Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 73 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

73 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

73 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
45
4 stars
11
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 stars
8
1-20 of 70 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 70 total reviews
1-20 of 70 reviews
Great Vacuum at this Price point
3/9/2011

Customer review by Lakefishingwidow

5.0 stars 3/9/2011 by Lakefishingwidow
by Lakefishingwidow

After reading many reviews and trying a higher priced Hoover and Shark, this vacuum out performs them for considerably less money. I did a side by side test with a Dyson, kenmore and this machine. It was like a Rolex and timex. They are more expensive but still read the same time. I have 1 dog and 2 cats and the air extreme picked up their hair off carpet and floor with total ease. Suction is great and this machine rocks! Looks good too! Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (75) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lakefishingwidow
Lake Livingston, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Best Vacuum ever
5/13/2011

Customer review by bettershopper309

5.0 stars 5/13/2011 by bettershopper309
by bettershopper309

I have been an office cleaner for years so I have tried various vacuum cleaners over the years. I bought an Animal Dyson for my home and it was the worst vacuum I had ever owned. I recently bought the Eureka Air Extreme for my home. It is the best vacuum I have ever used. The suction power out does the Dyson. With this vacuum it is bagged and it does not retain odors like the bagless vacuum cleaners. I have many animals so I have to find the best vacuum cleaner that will not smell like animal. I tell you if you do not buy this vacuum you will be missing out on a great vacuum cleaner.

Was this review helpful? (40) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bettershopper309
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great vacuum!
4/7/2011

Customer review by Hard2Satifsy

5.0 stars 4/7/2011 by Hard2Satifsy
by Hard2Satifsy

I bought a Bissell..& not a cheap one either...the $130 one. After 4 mons. it stopped picking up. I would end up angry & cursing the thing. Plus, I learned I do not like bagless vacuums. Yuck! Felt filthy when I was finished cleaning it. For the sake of my nerves, I bought this vacuum. OMG, WHAT...a diefference! I have a flat rug and had to set it on to "avg.". Any lower, and the vacuum tried to, literally, pulled the rug up from the floor. I couldn't believe it. Talk about suction power! When it's turned on, it pulls itself. There is no having to push it yourself. And it has a bag...welcome back. I just love vacuuming my rugs again. This is a super vacuum & worth every penny.

Was this review helpful? (33) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hard2Satifsy
St. Charles, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Fantastic Vacuum!!!
4/13/2011

Customer review by schnauzermom67

5.0 stars 4/13/2011 by schnauzermom67
by schnauzermom67

This is one fantastic vacuum. The suction is incredible. It can suck a golf ball through a garden hose! While it is not a self-propelling vacuum, it glides across my carpet. It does a fabulous job on my carpets and hardwood floors. My carpets look brand new again. I like that you can adjust the suction level -- comes in very handy when vacuuming my area rugs. I love the additional tools and that they all store on board the vacuum. The Air Extreme outperforms my $400 bagless vacuum at a fraction of the cost. I love that it has a bag -- I am so over emptying out a disgusting bagless canister. The only negative I can post is that it is on the heavy side but because of the way it performs, I can overlook that. A great buy!

Was this review helpful? (28) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
schnauzermom67
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
My first Eureka product and last.
4/6/2014

Customer review by Cooldadof2

1.0 stars 4/6/2014 by Cooldadof2
by Cooldadof2

Well technically my second. I returned the first one because the spinning brush quit working during the second time using. I thought it might have been just a bad part or something and liked the way it cleaned when it worked, so I another of the same. MISTAKE. After the 90 days that Walmart gives for returns the brush on the second one quit working. Now I am stuck with a coat rack that has a sticker saying "Better than a Dyson 1/2 the price." I can tell you why it's half the price.... one little part that is made out of plastic. The sprocket that is on the belt that turns the brush stripped and now when the axle turns it does not turn the sprocket which does not turn the belt which does not turn the brush. this little piece of plastic should have been made of metal so that I could stand up to the work load. Does anyone know if Hoover vacuums are made with cheep parts like this? I obviously am in the market for a new one and since Eureka already got $149 of my money, I don't want to spend a lot on another vacuum that does not work.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cooldadof2
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Superior Vac
7/15/2011

