Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 926 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

926 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

926 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

71%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
469
4 stars
151
3 stars
52
2 stars
46
1 stars
208
1-20 of 852 total reviews
71%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 852 total reviews
1-20 of 852 reviews
A solid landline replacement
1/11/2011

Customer review by MisterGuy

5.0 stars 1/11/2011 by MisterGuy
by MisterGuy

I canceled my land line a year ago to save money and relied on my cell, but I get no reception at my new place. I tried the magicjack, but I refused to keep my laptop constantly on, NTM how annoying Magic Jack's program was (it popped up in the middle of my screen whenever someone called me.) And what if the computer got a virus and I have to take it in? No more home phone service? That's unacceptable. Finally I purchased one of these guys. It goes straight in your router so there's no installing annoying software on your computer. Plus you get real people if you need help. If anything happens to it long-term, I'll let you guys know.

Was this review helpful? (631) (49)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MisterGuy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
WORKS GREAT WITH DD-WRT AND VERIZON DSL
2/3/2011

Customer review by HappyJack727

5.0 stars 2/3/2011 by HappyJack727
by HappyJack727

The netTALK Duo is one of my best purchases in the recent memory.Very much the same as Vonage and Ooma but without the monthly bills.Call quality is far better than MagicJack because you eliminate your computer or thin client from effecting your calls.It will be hard for you to believe that you are not calling on a landline.netTALK has features not mentioned like do not disturb,call block, and internet & phone is down warning red light,green light indicates the internet & phone is working perfectly!!

Was this review helpful? (427) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HappyJack727
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Net Duo works. Robot phone calls have stopped.
5/29/2011

Customer review by CheaperYet

5.0 stars 5/29/2011 by CheaperYet
by CheaperYet

Before stopping my land-line phone service, I hooked the Net Duo directly to my internet router and then a spare phone base to the Net Duo and it worked as advertised: three remote phones were up and running. After my land-line was turned off, I hooked the Net Duo output directly into my wall phone jack: two phone bases, six remote phones and my fax all worked. This also handles my security system. No long distance worries. No monthly bill. No listed phone number. I can take my phone with me. I did signup at the suggested government web site to opt out of solicitation phone calls. So far, happy and hoping the equipment and terms will last long into the future. Net Duo totally replaced my land line and I am able to cut back on cell phone service since I do not need it for long distance. Show me something perfect, but whatever the few kinks, I will work with and around them. Thanks again for the DUO. Problems: 1. I opted not to use Net Duo messaging, and instead, continue to use my phone base answering machine. On the first test, my answering machine was picking up noise and the recording did not end when I ended the call from the calling phone. Fix: I hooked an old DSL filter between the output of the Net Duo and the wall jack. Wala, no more noise and the answering machine worked fine. 2. I have experienced two instances where the other party could be heard but they could not hear me. I attribute this to the internet provider: they have been known to throttle outgoing/uploads (i.e. file sharing). Both times I was using the older phone base and handsets with low batteries. Either way, two instances does not deter me. I am still happy. 3. Once or twice the other party noticed delay or chop. From the newer phone base I have never noticed a problem. 3. I have heard complaints about delayed dialing. The little bit of wait I have experienced does not bother me. The longer wait is for a phone bill. 4. Power lose: security system down. I plan to hook the Net Duo to a UPS power supply, along with my router and cable modem. All three draw less than 3ma and could run for 12 to 24 hours on a good UPS, in the event of a power lose. 5. Cable service down: no Net Duo phone. Rare and I will live with it. I have my cell phone for backup.

