Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.1out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 | 105 reviews
5 stars
34
4 stars
54
3 stars
12
2 stars
3
1 stars
2
Sort by: 
1-20 of 101 reviews
1-20 of 101 reviews
Good bed
9/13/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I love this bed I purchased 4 my 10 yr old son. And he loves it to. It gives more space in his room. The only down fall was the WEAK instructions!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great item...with alterations
5/30/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I never write reviews, but felt I needed to with this item. It is working out beautifully...now. I cut 6 inches off each leg with a reciprocating saw and this made a huge beneficial difference. It was way too tall and swayed too much. With the 6 inches off, it still left plenty of room below, it is not too close to the ceiling either. I also took two metal plates (like "L" brackets but without the bend) and applied them to the top back bar that goes against a wall and sandwiched the top bar of the bed between the brack and the wall with long bolts into studs. Now it has no sway or movement at all and is the right height. I also bought a replacement ladder, as the ladder was too upright and the pegs were painful on the feet. I found a ladder that is for RV bunks on Amazon and it is perfect. So given the low price, I didn't mind making these changes to make it perfect for us. I also bought the small sized futon that goes underneath it and it has become the perfect room for my teenager.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (148)No (22)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Better Than Expected
2/23/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My 13 year old asked for one of these for Christmas, basically wanting the area below for a chair or desk or whatever. After reading the many reviews, I was wasn't completely sure but decided to go ahead and try this. The wood beds like this were out of our budget. After getting this put together, myself and husband and older son, I was pleased with the sturdy feel of the bed. I had been concerned about the swaying mentioned in some of the reviews but it does not seem to be an issue. Note, there are quite a few parts to this bed and while it's not necessarily difficult, it does take some time. And no doubt about it, the bed will be used for years to come because taking it apart will be tedious and we're simply not taking it back apart anytime soon. I actually just now ordered a Spa Sensations 6" memory foam mattress, specifically for this bed's measurement requirements. And you don't want a mattress that is any thicker so there is not a chance of anyone rolling over the bed's bars.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (51)No (15)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A practical piece for one with little space
4/24/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Still living at home while being a full time art major and about to gain 4 new little brothers I needed to make room in my bedroom to do my art pieces. A loft bed was my best option. What I like about this bed is that it doesn't come with a desk already installed so i can put my own furniture under it and it doesn't have a ladder that extends out causing more space issues (although I would have preferred one with it at both ends). My full size mattress and my weight combined are both under the maximum limit so I felt better in that. But the bed does wobble a lot even when I turn from my stomach to back, what do you expect with a metal frame with cylinder posts?But it is sturdy and if you want something that stays still put in the money to buy a more expensive wooden frame. Overall I am happy in my purchase and I recommend to those who buy it to try and sleep the first time on your stomach so that you can just imagine you're not so close to the ceiling.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (49)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
one yr later review
7/10/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
i bought this for my son last summer and its held up pretty well. hes 16 yrs old and 5' 11" so for him getting in and out can take a second or 2 since its pretty close to the ceiling. luckily there aren't any light fixtures or ceiling fans in his room otherwise i don't think this would work. i have low ceilings though. I've already climbed on top of it to change the sheets and its a bit of a challenge because of the ceiling being lower. it has held up fairly well. only issue I've had with it is one of the screws that holds the railing next to the ladder fell out and i cant find it so that part of the railing next to the ladder is disconnected,i'm not sure if it broke and fell inside the frame or just fell on the floor and my son put it somewhere. my son is careful not to hold or pull that too hard when he climbs down or up. the bed itself does sway a bit when you climb on it, but unless you're wrestling on it, its not that much of a problem. i would recommend this. we haven't had any issues .
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good for a small room
9/7/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I moved into my first apartment and didn't want to take my twin bed with me because it's uncomfortable to fit two people when my boyfriend sleeps over. But I also didn't have a bedroom big enough for a full or queen size bed. I was happy to find this bed because now I have a full size bed but my desk and dresser fit under it, so I've still got floor space. It was pretty easy to put together, and I made sure everything was very tight, but it still shakes when I get on or move on it. I think it's safe because I DID tighten everything, but it's still wobbly. The ladder hurts my feet, especially in the morning so I kind of jump down usually. I also had to take the blades off the ceiling fan so I wouldn't get my head chopped off. Because I don't have air conditioning, sometimes it's a bit too warm to sleep up there (it's warmer than on the ground), so I sleep on the floor. Just some things to consider.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (30)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Perfect for Teen's Room
11/16/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We bought this loft bed after our 15 yr. old son begged us for one. He had a queen sized bed set in his room that left enough space in his room to move around, but with him being a teenage boy, not enough space for him and his friends to chill and hang out and keep his room clutter free. The loft bed has offered way more useable space in his room and even provided a chill out area under the bed. The bed is VERY TALL, I’m 5'6 1/2 and have to slightly bend my head to stand underneath it, so be sure to do your height measurements to include the space of a ceiling fan if you have one as well. We will be rearranging the location of his bed because it is too close to his ceiling fan. Overall, we are very happy about the purchase and are kicking ourselves for not buying this instead of the queen bed set for him a few years ago. Note: Just like the other reviewers, it does wobble, but is very sturdy and we see no need right now to anchor it to the wall. BTW, our son is 6’0 and 185 pounds. The loft bed is very sturdy. My husband put it together by himslef and he did have to tweak a few things, however it came together very nicely. Enjoy your purchase! Our son is. :-)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (33)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
a little unsure
3/21/2011
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I just purchased this bed for my 9yr old son after months of researching. I had it delivered to my home instead of site to store and the bed was here a day and a half later!! I had three people on hand to help and it was very simple assemble and only needed two people, took about an hour or so (we took breaks). It is a nice looking bed, great value and fits on a 5x7 rug perfect my only concern so far is that there is some sway to bed especially when climbing up the ladder. It says it can hold 300lbs, but I'm a little nervous to test that much weight. I had my boyfriend climb up there and that's when we noticed the sway to it. All the screws were checked and tightened. So for right now I am keeping the box handy until my son trials it for a few nights. I really want this bed to work out for us.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (78)No (14)
Report
Was this review helpful?
