Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 745 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

745 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

745 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
509
4 stars
151
3 stars
28
2 stars
23
1 stars
34
1-20 of 731 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 731 total reviews
1-20 of 731 reviews
Affordable with LOW operating costs
8/25/2012

Customer review by PhotoCenterSpecialist

5.0 stars 8/25/2012 by PhotoCenterSpecialist
by PhotoCenterSpecialist
Walmart associate

If you don't need color printing and are tired of buying ink cartridges every 150 pages this is the printer for you. It is fast (27 PPM), the quality of prints is excellent, it is a duplex printer, works on a wired or wireless network, and gets up to 2500 prints from a high yield toner cartridge. I have the printer installed on a wired ethernet connection to my router. Installation was very easy on both the main PC and my wireless laptops. My feel that many home users should consider a laser printer as well as an Inkjet on their systems. The laser provides day to day printing at a low cost, while the inkjet will give you the ability to print color and photographs. This is my 3rd Brother laser printer. I wore the first one out, passed the second one on to my child when I decided to purchase this network ready printer. I also have a Brother label printer tied to my PC as well as an Epson Dot Matrix, Canon Inkjet, and Canon all-in-one Fax.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PhotoCenterSpecialist
Bandera, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Awesome Printer - Met & Exceeded Expectations
3/30/2012

Customer review by Learning2Serv

5.0 stars 3/30/2012 by Learning2Serv
by Learning2Serv

Prints well? Check. Easy to use Duplex that actually works consistently? Check. Durable/Doesn't snarl up and eat my paper? Check. Easy to replace toner while AND uses recycled toner cartridges? Check. Wireless? Check. Easy to set up with other computers including my Android phone? Check. Bought it for a great price? Check Check! (this price is only good... look around, savvy buyers... but don't miss out on this machine). One (recycled) cartridge lasted me a mighty long time. It even allowed me to go past the low toner warning AND suggested shaking the toner cartridge instead of digging in its heals and saying, "I'm not printing another thing until you feed me new toner!" It's also got a great user interface program. If I could find a reason to buy another one, I would; it just seems like this solid little thing is going to last awhile. I bought it at a much lower price months back. If it broke, I'd buy another at the higher price (if I couldn't find it at a lower price). Printed out 2 - 60 page docs using the duplex yesterday - without a hitch. That's the norm for this thing. It's a perfect home printer that will save you lots of money over inkjets (especially if your surf turns up recycled cartridges and you have them shipped home), and I would even venture to use it at a business level... oh wait... I work from home... :) Am I impressed? Check. Will you be impressed? Maybe you should check...

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Learning2Serv
Erie, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/6/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/6/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Don't take my word for it, read the other reviews then read Consumer Report. Tired of buying ink for your printer, then buy this laser printer. I kept my color inkjet for photos but everything else prints on this very fast, high quality, black/white monochrome laser printer. Outstanding machine.

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Black Friday WIN!!!
12/22/2011

Customer review by GDEGDE

5.0 stars 12/22/2011 by GDEGDE
by GDEGDE

I purchased this on Black Friday so I got it for a great price($82). It has been amazing thus far. I really love the duplex(2-sided) printing. I use it on a low dpi and Toner Saver setting and the print quality is very very good.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GDEGDE
Nancy,KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Printer!
1/28/2012

Customer review by niceguy2786

5.0 stars 1/28/2012 by niceguy2786
by niceguy2786

What can I say. I love this printer! It is faster than my last lazer printer and much cheaper too. I've paid $400.00 for printers that were not as good as this one. At $160.00 this unit is a fantastic bargain! The starter printer cartidge has last me a long time. The replacement cartridge is cheap. It was easy to set up, and the pages print perfectly. I highly recommend this printer to anyone!

Was this review helpful? (44) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
niceguy2786
FRENCH LICK, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
My First Laser Printer. 10x better than Ink Jet.
11/1/2012

Customer review by sfor13

5.0 stars 11/1/2012 by sfor13
by sfor13

I have had this printer for about a month. I am a very satisfied customer! The Wi-Fi on this printer is also a bonus, as I have a mac & pc connected to it. Customer service was exceptional, talked me through process of setting up wireless printing. Still using the original toner cartridge. New ones are about $50. You get a lot more bang for the buck with this printer. I was getting tired of paying for expensive "ink jet" printer/cartridges. I bought this one at Wal-Mart which had a very competitive price as compared to other on-line stores.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sfor13
Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
So far, so good
6/29/2012

Customer review by sigman2

5.0 stars 6/29/2012 by sigman2
by sigman2

I purchased a Brother HL 2270 DW printer today to replace what I feel was the worst printer I've ever owned... a Kodak ESP 5. The hardest part of the installation was removing the printer from the box. Yes, I'm no computer pro but the installation was a breeze. I know a good review would be on a product that has been in service for a while but this is new. The print quality is fantastic. Prints are so sharp they look laser engraved. If everything remains like this I'd give it ten stars. An even greater surprise occurred when I picked it up at the store. There was a $30 discount off the $149.00 online price that I had already paid. This didn't show up on the online order. The $30 was immediately credited to my card at the store.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sigman2
Decatur, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Highly Recommended !!!
3/25/2012

