Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 10 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

10 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

10 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

70%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
1
1-10 of 10 total reviews
70%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

GREAT ROD AND REEL COMBO!!!
5/21/2011

Customer review by deanb

5.0 stars 5/21/2011 by deanb
by deanb

when i bought this pole i was looking for something with a metal reel because ive always had alot of problems with plastic reels breaking on me. so far this has been a great product to me. very sensitive so you can catch those finiky fish. i would definitley recommend this pole to anyone hard on fishing poles and to anyone who wants to catch more fish.

Was this review helpful? (59) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
deanb
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good combo, almost great.
1/13/2012

Customer review by xcrow

4.0 stars 1/13/2012 by xcrow
by xcrow

I was looking for the three key features when purchasing a combo. I am specifically speaking about the reel at this point. I will cover the rod in the later portion. When selecting a reel I first look for the anti-reverse quality and function. Second I look for drag quality and function. Third thing I look for is number of ball bearings. All other features of a reel are evaluated after these three key features. Evaluating the anti-reverse is a two part test. The first part is evaluating the bail, and the second part is evaluating the play in the handle. When you turn the handle and stop the first thing you should look for is if the bail completely stops and does not have any backlash. Then you evaluate if the handle has any play. The bail is the most critical part of this test. The bail on a quality reel has no backlash. This allows for better hook set, and does not stress the components inside the reel with a sudden backlash during aggressive hook sets. This will help the reel to last longer. The play in the handle although not as important; is a fit and finish issue. I tested some reels on the shelf and found that all of the reels were consistent and had very little to no backlash but did have some play in the handles. An anti-reverse switch is not important to me because I always leave the anti-reverse on. Although I don’t suggest dismantling reels at the store; I usually take the spool off and look at the drag washers if possible and or how it is assembled. I prefer front drag reels because the drag is attached directly to the spool. I also prefer reels with audile clicks in small increments that can be felt when turning the drag knob. When line is being stripped from the spool you want it to be smooth and not surge. This will help with line breakage and your chances of catching big fish. Most reels today use some type of oil felt drag system. For 90% of applications this type of drag system is acceptable. It is hard to evaluate how well drag works without line. This is where knowledge from experience and a little bit of faith comes into play. I usually loosen the drag and turn the spool with my hand a few rotations then progressively do this while tightening the drag knob. I tested several reel drags to find they were all consistent and seemed to have a decent drag. The reel has marked on the bail that it has five ball bearings. When evaluating this portion of a reel you simply have to put your faith in the company that when they advertise five bearings that is what you are getting. Remember when you think bearing don’t necessarily think small round metal balls inside some type of housing (Conrad bearing). Bearings are different shapes and sizes. A journal bearing does not have metal balls, or rollers they are direct contact between two surfaces. From my experience a reel may advertise five ball bearings and only have one Conrad bearing of five individual balls and no more. To me that is a one bearing reel. Reel companies can be misleading sometimes about this issue. This is also something you give up when purchasing less expensive reels. This reel does in fact have five bearings. Although not all ball bearings, it has: three Conrad type bearings, one set of roller bearings, and one journal bearing. It is smooth for an inexpensive reel. Although I am not a huge fan of two piece rods, especially rods shorter than 7ft 6 inches. This rod is probably my favorite part of the combo. It is a good medium action with decent back bone. The action allows you to cover most types of fishing situations you would encounter freshwater and saltwater. Being a two piece rod makes it is easy to transport for those who travel with their combo. The split cork handle is neat but is not a big deciding factor for me when selecting a rod. In some cases depending on the rod holder it will not sit correctly in a rod holder because the missing material on the middle section of the grip. The rod has a nice stainless cushioned reel seats and line guides similar to what you would see on expensive rods. All line guides are single footed. Over all fit and finish for this rod is good. The reason I picked this combo other than the reasons I previously covered are: Reel size; it is a 4000 series/size reel and holds 215 yards of 10 pound, 160 yards of 12 pound and 120 yards of 15 pound mono line. I prefer 12 mono on a combo like this. The line capacity allows you more versatility when fishing inshore saltwater. Hook something that can take some line and you’d wish you had more line. The main portion of the frame is metal. The side cover is plastic, the gears are metal, and the bail and bail wire attachments are plastic. The combo has held up well and preformed higher than expected for a combo in this price range. My biggest complaint of the combo is the metal gimbal. It has a heavy silver metal piece on the butt or gimbal. If you are fishing in a boat you have to be careful not to drop the gimbal onto the deck of the boat and damage either the boat surface or rod. When you lean the rod against something the gimbal will slide out and the rod will fall because of the metal gimbal. I solved this problem by simply putting a rubber adhesive pad you can find at most hardware stores on the gimbal. I dropped one of my combos in saltwater while attempting to get my hands on a flounder I caught. I was only a few doors down from the house and should have simply walked to the house and sprayed it out with freshwater and then sprayed some WD40 in it. I didn’t do that and continued to fish for several hours. I sprayed it out later that night and set it out to dry with the rest of my gear. Well let’s just say it would not turn the next morning. I attempted to take the reel apart and clean it. The reel’s assembly was over my head so it was turned into parts. I found the same reel on Ebay that was missing a handle for $8.00. I put the handle from my old reel on it and have a whole reel again. I have caught a bunch of flounder, pin fish, small jacks, blue fish and a couple of red fish. Other features worth noting about this reel is: the soft touch knob and nice aluminum crank arm similar to high end reels. One tip I suggest with this reel that I use on all of my spinning reels is: flip the bail wire with your hand after casting. Do not use the crank handle to trip the bail. This will keep parts from wearing out as fast and most importantly keeps your fishing line from twisting or looping when wrapped around the spool. I feel certain with proper maintenance that this combo will last you a long time for saltwater or freshwater fishing. It is definitely worth the $29.96 price tag. This is an independent opinion review of a product I purchased and used personally. Thanks for reading, hope it helps and tight lines!

