Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 932 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

932 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

932 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

71%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
469
4 stars
151
3 stars
52
2 stars
46
1 stars
214
1-20 of 858 total reviews
71%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 858 total reviews
1-20 of 858 reviews
Kick your phone company to the curb!
4/7/2011

Customer review by Dragonsteel

5.0 stars 4/7/2011 by Dragonsteel
by Dragonsteel

The NetTalk Duo is everything it's advertised to be, a low cost per year VOIP phone service. Great product, set up was easy and fast, just make sure you look at their compatible routers list on their web site to avoid any unforeseen problems. Voice quality is great, I only noticed lag when I got a long ways away from my phone's base unit. You can even monitor your phone use and set up various phone line features on NetTalks web site. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? (37) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dragonsteel
Independence, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT product!!
1/27/2011

Customer review by TheSweetestThingCS

5.0 stars 1/27/2011 by TheSweetestThingCS
by TheSweetestThingCS

Just received it today and i am SO happy with the quality! Speedy shipping, packaged very well and was super easy to install. made a few calls already and the voice quality is amazing. will recommend to everyone!! thanks NetTALK!!

Was this review helpful? (19) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheSweetestThingCS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing Product - DEFINITELY BUY THIS!
1/26/2011

Customer review by ASHEBORONCGUY

5.0 stars 1/26/2011 by ASHEBORONCGUY
by ASHEBORONCGUY

My wife and I just had our first child and we were looking to save money here and there. I started looking at my bills and was wondering if there was a cheap alternative to home phone. We were paying b/t $25-30 per month for our landline - and it didn't even include long-distance for that price. So I did some Google searching and found this product online. After I read the online technical reviews (PC World & Laptop) I felt pretty comfortable purchasing this. I got it in last week and hooked it up. After a little bit of changes in the modem (setting my Centurylink modem to Bridge mode), everything was up and working flawlessly! I've already called the phone company to request that they cancel our service! Nettalk is perfectly clear and responsive...no problems so far! One of the things that I liked is that if you don't like the number they populate for you, you can log back into your account on Nettalk's website and change your number again without charge until you find one that's easy to remember!

Was this review helpful? (85) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ASHEBORONCGUY
Asheboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/1/2011

Customer review by nogeekneeded

5.0 stars 12/1/2011 by nogeekneeded
by nogeekneeded
Top 500 contributor

I have had this service for a few months & love it!! Before I bought this product I did my research. I tested MagicJack's "online tech chat (only way you can contact them) found it to be exactly what I read online - poor service. Furthermore, I tested NetTalk's tech support via a toll free # & was pleasantly suprised by someone who spoke English!! I like the fact they apparently do not outsource labor. I can even use my HP fax machine with this setup. My wife & I love the free long distance too. The sound quality is crystal clear with no echo & works with our Panasonic phone/answering machine. I use WISP Internet and it works perfectly. IF you are using HughesNet or WildBlue voip will NOT work due to extreme LAG from satellite Internet. You might want to run an Internet speed test on speedtest.net then call NetTalk tech support with your ping/download/upload speeds before making a purchase. Also some routers will not work with NEtTalk again I advise you to consult with their tech support. Thanks Walmart/NetTalk!!!

Was this review helpful? (61) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nogeekneeded
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
WOW what a savings!!!!!!
4/29/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/29/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I ordered my nettalk duo on May 26 and it arrived today May 29th. I did have trouble with the registration part. It kept giving me an error code for the e911 address. I called the tech support and he bypassed it, just for now, and put in a trouble ticket to fix it. It took about 20 minutes. 10 to get the rep. on the phone and 10 to fix it. After that I read the instructions and hooked it up. In less than 5 minutes I was making calls. There was no delays or distortion at all. My mother said it sounded just like my old phone service.... For 40 bucks a year this is great! I would definitely check it out, but before you do, check out their list of routers that work best with nettalk. I believe that is the reason for some of the negative reviews. Nettalk has a compiled a list as to what works great and which one have issues! http://www.nettalk.co/faq/index.php?_m=knowledgebase&_a=viewarticle&kbarticleid=255 Mine was not on the list but it worked great! Glad I took the chance.

Was this review helpful? (33) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great device!
7/29/2011

Customer review by techprincesse

5.0 stars 7/29/2011 by techprincesse
by techprincesse

After a bad experience with not one but 3 Magicjacks I was skepticle about using yet another plug in internet phone. I took the plunge and am pleasantly surprised. We have been using it for 3 weeks and are about ready to cut the landline off totally for it. Calls are clear and we talk all we want. I am in love with the voicemails being emailed to me. I have them forwarded by my email to my cell, so I can listen to voicemails on the go. Every call goes thru with just 10 digit dialing, no need to dial 1 first for anybody which makes it easy for the kids to call grandma. We have one of those Uniden phones that have a base and 7 other phones that only need to plug in so its was painless for us to switch. THe base unit is plugged into the NetTalk and it was instant. Only thing I plan to get in the future is a Uninterruptable power supply so that the router and NetTalk wont lose power with we have a brownout or power spike, to keep our home phones on, but all in all a great device!

