Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 91 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

3.0 stars

91 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

3.0 stars

91 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

47%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
29
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 stars
39
1-20 of 91 total reviews
47%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 91 total reviews
1-20 of 91 reviews
Horrible Product...Does Not Remove Hair!
2/1/2013

Customer review by sj749

1.0 stars 2/1/2013 by sj749
by sj749

I purchased this product to replace an older Remington shaver. I have had many Remington shavers in the past and have been happy with them. This shaver was the first one that didn't remove the hair on my legs. Even after going over the same area several times, it leaves areas of hair. I do not have thick or coarse hair on my legs so am amazed at this shaver's poor performance. When I shave my underarms the razor is very hard to work into the nooks and crannies of my underarm area. It also does not remove the hair even after many attempts to go over the same area. Also because of the design of the cutting blade it often nicks my underarm! Definitely not a pleasant experience! At first I thought it was just me or I was exaggerating the poor performance of this product. Now after reading the other reviews I realize this shaver is substandard and a poorly designed product that does not do what it is designed to do...shave legs and underarms! Definitely would not recommend this product!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sj749
Mays Landing, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Waste of time and money
8/22/2012

Customer review by mamaocean

1.0 stars 8/22/2012 by mamaocean
by mamaocean

I purchased this razor after my previous Remmington Smooth & Silky razor I had for several years would no longer take a charge. There are so many features about this razor that are disappointing but the bottom line is IT DOES NOT WORK! Having used electric razors for decades I have some sense of how an electric razor should perform. This razor is markedly inferior to your previous products. The overall quality of the product gave me some indication of what I might expect from it's performance . . . sadly it lived up to my dim expectations. I've had this razor for about 2 months and stop using it after a month of frustration. I would like to return this razor to you for a refund. Please tell me what you can do for me. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mamaocean
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Horribly Disappointed!
6/25/2012

Customer review by BethanyandNathansMom

1.0 stars 6/25/2012 by BethanyandNathansMom
by BethanyandNathansMom

My husband bought this shaver for me for Christmas. I had an older model Remington that had a couple of holes in the foil and it would chew my legs occasionally so I wanted a new one. I had been very happy with that product and was happy to receive a new one. That is, until I used it for the first time. I had to go over and over and over an area for it to maybe trim half of the hairs. It hardly cut anything, wet or dry. I would have returned this item to the store if I hadn't discarded the packaging. If this were my first Remington, I would NEVER buy one again. But I'm hoping mine is just a fluke. I have gone back to my old shaver, even though it hurts, and will be looking for new foils instead. I will also be contacting the company because it doesn't shave, which kind of defeats the purpose of having a shaver!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BethanyandNathansMom
Woods Cross, UT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Complete waste of money
1/19/2013

Customer review by Arwen73

1.0 stars 1/19/2013 by Arwen73
by Arwen73

I had a Remington electric razor years ago and thought it was great. I enjoyed being able to shave whenever I wanted to, and it also seemed to be gentler on my skin than a blade. It lasted long enough that by the time I needed to replace the foils, they no longer made that model. After years of using cheap disposable razors I decided to try another electric, and oh how I wish I had read the reviews first! This razor simply does not work. At first I thought I needed to "get used" to it, but after over a month of using it every other day, I give up. It takes at least 15 minutes to get a barely acceptable shave on my calves. I have to go over each area 3-5 times from different angles and the shaver still leaves areas with long stubble that I have to go over again and again. The trimmer is nearly impossible to use, and I ended up with horrible "bites" and razor burn when I trimmed my bikini area. I have tried using this shaver in the shower and out, with skin totally wet or totally dry, using light pressure and heavy pressure, and I have never gotten acceptable results. Bottom line: don't waste your money.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Arwen73
Aurora CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Just another dissatifed customer...
6/17/2013

Customer review by Lexi

1.0 stars 6/17/2013 by Lexi
by Lexi

I had come to trust the Remington wet/dry shaver from a previous one I had owned. It lasted several years and provided an excellent shave! The results were better and the shaver was more cost efficient than your traditional razors. Given this, one might understand how disappointed I was when I purchased the Smooth and Silky Rechargeable Shaver to replace the old one I had. With my "new" Remington, I have to go over the same spot several times. This not only takes me longer to shave, but also makes my legs extra dry #regardless of the Aloe Vera strip#. At first, I thought it was a defective shaver, so I called customer service and they sent me a replacement. The second shaver doesn't work any better. After reading these reviews, I am relieved that I am not the only one experiencing these issues. I wish Remington would revisit the engineering and design of the wet/dry shavers. Their previous model #WDF3500# was superior. I would go back to using it except that I can't find the replacement pieces.

