Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 660 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

660 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

660 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
451
4 stars
80
3 stars
35
2 stars
31
1 stars
63
1-20 of 643 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 643 total reviews
1-20 of 643 reviews
Love it and Hate it. No really, I love it!
6/1/2012

Customer review by Emily1982

5.0 stars 6/1/2012 by Emily1982
by Emily1982

First day I got it, I used it on 8 different spots on my carpet. All of them came out!!! They look fabulous. Problem is: the 6 inch spot is so clean, it makes the rest of my carpet look dirty (which is why I "hate it"). I have also cleaned my couches, and think it did a great job. I plan on moving outside to my car upholstry next. It is a bit on the heavy side to be truly portable, but compared to a full size, I guess I can't complain. Using the automatic cycle (which is SOOOO convenient) does leave the spot quite wet. But, following other reviewers advice, I just suck up the excess with the hose. All in all, I love it!!! For a family of 7 (4 kides under the age of 8 + one construction husband + one dog), it just might be the smartest investment I have ever made.

Was this review helpful? (56) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Emily1982
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
must have for puppy owners!!!!!
2/6/2012

Customer review by chinabilly

5.0 stars 2/6/2012 by chinabilly
by chinabilly

Skeptical at first due to having used the little green clean machine back in the 90s. But times have changed and this machine is awesome!!!! Lots of suction power for the size. Great features, who can complain about set it and forget it. Just push a button and it goes to town. If u have dirty carpet it does leave what i call crop circles, round spot where it cleaned up the mess. So would reccomend getting the whole carpet cleaned first. Other than that Ive got a new puppy so this is the perfect time saver. No more towels to waste or soil and no more odor from urine not being completely sucked out of the carpet and padding.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chinabilly
NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Fantastic!
12/27/2011

Customer review by bakersdozen12

5.0 stars 12/27/2011 by bakersdozen12
by bakersdozen12

I have wall-to-wall beige carpeting throughout my house along with a messy teenage boy and a cockatoo; not a good combination to say the least, but the carpets were newly installed when we purchased the house a few years ago. I have a big carpet cleaner that I use from time to time to shampoo the rugs, but I wanted something small and portable for little clean-ups inbetween. I toyed with getting a Little Green, but ended up going with the Spotbot because of the added "deep clean" feature. Can I just say that I am so grateful that I did! That feature alone makes this product worth buying. I had some spots that neither my big rug cleaner, nor scrubbing by hand have been able to get out. The six or so minutes the deep clean setting takes to complete was all that was needed to FINALLY get these spots out. And the best part is I could just place the Spotbot over the stains and walk away while it did its thing. I feel like I have brand new rugs again! I could not recommend this product more if you have pets and/or kids in the house.

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bakersdozen12
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Best carpet cleaner ever!!
1/3/2016

Customer review by Kimmygurl

5.0 stars 1/3/2016 by Kimmygurl
by Kimmygurl

I recently traded in our carpet shampooer for this spot bot. Boy was I glad I did. We only use the shampooer for pet throw up anyways. This machine is amazing. Just set it on the stain press a button and walk away. This machine is easy to fill and easy to clean. The compartment just pops off rinse and put back on super easy. The cycle goes for about 3-5 minutes. The carpet is not sopping wet when it's done either. We have a cat that gets sick quite frequently ( kidney disease) and is throwing up. This takes the stain right out. No amount of hands and knees floor scrubbing will work but this seems to do the trick. Best thing we ever bought. It is quite noisy but it doesn't bother me. It beeps a couple times when cycle is done. Defiantly worth the price. Don't look anywhere else!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kimmygurl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Leaks
1/23/2016

Customer review by SharonFromPG

1.0 stars 1/23/2016 by SharonFromPG
by SharonFromPG

Have used this machine 3x and was satisfied. It sat for about 6 months 6 months since my last use. Pulled it out the other day and am very disappointed that it now leaks from under the motor compartment. It does not spray from below nor does it spray from the handle. I've used Bissell products for 30+ years starting with the Green Machine. Loved them all until now. What a waste of money. The quality just isn't there. I may go back to the Green Machine but am questing the quality of Bissell products. Checking on alternatives.