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
techprincesse
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Product is much better than MagicJack Plus
7/1/2013

Customer review by cedial

2.0 stars 7/1/2013 by cedial
by cedial
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This product was much better than MagicJack Plus for as long as it worked. The firmware in the NetTalk - the programming that makes it go - is much more professionally designed than is that in MagicJack Plus, and the NetTalk setup and activation procedure is as simple as it possibly could be made considering NetTalk is of necessity a complex product. MagicJack Plus's sloppily designed firmware should be an acute professional embarrassment to its builders. Unlike MagicJack Plus, NetTalk does not need to be plugged into a computer to be activated. Hence the activation will leave no garbageware behind that can only help to constipate your computer for evermore. A computer is of course needed for doing the Nettalk setup on the Nettalk website. In my use of the NetTalk before it failed, I found the quality to be impressive indeed. I wondered how they could possibly offer so much good functionality for such a low price, and I now found out. I have not yet attempted to get the NetTalk replaced.

Was this review helpful? (31) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cedial
North Olmsted, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Beats All VoIP Devices...
4/17/2011

Customer review by Helpful1452

5.0 stars 4/17/2011 by Helpful1452
by Helpful1452

Piece of cake setting it up. Basically, registered the device on the netTalk website, picked the phone number I wanted from the list of available numbers, and then plugged it into my router. It then self-configured itself. Got the single ring and green LED light in about 15 seconds, which means its ready for use. Picked up the phone and had a dial tone. Whole process took about 2 minutes from start to finish. The quality of the phone call(s) seem to be the same as that of my old phone service (landline through Verizon). This little device costs my $69.00 (which includes the entire 1st year of service), with $29 for every year after that??!! How can you beat it? I'm saving $600 per year with this thing. This thing is unbelievable -- beats vonage hands-down. And, unlike Magic Jack, YOU DO NOT NEED TO PLUG IT INTO A RUNNING COMPUTER. Just plug it into a free port on your router, and you are all set. Phone service for $2 per month...!!!

Was this review helpful? (119) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Helpful1452
Syracuse, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Totally Amazing Product - Save tons of $$$
10/4/2011

Customer review by ReddingPatriot

5.0 stars 10/4/2011 by ReddingPatriot
by ReddingPatriot

This thing is amazing. I don't have to have my computer on all the time, it plugs into my router. I calculated out that I will save $600 per year over my old provider. I had a local carrier, and a long distance carrier (required) with taxes and fees and my bill was about $52 per month and I make very few long distance calls. The netTalk Duo is $29.99 per YEAR! That's $2.50 per month and includes all calls in the US and Canada! That's a $49.50 savings per month, or $594.00 savings per year! If you make a lot of long distance calls you will save even more. The call quality is every bit as good as AT&T was. I told my son to check it out and he got one too! I think I paid about $70 for the Duo, that price includes the $29.99 for your first year's service. Check out the netTalk Duo website and you will be convinced that this is a way better deal than any other internet phone service. I actually bought a magicjack, then I found the duo website and took the magicjack back (fortunately I hadn't opened it yet.)

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ReddingPatriot
Redding, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Unreliable and Very Poor Quality Product
1/15/2016

Customer review by Diner

1.0 stars 1/15/2016 by Diner
by Diner

This product is absolutely horrible. I cannot emphasize how bad this product is. I purchased the nettalk duo wifi 5 months ago and it's been nothing but one headache after another. The product continuously drops calls and the call quality is horrible. There is constant static and the person on the other end oftentimes cannot hear me at all. I'm continuously disconnecting and reconnecting the device. Most recently people have tried calling me only to get a recorded message saying that my number has been disconnected and is no longer in service. I've called customer service on numerous occassions and don't even get me started with them. the last time I called, I waited over 2 hours! I've just called them again and I've already been waiting for over 40 minutes. I tried using their online chat but that is a complete joke. The support technician didn't even answer my questions and just kept repeating how sorry he is for my inconvenience. This company and this product is a joke. Buyer beware! Read ALL the reviews before wasting $100 on this product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Diner
Would recommend to a friend? No
Awesome landline replacement
1/20/2011