Customer review by mom2bandg

5.0 stars 7/15/2011 by mom2bandg
by mom2bandg

I bought this vac to replace a true hepa filter one I had for years. Our entire family has allergies ranging from skin to asthma. I read the prior reviews paying close attention to dog owners as we have a golden retriever and I have to vacuum nearly everyday. My only concern was going to a bag system from a bagless. Well even bagged systems have evolved over the years and the bags for this vac are antimicrobial and didn't spray out all the dust and junk when I removed it. I This vac not only can handle the heavy load of dog hair but has an amazing bare floor option. My home is nearly all tile and wood flooring and this does the best job on cleaning the floors b/c it does not kick the sand/dirt around with the bristle brush. It has a super powerful suction at the core of the vac that glides over the bare flooring. The bristle action is far above what I expected and it makes my area rugs, which get covered in dog hair, look brand new. There is also a way to easily detach the hose if something such as a sock, which happened to me, should occur. I can not say enough wonderful things about this product!!!!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mom2bandg
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
HOW TO GET A NEW ONE. Brush roller problem solved
5/4/2014

Customer review by reachrismart

2.0 stars 5/4/2014 by reachrismart
by reachrismart

The problem of the brush roller not spinning is a direct result of a faulty wheel on the brushroll on/off assembly. The wheel strips from the spinning spindle causing it to not turn the belt. I discovered this by removing the top cover of the vacuum. I turned on the machine, and noticed that the belt was not spinning. I saw that the metal spindle was spinning, but the little plastic wheel was not. I called Eureka, and they said this vacuum was under warranty. They gave me the name of the local service center, but that was about 50 miles away. I called this service center called Edison in Nashville, but the customer service agent was quite rude. I simply wanted to know if this would be something that could be scheduled and done that day thus saving myself another 100 mile round trip. She said, "We will not do any repairs of any kind while the customer waits for it. I told her the problem with the vacuum, but she told me something negative about Eureka, and they were the only ones that would actually warrant a belt replacement. Told her it wasn't the belt, but what I had already told her the problem was. She then rudely said, "Bring your receipt and the vacuum!" Then, she hung up on me. I then called Eureka back and told them about my experience with the local service center. It was amazing to me how friendly Eureka customer service is, but their local repair service center is quite the opposite. She then told me they were sorry about this, and then told me they would send me a whole new vacuum. I didn't have to do anything more. I simply had to send them the label with serial number and model number to them. They actually sent me another vacuum that retailed for much higher. I thought to myself, "Surely, this is something that could be replaced," and did some web surfing. I found the following website: www.vacpartswarehouse.com. I found the specific part within 3 clicks of the mouse. The part, Brushroll on/Off assembly 84708, was only 22.66, and I used a coupon code off retailmenot.com for an additional 5% off. I got the part, and took my time. It was relatively easy to do, but just keep in mind what part goes where. I just fixed it a few minutes ago, and it works like a new vac. Now, I have two vacuums. One for upstairs, and one for downstairs. I hope this helps. Here's a link you could cut and paste for the parts for this vacuum: http://www.vacpartswarehouse.com/Eureka-AS1101A-Air-Speed-Upright-s/5963.htm Incidently, it looks like the newer assembly has been modified to be stronger, but only time will tell. Now that it's fixed, I am happy with Eureka again. After I fixed it, I would give it a 4 star rating.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
reachrismart
Would recommend to a friend? No
GREAT vacuum for a GREAT price!
6/7/2011

Customer review by ShoppinMinda

5.0 stars 6/7/2011 by ShoppinMinda
by ShoppinMinda

I bought this after having several bagless vacuums. I have carpet, wood floors and area rugs in my house, and it works awesome with all. There are accessories for everything which I love. The suction is amazing. The prices of the vacuum, bags, and filters are great. This is not for those who just want to flip it on and vacuum. You must take the time to do the right settings.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShoppinMinda
Meadville, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Incredible machine for the price
7/9/2011

Customer review by GreenFlower

5.0 stars 7/9/2011 by GreenFlower
by GreenFlower

This is my favorite vacuum I've ever had. Dare I say, it actually makes vacuuming "fun" (or as fun as it can be). I drove 20 miles to another Wal-Mart that had this in stock, based on the good reviews here. I am so glad I did and it was more than worth the hassle. Don't miss out on this wonderful machine. On a side note, I also own a Dyson Animal and quite frankly I like this one better in terms of enjoyment of use as well as performance. Truly exceptional.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GreenFlower
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Unbelievable for the price...
6/16/2011