Comment from Nikki - 1/27/2016

Oh no, sorry to hear this Sharon! Have you have a chance to troubleshoot the machine at all? Here's a link with a few steps that should help: http://www.bissell.com/support/helpful-resources/faqs/faq-detail-page?id=798ca182-7e32-4785-856f-70138e6b37bb&cid=ccsocial2107 If these steps do not solve the issue please give us a call, 1-800-237-7691!

SharonFromPG
Punta Gorda, FL, USA
Gender:Female
Don't waste your money unless you like soaking wet carpet
1/9/2016

Customer review by Boomer84

1.0 stars 1/9/2016 by Boomer84
by Boomer84

We had a spot bot for several years and it worked great for pet accidents and other messes. Finally broke so we had no hesitation in ordering another one through an online retailer. Threw box away, did not expect problems. It left our carpet soaking wet! And we couldn't return it. Figured it had gotten damaged during shipping. Tossed it and ordered one to be picked up at a local store so we could return it if needed. Same thing happened. Left the carpet soaked. We've used one for years we know how it is supposed to work, or at least how it used to work. Brought it back to the store and are now looking for other options. I miss our old spot bot.

Boomer84
Cleveland, oh
Gender:Female
Bissell Came Through - Thank You!
3/5/2015

Customer review by Cookie

5.0 stars 3/5/2015 by Cookie
by Cookie

The multiple urine stains from my dear dog were over a year old after having tried every remedy known to man. The stains were set in to white wool carpeting, and the back of white chenille upholstered chairs. I was tired of having my heart sink and feeling angry at my dog, so I bought my SpotBot. The chairs are like new and my eyes no longer get pulled down to a big yellow stain when I walk into my bedroom. The hose and brush lend themselves to many kinds of stains on furniture. I highly recommend using the Oxygen Boost if you are dealing with old stains. It would be unfair to ask the SpotBot to take care of bile stains from vomit that have set in over months. I tried, but it is an unreasonable expectation. I have no doubt that my SpotBot will clean new stains perfectly. If the machine looks confusing at first, it's not. It is so well engineered and designed that once again I am left loving Bissell and their products. (And thank you Bissell for contributing to animal welfare).

Cookie
Katonah, NY, USA
Gender:Female
A lifesaver!!!!
4/4/2011

Customer review by Rox54704

5.0 stars 4/4/2011 by Rox54704
by Rox54704

Until I got this little cleaner, I was pretty much destined to replace my living room carpet after a puppy with a bad digestive system emptied itself out on the floor. I'm not the one who chose the cream colored berber, it was there when I moved in, but until the Spot Bot I was going to be picking out something new. I had tried countless carpet cleaners and oxy-cleaners and erasers, etc and all I got was a bigger stain and bigger smell. The Spot Bot took EVERYTHING OUT. EVERYTHING. The only drawbacks are a smallish cleaning area (you have to move it a little bit and run it again to clean large areas.....like this stain....) and it does leave a bit of dampness behind, as mentioned by another reviewer. That is easily taken care of by using the hand attachment to suction the water out. The Spot Bot was a lifesaver. I'd pay double this price for it, knowing it works so well.

Was this review helpful? (18) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rox54704
Madison, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I can't believe my eyes
3/15/2015

Customer review by zacpalmer

5.0 stars 3/15/2015 by zacpalmer
by zacpalmer

We discovered after using a black light that our dog had peed in multiple places in our bedroom. We set out to find a really good pet stain remover. We've literally tried them all - included the "secret formula types" Some cleaners would remove the smell, but with the black light you can still tell the stain is there. Even professional cleaners couldn't get the stain to disappear under a black light To be honest, when we bought the SpotBot I thought it would be another gimmicky spot cleaner - just like the rest. To my surprise, not only did the spotbot do a good job removing dirt and stains - you cant find them under a black light. To be fair - maybe its the chemicals more than the cleaner (we used Oxy Pro with the pet stain remover formula) Either way my wife and I are happy. We were going to completely remove and replace the carpet. Eventually we will remove the carpet - but at least this saves us some time. I'd recommend picking this up - trying it out on your type of carpet. Well worth it.

zacpalmer
Olympia, WA, USA
Gender:Male
Definitely worth it!
1/29/2011

Customer review by Greylover

5.0 stars 1/29/2011 by Greylover
by Greylover

This cleans up all our dog's little messes -- and takes the odor away too. Everything from urine, vomit, and diarrhea (gross, I know, but it happens!) We have off-white/speckled carpet, so I needed something that would really clean the stains well and not leave a trace of scent behind. This thing is also great for other various spot cleaning/spills. Easy to use, clean up, store away. I'm impressed and happy with the purchase. Have had it over a year now and have definitely gotten my money's worth. If you have a pet, this is a MUST have!