Was this review helpful? (272) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CheaperYet
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Voip at its best
5/9/2011

Customer review by DrZig

5.0 stars 5/9/2011 by DrZig
by DrZig

OK, so I had a magicjack, it worked (I could make calls), but customer service was a big ZERO. As I was having trouble in renewing the magicjack subscription (I was a 3 year repeat customer) and nobody there could or would help me I looked in to alternatives. Found the Nettalk. I have had it for 3 weeks now, sound is way superior, maybe even better than my regular phone line no telling it is a voip. Just love that I can use it with out the need of a computer, really easy to configure, called in for a question was answered at 3rd ring, transferred to support right away, no waiting, no nonsense. Yes it is like $ 1.75 more a month than magic jack, but I think that just in what it saves in electricity from not having to turn on the PC to use it should make up, if not those $ 20 a year are worth paying just not to go through the aggravation of MagicJack. Hope this is useful:

Was this review helpful? (446) (58)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DrZig
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Happy owner of netTALK DUO
1/11/2011

Customer review by IGlova

5.0 stars 1/11/2011 by IGlova
by IGlova

This is my 4th netTALK DUO! I'm glad that I can buy them from Walmart now for my future gift-giving ;) I have one of my own for almost a year now. I gave one to my parents in Massachusetts and mailed one to my grandparents & aunt in South America. It has worked flawlessly everytime!

Was this review helpful? (285) (44)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IGlova
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Beats All VoIP Devices...
4/17/2011

Customer review by Helpful1452

5.0 stars 4/17/2011 by Helpful1452
by Helpful1452

Piece of cake setting it up. Basically, registered the device on the netTalk website, picked the phone number I wanted from the list of available numbers, and then plugged it into my router. It then self-configured itself. Got the single ring and green LED light in about 15 seconds, which means its ready for use. Picked up the phone and had a dial tone. Whole process took about 2 minutes from start to finish. The quality of the phone call(s) seem to be the same as that of my old phone service (landline through Verizon). This little device costs my $69.00 (which includes the entire 1st year of service), with $29 for every year after that??!! How can you beat it? I'm saving $600 per year with this thing. This thing is unbelievable -- beats vonage hands-down. And, unlike Magic Jack, YOU DO NOT NEED TO PLUG IT INTO A RUNNING COMPUTER. Just plug it into a free port on your router, and you are all set. Phone service for $2 per month...!!!

Was this review helpful? (119) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Helpful1452
Syracuse, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Better Than Expected
8/20/2011

Customer review by stabbtt

5.0 stars 8/20/2011 by stabbtt
by stabbtt

A++++phone gizmo! Just make sure you have a compatiable router (they are on NetTalk.com) and it's just plug 'n play (don't hook it up through your computer.) Voice quality is better than Verizon. Sometimes, it may take a couple of seconds for it to start dialing out but not a serious issue. When someone calls you, it does not go straight to voice mail like magic jack did 8 out of 10 times, and hooked up directly to your broadband, it won't slow down or freeze up your computer, also like magic jack did. Thanks, NetTalk, I ditched Verizon!

Was this review helpful? (97) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stabbtt
Springtown, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Unbelievably....unbelievable!
1/18/2011

Customer review by HomeschoolingMomto2Girls

5.0 stars 1/18/2011 by HomeschoolingMomto2Girls
by HomeschoolingMomto2Girls

I didn't believe it either. REALLY? $30 a YEAR? Yeah, ok, so it must not work very well. Wrong. It works very well. I have not had any issues whatsoever and have been using it for a number of weeks now. I highly recommend NetTalk. I am finally free from the bondage of cell phone/ home phone bills. Nervous? What do you have to lose? ONE IMPORTANT THING: Make sure if you are going to use it on a ROUTER, that the router is one that works WELL with NetTalk. That's a big deal. Do a google search. You'll find a page if you put in "routers that work with nettalk". Hope this helps!

Was this review helpful? (92) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HomeschoolingMomto2Girls
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Amazing Product - DEFINITELY BUY THIS!
1/26/2011

Customer review by ASHEBORONCGUY

5.0 stars 1/26/2011 by ASHEBORONCGUY
by ASHEBORONCGUY

My wife and I just had our first child and we were looking to save money here and there. I started looking at my bills and was wondering if there was a cheap alternative to home phone. We were paying b/t $25-30 per month for our landline - and it didn't even include long-distance for that price. So I did some Google searching and found this product online. After I read the online technical reviews (PC World & Laptop) I felt pretty comfortable purchasing this. I got it in last week and hooked it up. After a little bit of changes in the modem (setting my Centurylink modem to Bridge mode), everything was up and working flawlessly! I've already called the phone company to request that they cancel our service! Nettalk is perfectly clear and responsive...no problems so far! One of the things that I liked is that if you don't like the number they populate for you, you can log back into your account on Nettalk's website and change your number again without charge until you find one that's easy to remember!