Customer review by bolariplus5

5.0 stars 6/16/2011 by bolariplus5
by bolariplus5

I bought this vacuum to replace a very expensive model (Hyla) that --shall we say--croaked. Got it home, put it together, and tried it out. All I can say is WOW! Holy moly! The darn thing nearly sucked the carpet right off the sub-floor! I have a black area rug in my kitchen that I have to vacuum daily thanks to a cocker spaniel. This vacuum removed all the pet hair in one pass. Easy to use, lots of attachments, nice long cord and long hose. Only negative thing I can say is that it's a little on the heavy side but who cares when it delivers like it does. With the 2-year warranty, I know I'll get more than my money's worth out of this vacuum. Great choice--buy it!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bolariplus5
Lynchburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Wow!
7/10/2011

Customer review by goldenkizzez

5.0 stars 7/10/2011 by goldenkizzez
by goldenkizzez

I'm finally don't hate vacuuming! I've had this vacuum for about a week and I'm amazed! I have kids and pets and it picks up everything! From pet hair (dog and cat), sand, cookies/ crackers, to a poor little toy soldier under my couch! One of the best things I love is that it'll pick up the mess the first time. You don't have to go over the same area a few times just to make sure its all picked up. I cant say much on how long its going to last but so far I'm thrilled with it! A few irritations with it is where the power switch is. I'm use to them being on the handle but its down in the front by the bag area.. also, the foot switch to recline it's kinda tough to push in on mine. Gotta really push my foot down! And it's not very quiet. But pros vs cons: the pros win in my book!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
goldenkizzez
eden, az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good Vacuum but bulky
3/26/2011

Customer review by 1Zoey

4.0 stars 3/26/2011 by 1Zoey
by 1Zoey

I needed to get a new vacuum because my beloved old vacuum had its cord chewed up. I didn't want to wait for one to be shipped so I went to the store and bought this one. It has most of the features of my old vacuum with one feature missing which I totally loved about my old vacuum. A retractable cord. If it had that I would be 98% happy with it. The last 2% is because it is bigger, bulkier and heavier than I expected. And this model doesn't have a headlight on it or a front "handle" to carry it upstairs. And with its size it would have been very helpful for it to have it. However, it does work great as far as I can tell. I have hardwood, tile and carpet in my home and it worked great on all flooring types. It does have a bigger bag so you don't have to change it out as often and the cost of the bags is the same price as the others so you will save a bit of money that way. We have a Golden Retriever and two cats and it seems to get the animal hair up just fine. Easy to assemble. Pretty straight forward. It comes with an extra belt although the belt seems cheap. It feels and looks like its made of a flexible plastic of sorts instead of rubber. Not sure if most vacuums are like that now or not but this one is. Overall I would recommend this vacuum so far, if you don't mind the extra bulk and weight. It works great and all the extra attachments are nice. But if the Hoover vacuum (the $188.98 model) was availible in the stores I would probably give it a try and see which I prefered. But its not and I don't think I really want to wait on shipping. I have 3 small boys and 3 animals and to not have a vacuum for daily use for even a week would mean total mess.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1Zoey
washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
LOVE IT!!
4/29/2011

Customer review by kcoleman10

5.0 stars 4/29/2011 by kcoleman10
by kcoleman10

I have had a Bissell bagless for a few years now and I was over emptying nasty chambers of filth and dirt that just flew back up into the air. I went to Walmart telling myself to buy the cheapest ($40) vacuum with the bag. As soon as I seen this vacuum I put it in my cart! I really needed/wanted the stair spin brush attachment and the cheap option had NO attachments at all. Got it home, put it together in less than 5 minutes and I was on a roll :-) My carpets immediatley looked fluffy and felt very soft. I can't wait to try it on my rugs tomorrow. Buy this vacuum today!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kcoleman10
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works Great
5/18/2014

Customer review by Katie1B

5.0 stars 5/18/2014 by Katie1B
by Katie1B

My other Eureka just wasn't picking up good enough for me, so started to look for a new one. I looked at different brands, read the reviews , some where bad some where good, So i took a chance and bought this and I am loving it. Picks up my pets hair and the cat little my cat tracks threw out my Apt. It's a little on the heavy side, so if you have lots of steps i wouldn't want to keep lugging it up and down them. I really like the power cord that go's back on its own with a push of a button, with me having lower back problems the less bending i have to do the better. The only thing i didn't like with the model I got, you only get 1 wand with it , so if you have to reach high for cob webs and your not tall enough you will have to stand on a chair or a stool. I saved the wands from my other vac and they fit ok to get the job done. I like having the filter on this one, i don't see the dust blowing around like i did with my other one. Very easy to put together, If i can figure it out any one can !! Very easy to remove the dust cup and to dump the junk out.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Katie1B
Jeffersonn WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/27/2011