Was this review helpful? (143) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Greylover
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Very disappointed with this product
1/6/2016

Customer review by csks48

2.0 stars 1/6/2016 by csks48
by csks48

this product broke less than 30 days after the warranty expired~~go figure! The 4 main screws that hold the cabinet parts together broke at the plastic bosses. My husband who is a retired engineer and designed many plastic parts similar to this, said the "plastic bosses that hold the screws are completely inadequate to hold up under the stress of the motor" and should have been redesigned by now. We still think Bissell still makes fine products but we will look at the reviews before buying any more. This product has a poor review history.

Comment from Rick - 1/15/2016

Oh no! That definitely should not have happened. We'd like to follow up and see if we're able to assist with a replacement machine. Please expect a call soon!

csks48
Somerset, PA 15501, USA
Gender:Female
I have blue carpet!!!
3/16/2012

Customer review by Kate61

5.0 stars 3/16/2012 by Kate61
by Kate61

I just bought a Pet Spotbot. Gosh, I wish I had done it 5 years ago when I moved into this house. I have a large carpet cleaner that I use a few times a year. However, my beloved lab is getting old and has started vomiting on the carpet during the night. It was getting old cleaning it up in the morning and then seeing the stains that remained. So, we bought one today, and it worked SUPER. Then I used it on other places where he takes naps and the carpet had gradually gotten grayish and cleaning didn't seem to work. Now I have 7 beautiful blue carpet spots. I will clean more again tomorrow. I didn't want to overheat my spotbot. I figure I can do a half dozen spots every day and eventually I will have the beautiful blue carpet that was here when we moved in. I thought $149 was a bit pricey, but the machine works to well, I'm not complaining at old. I'm 61 years old and it's nice not having to get down on my knees to clean those spots. Now , I have to give my Pet Spotbot a cute name.

Kate61
Troutville, VA
Gender:Female
This SpotBot really works!
5/11/2011

Customer review by KauaiLover

5.0 stars 5/11/2011 by KauaiLover
by KauaiLover

Unfortunately it seems that products rarely meet consumer expectations. However the SpotBot performs as advertised. It is compact, fairly lightweight and really gets stains out. I have an unhousebroken puppy who occasionally has accidents on the carpet. I just place the SpotBot over the stain and leave it there to do the work. Within a few minutes it beeps to let me know that the job is done. I recommend this product!!

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KauaiLover
Oakton, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Miracle Worker
2/17/2011

Customer review by VydorScope

5.0 stars 2/17/2011 by VydorScope
by VydorScope

Several years ago we hired a pet sitter to watch our 60-pound dog for a few weeks while we were on vacation. We had used this pet sitter in the past with great success but for some reason this time she did a horrible job. In fact from what the neighbors tell us, she did not show up for many days at a time. During that time our dog obviously had gone to the bathroom (yes both kinds) multiple times in the same general area. She tried to cover it up by cleaning up with spray cleaners and the like, but it left a stain that stunk for a long time. We had originally tried the non-automatic Bissel cleaner on it, and that helped reduce the smell, but the spot remained. After many tries we gave up on the spot and assumed we would have to replace the carpet when we could afford it. Now, I must say this again, that was several years ago. The stain has resisted years of wear and tear, and every spray cleaner on the market. Today I bought the Bissell SpotBot Pet, and a bottle of the “Pet Stain and Oder” detergent. All the reviews online spoke of how well it removed old stains, but I was not really optimistic since this stain had been so resistant in the past. I filled up the tank according to the “every day messes” instructions. I did not use the OxyGen that was included, just the pet detergent. I pressed the “set-in stain” button and walked away from the machine. I came back when I heard it beep, and was shocked to see clean carpet when I moved the machine! The SpotBot had completely removed all trace of the invincible stain, and did it in six minutes hands free. The only complaint I have about the job it did, was that it left the carpet very wet. This was easily addressed by using the hose to suck up the excess water. The little SpotBot has now been running for several hours cleaning not only the old pet stain, but also dried play dough from my seven year olds room and all kinds of old set in stains. To give you an idea of how hard I am working the machine, I have almost completely used up the entire bottle of pet detergent. The little SpotBot just keeps going. Over all it this machine is a great tool for any family with pets and small children, or for people that are just messy. Many stains come up fine with the faster “Surface stain” setting which uses a lot less detergent.