Was this review helpful? (49) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
xcrow
South East NC Coast
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Pole and Reel
7/20/2011

Customer review by nyboard

5.0 stars 7/20/2011 by nyboard
by nyboard

I have been fishing 3 times a week with this pole for about 2 months now. I strung some 10lb test on it and it casts smooth and far. Its reels quiet and the pole has great action for the topwater fishing I do. I have numerous pole and reel setups and always find myself grabbing this one while I am in the boat, even over my Mitchell gold 308x. For the price this setup is a clear winner.

Was this review helpful? (24) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nyboard
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Combo, for the price
3/26/2012

Customer review by JasonandAleisha

5.0 stars 3/26/2012 by JasonandAleisha
by JasonandAleisha

Have used the rod and reel combo a quite few times, probably 15-20 times. This combo basically is a get what you pay for rod and reel. It is very smooth casting and reeling and has a good feel. The bail will sometimes close after a cast when you start to reel and sometimes you manually have to close it yourself. The rod is pretty sensative and that is with 10lb test that I put on mine, and of coarse line will make a difference. For a 2-piece rod it works very well, have caught 2-3lb fish and not felt once like it would break. The anti-reverse works great, the best I have used yet as far as that which is great for setting the hook. In all is a very good choice if your a novice or intermediate fisherman and not a tourney fisherman.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JasonandAleisha
Branson, Mo.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great rod and reel combo for fresh or saltwater!
9/8/2012

Customer review by fishRman56

5.0 stars 9/8/2012 by fishRman56
by fishRman56

I purchased one of these combos a few months back thought it was a great price. Have used it at least twice a week since purchase and works great! I just purchased a second combo like this and will probably purchase another! Great for beginners or experts, or in fresh or salt water!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fishRman56
Petal, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
ONe of the best under $30 combos
4/4/2014

Customer review by Steelmaker69

5.0 stars 4/4/2014 by Steelmaker69
by Steelmaker69

I own 6 of these combos with four different family members helping me use them almost every weekend from spring to late fall last year. We didn't have a fail period and be live me my boys can be hard on fishing rods! We used them on everything from sun fish to bass to twenty pound+ cat fish. I'm looing to pick up four more to put in the reserve for future springs to come

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Steelmaker69
Maryville Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
decent casting rod
6/2/2013

Customer review by sdbassin

2.0 stars 6/2/2013 by sdbassin
by sdbassin

I bought this for a soft bait rod. It worked great the first two times I used it but, the third time out I hooked a fish and the upper half of the rod snapped in two...A clean break as if it was cut...ok reel ..sub par rod.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sdbassin
tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
4/19/2013

Customer review by jmcfall

3.0 stars 4/19/2013 by jmcfall
by jmcfall

My first experience with this rig was not pleasant. After purchasing i strung the reel with 20 lb hi-vis yellow power pro. I intended this to be my flounder fishing rig. The first few casts felt awesome, so i had high hopes for this combo. Around the 5th cast i hooked up with a flounder and the rig performed exceptionally well, until a friend of mine was netting the fish for me. He hits the flounder in the tail and naturally the fish is going to thrash around again. Just as he was putting the fish in the net the screw came out of the bail and the line roller and washers fell in to the water. When this happened my line snapped. Luckily the fish was netted at this point. The flounder was average size 16" I take the rig back to the store and get a replacement because i liked how it felt. The replacement worked flawlessly for a short time. I landed several large speckled trout 25" and above. I then hooked on to a puppy drum (18" redfish) Started to bring him in and all of a sudden i could hardly reel. I finally pull the fish in by hand. Later i take the reel apart and see what the problem was. There was not a drop of oil or grease inside the reel.

Was this review helpful? (0) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jmcfall
port arthu tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not worth the money
6/19/2011

Customer review by xGERTx996

1.0 stars 6/19/2011 by xGERTx996
by xGERTx996

I purchased this pole and put 10 # test on it. At the store the reel operated fine open the bail reel some and it would close right away. But for whatever reason as soon as the fishin string was on there the bail would not shut when reeled had to do it physically with my hand, and than reel no big deal but it is new and should work properly. Also it is not a smooth casting reel really the down fall to this set up is the reel. But the pole may not be that great either the one time out with it didn't catch anything but l did get snag once and while yanking on it to get it free it seemed like the pole could snap any given time. I say spend a little more and you'll will be much happier in the long run. Happy Fishin.

Was this review helpful? (6) (45)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
xGERTx996
Sterling, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
It's Just Okay
12/24/2011

Customer review by lopezintheloop

3.0 stars 12/24/2011 by lopezintheloop
by lopezintheloop

It seemed great in the ad, but when i got it in the mail, it didn't have any instructions. I purchased this for a beginner and expected at least something to come with it that explained how to put it together.

Was this review helpful? (0) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lopezintheloop
Sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year