Customer review by Desertdog1234

5.0 stars 6/27/2011 by Desertdog1234
by Desertdog1234

This is a fantastic vacuum. After struggling with a dirty bagless vacuum with ever decreasing suction for 5 years we decided to return to a bagged vacuum. It took all of 5 minutes to decide on this vacuum due to its construction, features and of course the bag options. When we got it home and tried it for the first time we were absolutely amazed at the power and suction of this vacuum. We have a number of very low pile rugs, tile and very high pile carpets that our previous vacuum hardly touched. This vacuum was able to remove all of the dog hair from our rugs and was able to stand up the matted down carpet in high traffic areas to a plush, like new appearance.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Desertdog1234
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great vacuum once we got it working
5/16/2014

Customer review by scot2bdun

5.0 stars 5/16/2014 by scot2bdun
by scot2bdun

We received our vacuum in a very beat up box, so we immediately opened it up to check for damage. No damage, but the brushes wouldn't turn, so we took off the front and found out that the belt wasn't on the shaft to run the brush. The belt was grazed a bit, so we called the manufacturer's hot line anad were informed that we could either put it back in the packaging, exactly as we had received it or go to the local repair shop that did their warrenty work or they could sen us a replacement belt that would take 2 weeks to arrive. We opted for the new belt and then took it to the repair shop where we were informed that the belt wasn't covered under warranty. In spite of all of this hassle, we really do like this vacuum. Nice suction, especially on the edges.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
scot2bdun
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Who designs these?? So Frustrated!!
4/22/2014

Customer review by ajc15545

1.0 stars 4/22/2014 by ajc15545
by ajc15545

Hello, Eureka, are you listening?? My shoulders and arms ache after using this thing! The suction on this vacuum is great, but the maneuverability stinks! When you make a vacuum this heavy, you need to put a hand hold on the top of the dirt cup to help when you need to steer it or just to balance the weight when you carry it up the stairs. You should have done that instead of putting the brush attachment there that keeps falling off at the slightest bump. My last vacuum was a Hoover, and I thought I would give Eureka a try this time, but I think I want to return this and go back to Hoover just because they have the extra handle on the top of the dirt cup, for the sake of my back and shoulders. Seriously Eureka, do you even have real people test your designs before they go to production?? To anyone out there looking at buying this vacuum, if you are young and really strong and want a workout when vacuuming, this is the one for you!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ajc15545
Hyndman, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Don't waste your money
5/7/2014

Customer review by HickoryMama

1.0 stars 5/7/2014 by HickoryMama
by HickoryMama

Just like another reviewer posted, the gears that run the drive belt for the roller brush stripped out within a month or two. Warranty service is a bear to obtain, so until Eureka revamps that mechanism with stronger parts, I strongly suggest you avoid this vacuum.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HickoryMama
Hickory, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Great Vacuum
10/29/2011

Customer review by 76sunflowers

5.0 stars 10/29/2011 by 76sunflowers
by 76sunflowers

This vacuum is awesome. The suction is pretty amazing. Took me a few times to get used to working the different features, but the one I was using before was really basic. I couldn't believe how great the carpet looked after the first use. The power paw is great for cleaning up the furniture. I like the dusting attachment as well. The extra long power cord is great - I can vacuum a larger area without having to stop, unplug, and plug back in. I love not dealing with a nasty dust cup - no more bagless for me. We live in a small one-bedroom apartment with four cats and one tiny dog. It's so nice to finally owm a vacuum that can handle the chaos of fur and scattered litter. I like it when people can't tell that we have pets and this vacuum does the job.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
76sunflowers
East Coast
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
AAA+
10/19/2011

Customer review by Diartsy

5.0 stars 10/19/2011 by Diartsy
by Diartsy

I am really happy so far with this new vacuum from Eureka. I wanted to buy a vacuum that uses bags like I used many years ago because I'm tired of all the loose dust in the containers that the bag-less have. I would rather remove a bag now than doing it the other way. As far as the power behind this vacuum...I am very impressed! This vacuum really sucks up the carpet (in a good way) and gets the edges very well. I also used the smaller attachment on my staircase and that was such a breeze and it did a very good job too. The only thing I have to make a small remark about is that it is heavier than my previous vacuum although it is still easy to maneuver being the weight it is. Overall I am very pleased and am happy to have another Eureka after many years.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Diartsy
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 70 total reviews
1-20 of 70 reviews