Lexi
Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
9/2/2012

Customer review by LPNursie

2.0 stars 9/2/2012 by LPNursie
by LPNursie

I've owned previous Remington shavers in the past and have been very disappointed with this purchase. It does not shave as close as the other shavers I have owned. The trimmer on the razor is set back too far and is pretty much worthless. Electric razors never give you the closeness that a straight razor does but my previous model (WDF 3500) did just about as good a job, the new razor does not. This past spring I purchased model # WDF 4820 for my daughter, it looks identical except for the color and was $20 cheaper. My model did come with a carrying pouch, cleaning brush and extra foil head...hers only had the brush. I now wish I would've purchased the same one or tried a different brand.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LPNursie
Windsor, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Remington quality has diminished
8/19/2014

Customer review by QuincyJ

3.0 stars 8/19/2014 by QuincyJ
by QuincyJ

I have had Remington wet/dry razors for years. My favorite was the WDF-5000, with the gold foils. Always a smooth shave with no irritation. Then they stopped making the gold replacement foils and then the battery went out and they no longer make that model. :( This is my second Remington razor since the WDF-5000 tanked, and both have been a disappointment. This razor does not give a very smooth shave without pressing down uncomfortably hard, but worse, the razor just hurts. My foils are only four months old and I'm going to replace them to see if it feels better. Unfortunately, there don't seem to be many options for electric razors out there. I was hoping that the Remington would be twice as good as the half-priced other brand razor I purchased from a big box store, but the shaves were pretty comparable: stubbly and painful. I am disappointed that the quality of these razors is so poor. It's a shame since the razors five or ten years ago were clearly a better product. I will say the one thing Remington got right was the subscription service for the foil/blade refills. Kudos for that one!

QuincyJ
Raleigh, NC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
This product has great features which make it easy to handle
4/29/2014

Customer review by Terry47

5.0 stars 4/29/2014 by Terry47
by Terry47

I love my Remington Electric Shaver. I have been using this shaver for at least 15 years now and cannot shave with a disposable razor since I started using my electric shaver. Shaving is so much easier and quicker and I get a much smoother shave, no more bumps and nicks. I also would get very itchy and a rash after many shaves with the disposable razor. I no longer have that problem since using my Remington Electric Shaver. I just love it and it comes everywhere with me, I used to panic when I needed a replacement shaver and could not find it in certain stores, but now with the internet shopping on line, it is so easy and a beautiful thing. I just went on line, ordered it and it came exactly when they said It would. I would not use any other Shaver, I love my Remington and recommend it highly. I give it five stars.

Terry47
Staten Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Comfortable to use.
7/19/2015

Customer review by Freda

4.0 stars 7/19/2015 by Freda
by Freda

I like that it is comfortable to use. It does a pretty good job shaving my legs. Sometimes it cuts closer than others.

Freda
Waynesboro, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Product is wonderful over all.
7/18/2015

Customer review by slpf

5.0 stars 7/18/2015 by slpf
by slpf

Replaced a 15 year old Remington with this product and I am very pleased with this shaver also.

slpf
Warsaw, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
great shaver
6/21/2015

Customer review by SheHay

5.0 stars 6/21/2015 by SheHay
by SheHay

Best ever women's shaver. Replaced one I had for years that had finally exhausted it's life. Really is what it says, Smooth and Silky.

SheHay
Bradenton, FL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Bad design
3/2/2015

Customer review by Girlpiggg

1.0 stars 3/2/2015 by Girlpiggg
by Girlpiggg

The trimmer is always blocking the foils so the hair can never be cut. This sheaves nothing. Go back to the design of the WDF-3000 where the trimmer can be pushed way down so the foils can cut shorter hairs. Whoever decided to save a dime by removing the trimmer height adjustment slider just gave away all the razor business. New design stinks and does not cut hair. Look at all the WDF-3000 being refurbished and resold and you have the key to getting back your lost sales. If you can save your reputation now.

