlled lightening spray I can easily take my new growth to that all natural I've been laying the sun all day look! It never turns your hair a brassy or red color like other products similar to it do. You can easily control how light you want to go and if you accidentally spray a little too much on don't worry about it, this product won't bleach your hair immediately. But if that is what you are looking for after 3-4 uses applying it very liberally you should reach that platinum blonde level. And don't worry about it growing out, it fades gradually into your hair color and when you feel that you are look a little dull, just spray it in and blow dry/straighten your hair back to that brighter sun kissed blonde you love so much!

Emmy24
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Love it
3/2/2016

Customer review by Georgia

4.0 stars 3/2/2016 by Georgia
by Georgia

Results are simply amazing. Leaves your scalp a little dry and somewhat itchy but if you skip it for one day and condition well, your scalp will return to normal. I am so glad I found this product, I used to have gorgeous natural blonde hair but over the years I've been exposed to less sun and my hair started turning a dull brown and I hated it. Tried this product and I have received a new confidence ever since my hair has returned to the color it once was. Wish I could add before and after pictures!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 364 total reviews
1-20 of 364 reviews