Customer review by mykee3d

5.0 stars 3/25/2012 by mykee3d
by mykee3d

Pleasant no-brainer !!! I wanted to keep it simple with a low price but have the best at a good value and I got it with this printer! Wireless is easy to use with my window 7 Hp PC. The hard part of the few minutes set up is trying to figure out where you are going to place this smart looking little box of a printer. And the good thing is you can move it around to new places around your home. Has so many options that i wont use but nice to know they are there. . . just in case. I highly recommend this printer to anyone!!!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mykee3d
SUNBELT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
2/26/2012

Customer review by Nabgnon

5.0 stars 2/26/2012 by Nabgnon
by Nabgnon

I absolutely love this printer. It is a great value for the price. I have always wanted to own a laser printer and based on the reviews of other customers I took a chance with this one. I was not let down.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nabgnon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Brother is the Best
10/9/2012

Customer review by VulpesInculta

5.0 stars 10/9/2012 by VulpesInculta
by VulpesInculta

The Brother HL-2270DW Wireless Laser Compact Monochrome Printer is the best printer I've ever used. I love the wireless feature, it's very nice to sit at your desk and print something off across the room, and it works very well for laptops (which you would obviously want was wireless as possible). Another nice thing is that you have to install software on your computer in order to print, so you won't have unwanted use of your printer. The best part is that this printer will print front and back, as in it will print both sides, which cuts down on paper and staples substantially. It is a solid machine and is fairly small, at most fifteen by fifteen inches. It took me about a half an hour to set up and I am a putz when it comes to technology, specifically computers, networking, and printers; the installation guide is very clear and concise, so for older people who are not familiar with technology or younger people (like me) who were not raised with more modern technology it's a great choice. On the website it was listed at roughly $140 and I chose site to store; when I picked it up I got a $22 dollar refund, so in all it only ran $118 with sales tax. This printer comes with an ink cartridge, but does not come with a printer cable or paper. So when you pick this up, be sure to buy a printer cable, as you will need it in order to connect your PC so you may set it up to be wireless.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VulpesInculta
Cedar Rapids, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2nd Brothers Laser we have had LOVE it!!
1/6/2013

Customer review by islandantoinette

5.0 stars 1/6/2013 by islandantoinette
by islandantoinette

This is our 2nd Brothers Laser Printer. My husband owned one first and it was GREAT! I really wanted a colour one. But after years with no printer and KNOWING full well the TERRIBLE WASTE using inkjets; we got this Brothers Laser. We just LOVE it! Love to use it. Was able to set it up for Wireless so can use it from any of our 3 computers and it has crisp clean, clear fast prints! Lives up to the Brothers HIGH standard! We originally wanted to get this from Amazon but they refused to ship it at ALL to Hawaii no matter how we paid for shipping. So we were SO happy to find it at WalMart.com and even happier when they had the free shipping for the holidays. We paid more for it but it was STILL worth it! Very happy indeed with it. On the Amazon site they have the comparable ink refill trays that are far less than the Brothers brand and reviews show no problems with them. Even the high capacity tray refills too. Wish WalMart had free shipping all year we would buy more here than Amazon. However Amazon has free shipping even to Hawaii for anything over $25.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
islandantoinette
The Big Island Hawai'i
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great value for your money.
10/26/2012

Customer review by sparklepurple99

5.0 stars 10/26/2012 by sparklepurple99
by sparklepurple99
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have had this printer for about 2 weeks now. It was easy to setup and prints pretty fast. I bought it because it was getting too expensive to buy ink for my inkjet. I need to do more printing for my home business and bought this because of the low cost of the toner. I still use my ink jet for making copies, scans, faxes etc, but for all of the printing I do I know this Brother Printer will save me a bundle. Love that it can print duplex. Also, purchased this online and was able to pick up in store the same day. (Got the online price.)

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sparklepurple99
IGH, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It's great!
1/22/2011

Customer review by Beangrinder

5.0 stars 1/22/2011 by Beangrinder
by Beangrinder

.....but I am the biggest idiot ever! First of all the printer is great. I bought it to print pages for a family tree book I created, and it worked fast and flawlessly printing both sides of the heavy duty paper I used. It also handled printing on the even thicker outside covers. The only criticism I have is the location of the power switch in the extreme rear on the right side. Why not make it easier to reach and put it more to the front? I am an idiot because after printing the pages of my book and going on to other things, I realized in my rush for a bargain that I was now without a scanner and copier. I should've bought a mono all in one laser printer! So I hooked up my old all in one and have two printers hooked up to my home computer. I didn't feel confident enough to try the wireless feature, but that's just me and my senior moments. If I hit the Lotto, I will buy a Brother all in one laser printer and save some space here in my home office.

