Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 93 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

93 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

93 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

48%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
30
4 stars
13
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 stars
39
1-20 of 93 total reviews
48%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 93 total reviews
1-20 of 93 reviews
Just another dissatifed customer...
6/17/2013

Customer review by Lexi

1.0 stars 6/17/2013 by Lexi
by Lexi

I had come to trust the Remington wet/dry shaver from a previous one I had owned. It lasted several years and provided an excellent shave! The results were better and the shaver was more cost efficient than your traditional razors. Given this, one might understand how disappointed I was when I purchased the Smooth and Silky Rechargeable Shaver to replace the old one I had. With my "new" Remington, I have to go over the same spot several times. This not only takes me longer to shave, but also makes my legs extra dry #regardless of the Aloe Vera strip#. At first, I thought it was a defective shaver, so I called customer service and they sent me a replacement. The second shaver doesn't work any better. After reading these reviews, I am relieved that I am not the only one experiencing these issues. I wish Remington would revisit the engineering and design of the wet/dry shavers. Their previous model #WDF3500# was superior. I would go back to using it except that I can't find the replacement pieces.

Lexi
Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Remington quality has diminished
8/19/2014

Customer review by QuincyJ

3.0 stars 8/19/2014 by QuincyJ
by QuincyJ

I have had Remington wet/dry razors for years. My favorite was the WDF-5000, with the gold foils. Always a smooth shave with no irritation. Then they stopped making the gold replacement foils and then the battery went out and they no longer make that model. :( This is my second Remington razor since the WDF-5000 tanked, and both have been a disappointment. This razor does not give a very smooth shave without pressing down uncomfortably hard, but worse, the razor just hurts. My foils are only four months old and I'm going to replace them to see if it feels better. Unfortunately, there don't seem to be many options for electric razors out there. I was hoping that the Remington would be twice as good as the half-priced other brand razor I purchased from a big box store, but the shaves were pretty comparable: stubbly and painful. I am disappointed that the quality of these razors is so poor. It's a shame since the razors five or ten years ago were clearly a better product. I will say the one thing Remington got right was the subscription service for the foil/blade refills. Kudos for that one!

QuincyJ
Raleigh, NC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
This product has great features which make it easy to handle
4/29/2014

Customer review by Terry47

5.0 stars 4/29/2014 by Terry47
by Terry47

I love my Remington Electric Shaver. I have been using this shaver for at least 15 years now and cannot shave with a disposable razor since I started using my electric shaver. Shaving is so much easier and quicker and I get a much smoother shave, no more bumps and nicks. I also would get very itchy and a rash after many shaves with the disposable razor. I no longer have that problem since using my Remington Electric Shaver. I just love it and it comes everywhere with me, I used to panic when I needed a replacement shaver and could not find it in certain stores, but now with the internet shopping on line, it is so easy and a beautiful thing. I just went on line, ordered it and it came exactly when they said It would. I would not use any other Shaver, I love my Remington and recommend it highly. I give it five stars.

Terry47
Staten Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Worst Remington has made ever
12/21/2012

Customer review by notime

1.0 stars 12/21/2012 by notime
by notime

I've used Remington razors since I started shaving 38 years ago. I've tried using this razor about 6 times. I go over and over my legs in every direction imaginable and 1 time it worked, the other 5 or so times just left the hair as if I did nothing. Wasted so much time and looked like I didn't shave. They normally tell you it takes a few weeks for your skin to adjust to a new electric razor, so I gave it 2 months. Thought I was buying a better product since this cost more than another the store had. Turned ouit to be a complete waste of money. Very disappointed. Hope Remingtons goes back to the quality they used to have.

notime
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
WHAT A DISAPPOINTMENT!
5/19/2013

Customer review by Purplecarol

1.0 stars 5/19/2013 by Purplecarol
by Purplecarol

Rarely do I return products to the store after use. But with this razor, it stopped cutting hair after 4 months of weekly use! I read the reviews before I bought it and thought people were exaggerating. Not so! From the beginning I had to pass over a spot minimum 3 times to get all the hair cut. Little by little I noticed I had more hairs that were getting longer and longer. Why? The razor was not cutting as well. One time I had to pass over a hair 17 times to get it cut! That's when I took it back to the store. I have now purchased another razor for half the price and it only takes 1 pass to remove the hairs.