Was this review helpful? (85) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ASHEBORONCGUY
Asheboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/1/2011

Customer review by nogeekneeded

5.0 stars 12/1/2011 by nogeekneeded
by nogeekneeded

I have had this service for a few months & love it!! Before I bought this product I did my research. I tested MagicJack's "online tech chat (only way you can contact them) found it to be exactly what I read online - poor service. Furthermore, I tested NetTalk's tech support via a toll free # & was pleasantly suprised by someone who spoke English!! I like the fact they apparently do not outsource labor. I can even use my HP fax machine with this setup. My wife & I love the free long distance too. The sound quality is crystal clear with no echo & works with our Panasonic phone/answering machine. I use WISP Internet and it works perfectly. IF you are using HughesNet or WildBlue voip will NOT work due to extreme LAG from satellite Internet. You might want to run an Internet speed test on speedtest.net then call NetTalk tech support with your ping/download/upload speeds before making a purchase. Also some routers will not work with NEtTalk again I advise you to consult with their tech support. Thanks Walmart/NetTalk!!!

Was this review helpful? (61) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nogeekneeded
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 250 contributor
Good Value for a Fair Price
9/10/2011

Customer review by AtlantaPher

3.0 stars 9/10/2011 by AtlantaPher
by AtlantaPher

By no means am I a new user to Voip; I have been a customer of Vonage, Via Talk, and Magic Jack. I am in my early 30's, so I am on the generational cusp of, "my cell phone is pretty much my only phone." Recently, I decided that I wanted to purchase some type of Voip, as a back up to my cell...just in case. I wouldn't ever consider going back to a land line! I am the type of person that will research a product very well before making the final decision to purchase anything new. So it was after much thought/research that I decided to give the NetTalk Duo a try. As an occasional Magic Jack user, I really appreciated the portability of the NetTalk Duo, but one of the biggest selling points for me, was the fact that I could use this device with out being plugged into a PC. I ordered the product from Wal-Mart, and chose to have it shipped to my home address. After almost a week, my package was delivered and just like it was advertised, I was able to plug the device into my wireless router, the phone rang, and BOOM, I had a new home phone paid for, for the next 364 days! I have my NetTalk Duo line plugged into my fax machine (the ability to fax was also a selling point for me) and a separate cordless phone plugged into my fax machine. When actually talking on the phone, I can hear loud and clear, but when I tried to send a fax, on two separate occasions, I received the message, "Poor Line Condition," so my fax did not go through. Overall, I have no complaints about the voice quality, but I was disappointed that I will most likely not have a clear enough connection to be able to fax. I blame the "Poor Line Condition" on my ISP, which is a 4G/WIMAX provider. In my opinion, the NetTalk Duo, for voice alone, is worth the almost $70 cost ($30 a year thereafter). NetTalk provides basic features that I wanted, such as: Caller ID, Voicemail, and Directory Assistance, but they do not offer some of the more advanced features that other Voip providers offer, such as: Call Record, Anonymous Call Routing, or Caller ID Privacy Exception List.

Was this review helpful? (48) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AtlantaPher
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
NetTalk Nightmare
2/28/2011