Was this review helpful? (378) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VydorScope
Lynchburg, Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Excellent Product
1/23/2011

Customer review by BBinBN

5.0 stars 1/23/2011 by BBinBN
by BBinBN

I was not sure this would clean pet messes, but after a "little accident" I had to try something. The spray cleaners, water and towls were NOT doing the job. This machine really does the job. Totally awesome on getting the carpet clean. There were even a couple of old previous messes from my dog and the Bissell got them out!! I mean completely out!! No wierd colors or lines. I did use both the automatic feature and the manual brush on a larger area. The Bissell pet cleaner solution works....so use it if you have a pet stain. Recommend this product!!

Was this review helpful? (120) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BBinBN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Life SAVER!
4/11/2012

Customer review by ERnurse

5.0 stars 4/11/2012 by ERnurse
by ERnurse

Woke up this morning to a smell... not a good one. Walked out of our bedroom to find our 9 month old puppy who is potty trained looking very sad. She had very severe diarrhea and instead of staying put and going on our tile floor in the kitchen (which was spotless-of course) She ran through our dinning room, family room and office throughout the escapade.... needless to say it was a disaster. I scrubbed for over an hour, some of the stains were over a foot long and several inches wide, dark. I gave up, looked up a spot cleaner with good reviews and settled on this. After the first spot was cleaned, I just about fell over. My cream coloured carpet looked PERFECT... I proceeded to use it over the rest of the house. Then was inspired and tried an old stain that had been there since we moved in. I used this thing over 30 times today - 29 for the aforementioned escapade and once for the old stain. It worked perfectly on everything. Not only that but it smells so much better. THANK YOU BISSELL!!!!

ERnurse
Seattle, WA, USA
Gender:Female
2/21/2011

Customer review by pkpcg

5.0 stars 2/21/2011 by pkpcg
by pkpcg

I first bought the SpotBot Pet after we got our puppy and loved it! It saved our carpet! I gave it to my son when he moved into an apartment with his puppy. I bought this one because I still have animals at home and accidents happen and I love it just as much as the Pet one! It pays for itself!

Was this review helpful? (77) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pkpcg
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A must if you have a dog!
1/20/2016

Customer review by DiamondMom

5.0 stars 1/20/2016 by DiamondMom
by DiamondMom

Just in time for a major bowel malfunction cleanup. Worked like a charm... after we scraped what we could!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DiamondMom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
In some ways, better than the original
1/1/2012

Customer review by dana7

4.0 stars 1/1/2012 by dana7
by dana7

My old SpotBot died after a productive career of removing pet stains from my white olefin Berber carpet. I was generally satisfied with it, but purchased the new model hoping some of the minor shortcomings would be corrected. -It seems to use more fluid than the original. -It leaves the carpet a bit wetter than the original. -It cleans just as good, and maybe better because the brush is a different design. -It is easier to carry with an improved handle. Other than that, it's the same. It even has the same annoying beep after it's finished that won't stop till you attend to it - I was really hoping the Engineers at Bissell would change that in this incarnation. The build quality is good, and I expect it to last just as long, if not longer than my original. A couple of hints: 1) Be prepared for a little round ring of clean in an otherwise untidy world. 2) The manufacturers $pecial fluids work very well, but on most spots you can use a fraction of what is recommended - or just plain water with maybe a few drops of some other cleaner like Simple Green and achieve the results you want. I would avoid anything containing chlorine because of the possibility of internal corrosion. However pre-spotting with a spray bottle containing a bleach solution followed by a plain-water SpotBot cycle works well on my WHITE carpet.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dana7
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
Great, BUT!!
1/13/2016

Customer review by Brandon

4.0 stars 1/13/2016 by Brandon
by Brandon

This is an amazing cleaner, I was just disappointed that the cleaning hose wasn't built stronger, it ripped 1yr 10months into using it. BUY THE TWO YEAR PROTECTION PLAN, I did so now I have a new one:)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brandon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 643 total reviews
1-20 of 643 reviews