Purplecarol
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Junk!
7/30/2014

Customer review by kd111

1.0 stars 7/30/2014 by kd111
by kd111

I'm so glad I looked at these reviews. Now I know I'm not the only one. I've been using electric razors for more than 30 years, including another Remington which I loved (WDF 3600). This is the worst, by far. It worked badly the first two times and then it didn't work at all. Having to go over everything so many times, you would hope there would at least be a massaging effect for all the effort. Nope! It just rubs your skin raw and you still need to shave. Thankfully, I didn't spend half as much as the price they are advertising on this site. I'm going to stick with my old one and order replacement parts.

kd111
Elgin, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
NOT FOR ME
3/31/2012

Customer review by SWGranny

1.0 stars 3/31/2012 by SWGranny
by SWGranny

I have had this razor about 1 month and have several issues with it. 1st the on/off button is 2 stage, you must hold the white button in and push the purple button up at the same time. This is very difficult to do for older women with weak hands. The shaving action pulls and does not do a good job of cleaning the legs. After removing the top to clean the head it is almost impossible to replace it. I tried for 15 minutes before turning it over to my husband who finally got it back on after 10 minutes. Really, it shouldn't be that difficult should it? I would not recommend for women over 50.

SWGranny
Lake Havasu AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
No different than a blade razor
3/10/2014

Customer review by Rach25

1.0 stars 3/10/2014 by Rach25
by Rach25

I get ingrown hairs on my legs every single time I shave without exception. And it's not just one or two; I have entire entire patches. I bought this shaver to see if I could fix the problem, and the first two times I used it, it was great even though it took a long time. But now the results are no better than a blade razor and it takes twice as long because I have to pass over the same area again and again from literally every angle. Sure, my legs are mostly smooth - after 40 minutes! Who has that kind of time? And I still get the same ingrown hairs in the same places.

Rach25
Carson city Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Only able to use on lower legs
9/23/2012

Customer review by kmo6410

2.0 stars 9/23/2012 by kmo6410
by kmo6410

Excited when I purchased, but quickly disappointed. It takes me a while to shave the lower half of my legs, even with small stubble, but it doesn't work hardly at all when shaving above the knee. I tried shaving my bikini line 1x - OUCH! I have NEVER done that again. The blades attacked my skin leaving numerous small scrapes and a lot of painful irritation. Tried to shave my under arms ...NO WAY! That killed me - so much for using it there. And they say "The flexible trimmer system with special massaging comfort tips effortlessly glide over your skin and remove unwanted hair while integrated Aloe Vera moisturizing strips nourish and revitalize your skin." -> no, not so. That Aloe Vera moisturizing strip(s) is a joke as well as the flexible trimmer system..I'm assuming that's the small cutter/trimmer in front of the strips? That doesn't cut hair at all, and I was actually counting on that as a "long hair" trimmer for my upper legs as I don't like to shave them too close because I get too much irritation. Overall - I wanted to return this to the store I purchased it from, but because I didn't have the original packaging, I couldn't get my money back. I'd hope to find additional attachments, but I think that is unlikely and I will be looking into purchasing a more expensive, more useful, multifunctional shaver that does everything that I want and need it to. Thanks but no thanks Remington. This shaver is not worth it.

kmo6410
Lemon Grove, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Buy a hair brush instead
2/8/2013

Customer review by momtime

1.0 stars 2/8/2013 by momtime
by momtime

In 2005 I bought an older model and loved it. Last year it wore out and I bought this model to replace it. After several weeks of using it and getting no results (not one hair was ever shaved that I could tell) I returned it to the store and exchanged it for another. I honestly assumed the one I bought was defective, no product could really be that bad! It is. The new one I have is no better, whether you shave wet, dry, long, short, or during a full moon doing a handstand, expect better luck having your hair licked off by a kitten.

momtime
Tulsa, OK, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Bad design
3/2/2015

Customer review by Girlpiggg

1.0 stars 3/2/2015 by Girlpiggg
by Girlpiggg

The trimmer is always blocking the foils so the hair can never be cut. This sheaves nothing. Go back to the design of the WDF-3000 where the trimmer can be pushed way down so the foils can cut shorter hairs. Whoever decided to save a dime by removing the trimmer height adjustment slider just gave away all the razor business. New design stinks and does not cut hair. Look at all the WDF-3000 being refurbished and resold and you have the key to getting back your lost sales. If you can save your reputation now.