Customer review by BurninEmber

1.0 stars 2/28/2011 by BurninEmber
by BurninEmber

Let me start by saying I was a NetTalk Duo fan for the first week that I owned one. In fact, I liked it so much that I bought two more as Christmas gifts and immediately paid for them (just like the first one) by VISA. My satisfaction was misplaced. Shortly thereafter, my first Duo began to malfunction. It began by going off-hook for no apparent reason. I could still see the Duo on my network but I would have no dial tone. I could not receive or make calls. The problem persisted but could be fixed by disconnecting and then reconnecting the usb line. NetTalk's support was there for me and confirmed my setup. Finally, when the USB port fell off inside the Duo, they authorized a refund. I sent back the defective Duo and I canceled my order for the other two that had not been shipped. End of story you think? Now get this...It took four phone calls and 8 weeks to get my refund for the broken Duo! To top it off, I still had not received my refund for the canceled order of two. Let me make this perfectly clear...I had been billed and paid for all three Duos. My VISA statements back me up on this (more on this to come.) OKaaaay... So now I had to convince them that I was worthy enough to get the money back for my canceled order. Apparently, I didn't quite measure up... I had to make five more calls and even FAXed in three months worth of well-annotated VISA statements! They claimed that they never got the FAX. I have a FAX machine report that says they did. And then, shortly after the FAX incident, one more credit for a DUO limped on to my VISA statement. This was three months after canceling my order! WOO HOO! But yes, some of you may have noticed, this only makes two refunds out of the three. I was still short one Duo refund. Okaaaaay... so I called again (my 9th and final call) and this time I spoke with a "supervisor" who claimed a check "had been sent." Uhmmmm...its been two months now (five months total) and I'm still looking at an empty mailbox. So listen carefully oh gentle reader, NetTalk will tell you things like "I spoke to my supervisor", "Someone will call", "Seven to ten business days", "Should be next week", "FAX us your statement", "FAX takes 5 days", "Call VISA", "Call us next week" and my personal favorite... "The check's in the mail" just to wear you down. I'm sorry that I ever heard of NetTalk. I will never do business with them again. I hope that this review will save some other poor schmuck like me from a similar fate.

Was this review helpful? (138) (36)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BurninEmber
Would recommend to a friend? No
No need for a computer, unlike MagicJack
5/22/2011

Customer review by SheilaED

5.0 stars 5/22/2011 by SheilaED
by SheilaED

The best feature about this device is that you do not have to use your computer in order for device to operate! The device is small and sturdy - solid build. I had no difficulty setting it up - using it with a D-Link Router, Optimum Online Cable for Internet and a standard cordless Panasonic telephone. You can choose to have the outgoing greeting on your phone utilized or you can use NetTalk's msg system. When placing calls - you do have to include the area code when dialing, but for the price, I am glad to do it. Works great and as advertised. Every once in a while (which again, for the price is no deal-breaker), the voice quality gets a tad shaky. I would say that 95% of all calls placed/received are crystal clear. If you are in need of a mobile device to make calls - you can take it with you - you can also tether it to your laptop, if you really need to... Cool device. This device is saving me a lot of money. I did not have a land-line, but now I do. I also reduced the minutes on my cell phone. I am waiting for NetTalk's Duo TV device to hit the market, so I can watch cable at a nominal cost as well... I highly recommend this device!

Was this review helpful? (46) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SheilaED
New Hyde Park, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great product - great price
11/23/2011

Customer review by pagolfer

5.0 stars 11/23/2011 by pagolfer
by pagolfer

After reviewing ratings and reviews comparing nettalk and magicjack, i finally decided to purchase the nettalk duo. I was very skeptical about internet phone service but WOW. This product is everything the manufacturer says it is. The only thing i had to do was to purchase a different router ( 35.00 from wal-mart ). Mine was not rated to work very well with the nettalk system. You would never know that i do not have phone service from a traditional phone company at well over 700.00 a year ( 4 yrs ago when i got rid of my land line and got a pay as you go cell. If you are reading this and considering going to nettalk duo for landline service, do it now and get rid of your traditional phone co.

Was this review helpful? (35) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pagolfer
central pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Superb technical support and customer service
6/26/2011

Customer review by 2w09sd0wdiskaxdlkxaksopka

4.0 stars 6/26/2011 by 2w09sd0wdiskaxdlkxaksopka
by 2w09sd0wdiskaxdlkxaksopka

I got my nettalk duo friday afternoon. It didn't work with my frys.com router (DLINK DIR-615). As it was outside the technical support hours, I just raised a ticket. To my pleasant surprise, I got a reply within an hour and I was given instructions to configure the router so that the nettalk could work. Nettalk didn't work with the router after all that was suggested but it's ok, you can't make a device inter-operable with every other device out there. I upgraded my router to Netgear WRN3500L router and nettalk worked with it like a charm. I have made several call since and the voice quality is amazing. I am replacing my Vonage (superlative service) with this device and would come back to update my rating after a couple month of using it. I am writing this review for the extraordianry customer service this company has.