Beangrinder
Seattle Metro Area, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Printer
12/2/2011

Customer review by Tryko

5.0 stars 12/2/2011 by Tryko
by Tryko

For the money this is the best decision I have made in years!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (22) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tryko
Madison, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Nice compact laser printer
4/15/2012

Customer review by hughesjm

5.0 stars 4/15/2012 by hughesjm
by hughesjm

Bought this printer specifically to print double sided PDF files. It does the job and quickly. Easy to install and to maintain. When not in use it goes into a sleep mode so that it doesn't use any electricity. great buy!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hughesjm
California, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT PRINTER
4/30/2012

Customer review by Krie

5.0 stars 4/30/2012 by Krie
by Krie

We have a Brother's Laser Printer at work. It is probably about 6yr old. We have had no problems with the printer at work, so I decided to order one for my personal use. It is great, prints fast. I love the wireless. I can print from my laptop to the this printer. Everything it prints is very clear. If you are looking for a printer this is the one.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Krie
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
8/26/2012

Customer review by Bobsport

2.0 stars 8/26/2012 by Bobsport
by Bobsport

Generally I am very happy with this purchase. I purchased specifically for the duplex printing and the wireless operation. The duplex printing is generally pretty good but if you print more that 10 pages (double sided) at a time you chances of the paper jamming increases. Secondly when I originally set up the printer wirelessly with the included CD everything connected but this process seemed complicated. When I upgraded my Mac operating system I lost wireless connectivity and I did not have the CD to try and reconnect. Brother CS tried to help me through the process but I was unable to achieve wireless operation. I wound up connecting the printer to my Airport Extreme via a USB Cable so that it can be used by all printers on my network. I do have a competitors inkjet wireless printer and no matter how many times I have upgraded my Mac operating system the wireless connectivity with the competitors product never failed to connect wirelessly.

Bobsport
Would recommend to a friend? No
I like it very much!
9/13/2011

Customer review by Formap

5.0 stars 9/13/2011 by Formap
by Formap

A few weeks ago I purchased my Brother HL-2270DL. Setup was a bit of a problem at first. I didn't know where the on-off seittch was. How embarrassing. But I don't think the quick install guide showed where the switch was. Once I found the switch, setup was a breeze! I hooked my printer up by Ethernet and USB cable. In case the Internet went down, I didn't want to lose my printer too, so I hooked it up also with USB. Operating the HL-2270 DW is very easy and I LOVE being able to print in duplex. I haven't given the printer much of a workout yet because my printing workload is not very big. I bought the HL-2270 DW to replace my (get this!) HP 5L LaserJet printer which I loved. I repaired it a couple of times, but it finally give up the ghost. Worse yet, Windows 7 didn't support it. Give the HL-2270 DW a try! You won't be disappointed! It prints quickly and the print quality is top notch! The machines quality looks to be very good too.

Formap
Boca Raton, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Affordable b/w laser printer
7/24/2012

Customer review by Garnermom1

5.0 stars 7/24/2012 by Garnermom1
by Garnermom1

This printer meets my expectations. I wanted a laser printer without a huge cost. It only black ink, but I am totally ok with that. The toner replacement cartridge is affordable too...cheapest I found. I got the high capacity toner refill...but am still using the one it came with. I was told the toner is on the cheaper end bc you keep the tray it is held in & just replace the toner...so be careful when you change the toner not to throw the whole thing away...follow the instructions. But, I like the printer. I had a hard time at first connecting it wirelessly to my iMac, but I called the 1800 number in the instruction book & the guy could not have been nicer. He helped me get it connected in a jiffy & I was off & printing!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Garnermom1
Garner, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Excellent Value But Some Quirks
6/21/2012

Customer review by NJLewis

4.0 stars 6/21/2012 by NJLewis
by NJLewis

My wife finally beat our old printer into submission, so I bought this model at my local Office Depot which was offering a competitive price. Setup was easy and the built-in duplexing saves paper. It's reasonably fast and produces sharp clear documents. For the money, this printer represents a remarkable value and has performed well under heavy use. We've printed about two 10-ream cartons of paper both sides since our purchase. It does have a couple of annoying quirks: 1. When the toner is running low or the printer "thinks" that the toner is running low the endless pop-up reminders are annoying. Rather than having the printer stop printing even when there is still toner in the cartridge, which is wasteful, I would rather just run the copies until the toner is exhausted. 2. The manual feeder is set for #10 envelopes which print okay, but after printing an envelope, the printer stops printing and won't restart until I turn it off and then on again to reset it. Aside from those two minor complaints, I would given this product five stars.

NJLewis
Princeton, New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 731 total reviews
1-20 of 731 reviews