Girlpiggg
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Will not trim
3/13/2015

Customer review by hailfeal

1.0 stars 3/13/2015 by hailfeal
by hailfeal

I have been using Remington razors for years without any problems. This model is a huge mistake. The trimmer will not work at all. The foils can get a close shave but will only work if you have used another razor's trimmer before using this razor as a finisher. It works great for maintaining hair that is just a couple millimeters long. So yeah, I paid far too much for this razor and can't return it. Don't buy this unless you hate money.

hailfeal
Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
never worked
5/5/2015

Customer review by msagchick

1.0 stars 5/5/2015 by msagchick
by msagchick

Arrived carefully packaged. Removed packaging, and plugged it in. Green light came on. Tried to turn it on after 28hrs--didn't come on. Left it another 70hrs charging, still didn't turn on. Threw it out!

msagchick
CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Junk!
7/30/2014

Customer review by kd111

1.0 stars 7/30/2014 by kd111
by kd111

I'm so glad I looked at these reviews. Now I know I'm not the only one. I've been using electric razors for more than 30 years, including another Remington which I loved (WDF 3600). This is the worst, by far. It worked badly the first two times and then it didn't work at all. Having to go over everything so many times, you would hope there would at least be a massaging effect for all the effort. Nope! It just rubs your skin raw and you still need to shave. Thankfully, I didn't spend half as much as the price they are advertising on this site. I'm going to stick with my old one and order replacement parts.

kd111
Elgin, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Quality
5/1/2015

Customer review by Trinna

5.0 stars 5/1/2015 by Trinna
by Trinna

My new shaver is just as good as my old Remington that I retired after 13 years of great service.

Trinna
Estero, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Worst Remington has made ever
12/21/2012

Customer review by notime

1.0 stars 12/21/2012 by notime
by notime

I've used Remington razors since I started shaving 38 years ago. I've tried using this razor about 6 times. I go over and over my legs in every direction imaginable and 1 time it worked, the other 5 or so times just left the hair as if I did nothing. Wasted so much time and looked like I didn't shave. They normally tell you it takes a few weeks for your skin to adjust to a new electric razor, so I gave it 2 months. Thought I was buying a better product since this cost more than another the store had. Turned ouit to be a complete waste of money. Very disappointed. Hope Remingtons goes back to the quality they used to have.

notime
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
WHAT A DISAPPOINTMENT!
5/19/2013

Customer review by Purplecarol

1.0 stars 5/19/2013 by Purplecarol
by Purplecarol

Rarely do I return products to the store after use. But with this razor, it stopped cutting hair after 4 months of weekly use! I read the reviews before I bought it and thought people were exaggerating. Not so! From the beginning I had to pass over a spot minimum 3 times to get all the hair cut. Little by little I noticed I had more hairs that were getting longer and longer. Why? The razor was not cutting as well. One time I had to pass over a hair 17 times to get it cut! That's when I took it back to the store. I have now purchased another razor for half the price and it only takes 1 pass to remove the hairs.

Purplecarol
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
NOT FOR ME
3/31/2012

Customer review by SWGranny

1.0 stars 3/31/2012 by SWGranny
by SWGranny

I have had this razor about 1 month and have several issues with it. 1st the on/off button is 2 stage, you must hold the white button in and push the purple button up at the same time. This is very difficult to do for older women with weak hands. The shaving action pulls and does not do a good job of cleaning the legs. After removing the top to clean the head it is almost impossible to replace it. I tried for 15 minutes before turning it over to my husband who finally got it back on after 10 minutes. Really, it shouldn't be that difficult should it? I would not recommend for women over 50.

SWGranny
Lake Havasu AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Low quality
3/14/2015

Customer review by Krystal310

1.0 stars 3/14/2015 by Krystal310
by Krystal310

I had to go over the same spot several times to get a close shave and it gets clogged pretty easily. One of the foils now has a hole in it and I can't use it anymore or it would cut the heck out of my leg. I don't know if I will be replacing it or not.

Krystal310
Kansas City, Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
1-20 of 91 total reviews
1-20 of 91 reviews