Was this review helpful? (34) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2w09sd0wdiskaxdlkxaksopka
santa clara, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Seems Nettalk Duo is not unlimited...
7/26/2011

Customer review by acustomer999999

1.0 stars 7/26/2011 by acustomer999999
by acustomer999999

I am returning this device tomorrow... Not one word in the fine print did anything tell you the plan is limited to 5000 minutes a month... Unlimited???

Was this review helpful? (76) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
acustomer999999
Would recommend to a friend? No
OMG People! What a cost saver!
11/19/2011

Customer review by RBIGuy

5.0 stars 11/19/2011 by RBIGuy
by RBIGuy

I'm in "the Geek" trades... Information Technology for 20 some years... This little product, the size of a slider cell phone, is very much worth it in these hard times where we all are looking for ways to trim costs. For me, I used it "Plug & Play" with the QWest (now CenturyLink) Q1000 DSL Router. I did not need to add it to a routing table of the router. It simply worked right out of the box. NICE! Even us IT Pros don't want to spend our lives configuring every piece of computing equipment. Now why not 5 stars? Well, for me, it's simple... Basic phone service on tried and true copper just cannot be beat for reliability and voice (in most regions). Also, when your power is out your old analog phone line will still work. The trouble is... We now all want a gazillion TV channels and to surf the web. That is a big home IT bill, eh? So, I'm doing what a lot of the kids are doing today... Picking and choosing. I'm very grateful to be able to use my company's cell phone for some basic personal calls with friends and family. Now, what about that $50/$60 a month for QWest/CenturyLink DSL bundled with basic voice? Well, I dropped it to $30 and bought this little NetTalk Duo and won't be looking back, except when the power goes out... I hope my cell phone is charged and I don't get "all circuits busy". Lastly, thanks for letting me ramble a bit and wish me luck by trying to get HDTV over the airways along with a go with internet TV and my DSL line. I'm trying to cut out Comcast and/or Satellite TV, which is another $60/$70 monthly bill. Happy Computing! RBIGuy

Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RBIGuy
Renton, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great device, 1000% better than Magic jack & OOMA
12/15/2011

Customer review by voipjunkiestar

5.0 stars 12/15/2011 by voipjunkiestar
by voipjunkiestar

I love this product, very easy setup and great voice quality. You cant go wrong with netTALK, I also forgot to mention they have live tech support based in the GOOD OLD USA.

Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
voipjunkiestar
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great phone service for $30 per year!
12/9/2011

Customer review by catilley1092

5.0 stars 12/9/2011 by catilley1092
by catilley1092

Actually, I was skeptical when I bought this, I thought it was too good to be true. To my surprise, it works wonderfully! No dropped calls, no needing your PC turned on 24/7, talk all you want. The catch is, that I was lucky to have a wireless router that was compatible with this device. If one decides to buy this item, please research the list to make sure that you have one. My router, that I bought from WalMart.com (TrendNet TEW-652BRP) was cheap & is a decent router for the price. To my knowledge, it's still available. Great Buy! Has saved me over $300 already.

Was this review helpful? (27) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
catilley1092
Greensboro,NC (area)
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
WOW what a savings!!!!!!
4/29/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/29/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I ordered my nettalk duo on May 26 and it arrived today May 29th. I did have trouble with the registration part. It kept giving me an error code for the e911 address. I called the tech support and he bypassed it, just for now, and put in a trouble ticket to fix it. It took about 20 minutes. 10 to get the rep. on the phone and 10 to fix it. After that I read the instructions and hooked it up. In less than 5 minutes I was making calls. There was no delays or distortion at all. My mother said it sounded just like my old phone service.... For 40 bucks a year this is great! I would definitely check it out, but before you do, check out their list of routers that work best with nettalk. I believe that is the reason for some of the negative reviews. Nettalk has a compiled a list as to what works great and which one have issues! http://www.nettalk.co/faq/index.php?_m=knowledgebase&_a=viewarticle&kbarticleid=255 Mine was not on the list but it worked great! Glad I took the chance.

Was this review helpful? (33) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 852 total reviews
1-20 of 852 reviews