Girlpiggg
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
works great and glides easy as it cuts the hair away
1/29/2016

Customer review by imap

5.0 stars 1/29/2016 by imap
by imap

I am very satisfied with the Remington WDF-4840. I have arthritis and it is easy for me to hold and use. I have tried another Remington but have gone back after 3 months and repurchased another WDF-4840 as I feel this is by far the better shaver and I am already glad that I got this one.

imap
Ontario, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Waste of Money
9/21/2013

Customer review by Anonymous22

1.0 stars 9/21/2013 by Anonymous22
by Anonymous22

I am a user of the Remington shavers for years and always been happy with my purchase. When I purchase this razor I was disappointed. It did not hardly shave at all and I thought it was something I was doing wrong until I read the review on the razor and there was a lot of unhappy customers that were having the same problem as me about this model razor. I didn't think I would need to read the reviews because I was happy with the the brand so I guess I will have to read reviews before purchasing another razor.

Anonymous22
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Aloe Vera strip seemed like a good idea
5/15/2011

Customer review by PatDE

1.0 stars 5/15/2011 by PatDE
by PatDE

This shaver's head dragged on the skin. It pulled on the aloe vera that was rubbed on the skin causing the drag. This resulted, even with careful angle and motion of the foil, in red areas, nicks, and uneven areas on legs and underarms that had to be shaved so many times that it seemed it would have been easier to use a dull razor blade. I used the product a dozen times before I decided that I could not make it work for me. I like the Remington brand, so I am going to try a non-aloe vera shaver next.

PatDE
Middletown, DE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Unhappy
12/12/2012

Customer review by Candymandy147

1.0 stars 12/12/2012 by Candymandy147
by Candymandy147

I bought this razor about 2weeks ago. I liked it the first time so I threw away my receipt and packaging thinking it was a good product. I have used it two other times and I am so disappointed. It hurts to shave with this razor. It pulls on my hair, cuts me, and after using for a while in the shower it turns the shaving cream grey as if its tarnishing in the inside or something. I'm so unhappy with this razor and upset that I wasted money on it. It also took FOREVER to remove the hair

Candymandy147
MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Shaver is So-So
8/25/2011

Customer review by BoomeBabe49

3.0 stars 8/25/2011 by BoomeBabe49
by BoomeBabe49

Have had this shaver for about 6 months now. Performance is only so-so. Have to run it over the hair on my legs & underarms many times for it to completely take off the hair. It misses a lot of spots on my underarms which is not usual for me with an electric shaver. My hair is not very coarse or thick so I would have expected better results. I have been disappointed with this product so far. Previously had another Remington shaver so have been pretty satisfied with the brand before.

BoomeBabe49
Mays Landing, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
This product went DOWNHILL
5/6/2012

Customer review by Sapph

2.0 stars 5/6/2012 by Sapph
by Sapph

I had one of these about a year ago, maybe a little more and the screen developed a hole so I went and bought a new one. I noticed the design had changed from what I had before but it was the same razor. If I had half a brain in my head I should have saved the packing and took it back. It is horrible! They never should have changed a good thing! I have to push so hard now to get any hair in a decent manner and the bikini line razor....forget it! I'd have no skin left if I used that

Sapph
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Wet/Dry Rechargable Razor
12/2/2011

Customer review by Katie

3.0 stars 12/2/2011 by Katie
by Katie

When I first got the product, I used it while dry and it worked great. I liked the smooth feel to my legs and I hadn't even went over the area more than once. Unfortunately, when I attempted to use this wet, it burned my skin and tugged on the skin with every glide. I was left with red, agitated skin and after three days, I am still unable to use a regular razor to shave. I will continue to use this product while using it dry, but will not use in bath &/or shower again.

Katie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Irritated skin
12/28/2012

Customer review by Kalimari

1.0 stars 12/28/2012 by Kalimari
by Kalimari

I have been using many shavers in my life, but never have my skin been so irritated. I wonder what kind of metal is used on this shaver, cause my skin started to hurt and the outer layer of the skin fell off as if it was acid on my skin. It seems like an allergy of some sort. I've used it 3 times only, but I dare not try more. Worst buy ever. I don't have the package anymore, as I trusted this to be good, as I've never had problems with other shavers. Bummer..

Kalimari
Berlin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Will not trim
3/13/2015

Customer review by hailfeal

1.0 stars 3/13/2015 by hailfeal
by hailfeal

I have been using Remington razors for years without any problems. This model is a huge mistake. The trimmer will not work at all. The foils can get a close shave but will only work if you have used another razor's trimmer before using this razor as a finisher. It works great for maintaining hair that is just a couple millimeters long. So yeah, I paid far too much for this razor and can't return it. Don't buy this unless you hate money.

hailfeal
Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
1-20 of 93 total reviews
1-20 of 93 reviews