Customer review by Platgamer

5.0 stars 1/20/2011 by Platgamer
by Platgamer

This would be my Second DUO to add to an already awesome experience with netTALK. I ordered my first one off their website on November and so far it has been flawless. It definitely was a plug and play experience. The device comes with a Username/Password that gives you access to register your netTALK account. During registration you pick up your phone number and setup a couple extra optional/required settings. I do have a DSL line using a netgear router and just as described, the device gave me a ringback and the solid green light. Using my now local number that was assigned during registration I was able to reach my brother out of state. I did however have to get used to 10 digit dialing for local calls, but that is a non-issue since ive been saving tons on my landline bill. I am purchasing this second device to send overseas to some relatives in spain, that way I can call them for free. My experience has been great and I couldn't as for a smoother working product for the price!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Platgamer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Voip at its best
5/9/2011

Customer review by DrZig

5.0 stars 5/9/2011 by DrZig
by DrZig

OK, so I had a magicjack, it worked (I could make calls), but customer service was a big ZERO. As I was having trouble in renewing the magicjack subscription (I was a 3 year repeat customer) and nobody there could or would help me I looked in to alternatives. Found the Nettalk. I have had it for 3 weeks now, sound is way superior, maybe even better than my regular phone line no telling it is a voip. Just love that I can use it with out the need of a computer, really easy to configure, called in for a question was answered at 3rd ring, transferred to support right away, no waiting, no nonsense. Yes it is like $ 1.75 more a month than magic jack, but I think that just in what it saves in electricity from not having to turn on the PC to use it should make up, if not those $ 20 a year are worth paying just not to go through the aggravation of MagicJack. Hope this is useful:

Was this review helpful? (447) (58)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DrZig
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
NetTALK Duo replaced my phones
5/17/2011

Customer review by Sjf001

4.0 stars 5/17/2011 by Sjf001
by Sjf001

Easy and fast setup to Netgear router. Voice-mail works fine as long as the Duo is connected to the internet. Disappointed voice-mail does not work when Duo is not connected as that would be great when traveling. For example, once arrived I could plug-in the Duo and retrieve messages missed. Alternative while traveling is to get a cell-phone and have my phone calls forwarded (easy enough to do online) or bring a laptop (Windows only!why?) and always stay connected with internet with Duo. Quality is great with extremely clear voice. Occasionally need to redial as believe I get false busy signals or simply no rings at all. The redial button on my phone is very handy when that happens and that has never happened more than once per call. Does happened about one out of five calls. I am glad I got the NetTalk Duo for the low total cost and don't need the computer on. And there is no brain tumor causing radiation like cell phones (sorry couldn't resist a shot at cell phones).

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sjf001
Chanhassen, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Drops Calls/Customer Service Unreachable
10/7/2012

Customer review by ConsumerKathy

1.0 stars 10/7/2012 by ConsumerKathy
by ConsumerKathy

Ported my old Verizon land line phone number over to Nettalk Duo no problem but that is the only part of this that has gone smoothly. Now, when making calls on the Nettalk Duo, after about 20 minutes or so on a call, suddenly I will hear a loud constant tone and the line will disconnect. Also, incoming callers complain that my voice is breaking up or sounds like I am in a tunnel or under water. I keep resetting the Nettalk according to directions and it still doesnt fix the problem. I use Time Warner Cable so I have plenty of speed and have checked my router and modem for compatability. Still these issues persist. I have called thier customer service line 3 times. The wait times for a rep to answer is always close to an hour. Even though I hold the line, after about 30-40 minutes, I am suddenly disconnected. I give up on their customer service. I chose Nettalk over Magic Jack only because they advertised that they have live customer service. Had I known what a hassle their customer service really is, I would'nt have bothered. I will try Magic Jack Plus next.

Was this review helpful? (24) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ConsumerKathy
New York
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
no customer service
1/22/2016

Customer review by spikiesmommie

1.0 stars 1/22/2016 by spikiesmommie
by spikiesmommie

Have had mine a couple of years. It was working fine but lately it has stopped working intermittently. I signed on to their website and my account shows I have no device. I have been trying to contact them for at least 2 weeks. The only contact showing on their website is online chat, which I have no problem with but no one ever comes on. I tried to call the customer service # I found on line and it says it is disconnected. There is no other contact info on their website - no email or other #. I was going to purchase their cellphone plan but it sounds like maybe they are having problems. If they cannot be contacted, I will have to do something else for a home phone & I need a dependable cell, so I guess their service is out. Only get this if you do not really NEED a home #. First couple of years OK but very sketchy now.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
spikiesmommie
Would recommend to a friend? No
No need for a computer, unlike MagicJack
5/22/2011