1/6/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I ordered this bed for my 14 year old son and he absolutely loves it. I assembled the bed myself and it took approximately 2 hours. If you have someone to help you it shouldn't take quite that long. The instructions are clear. The bed does have a slight sway, but nothing to be of concern. I read a review in which someone had shortened the legs to decrease the sway--this would be great if the loft space underneath the bed was going to be used for a small child, but my son is almost 6 feet tall and if we lowered it, he wouldn't be able to sit at his desk, so consider the amount of space needed under the bed before you decide to shorten the legs. Overall we are both pleased with the bed and the increase in usable space in his room.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (32)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
My tween looooves this bed!
3/12/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We hesitated purchasing this bed after reading the reviews but ordered anyway. So glad we did!! It was easy to put together and was much sturdier than expected! She loves the bed and has so much more space in her small 10x10 room. So far we have had no problems with the bed "swaying" and she weighs 120 lbs. Shipping was also faster than we expected. Overall great value and cool bed!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good buy for the money
1/4/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am pleased with my purchase, it is what I expected for the price and function intended. I ordered it for my 7 yr old son (loves it). There were some nicks and scratches but overall nothing noticeable once constructed. My husband and I were able to put it together without a problem. I will say in one or two sections we had an issue with the fit but once we realized if we put the opposite side in first it fit. Not sure if it was and alignment issue in the manufacturing process because the directions did not state a certain order of placement was necessary. I will say there is some movement of the bed when climbing on and off but not to the point that it seems unsafe or unsturdy. My 14 climbed up as well with no problems. I also note that the bed is tall so if you have 8ft ceilings as we do there is not much head room, we had to remove the ceiling fan because there is not enough clearance.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
What I expected for the right price
6/18/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
It fit the full mattress and isn't too noisy once up on the loft. It supports my 190 pound adult male body and gives me more room in my crowded apartment. Assembly went well in spite of the missing instructions because I found a PDF on Walmart's listing.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (21)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great bed, my daughter loves it!
4/18/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We purchased this because my daughters share a room and we need the space. We already had a twin bed that we placed under this loft bed. My daughter and I put this loft bed together in about 2 hours. All the parts were in the box, labeled correctly. Instructions were easy to read. Shipping was very quick. Ordered on Sunday and it arrived on Wednesday.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Bed
5/7/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this bed for my eight year old son. At first he was excited to get in it, but was reluctant to sleep in it. After I bought C clamps with spacers and bolted it to the wall studs it barely moves and he loves it. It was pretty stable before but would sway just a little, which kind of freaked him out. It's actually a pretty heavy bed, but for younger kids I would recommend bolting it to the wall. Also you can put a memory foam mattress on it without a bunky board.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Son loves it
5/16/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My son is 14 and is about 5'10" right now. His room is standard height. I was afraid he would not like it once he got it but that's what he wanted. He loves it and can sit up pretty comfortably. We put a sofa underneath it that also pulls out to a bed for his friends. We could not install the ladder as it sticks out and would restrict the pull out sofa but he is OK with that and climbs up on the side. We have considered welding a piece of the ladder so that he has an extra place to put his foot when climbing but have not gotten around to it. The bed moves when climbing up as others have mentioned and we considered attaching it to the wall as others have done or somehow bracing it to the floor but honestly my son is OK with it as/is and my husband doesn't want to mess up the walls. We had to put a bumper on the bed since I cracked my noggin one day when I wasn't paying attention and bent down to fix up the sofa underneath. That bumper is great for when friends who are a little tall forget to bend down. We have a ceiling fan that is off center in the room and that works out great because if it was centered by the bed it would have been a problem - but our case worked out wonderfully as that was where our original light was housed so putting in a fan there was perfect!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Loft Bed
4/11/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought 2 one for my son and the other for my daughter, they both seem to love it. They have so much room now! The beds are very nice looking and sturdy. If you are looking to make more room in your kids rooms this is a nice option to buy.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (21)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Bed for the money
8/30/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This bed is stylish and functional - the weight capacity (at 300 pounds) is more than most loft beds. It was easy to put together, too. I share the opinion of the other reviews, though, about it being wobbly. We are going to bolt it to the wall to secure it better but overall it's a great bed.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent
1/25/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Set up took 1 hour by myself. Very sturdy product. There is a little shake to it when my son moves around up there, but I have no fear of this thing falling apart. Perfect addition to a room cramped for space. Weaved up Christmas lights on the bottom of it for a reading area. Now my daughter wants one.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Space saver
5/3/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My 18yr old has a small room, I purchased this bed to give her more space. She was able to put her L-shaped desk and swivel computer chair under the bed easy. The bed was a little squeaky at first but with a little tightening of the screws it was fine. My only complaint is that you will need to tighten the screws a few times a year to avoid a squeaky bed, but for the price I am happy to deal with that.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not as sturdy as I had expected
4/3/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I purchased this loft bed for my teenage granddaughter. It was fairly easy to assemble but is not as sturdy as I had hoped. It wobbles quite a bit and I regret my decision to purchase it. I have owned the twin version of this bed with the attached futon and it was great. I suspect that this type of bed needs something under it to keep it sturdy. I would definitely not recommend this bed!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642855, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-