Customer review by SheilaED

5.0 stars 5/22/2011 by SheilaED
by SheilaED

The best feature about this device is that you do not have to use your computer in order for device to operate! The device is small and sturdy - solid build. I had no difficulty setting it up - using it with a D-Link Router, Optimum Online Cable for Internet and a standard cordless Panasonic telephone. You can choose to have the outgoing greeting on your phone utilized or you can use NetTalk's msg system. When placing calls - you do have to include the area code when dialing, but for the price, I am glad to do it. Works great and as advertised. Every once in a while (which again, for the price is no deal-breaker), the voice quality gets a tad shaky. I would say that 95% of all calls placed/received are crystal clear. If you are in need of a mobile device to make calls - you can take it with you - you can also tether it to your laptop, if you really need to... Cool device. This device is saving me a lot of money. I did not have a land-line, but now I do. I also reduced the minutes on my cell phone. I am waiting for NetTalk's Duo TV device to hit the market, so I can watch cable at a nominal cost as well... I highly recommend this device!

Was this review helpful? (46) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SheilaED
New Hyde Park, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Easy and Exceptional!!!
8/24/2011

Customer review by LynnaB

5.0 stars 8/24/2011 by LynnaB
by LynnaB

I just cancelled Vonage. We have had NetTalk Duo for nearly two weeks now. It works incredibly well and was easy to set-up...just plug it into your router.....no computer needed!!! I have read some of the reviews where people have had issues. A few years ago, I invested in a good router. I suspect that some of the problems may be caused by inadequate/old routers. If not the router, I wonder if they have high-speed internet. Comcast has several "levels" of speed, I also invested on the speediest. My parents have a lower-speed internet service and have constant issues with their cable company-provided telephone service. We will need to see how it continues to work over the next few weeks (and hopefully years). One thing I need to get used to is having to dial the entire the area code for each call. Three-Way Calling is a little different, but pretty straight forward. I LOVED being able to choose my phone number. It is sooooo easy to remember. If you are not sure whether or not you should purchase this product, I'd say you should try it and see for yourself.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LynnaB
Grand Blanc, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Worthless junk
10/28/2013

Customer review by Mdavis111111

1.0 stars 10/28/2013 by Mdavis111111
by Mdavis111111

What a waste of money. I tried over and over to get it to work right. I even exchanged my original duo for a replacement. My calls were dropped, it didn't ring in most of the time, it didn't have a dial tone most of the time, and the call quality was exceptionally poor. It honestly sounded like somebody was prankng me with the creepy voice from that move "silence of the lambs" . And for the person I was talking to...I was asked several times if I had just sucked on a helium balloon. Evidently I sounded like Alvin and the chipmunks. It was hilarious a time or two...but not every single call. I'd have to reboot everything to make an outgoing call, and even then, it was hit or miss. I reported problems to nettalk at least twelve times, and spent about twenty hours doing all the tech fixes. I have cable Internet, and tried two different modems. I am convinced there was nothing else I could do to fix it. This thing is a piece of junk. AND I don't get my money back on the duo, or the money spent to port my number. I despise wasting money. Might as well have just chucked a hundred dollar bill into a campfire.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mdavis111111
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
never worked, no customer service, stay away away
1/29/2016

Customer review by Matt

1.0 stars 1/29/2016 by Matt
by Matt

On their website they offer chat, which no matter how long you wait no one comes up, now they offer call support too but same result, i was on cal from 8:45 PM EST, till 10:20 Pm, no one bothered to say we will close at 10 pm, just plying messages to stay on line funny after i gave up and hung up, i called their number again this poor people even do not have after hours message like say you have reached us after business hours (as posted on their site 10 Am to 10 Pm EST) their system again started offering please wait for next available ... with your mac address handy. I thought lets create ticket, and explaining device never ever worked, they closed my ticket stating i have to call them for troubleshooting .... are you serious, or joking, call you how

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Matt
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good Product
8/19/2011

Customer review by IamJMac

5.0 stars 8/19/2011 by IamJMac
by IamJMac

Have had a Magic Jack for the past year. I like that product ok, but call quality was spotty and the p/c had to be left on for that service to work. Started investigating, and came across NetTalk Duo. Decided to give it a try before renewing annual service for our magic Jack. Glad I did. Got in 3 days from Walmart.com. When I set it up, could not get a phone number in our local area to work. Tried a few, and then called customer service. To my shock and amazement, I was on hold less than 5 minutes, and an AMERICAN tech worker answered the call. It was so strange to be able to understand everything that he was saying....In approx. 5 minutes, he figured out the problem (it was on their end), and suggested a fix that worked just fine. He was pleasant and professional. WOW!!!! Service works very very well. Bought the AT&T cordless phones (the $31 ones from Walmart.com) to go along with the NetTalk. It sounds very very good. Service sounds best if nobody else is using the web. If someone is streaming Netflix and someone else is surfing the web, the quality drops a bit, but it still works. Good service, good price, glad I bought it!

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IamJMac
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 858 total reviews
1-20 of 858 reviews